Plan to get BMW G20 320i.. need advice

twincharger07
post May 17 2020, 11:01 AM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(exdtan @ May 17 2020, 10:39 AM)
Bro enlighten me. Is WO always provided to customer before SC proceed to start working ? I know Perodua does but only certain type of service.

Back in Wheelcorp, no WO provided. SC only gave me a appointment slip copy, recommends me to do alignment every 10K, ask me if okay to proceed with extra RM371.

I was shock to hear the cost but I said 'go ahead' anyway because I wanted to know what so 'premium' and someone refer it as 'nice job done'.

I only get to see the details of work after job is done and listed in invoice. The item charged is 'Kinematic Diagnosis System. Which is what outside dealer charging me for Alza alignment work  ranting.gif  bangwall.gif . And it only cost me RM53.
Bro, they "recommend" means not compulsory and they are optional.. SC recommend a lot of stuff, but depending on your judgement.. some can be done outside if you prefer.. My VW SC recommend change brake pads but I did outside and cost 2 hundred less. This kind of things won't void VW warranty.. you may check with your Merc SC

My VW SC and Honda SC always present me the WO, get my consent before they start.. that is when I scrutinize their items, I even have a copy of an official schedule maintenance items list with me to compare and make sure they don't simply add items not jack up the price.. VW has been pretty honest, Honda is the worst.. I always manage to cut down by hundred to 2 hundred ringgit before they start.. after sometime, they are aware of my expectation and they are more cautious..

Ie: they brought forward certain items and try to charge me even before the mileage and month reaches.. I use the official schedule list and screwed them.. they gave me lame excuse like next service bill will be high so they brought forward to spread the cost.. I told them if you change my parts by 6 months earlier, means I am not able to fully utilize the item before it is due, and I am paying more at the end of the day.. just stick to the blardy schedule.. I complained to the customer service..

Some times they include washing service rm30 rm50 etc, I always ask them to take it out.. I wash my own cars..

Service centers are really not charity organization..

Honda schedule https://www.honda.com.my/service_maintenance/maintenance

VW schedule
https://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=https:...&source=sh/x/im

This post has been edited by twincharger07: May 17 2020, 11:11 AM
exdtan
post May 17 2020, 11:13 AM

332 posts

QUOTE(aperturef1 @ May 17 2020, 10:55 AM)
After they quoted you RM 371, I thought you aware their service level whether should pay for their services and get the 'nice job done' in SC? No? Simply agree to ask them go ahead and now telling me outside can do much cheaper and better?

Of course I know outside definitely cheaper or better, and I never be so dumb to accept the RM 371 for alignment & balancing in SC in my entire life, however, if I am so stupid to accept their offer, I won't be so cheapskate telling ppl be aware of SC charges, and comparing Alza with BMW.

PS: The 'nice job done' is to make you feel better after you spent RM 371 for alignment & balancing.
I think you are missing the point here. You are trying to belittle someone and label them as 'stupid'. But the point of the initial post was to spread awareness, think twice before you assume having this '5Y/unlimited mileage warranty + service' package will not fork out a single cent for maintenance.

As I mentioned in other reply post, I 'wanted' to know what is being charged and how different it is between each maker. I already know what Honda and Perodua charge, of course I am open to BMW.

If you cant read post properly, I suggest you dont reply to my post. You may do so to someone else in this forum. Thanks.
exdtan
post May 17 2020, 11:17 AM

332 posts

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ May 17 2020, 11:01 AM)
Bro, they "recommend" means not compulsory and they are optional.. SC recommend a lot of stuff, but depending on your judgement.. some can be done outside if you prefer.. My VW SC recommend change brake pads but I did outside and cost 2 hundred less. This kind of things won't void VW warranty.. you may check with your Merc SC

My VW SC and Honda SC always present me the WO, get my consent before they start.. that is when I scrutinize their items, I even have a copy of an official schedule maintenance items list with me to compare and make sure they don't simply add items not jack up the price.. VW has been pretty honest, Honda is the worst.. I always manage to cut down by hundred to 2 hundred ringgit before they start.. after sometime, they are aware of my expectation and they are more cautious..

Ie: they brought forward certain items and try to charge me even before the mileage and month reaches.. I use the official schedule list and screwed them.. they gave me lame excuse like next service bill will be high so they brought forward to spread the cost.. I told them if you change my parts by 6 months earlier, means I am not able to fully utilize the item before it is due, and I am paying more at the end of the day.. just stick to the blardy schedule.. I complained to the customer service..

Some times they include washing service rm30 rm50 etc, I always ask them to take it out.. I wash my own cars..

Service centers are really not charity organization..

Honda schedule https://www.honda.com.my/service_maintenance/maintenance

VW schedule
https://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=https:...&source=sh/x/im
Bro mind sharing which VW SC you go to ? I never have a chance to drive VW but the least I can do is recommend to my friends who has one.

Again I thought only Perodua and Proton charge for car wash. Didnt know VW and Honda do too. Because the BMW SC told me 'sorry sir the guy that did car wash on leave due to MCO so we couldnt wash your car' upon releasing my car so I thought upper range maker in MY offer free car wash. shakehead.gif
twincharger07
post May 17 2020, 11:34 AM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(exdtan @ May 17 2020, 11:17 AM)
Bro mind sharing which VW SC you go to ? I never have a chance to drive VW but the least I can do is recommend to my friends who has one.

Again I thought only Perodua and Proton charge for car wash. Didnt know VW and Honda do too. Because the BMW SC told me 'sorry sir the guy that did car wash on leave due to MCO so we couldnt wash your car' upon releasing my car so I thought upper range maker in MY offer free car wash. shakehead.gif
My VW 8 years liao, so doing it outside.. not with official center
Last time when I got it new and under warranty, I sent to Wearnes SG Besi (they close down Liao, GVE took over), Wing Hin Balakong, FA Glenmarie and GB Klang.. because I pindah rumah, so I have visited a number of SC..

Best is Wearnes, always give courtesy call when I placed my car their for few days.. too bad they decided to pullout from Msia..
GB klang quite transparent services advisor.. worst is FA Wagen.. no update no follow up when I put my car there to claim warranty..

VW SC (depending which one) last time offer free wash exclude engine bay. Engine bay wash cost rm50.. long time didn't go back VW SC.. not sure what are they offering now.

Honda Tiong Nam do charge for washing (in and out)

The key is to know how to differentiate compulsory service and optional, and owner really have to know are those optionals necessary and are they priced reasonably..

This post has been edited by twincharger07: May 17 2020, 11:42 AM
exdtan
post May 17 2020, 12:16 PM

332 posts

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ May 17 2020, 11:34 AM)
My VW 8 years liao, so doing it outside.. not with official center
Last time when I got it new and under warranty, I sent to Wearnes SG Besi (they close down Liao, GVE took over), Wing Hin Balakong, FA Glenmarie and GB Klang.. because I pindah rumah, so I have visited a number of SC..

Best is Wearnes, always give courtesy call when I placed my car their for few days.. too bad they decided to pullout from Msia..
GB klang quite transparent services advisor.. worst is FA Wagen.. no update no follow up when I put my car there to claim warranty..

VW SC (depending which one) last time offer free wash exclude engine bay. Engine bay wash cost rm50.. long time didn't go back VW SC.. not sure what are they offering now.

Honda Tiong Nam do charge for washing (in and out)

The key is to know how to differentiate compulsory service and optional, and owner really have to know are those optionals necessary and are they priced reasonably..
Thanks for the info mate.

Appreciate your advice. Consider my 2nd time taking it to WC SC and the experience itself not so good. Aftersales service really bad.
Since I know the cost doing it in SC now, definitely not doing anymore maintenance with SC unless covered by package.
aperturef1
post May 17 2020, 04:39 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(exdtan @ May 17 2020, 11:13 AM)
I think you are missing the point here. You are trying to belittle someone and label them as 'stupid'. But the point of the initial post was to spread awareness, think twice before you assume having this '5Y/unlimited mileage warranty + service' package will not fork out a single cent for maintenance.

As I mentioned in other reply post, I 'wanted' to know what is being charged and how different it is between each maker. I already know what Honda and Perodua charge, of course I am open to BMW.

If you cant read post properly, I suggest you dont reply to my post. You may do so to someone else in this forum. Thanks.
You don't need to reply me if you feel unhappy.

I just want to highlight, don't compare SC charges from different makers, especially Alza vs BMW, if you think it's unreasonable, just do it outside like most people are doing.
BigMan123
post May 17 2020, 08:20 PM

2,470 posts

QUOTE(exdtan @ May 16 2020, 09:57 PM)
Just did tyre alignment, balancing and rotation. It is not covered under 5Y/Unlimited + free scheduled service warranty package.

It cost me RM371, tax inclusive. While an Alza only cost RM53 for alignment+balancing+rotation.

Think twice before you really think this warranty package will get everything taken care of during your first 5 years ownership.
Yes...their balancing and alignment is double. I think they take it outside eg Lim Tayar to do. No problems with it as they are reputable. Just that it’s cost on cost and hence double
wild_card_my
post May 17 2020, 08:46 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(infiniti123 @ Mar 11 2020, 10:29 AM)
just gotten the car 1 week ago. feels amazing and the interior upgrade from the f30 is miles ahead. got it in saphhire black and the paint looks different in every condition (day and night).
driving wise, you really feel the responsiveness of the car and it handles well too. if you want sportiness go for this. C200fl feels more aged than the new g20 in my own opinion.
Congratulations. You got the 320i? My car also looks different between day and night and I like it - looks orangy in the day, and reddish in the night

I would have avoided the W205 too knowing full well that the W206 is coming up, the same reason I went for G20 over the less-than-stellar F30
y3ivan
post May 17 2020, 10:43 PM

502 posts

Congrats, TS

Btw, learning from sifus here - are you in the 20k/month k level here to own one? Or much higher than that?
TSAyamBannedTwice
post May 19 2020, 09:03 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(y3ivan @ May 17 2020, 10:43 PM)
Congrats, TS

Btw, learning from sifus here - are you in the 20k/month k level here to own one? Or much higher than that?
Not yet 20k/month, but i’ve low commitment & single
My commitment only around 30% if my nett salary
If i get 330i my commitment will be 45% of my nett income
But 320i will be lesser than that
Just thinking getting beemer to fulfilling my “enjoy before married” plan and 320i is a good entry level

Also contemplating bout the after sales service
Many people recommend me to go for auto bavaria but quill seems offer more discount
Haihhh
twincharger07
post May 20 2020, 07:20 AM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(AyamBannedTwice @ May 19 2020, 09:03 PM)
Just thinking getting beemer to fulfilling my “enjoy before married” plan and 320i is a good entry level

Many people recommend me to go for auto bavaria but quill seems offer more discount
Haihhh
Congrats.. enjoy your ride..

This post has been edited by twincharger07: May 20 2020, 07:25 AM
BigMan123
post May 20 2020, 07:53 AM

2,470 posts

Haihhh
What is the discount currently?
kopitiam
post May 21 2020, 09:36 PM

cookie monster
4,480 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 17 2020, 08:46 PM)
Congratulations. You got the 320i? My car also looks different between day and night and I like it - looks orangy in the day, and reddish in the night

I would have avoided the W205 too knowing full well that the W206 is coming up, the same reason I went for G20 over the less-than-stellar F30

Haihhh
both of u managed to get the 5 years free service? hmm.gif

mine still stuck in KL waiting for roro ship 1st week of June shakehead.gif
TSAyamBannedTwice
post May 21 2020, 09:45 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(kopitiam @ May 21 2020, 09:36 PM)

mine still stuck in KL waiting for roro ship 1st week of June  shakehead.gif
Nope, ayam didn’t pay any bookinh yet
Want to wait till june or july, see how bad the recession

Beli now pun tak guna, cannot go anywhere jalan2
But based on how bad current sales number, sure they going to give lots of promo later brows.gif

This post has been edited by AyamBannedTwice: May 21 2020, 09:46 PM
wild_card_my
post May 21 2020, 09:45 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(kopitiam @ May 21 2020, 09:36 PM)

mine still stuck in KL waiting for roro ship 1st week of June  shakehead.gif
what are you talking about? Why wouldn't we be getting the 5-year up to 100,000 km free service with 5-year, unlimited mileage warranty?
kopitiam
post May 21 2020, 10:09 PM

cookie monster
4,480 posts

QUOTE(AyamBannedTwice @ May 21 2020, 09:45 PM)

But based on how bad current sales number, sure they going to give lots of promo later brows.gif
lucky u brows.gif brows.gif
just received mine 8 days before MCO doh.gif and waiting for roro ship to send it to kuching doh.gif

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 21 2020, 09:45 PM)
what are you talking about? Why wouldn't we be getting the 5-year up to 100,000 km free service with 5-year, unlimited mileage warranty?
hmm.gif still not sure about the 5-year, unlimited mileage warranty since its my first time with bmw laugh.gif

This post has been edited by kopitiam: May 21 2020, 10:10 PM
wild_card_my
post May 21 2020, 10:18 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(AyamBannedTwice @ May 21 2020, 09:45 PM)

I got mine in January, it was at 8k km, today it is at 17kkm, in just 4 months including MCO, that's 9k km in 4 months, about 2.2k km a month

The car pays for itself, for example, my sales figure for insurance has now matched last year's figures. Having a good car inspires people confidence, in that they know you are serious with your job and are able to afford the lastest and greatest G20 3 series in Malaysia, the 330i

Whatever promotion you are going to get from BMW will not be better than the 8% we are getting for newer cars laugh.gif

QUOTE(kopitiam @ May 21 2020, 10:09 PM)
hmm.gif still not sure about the 5-year, unlimited mileage warranty since its my first time with bmw  laugh.gif
oh wow the 320i really shows itself on the steering. it is so thing laugh.gif

Oh well, it's still a Bimmer, instant street cred. People say all sorts of things, but if they can afford it, they'd take it over anything they currently have

You did talk to your sales agent right? Surely he mentioned the warranty and maintenance
TSAyamBannedTwice
post May 21 2020, 10:46 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 21 2020, 10:18 PM)
I got mine in January, it was at 8k km, today it is at 17kkm, in just 4 months including MCO, that's 9k km in 4 months, about 2.2k km a month

The car pays for itself, for example, my sales figure for insurance has now matched last year's figures. Having a good car inspires people confidence, in that they know you are serious with your job and are able to afford the lastest and greatest G20 3 series in Malaysia, the 330i

Whatever promotion you are going to get from BMW will not be better than the 8% we are getting for newer cars laugh.gif
oh wow the 320i really shows itself on the steering. it is so thing laugh.gif

Oh well, it's still a Bimmer, instant street cred. People say all sorts of things, but if they can afford it, they'd take it over anything they currently have

You did talk to your sales agent right? Surely he mentioned the warranty and maintenance
Lel.. u think i’m not entitled for corporate discount ke?
TSAyamBannedTwice
post May 21 2020, 10:48 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(kopitiam @ May 21 2020, 10:09 PM)
lucky u brows.gif  brows.gif
just received mine 8 days before MCO  doh.gif and waiting for roro ship to send it to kuching doh.gif
hmm.gif still not sure about the 5-year, unlimited mileage warranty since its my first time with bmw  laugh.gif
👏👏👏
Great bro!
So far how’s 320i? Syiok or better get 330i?
Semi digital meter cluster lil bit turn off because even indon 320i got the full digital
wild_card_my
post May 21 2020, 10:50 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(AyamBannedTwice @ May 21 2020, 10:46 PM)
Lel.. u think i’m not entitled for corporate discount ke?
What i mean is that everyone is getting it, and any other discounts would out of the dealer's pocket. I was offered rm1k but that SA didnt know I already had one

Aesthetic issues with 320i that I can't get my mind off:

1. Much smaller screen on the center console, thus bigger bezels too

2. Thin steering

It can't be better than the 330i other than the price and softer and more acceptable suspension? laugh.gif admittedly the Msports suspension isn't for everyone. Older people will be turned off with the stiffness

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: May 21 2020, 10:53 PM

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:56 PM