Stop buying V-soy soy milk in Malaysia, Price has increased too much!

TSkenviro
post Feb 18 2020, 09:49 PM, updated 6y ago

144 posts

2 years ago in 2018, one is able to buy the V-soy Original 1L for about RM4.

Two days ago on Sunday, 16th February 2020, I saw in Aeon supermarket that the price has increased to about RM6 (RM5.95). That is a 50% price increase, which is a huge price increase. In fact, it's a ridiculous price increase. If they increase the price by 5% per year or maybe even 10% per year, we can understand but this is bonkers. V-soy is getting more expensive. I have also seen an online price of RM6.40 at http://dinasou.com/productview.aspx?id=7813. What is crazier is that the market price is apparently RM6.80.

I would recommend everyone not to buy V-soy or at least buy V-soy less and consider other brands of soy milk.

This post has been edited by kenviro: Feb 21 2020, 09:35 AM
Emimarson
post Feb 18 2020, 09:58 PM

632 posts

Even ridiculous than HL milk
Captain89
post Feb 18 2020, 10:42 PM

Jiken
3,190 posts

But...but...but it's tasty
SUSzerozero00
post Feb 18 2020, 10:42 PM

This part najib was right. It’s a free market, Govt can’t control all prices.

It’s like people keep buying overpriced stocks or properties.
SUSBillCollector
post Feb 19 2020, 01:26 AM

818 posts

I just started buying it.

Been buying the low sugar, golden grain and multi grain ones.

These days for breakfast I mix 1/3 golden grain, 1/3 unsweetened almond milk and 1/3 whole fresh milk.

I think it is fairly good value for money considering the prices of the raw materials of late.
posmaster
post Feb 19 2020, 09:15 AM

264 posts

Wow....i tot i was the only one notice the price changed for the V-soy milk thingy...... kudos.....

Should stop buying them and let the price come down....
Jay Chua CC
post Feb 19 2020, 09:19 AM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

Robert kuok saddings
TSkenviro
post Feb 19 2020, 09:39 AM

144 posts

If you know of other things that has increased prices a lot or unreasonably, then please let me/us know by listing them here.

QUOTE(posmaster @ Feb 19 2020, 09:15 AM)
Wow....i tot i was the only one notice the price changed for the V-soy milk thingy...... kudos.....

This post has been edited by kenviro: Feb 19 2020, 09:39 AM
calodin
post Feb 19 2020, 11:56 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(kenviro @ Feb 18 2020, 09:49 PM)
2 years ago in 2018, one is able to buy the V-soy 1L for about RM4.

Two days ago on Sunday, 16th February 2020, I saw in Aeon supermarket that the price has increased to about RM6 (RM5.95). That is a 50% price increase, which is a huge price increase. In fact, it's a ridiculous price increase. If they increase the price by 5% per year or maybe even 10% per year, we can understand but this is bonkers.

I would recommend everyone not to buy V-soy or at least buy V-soy less and consider other brands of soy milk.
QUOTE(BillCollector @ Feb 19 2020, 01:26 AM)
I just started buying it.

Been buying the low sugar, golden grain and multi grain ones.

These days for breakfast I mix 1/3 golden grain, 1/3 unsweetened almond milk and 1/3 whole fresh milk.

I think it is fairly good value for money considering the prices of  the raw materials of late.
QUOTE(posmaster @ Feb 19 2020, 09:15 AM)

You all still buying V-soy ar....you gais just take a look at the ingredient list lar, almost like chemistry text book..adoi.
TSkenviro
post Feb 19 2020, 12:06 PM

144 posts

Looks like you didn't get it. The point of this post is to stop buying V-soy, not to still buy V-soy. Actually you are not that accurate to say the ingredients are like chemistry text book. I read the ingredients and the ones that you meant are vitamins and minerals.

QUOTE(calodin @ Feb 19 2020, 11:56 AM)
You all still buying V-soy ar....you gais just take a look at the ingredient list lar, almost like chemistry text book..adoi.
Tina91
post Feb 19 2020, 12:11 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(calodin @ Feb 19 2020, 11:56 AM)
this
Tina91
post Feb 19 2020, 12:12 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(kenviro @ Feb 19 2020, 12:06 PM)
Looks like you didn't get it. The point of this post is to stop buying V-soy, not to still buy V-soy. Actually you are not that accurate to say the ingredients are like chemistry text book. I read the ingredients and the ones that you meant are vitamins and minerals.
base on the ingredient list, its seems like a highly proceeded food if you ask me...
GOPI56
post Feb 19 2020, 12:14 PM

1,495 posts

Prices of raw materials have risen so need to raise the price to cover the cost.
yeeck
post Feb 19 2020, 03:05 PM

3,578 posts

It's a free market, V-soy is also not a controlled item. If you feel it is too expensive for you, go find other alternatives. Same goes for any other non-controlled items in the market. Demand and supply, yo.
blmse92
post Feb 19 2020, 03:17 PM

603 posts

V soy.... still got other options to choose.
Enzam
post Feb 19 2020, 03:19 PM

169 posts

too high estrogen + sugar will give you man boobs
Autocountstick
post Feb 19 2020, 03:20 PM

675 posts

let stop buying
RGRaj
post Feb 19 2020, 07:40 PM

560 posts

overated
netmatrix
post Feb 19 2020, 10:07 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

Please stop drinking shit like this. Buy those from roadside is much better.
Junid
post Feb 19 2020, 11:42 PM

58 posts

rooadside unker soya bean is tastier. got taufufah samo
TSkenviro
post Feb 20 2020, 04:10 PM

144 posts

Yes, that is why I calling others to consider other brands.

QUOTE(yeeck @ Feb 19 2020, 03:05 PM)
It's a free market, V-soy is also not a controlled item. If you feel it is too expensive for you, go find other alternatives. Same goes for any other non-controlled items in the market. Demand and supply, yo.
culvers
post Feb 20 2020, 05:50 PM

92 posts

Like to drink it during my college period. If i remember correctly, it’s one of those potong kaki soy milk.
UserU
post Feb 20 2020, 06:14 PM

CSONLINE2.NET - FREE COUNTER-STRIKE
5,093 posts

Any good alts to the V-Soy brand (besides the truck ones)?
netmatrix
post Feb 20 2020, 08:34 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(Junid @ Feb 19 2020, 11:42 PM)
rooadside unker soya bean is tastier. got taufufah samo
Roadside Unker one is made fresh daily. Thats why i say stop drinking those packaged shit.
loki
post Feb 20 2020, 08:38 PM

2,109 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Feb 19 2020, 10:07 PM)
have you seen how they process road side ones? have you seen the factories? Hygiene is not in their vocab...
netmatrix
post Feb 20 2020, 09:40 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(loki @ Feb 20 2020, 08:38 PM)
have you seen how they process road side ones? have you seen the factories? Hygiene is not in their vocab...
Seen? My uncle was selling this for many years. And i was in charge of cleaning his cart. I'm getting paid 3 bucks to clean his cart every day when i was a kid. So i do have experience. laugh.gif
SUSbronkos
post Feb 20 2020, 09:43 PM

1,159 posts

My gf's favourite drink and still is. Even in our fridge has a dozen of it.
SUSling ling rox
post Feb 21 2020, 12:29 AM

75 posts

It is my favorite soy drink but wonder why it is so expensive. Other soya drink dont even come close to vsoy imo.
momusu
post Feb 21 2020, 08:03 AM

~morning musume fanboy~
812 posts

All uses same ingredients yeah? Or different main ingredients?
TSkenviro
post Feb 21 2020, 09:08 AM

144 posts

Should be slightly different ingredients and different concentrations for the soy beans.

QUOTE(momusu @ Feb 21 2020, 08:03 AM)
This post has been edited by kenviro: Feb 21 2020, 09:09 AM
Selectt
post Feb 21 2020, 10:28 AM

wattttt!!
1,712 posts

sorry why v-soy so famous? i drink before, tastes machiem weird.

please enlighten.
Justin.Loong
post Feb 21 2020, 10:57 AM

8,363 posts

Two days ago on Sunday, 16th February 2020, I saw in Aeon supermarket that the price has increased to about RM6 (RM5.95). That is a 50% price increase, which is a huge price increase. In fact, it's a ridiculous price increase. If they increase the price by 5% per year or maybe even 10% per year, we can understand but this is bonkers. V-soy is getting more expensive.  I have also seen an online price of RM6.40 at http://dinasou.com/productview.aspx?id=7813. What is crazier is that the market price is apparently RM6.80.

QUOTE(kenviro @ Feb 19 2020, 12:06 PM)
But what is your motive by advocating for people to stop buying?
Just because of the price factor? hmm.gif

QUOTE(zerozero00 @ Feb 18 2020, 10:42 PM)

+1 with zerozero00 and yeeck on the underlined. nod.gif
etan26
post Feb 21 2020, 08:15 PM

323 posts

Imported from Siamland .....Baht sudah naik banyak ma....itu pun tak tau ke . . . .
amandamai
post Feb 22 2020, 04:08 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Feb 20 2020, 09:43 PM)
My gf's favourite drink and still is. Even in our fridge has a dozen of it.
My sister in UK only drink soy milk as she hates dairy and she thought soy milk healthier. Angmoh put milk n cream, she put soy milk in her tea. After years of consuming, it played havoc with her hormone. And she got some women organ disease. Not endometriosis but some complicated name. She stop drinking altogether now.

We all can drink soy milk but only drink sparingly la
Nanti Sekejap
post Feb 22 2020, 04:12 PM

411 posts

Kalau mau initiate boycott, biar suggest sekali alternative

I pon tahu jangan undi lagi ph and bn, tapi siapa lagi ada?
lele1989
post Feb 22 2020, 04:26 PM

152 posts

Two days ago on Sunday, 16th February 2020, I saw in Aeon supermarket that the price has increased to about RM6 (RM5.95). That is a 50% price increase, which is a huge price increase. In fact, it's a ridiculous price increase. If they increase the price by 5% per year or maybe even 10% per year, we can understand but this is bonkers. V-soy is getting more expensive.  I have also seen an online price of RM6.40 at http://dinasou.com/productview.aspx?id=7813. What is crazier is that the market price is apparently RM6.80.

My family doctor once told me that all these processed food/drinks are not advisable. The contents are always similar from brand to brand, ie, always artificial ingredients are added to make it tasty, colorful or smell nice. The contents written on the packages are sometimes misleading, as you need to know the portion of each ingredient, to determine whether the product is suitable for you or not.

SUSNew Klang
post Feb 22 2020, 04:40 PM

4,998 posts

Soy products are bad for men

Enfemininating
touristking
post Feb 22 2020, 04:49 PM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(zerozero00 @ Feb 18 2020, 03:42 PM)

But but but....PH did says GST is the cause of all price increase. May be still got GST and hidden somewhere?

SUSrenomahans
post Feb 23 2020, 12:51 PM

523 posts

Ok noted
But never have tasted v-soy in my life
But I support unwarranted price increase
Will not try it
Also I will not buy Honda
Not happy with their price adjustment also
Last time I drove a Honda was 1993

This post has been edited by renomahans: Feb 23 2020, 12:51 PM
editboy
post Feb 24 2020, 12:22 PM

134 posts

My mum also like to buy V-Soy. And you can make soya pudding with it.
Try the recipe here:
Easy Soya Milk Longan Pudding
akib_mullen
post Feb 24 2020, 12:24 PM

691 posts

Yeah dont buy V-soy. First ingredient is water sad.gif
netmatrix
post Feb 25 2020, 05:47 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(lele1989 @ Feb 22 2020, 04:26 PM)
My family doctor once told me that all these processed food/drinks are not advisable. The contents are always similar from brand to brand, ie, always artificial ingredients are added to make it tasty, colorful or smell nice. The contents written on the packages are sometimes misleading, as you need to know the portion of each ingredient, to determine whether the product is suitable for you or not.
Its funny no one thinks much about the products that say NO PRESERVATIVES!! and have shelf life of few months or more. laugh.gif
knazlee
post Feb 27 2020, 08:00 AM

55 posts

Will still buy vsoy. Its nice
UserU
post Feb 27 2020, 01:02 PM

CSONLINE2.NET - FREE COUNTER-STRIKE
5,093 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Feb 25 2020, 05:47 PM)
Its funny no one thinks much about the products that say NO PRESERVATIVES!! and have shelf life of few months or more.  laugh.gif

This post has been edited by UserU: Feb 27 2020, 01:04 PM
calodin
post Feb 27 2020, 01:06 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Feb 25 2020, 05:47 PM)
Its funny no one thinks much about the products that say NO PRESERVATIVES!! and have shelf life of few months or more.  laugh.gif
The shelve life is actually a requirement for "on-shelve" for a lot of the hyper/super and cvs, meaning, if your product is less than 6 months shelve life, they don't even allow it to be display on the shelves (this is for ambient product)

The cleaner the ingredient list, the healthier it is, but it is a challenge for shelve life and also taste. but can be done, but with higher price.
smokey
post Feb 28 2020, 10:04 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

Its a free market and it has no price cap
U cannot tell ppl not to buy just because u dont want to buy
Just like BMF
SUSjalsrix
post Feb 29 2020, 12:21 AM

1,927 posts

Don't go to Aeon, I went to NSK supermarket and the low sugar version is only RM4.50. Quite affordable.

I prefer V-Soy to Yeo Hiap Seng which is so diluted. V-Soy also use NON-GMO soya bean compared to Yeo Hiap Seng.

NON-GMO soya bean has more nutrition than GMO soya bean which is genetically modified to grow faster.
SUSjalsrix
post Feb 29 2020, 12:24 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(momusu @ Feb 21 2020, 08:03 AM)
V-Soy use NON-GMO soya bean not those GMO soya bean which are genetically modified.

That's why V-Soy taste better and also it is less diluted.

Yeo Hiap Seng is more diluted with water. That's why it is less tasty.

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Feb 29 2020, 12:30 AM
SUSjalsrix
post Feb 29 2020, 12:28 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Feb 22 2020, 04:40 PM)
Soy products are bad for men

Enfemininating
Those are just myths produced by milk producers.

Chinese have been drinking soya beans for few thousand years, do you see all become effeminate? doh.gif

Chinese don't have a choice because more than 90% are lactose intolerant to milk.

Most Chinese don't know that when drinking those teh tarik with milk, it produce gas (ie. fart) because of indigestion to lactose.

I only knew this during my genetic class with my Angmoh prof.

Conclusion, Chinese can't drink milk so must drink soya bean milk.

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Feb 29 2020, 12:29 AM
SUSjalsrix
post Feb 29 2020, 12:36 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(amandamai @ Feb 22 2020, 04:08 PM)
My sister in UK only drink soy milk as she hates dairy and she thought soy milk healthier. Angmoh put milk n cream, she put soy milk in her tea. After years of consuming, it played havoc with her hormone. And she got some women organ disease. Not endometriosis but some complicated name. She stop drinking altogether now.

We all can drink soy milk but only drink sparingly la
BTW, most Chinese are lactose intolerant to milk.

Chinese in China have been drinking for thousand of years and it didn't do 'havoc' with her hormone. Don't blame on soya bean.

Ask your sister to drink NON-GMO soya milk and also those who don't have preservatives added.

Twins10
post Mar 1 2020, 04:35 AM

919 posts

I usually buy soy milk n add my own milk powder.
Twins10
post Mar 1 2020, 04:37 AM

919 posts

Dont blame soy beans. If drinking soy milk can disrupt hormones. All chinese n japs should be extinct by now.

Miso natto beancurd tofu all soy beans.
audi90
post Mar 1 2020, 05:53 AM

96 posts

Dang vsoy multi grain was my all time fav
SUSjalsrix
post Mar 1 2020, 09:38 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(Twins10 @ Mar 1 2020, 04:37 AM)
Dont blame soy beans.  If drinking soy milk can disrupt hormones.  All chinese n japs should be extinct by now.

Miso natto  beancurd tofu all soy beans.
Those are fake propaganda spread by milk producers to promote their protein shake.
I was fooled by them once by buying those protein shake which caused me to 'fart'.

Chinese and Japanese can't digest milk, that's why they must drink soya beans drink.

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Mar 1 2020, 09:39 AM
drowning
post Mar 3 2020, 01:10 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Feb 29 2020, 12:24 AM)
V-Soy use NON-GMO soya bean not those GMO soya bean which are genetically modified.

Please! There are not much difference between non-GMO vs GMO soybean in term of taste.

In V-Soy there are other additives that improves taste, smell and texture of the products. Look at the ingredients...

Barley milk - probably to improve on texture (the so-called less diluted texture you taste)
Soya bean oil - probably to improve on smell and flavor

In term of no-GMO vs GMO soybeans, the GM crops are mainly product of Monsanto, genetically modified to allow the soybeans plant to be able to withstand Roundup (herbicide). With non-GMO, the farmers have to resort to more labor intensive process during the growing of soy. Though nowadays, the usage of glyphosate/paraquat is quite prevalent in non-GMO soy, as they are corn safe, so your non-GMO soy may actually contains herbicide.

This is not to say V-Soy is bad, just to inform you to look into the ingredients before coming to conclusion blindly.
NightFelix
post Mar 3 2020, 02:41 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

sugar too high, why still buy? put the price aside. can't wait to cut leg is it? oh wait, people still queue to buy bubble tea.
calodin
post Mar 3 2020, 08:01 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Feb 29 2020, 12:24 AM)

Bro, everyone is Malaysia is using non-GMO Canadian soya beans, now I tell you, extraction process in Malaysia, max at cocnetrate can only get 3.5% to 4% protein from soya bean. When you add water and sugar and other stuff, it dilutes the protein futher, if you see in the V-Soy ingredient, they actually put in protein powder and a lot of other thickeners (malt and barley are thickeners) so you get the thick taste.

Good High Quality Soy with high protein needs only 3 ingredients, Soya Bean, Water and Sugar, do not need thickener, do not need anti-foaming, do not need preservative but in Malaysia the technology is not available....yet...but will akan datang...stay tuned.
Kebunsayur
post Mar 4 2020, 07:41 AM

38 posts

Yes it is getting expensive
Pikichu
post Mar 4 2020, 01:39 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(akib_mullen @ Feb 24 2020, 12:24 PM)
Yeah dont buy V-soy. First ingredient is water sad.gif
That is the right way to list ingredient.
The highest content is listed first in decending sequence.
Coke list water first, yet so many buy.
Imagine if soy product beverage have soy > water then would it be mud like ? biggrin.gif
boelat
post Mar 4 2020, 03:34 PM

23 posts

sometime I also wonder whats the different between v-soy and roadside soy
PHI_1.618
post Mar 4 2020, 04:17 PM

Ada Baca Buku
761 posts

i used to love it...but lately my taste buds changed....I find it taste so yucksss and stop buying anymore.
SUSjalsrix
post Mar 5 2020, 10:50 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(drowning @ Mar 3 2020, 01:10 PM)
Please! There are not much difference between non-GMO vs GMO soybean in term of taste.

Non-GMO is definitely better than GMO nutritionally.

Is artificial leather better than natural leather?
Is artificial teeth better than natural teeth?
Is artificial leg better than natural leg?
Is artificial egg better than natural egg?

GMO soya bean is just artificial soya bean to support those GMO soya bean growers in USA to make more money because they grow faster but nutritionally poorer.

It's just like they use growth hormone on animals to make them grow faster.

Are you working for Yeo Hiap Seng who use GMO soya bean?

Chinese and Japanese have been using non-GMO natural soya bean for thousand of years until those Americans come up with an artificial version. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Mar 5 2020, 10:54 AM
SUSjalsrix
post Mar 5 2020, 10:53 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Mar 3 2020, 02:41 PM)
sugar too high, why still buy? put the price aside. can't wait to cut leg is it? oh wait, people still queue to buy bubble tea.
There is a low sugar version for V-soy. I buy it and it's cheaper
drowning
post Mar 5 2020, 11:18 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Mar 5 2020, 10:50 AM)

GMO soya bean is just artificial soya bean  to support those GMO soya bean growers in USA to make more money because they grow faster but nutritionally poorer.

Chinese and Japanese have been using non-GMO natural soya bean for thousand of years until those Americans come up with an artificial version.  laugh.gif
I think you confused between GMO/non-GMO vs Artificial/Real.

Just fyi, most of the food we eat today is GMO, either you like it or not. The carrot we eat today is different from the carrot our ancestor eat long long time ago. So does most vege we eat. Cabbage, brussel sprouts, etc.
akib_mullen
post Mar 5 2020, 01:44 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Mar 4 2020, 01:39 PM)
That is the right way to list ingredient.
The highest content is listed first in decending sequence.
Coke list water first, yet so many buy.
Imagine if soy product beverage have soy > water then would it be mud like ? biggrin.gif
What I mean is other brand like soyfresh, the first ingredient is soy extract, which for me is better rather than water?
Pikichu
post Mar 5 2020, 01:51 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(akib_mullen @ Mar 5 2020, 01:44 PM)
What I mean is other brand like soyfresh, the first ingredient is soy extract, which for me is better rather than water?
Those are misleading label.
If soy extract more than water then it would have texture of mud.

But you are free to enjoy what you like.

Here to buy
post Mar 5 2020, 08:46 PM

1,379 posts

I stopped consuming soy milk.
Thanks to gout.
Still eating red meat and seafoods though.
max_cavalera
post Mar 6 2020, 01:07 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

Stop drinking v-soy la u all later slowly develop soy boy characteristic
SUSjalsrix
post Mar 6 2020, 02:33 PM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(drowning @ Mar 5 2020, 11:18 AM)
I think you confused between GMO/non-GMO vs Artificial/Real.

Just fyi, most of the food we eat today is GMO, either you like it or not. The carrot we eat today is different from the carrot our ancestor eat long long time ago. So does most vege we eat. Cabbage, brussel sprouts, etc.
LOL.

I try to eat natural, non-GMO food as much as possible, those that are not modified to grow faster.

I also don't eat growth hormone injected chickens/animals to make them grow faster.

No wonder cancer rates is high in modern society because people keep on eating man-made chemical-laced food instead of natural food.

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Mar 6 2020, 02:33 PM
lambsauce
post Mar 6 2020, 03:54 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Mar 6 2020, 02:33 PM)
LOL.

I try to eat natural, non-GMO food as much as possible, those that are not modified to grow faster.

I also don't eat growth hormone injected chickens/animals to make them grow faster.

No wonder cancer rates is high in modern society because people keep on eating man-made chemical-laced food instead of natural food.
u think everyone can afford organic non-gmo produce?

if we a;; have the choice, who dun wanna eat good ones?
lambsauce
post Mar 6 2020, 03:55 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Mar 6 2020, 01:07 PM)
Stop drinking v-soy la u all later slowly develop soy boy characteristic
u mean manboobs
kellyisevil
post Mar 6 2020, 06:31 PM

jellywelly
1,240 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Mar 6 2020, 02:33 PM)
LOL.

How do you know what is “natural” and what is not?
Fruits like banana genetically modified to have its characteristic like almost no seed and soft filling even though it is grown “naturally” now.
There are also fruits like seedless watermelon which are also being genetically modified, would you avoid it as well?
Or even, corn and tomatoes.
GMO is just basically just hybridizing different quality of the plant and make it into a better more sustainable and feasible plant.

Hormone injected and GMO are completely two different things.
One is laced with hormones while the other changes the characteristic of the fruits such as shape, size, hardness of the skin and etc.

If anything GMO is better for the environment and is more cost efficient for us consumers.
calodin
post Mar 6 2020, 08:10 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(akib_mullen @ Mar 5 2020, 01:44 PM)
Soy Extract means they do not use fresh soy bean, they buy processed concentrate, that is basically what soy extract is. So if you want a good soy product, if you see the ingredient list is Soy Beans, Water and Sugar (if you launch unsweetened soy in Malaysia, no one will buy) and they can give you high protein level (of 5%) then that is a very good product. The cleaner the ingredient list, the better the product.
Newsray
post Mar 7 2020, 06:52 AM

1,022 posts

Thats what you get from weak currency.
nasiputih
post Mar 7 2020, 06:56 AM

256 posts

you mean the v-soy price will increase more? better buy more to stock up now?
rubrubrub
post Mar 7 2020, 06:59 AM

senor
1,793 posts

GMO soya bean is just artificial soya bean  to support those GMO soya bean growers in USA to make more money because they grow faster but nutritionally poorer.

Chinese and Japanese have been using non-GMO natural soya bean for thousand of years until those Americans come up with an artificial version.  laugh.gif
lol, ur money so do whatever u want but don't need to flaunt ur ignorance here tbh.
kkk8787
post Mar 7 2020, 08:07 AM

Julyd8th
2,529 posts

Do u even understand GMO. GMO is not artificial la
touristking
post Mar 7 2020, 11:02 AM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(kenviro @ Feb 18 2020, 02:49 PM)

You should ask Lim Guan Eng. He said, GST is the reason why prices go up.
SUSjalsrix
post Mar 7 2020, 06:09 PM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Mar 7 2020, 11:02 AM)
You should ask Lim Guan Eng. He said, GST is the reason why prices go up.
Now that Lim Guan Eng is no longer finance minister. Will we see a price reduction?

I used to drink Yeo Hiap Seng soya bean drink but after drinking V-Soy, i switched to V-Soy which taste much better and with NON-GMO.

akib_mullen
post Mar 8 2020, 10:58 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(calodin @ Mar 6 2020, 08:10 PM)
Soy Extract means they do not use fresh soy bean, they buy processed concentrate, that is basically what soy extract is. So if you want a good soy product, if you see the ingredient list is Soy Beans, Water and Sugar (if you launch unsweetened soy in Malaysia, no one will buy) and they can give you high protein level (of 5%) then that is a very good product. The cleaner the ingredient list, the better the product.
I see. Will try to find soy bean after this. Anyway, the one that I bought is not in chilled rack, the one usually expires in a year so that's why they use soy extract I guess.
I bought one soy milk, no sugar added. No wonder still a lot at the shelf rclxub.gif

calodin
post Mar 8 2020, 11:26 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(akib_mullen @ Mar 8 2020, 10:58 AM)
I see. Will try to find soy bean after this. Anyway, the one that I bought is not in chilled rack, the one usually expires in a year so that's why they use soy extract I guess.
I bought one soy milk, no sugar added. No wonder still a lot at the shelf  rclxub.gif
Soy milk mostly produced by using UHT (ultra heat treatment) process, that is why it is an ambient product. Depending on the cooking process and the UHT process, certain soy milk can have 9 months shelve life without having to add preservatives, but that processing equipment is very expensive.

People use soy extract mostly because they do not have beans processing equipment, and they don't want to deal with okara, which again is a cost factor.
WhitE LighteR
post Mar 8 2020, 03:48 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Unfortunately so far this brand seems to taste the nicest of all. At least to my taste la

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Mar 8 2020, 03:48 PM
aciolopa
post Mar 8 2020, 03:51 PM

17 posts

lol so poor can't afford buy soy drink and now asking the other peasants to raise pitchfork
akib_mullen
post Mar 9 2020, 01:24 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(calodin @ Mar 8 2020, 11:26 AM)
Soy milk mostly produced by using UHT (ultra heat treatment) process, that is why it is an ambient product. Depending on the cooking process and the UHT process, certain soy milk can have 9 months shelve life without having to add preservatives, but that processing equipment is very expensive.

People use soy extract mostly because they do not have beans processing equipment, and they don't want to deal with okara, which again is a cost factor.
Any recommendation which brand produce without the preservative?
calodin
post Mar 9 2020, 03:03 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(akib_mullen @ Mar 9 2020, 01:24 PM)
Any recommendation which brand produce without the preservative?
At the moment, there are non in Malaysia, but coming soon end of the year...stay tuned
Zeuss1220
post Mar 9 2020, 11:00 PM

469 posts

I've avoided VSoy ori and multigrain coz of its sugar and sweetness. But recently been drinking the new Low Sugar one, i must say its very good, much better.

They added just enough sugar and fats to offset pure soy bitterness and good texture. They also advertise it as barista choice. Makes sense, sweetness and texture on par with milk.
plouffle0789
post Jul 30 2023, 09:21 PM

1,836 posts

Which company produces V-Soy?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Jul 30 2023, 09:22 PM
tvcat
post Jul 30 2023, 09:22 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,924 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Jul 30 2023, 09:21 PM)
Which company produces V-Soy?
Thailand company
Shanks
post Jul 30 2023, 09:26 PM

182 posts

Soybean prices since pre-COVID sad.gif

SUSBrookLes
post Jul 30 2023, 09:50 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Feb 19 2020, 10:07 PM)
Disagree.
This one got special taste. That's why ppl willing to pay higher price.

Otherwise ppl buy drinkho or yeos.
a_dot_el
post Aug 1 2023, 12:17 PM

194 posts

If you can't afford it, then buy other cheaper alternatives.

No one is forcing you to buy it.

Stop being a sourgrapes.
JimbeamofNRT
post Aug 1 2023, 01:22 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(a_dot_el @ Aug 1 2023, 12:17 PM)
If you can't afford it, then buy other cheaper alternatives.

No one is forcing you to buy it.

Stop being a sourgrapes.

now also around 55 baht

malaysia how much now?

SUSTanahGagal
post Aug 1 2023, 01:24 PM

146 posts

Because ringgit has depreciated a lot

You want opr naik 2%

Or RM4 V-soy

Make a choice
a_dot_el
post Aug 1 2023, 02:31 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(TanahGagal @ Aug 1 2023, 01:24 PM)
Because ringgit has depreciated a lot

You want opr naik 2%

Or RM4 V-soy

Make a choice
Most soy beans are imported from Canada and US. So naturally, prices goes up.
Atrocious
post Aug 1 2023, 06:39 PM

97 posts

Big fan of Barista Soy here..
xtreme_paranoid
post Aug 1 2023, 07:40 PM

UNKNOWN
1,427 posts

I make homemade tempeh. Last time canada soy can get 2.50-3.00MYR per kg. Now no more
All after covid16. Fxx them
xHj09
post Aug 1 2023, 07:56 PM

Your Friendly Neighborhood
1,614 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Aug 1 2023, 01:22 PM)

now also around 55 baht

malaysia how much now?
RM6.90 for barista one.

i buy it weekly, 200ml daily, together with 2 espresso shot.
JimbeamofNRT
post Aug 1 2023, 07:57 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(xHj09 @ Aug 1 2023, 07:56 PM)
RM6.90 for barista one.

i buy it weekly, 200ml daily, together with 2 espresso shot.
6.9 is cheap lah, lazada selling around 7.9
Heroicage
post Aug 1 2023, 09:25 PM

265 posts

should not be drinking it or should drink way way less....due to the sugar it is using...

not mistaken...uses Carrageenan

want soy, drink those from kaki lima with other sugar better....or perhaps they also use maltodextrin..which is also...well, bad.

anyways...drink less if you can...

This post has been edited by Heroicage: Aug 1 2023, 09:25 PM
ktek
post Aug 1 2023, 09:32 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

taste cannots
Jollybee
post May 5 2024, 02:42 AM

27 posts

Better ask Robert Kuok on his VSoy product lah.

This post has been edited by Jollybee: May 5 2024, 02:43 AM
gashout
post May 5 2024, 05:28 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

Recheck
Shopee now sells 5.80 for 1l

After discount. It's 4.95.

No sign of price increase.
post May 5 2024, 08:09 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

2020 thread but it’s ok. If you are so poor not able to afford it itself ok you can DIY.

Those who can afford will still buy it.
Chanwsan
post May 5 2024, 10:01 AM

सोहम
1,406 posts

Noted with thanks
hksgmy
post May 5 2024, 10:54 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Lazarus has arisen! This is some next level necromancy
xtreme_paranoid
post May 5 2024, 10:55 AM

UNKNOWN
1,427 posts

Did you know the price of good quality soy bean in market up how many %?

Last time 3.00rm per kg. Now u can google by ur own

eclectice
post May 5 2024, 11:19 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(xtreme_paranoid @ Aug 1 2023, 07:40 PM)
I make homemade tempeh. Last time canada soy can get 2.50-3.00MYR per kg. Now no more
All after covid16. Fxx them
My family only eats tempeh. Recently, I found tempeh chips imported from the Woh Indonesian factory at AEON and Family Mart, and they're delicious.

polarzbearz
post May 5 2024, 09:05 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

Can always choose to blend soymilk ourselves whistling.gif confirm zero sugar
-kytz-
post May 5 2024, 11:40 PM

12,573 posts

I honestly kinda like Yeos Soy milk, made with Canadian beans and only RM2.80/1 litre at 99 Speedmart/Lotus
MrBaba
post May 5 2024, 11:52 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 5 2024, 11:40 PM)
I honestly kinda like Yeos Soy milk, made with Canadian beans and only RM2.80/1 litre at 99 Speedmart/Lotus
That one is sugar water
jack2
post May 6 2024, 12:02 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ May 5 2024, 11:52 PM)
That one is sugar water
Ya, like sugar water. flex.gif
Panda12
post May 6 2024, 12:30 AM

1,107 posts

QUOTE(calodin @ Feb 19 2020, 12:56 PM)
Just because you can't read them doesn't mean it's bad la laugh.gif
calodin
post May 6 2024, 08:06 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(Panda12 @ May 6 2024, 12:30 AM)
Just because you can't read them doesn't mean it's bad la  laugh.gif
Bro...ini part of my work bro...have you heard of clean listing?
raymondwong1808
post May 6 2024, 09:58 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(calodin @ May 6 2024, 08:06 AM)
Bro...ini part of my work bro...have you heard of clean listing?
what it means? always confuse how to select the right product in the market.... those that always labelled "natural" and "no conservative" ...tend to slip thru the loop hole....
bibirbieber
post May 6 2024, 10:15 PM

237 posts

If we cant afford, then dont buy lah. Who can afford can buy lah. Like those csn go starbucks, i go mamak also kedekut

0.0744sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:34 AM