15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Shebby Singh, Best commentator ?

QD_buyer
post Aug 10 2007, 03:38 PM

John and Paulâ„¢
2,047 posts

Shebby is cakap berapi kentut berasap man!!
nakata101
post Aug 10 2007, 03:50 PM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

He also makan gaji only lah...... laugh.gif
fazlythewarrior
post Aug 10 2007, 05:23 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ Aug 10 2007, 03:38 PM)
Shebby is cakap berapi kentut berasap man!!
even berapi or berasap...
cannot beat hasbullah awang...huhu... rclxms.gif
hokuan
post Aug 12 2007, 11:35 PM

1,336 posts

He's nothing near best commentator..
timothyltw
post Aug 13 2007, 02:57 AM

217 posts

QUOTE(hokuan @ Aug 12 2007, 11:35 PM)
He's nothing near best commentator..
well at least he sets the standard of commentating for malaysians. he's the only malaysian pundit in espn so clearly he has the ability to give his predictions on matches. he deserves some due respect come on.
nck_ck
post Aug 13 2007, 03:59 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(timothyltw @ Aug 13 2007, 02:57 AM)
well at least he sets the standard of commentating for malaysians. he's the only malaysian pundit in espn so clearly he has the ability to give his predictions on matches. he deserves some due respect come on.
There's a reason why he's the only Asian pundit on the show...think about it, if the programme was filled with Caucasians, wouldn't it seem a bit racist as the program is made in an Asian country, and is aired in Asian countries? Of course they'll need a bit of Asian folks that speaks decent English to be on the show. There are sooooo many more much qualified Asian pundits that deserve to be on ESPN Asia, but the reason they're not on it is because they have a poor command in speaking English (probably scared all the mat salleh i.e. John Dykes cannot understand them tongue.gif )

Shebby Singh talks as if he know everything, but in fact, he knows nothing. Labelling him as "best commentator" is as big of a joke as saying Bush is the best USA President.

This post has been edited by nck_ck: Aug 13 2007, 04:01 AM
nando
post Aug 13 2007, 09:04 AM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

Well, there's always good or bad.
you want to compare Shebby with other local or Asian pundits, i think Shebby is not too bad, until someone better comes along...

I cant remember but sometimes, we do get several Singaporeans on some of the ESPN footie shows....they looked lost as well....

Dont be too hard on his choice of vocabulary...sometimes i look at those famous ex-players invited to John Dyke's show.....its so clear they are there because they want to earn the extra $$$...they give you these very lazy one liners, which every football fan already know...i mean, did we invite these so called famous guests to say things like

Man U's attack is free flowing at moment
Rafa likes to rotate...
Arsenal is full of passing but no finishing...

i mean, look here...you're a famous footballer and we want insights...we want things that we normal beings do not know...not things we can see ourselves and read in the press!!!

But of course, they look good because English is their mother tongue and plus the funny accent, we tend to respect them...but in truth, i think they're not really doing a great job...

I think as long as Shebby dont overdo things...he is acceptable....

Duke Red
post Aug 13 2007, 01:05 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Liuism @ Aug 9 2007, 11:22 PM)
u try being up there with jamie,big mac and the others and see..u boleh sampai there, i say u good? notworthy.gif
So we should pity him because he's not at their level? Then what the hell is he doing there in the first place?

I'm not saying he's bad compared to them, he is bad despite them. Firstly, he doesn't have a wide enough vocabulary to maintain a viewers interest for 90 minutes, as a commentator. He keeps repeating himself, using the same words.

Secondly, he either makes really obvious, or really far out comments.

Why do you think he is a good commentator or pundit then?
zimhibikie
post Aug 13 2007, 01:10 PM

Freak of Nature
2,825 posts

I dun know what the fuss is all about. Shebby is doing a good job..he was a Serie A pundit b4 being an EPL pundit...he is quite knowledgeable in football..and his football commentating?..Same as other commentating from ex-footballers..
Jonno
post Aug 13 2007, 01:13 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

Good pundit / commentator? Is this the Shebby "Yes John, he is a good player, with a good right foot, yes he does that often and yes theat was a good goal by xxxxx. You don't do that in the penalty box, that is a great ball by xxx" Singh we're talking about?

He doesn't offer any constructive comments, he jumps on a tangent that was so far off it annoys the hell out of the rest of his copundits. As an ex international, he should offer more, but then again, it was not forthcoming, sigh...

KimRoss
post Aug 13 2007, 01:14 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

Shebby is somewhat like getting Alex Yoong as a guest commentator on F1 blink.gif
but the, they're probably there because they're the best of the rest. So, so long it's in the range it's still acceptable? blink.gif
Duke Red
post Aug 13 2007, 01:14 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Aug 13 2007, 01:10 PM)
I dun know what the fuss is all about. Shebby is doing a good job..
Read all the comments.

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Aug 13 2007, 01:10 PM)
..and his football commentating?..Same as other commentating from ex-footballers..
But that's like comparing him with the worst. His only plus is he speaks fluent English.

Added on August 13, 2007, 1:16 pm
QUOTE(KimRoss @ Aug 13 2007, 01:14 PM)
Shebby is somewhat like getting Alex Yoong as a guest commentator on F1  blink.gif
but the, they're probably there because they're the best of the rest. So, so long it's in the range it's still acceptable?  blink.gif
I personally think Alex Yoong is pretty good alongside Steve Slater. Unlike Shebby, he has driven at the highest level. He also has a wider vocabulary and better command of the language. Shebby sometimes resorts to having to do sound effects as I previously stated.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Aug 13 2007, 01:16 PM
KimRoss
post Aug 13 2007, 01:25 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

laugh.gif Good point, but sometimes Alex does say things that are really obvious.
Shebby and sound effects rclxm9.gif Gets my hostelmates and I howling..

How do u cure a gang of liverpool fans raping a man utd fan in my hostel cry.gif
david101
post Aug 13 2007, 03:28 PM

61 posts

Speaking of lousy football commentators, does anyone feel that that Football Extra show with Andy Penders and Jamie Yeo is an embarassment? Granted, Andy Penders and that Australian guy who used to play football are pretty good but their co-hosts and style of show are completely cramping what they can really do. I mean, what the hell is that fat Singaporean rapper doing on a football show? And let's not get started on Jamie Yeo.

What Shebby can do is get a show together with Andy and that Australian guy and put on a really good football show. I think Shebby has more comedic talent than he shows. Definitely more than that fat Singaporean nonsense.

This post has been edited by david101: Aug 13 2007, 03:29 PM
kenzo
post Aug 13 2007, 03:34 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(david101 @ Aug 13 2007, 03:28 PM)
Speaking of lousy football commentators, does anyone feel that that Football Extra show with Andy Penders and Jamie Yeo is an embarassment? Granted, Andy Penders and that Australian guy who used to play football are pretty good but their co-hosts and style of show are completely cramping what they can really do. I mean, what the hell is that fat Singaporean rapper doing on a football show? And let's not get started on Jamie Yeo.

What Shebby can do is get a show together with Andy and that Australian guy and put on a really good football show. I think Shebby has more comedic talent than he shows. Definitely more than that fat Singaporean nonsense.
definitely agree....but jamie is hot... wub.gif hahah
Duke Red
post Aug 13 2007, 03:42 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(KimRoss @ Aug 13 2007, 01:25 PM)
How do u cure a gang of liverpool fans raping a man utd fan in my hostel  cry.gif
Sorry mate, "You'll Hafto Walk Alone" tongue.gif

QUOTE(david101 @ Aug 13 2007, 03:28 PM)

The way I see it, there is a difference between being a commentator, pundit and host. I've not heard Andy Penders nor Jamie Yeoh commentate on a match before but I think Andy is a good host, as is Jamie (yes, we all know why they picked a pretty face). It doesn't matter if she doesn't know too much about football, she is hosting the programme, not providing the content. I agree that Heikel is a little 'sesat' though, can't see how he adds value to the show except by pretending to be like he's from the ghetto. I just think people should distinguish between a host, a commentator and a pundit, and not lump them together into one single entity.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Aug 13 2007, 03:44 PM
lilredridinghood
post Aug 13 2007, 03:53 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Aug 13 2007, 03:42 PM)
The way I see it, there is a difference between being a commentator, pundit and host. I've not heard Andy Penders nor Jamie Yeoh commentate on a match before but I think Andy is a good host, as is Jamie (yes, we all know why they picked a pretty face). It doesn't matter if she doesn't know too much about football, she is hosting the programme, not providing the content.  I agree that Heikel is a little 'sesat' though, can't see how he adds value to the show except by pretending to be like he's from the ghetto. I just think people should distinguish between a host, a commentator and a pundit, and not lump them together into one single entity.
Jamie, hot as usual, I won't mind watching the show solely because of her. wub.gif

As for Heikel, I do think that Football Extra is a fun football talk show, hence I'm okay with him. I do love it when he was opposing Shebby during the show when he was commenting about that Gerrard should leave Liverpool.
Duke Red
post Aug 13 2007, 03:58 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Aug 13 2007, 03:53 PM)
Jamie, hot as usual, I won't mind watching the show solely because of her. wub.gif

As for Heikel, I do think that Football Extra is a fun football talk show, hence I'm okay with him. I do love it when he was opposing Shebby during the show when he was commenting about that Gerrard should leave Liverpool.
True, we have to consider the commercial value of the show, and not watch it purely from the perspective of a football fan.
nando
post Aug 13 2007, 04:00 PM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

The way I see it, there is a difference between being a commentator, pundit and host. I've not heard Andy Penders nor Jamie Yeoh commentate on a match before but I think Andy is a good host, as is Jamie (yes, we all know why they picked a pretty face). It doesn't matter if she doesn't know too much about football, she is hosting the programme, not providing the content.  I agree that Heikel is a little 'sesat' though, can't see how he adds value to the show except by pretending to be like he's from the ghetto. I just think people should distinguish between a host, a commentator and a pundit, and not lump them together into one single entity.
Jamie cant be chose based on the hot face alone but other `hotness' as well...
several other hot mamas are also in footie shows now....sometimes their dressing makes it hard to focus on `bola' sepak...

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

Added on August 13, 2007, 4:04 pm
true..as pundit, maybe Shebby does possess some quality but to be a commentator is a whole different thing altogether.

to me, John Dykes is the best host!

This post has been edited by nando: Aug 13 2007, 04:06 PM
Duke Red
post Aug 13 2007, 04:05 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Aug 13 2007, 04:00 PM)
Jamie cant be chose based on the hot face alone but other `hotness' as well...
several other hot mamas are also in footie shows now....sometimes their dressing makes it hard to focus on `bola' sepak...

icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Simple rule lah dude, "sex sells". People go to certain clubs because of hot babes, they buy cigarettes because of hot babes, similarly, they will watch a programme if there is a hot babe. I know I do smile.gif

15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:50 AM