Q&A Is it possible to be fired for no reason?
TSx.z
Jan 19 2020, 11:11 PM, updated 6y ago
Last week I lost my job. Company requested I leave immediately on the evening itself. Just wondering, is this normal? Any law involved that say I should be compensated? Worked there for 3 years.
patienceGNR
Jan 19 2020, 11:12 PM
You'll need a termination cause. Mana surat?
No letter? Sounds like unlawful dismissal.
Any PIP prior to this?
Check with loyar lah.
SUSwilsonjay
Jan 19 2020, 11:12 PM
they need to give a reason, if they didn't then you can make a report
TSx.z
Jan 19 2020, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Jan 19 2020, 11:12 PM) You'll need a termination cause. Mana surat? No letter? Sounds like unlawful dismissal. Any PIP prior to this? Check with loyar lah. No lawyer friend and family. Also, the reason was "because economy not good need to let go". I'm not the only one.
hellkvr
Jan 19 2020, 11:13 PM
Ucan go to pejabat buruh. They didnt state any letter?.
TSx.z
Jan 19 2020, 11:16 PM
QUOTE(Goh LTD @ Jan 19 2020, 11:14 PM) By right co need to warn u 3 times and then only fire u. If report buruh your cinaman company gg This is seriously my worse ever Chinese New Year. Let go just one week before CNY.
patienceGNR
Jan 19 2020, 11:17 PM
QUOTE(x.z @ Jan 19 2020, 11:13 PM) No lawyer friend and family. Also, the reason was "because economy not good need to let go". I'm not the only one. If due to downsizing I think they can but have to compensate.
hirano
Jan 19 2020, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(x.z @ Jan 19 2020, 11:13 PM) No lawyer friend and family. Also, the reason was "because economy not good need to let go". I'm not the only one. Any warning letter before this? If no, and they didn't give any notice, you can bring this matter to the industrial court under unlawful dismissal (assuming your salary is above 4k?) No need lawyer. This post has been edited by hirano: Jan 20 2020, 12:03 AM
WhiteMaker
Jan 19 2020, 11:20 PM

I highly doubt company can do that, unless they have concrete proof that you did something wrong.
hft
Jan 19 2020, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(x.z @ Jan 19 2020, 11:11 PM) Last week I lost my job. Company requested I leave immediately on the evening itself. Just wondering, is this normal? Any law involved that say I should be compensated? Worked there for 3 years. report labour court. get 3 months notice pay.
Chrono-Trigger
Jan 19 2020, 11:21 PM
QUOTE(x.z @ Jan 19 2020, 11:16 PM) This is seriously my worse ever Chinese New Year. Let go just one week before CNY. I feel you brother. Happened to me few years ago. My ex-boss chose to relay the news to me and asked me to leave citing bad business as the reason. and he chose a very good time to tell me , just 1 week before CNY. that was the worst ever year ,and lowest point financially in my life.
TSx.z
Jan 19 2020, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(hirano @ Jan 19 2020, 11:19 PM) Any warning letter before this? If no, and they didn't give any notice, you can bring this matter to the industrial court under lawful dismissal (assuming your salary is above 4k?) No need lawyer. There was no warning letter. To be honest company wasn't in a good financial situation. Last week boss notified and said this is really the final straw. Company offered compensation of 1 month salary. My salary is about RM4.5K. I haven't signed the compensation notice yet.
TSx.z
Jan 19 2020, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Jan 19 2020, 11:21 PM) I feel you brother. Happened to me few years ago. My ex-boss chose to relay the news to me and asked me to leave citing bad business as the reason. and he chose a very good time to tell me , just 1 week before CNY. that was the worst ever year ,and lowest point financially in my life. Yeah man! I mean I'm not at the lowest financial point in my life - still got some savings. Fortunately I haven't bought any car or house. If not I'll be in deeper shit now. But imagine going back hometown and people sure ask how's it going. I also don't know how to answer except the truth :/
JohnLai
Jan 19 2020, 11:26 PM
QUOTE(x.z @ Jan 19 2020, 11:16 PM) This is seriously my worse ever Chinese New Year. Let go just one week before CNY. Just asking, what is your position and your salary (just provide us a range)?
TSx.z
Jan 19 2020, 11:27 PM
QUOTE(Might and Magic @ Jan 19 2020, 11:23 PM) Of course cannot la, gather all the colleagues who got fired then report together at jabatan buruh or industrial court. Even if u earn rm2k or above I think there is another court where u can get legal recourse. By the way u did sign a work agreement right? I'm still Googling options but wanted to try and ask /k first. If you're referring to a work contract then yes. It says can terminate with 30 days notice. That's why boss say terminate immediate, but he compensate the 1 month salary.
TSx.z
Jan 19 2020, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jan 19 2020, 11:26 PM) Just asking, what is your position and your salary (just provide us a range)? Already mentioned above - RM4.5K before tax. No big deal hiding. I'm not like /k level. Not young. Already 30. But it is what it is. Position - Marketing Manager. Again, not some high ranking officer.
Chrono-Trigger
Jan 19 2020, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(x.z @ Jan 19 2020, 11:25 PM) Yeah man! I mean I'm not at the lowest financial point in my life - still got some savings. Fortunately I haven't bought any car or house. If not I'll be in deeper shit now. But imagine going back hometown and people sure ask how's it going. I also don't know how to answer except the truth :/ It was just a temporary setback. He could have chosen a better time or at least offer me some 3 months notice. It was done very abruptly. Not that I hold grudges against him, but as a human I think he failed miserably. I pulled through, so will you. As for your relatives, those who really care for you would ask you to take your time and find job. Those who just want to watch "movie" , then you can just ignore them. This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Jan 19 2020, 11:31 PM
Zanei Gundan
Jan 19 2020, 11:30 PM

dismiss tanpa gaji atau bergaji?
if its the latter then tough luck for you
TSx.z
Jan 19 2020, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Jan 19 2020, 11:29 PM) It was just a temporary setback. He could have chosen a better time or at least offer me some 3 months notice. It was done very abruptly. Not that I hold grudges against him, but as a human I think he failed miserably. I know right! Hey man, can't imagine we share the same experience although it's not a good one. Also appreciate all the helpful comments here. Unbelievable for /k.
ycs
Jan 19 2020, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(x.z @ Jan 19 2020, 11:27 PM) I'm still Googling options but wanted to try and ask /k first. If you're referring to a work contract then yes. It says can terminate with 30 days notice. That's why boss say terminate immediate, but he compensate the 1 month salary. well, if you got 1 months pay in lieu of notice, then thats it,