> Qn for chinese ppl: Should dialects be preserved?

iGamer
post Jan 18 2020, 09:23 AM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

Wow out all languages, use English only. Long live the Queen!
squarepilot
post Jan 18 2020, 09:23 AM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jan 18 2020, 09:13 AM)
If mandarin isn’t your ancestor’s language, why people die die want Malaysian to accept mandarin as part of their culture’s history?

And if most malaysian chinese can’t communicate in mandarin by default, why force them to learn mandarin when we already have BM and English as communication language.

Most of my non-mandarin speaking friends speaks english or BM among themselves when they meet people who speak different dialect then theirs.
no Idea why some sohai chinese want to plotek Mao ideology

yes. i agree and support we should do 1 unified school instead of having vernacular and agama school. just put chinese as optional language after school hour

i bet even more malays will learn chinese if do this way
smallbug
post Jan 18 2020, 09:28 AM

871 posts

Ngai oi moon ngi....
dickybird
post Jan 18 2020, 10:57 AM

2,093 posts

Dialect is hard to preserve because it is not taught formally.
That said, it doesn't mean that it shouldn't be preserved.
You lose the dialects, you lose a lot linguistic flair and fun.
I only speak mandarin, because it is just the main stream language taught to Chinese, I have no attachment to it or feeling for it. My dialect is hakka, and even as shit as my mastery is, I still encourage my children to speak it by speaking with them.
SUSNed_Fromthenorth
post Jan 18 2020, 10:59 AM

Tezos till you Bezos
640 posts

Should it? Yes. Should we be spending resources and forcefully make kids to learn it? No.

Languages is just languages, let it comes and go naturally.
dickybird
post Jan 18 2020, 11:03 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(squarepilot @ Jan 18 2020, 09:23 AM)
no Idea why some sohai chinese want to plotek Mao ideology

yes. i agree and support we should do 1 unified school instead of having vernacular and agama school. just put chinese as optional language after school hour

i bet even more malays will learn chinese if do this way
The point is convenience and the utility of mandarin both for commerce and research.
For chinese schools it is about education not about dialect pride, otherwise there would be hokkien and Cantonese schools.
Chinese schools existed before Mao and Nanyang is probably one of the last bastions of pre Mao Chinese culture.
focusrite
post Jan 18 2020, 11:13 AM

409 posts

Let nature take its course
quintessential
post Jan 18 2020, 11:31 AM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

there is no such thing as cantonese or hokkien as chinese dialects. it's a propaganda from communist china and kuomintang to dilute cantonese and hokkien and impose mandarin language. mandarin, hokkien and cantonese are mutually unintelligible.

changejob
post Jan 18 2020, 01:36 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jan 18 2020, 08:58 AM)
This kind of statement makes me confuse. Is Mandarin you ancestor’s language or not?

Because when i debated in SJKC thread, i said leave the job of memperkasakan mandarin to PRC because that is their national language, people come and tell me that mandarin in the language of malaysian chinese ancestor’s and we must preserved that. But again all of my chinese friend and colleague who went to SK can’t speak mandarin and only speak their family’s dialect at home and with their friend who share the same dialect.

So the question now, how significant is mandarin according to history of chinese migrating to kepulauan melayu?
My grandfather who literally came from China on a boat can't speak Mandarin.

This post has been edited by changejob: Jan 18 2020, 01:36 PM
blanket84
post Jan 18 2020, 02:55 PM

1,518 posts

QUOTE(changejob @ Jan 18 2020, 01:36 PM)
My grandfather who literally came from China on a boat can't speak Mandarin.
What dialect does he speak? So chinese of which part of malaysia actually originally speaks mandarin?

Since you mentioned that now i recall that my great grandmother who is 2nd generation off the boat never speak any chinese dialect at all with her kids, well because she married a malay sweat.gif
candidman78
post Jan 18 2020, 03:05 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jan 18 2020, 08:58 AM)
This kind of statement makes me confuse. Is Mandarin you ancestor’s language or not?

Because when i debated in SJKC thread, i said leave the job of memperkasakan mandarin to PRC because that is their national language, people come and tell me that mandarin in the language of malaysian chinese ancestor’s and we must preserved that. But again all of my chinese friend and colleague who went to SK can’t speak mandarin and only speak their family’s dialect at home and with their friend who share the same dialect.

So the question now, how significant is mandarin according to history of chinese migrating to kepulauan melayu?
Mandarin is not the only ancestors language.
Dialect word (if still exists) is its even closer to ancestors of ancestors.

There is a said Chinese is a continuous civilization since 5000yrs ago. Mandarin today if not mistaken start popular during Qing Dynasty. But dialect is way before.

SUSgenecode
post Jan 18 2020, 03:13 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(manypplwan @ Jan 18 2020, 02:53 AM)
Malay here. I think it should be preserved. Just like Malay also got different dialect, those are preserved and still in use biggrin.gif
+1
blanket84
post Jan 18 2020, 03:15 PM

1,518 posts

QUOTE(candidman78 @ Jan 18 2020, 03:05 PM)
Mandarin is not the only ancestors language.
Dialect word (if still exists) is its even closer to ancestors of ancestors.

There is a said Chinese is a continuous civilization since 5000yrs ago.  Mandarin today if not mistaken start popular during Qing Dynasty. But dialect is way before.
If that’s the case, why malaysian like to associate Mandarin with their ancestor’s cultural heritage when their ancestor have no business with mandarin?

Which part of malaysia the ancestors came off the boat speaking mandarin btw?
EatFriesEggs
post Jan 18 2020, 03:17 PM

91 posts

One thing SJKC did wrong is they banned us students from speaking dialect last time
msacras
post Jan 18 2020, 03:19 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(EatFriesEggs @ Jan 18 2020, 03:17 PM)
One thing SJKC did wrong is they banned us students from speaking dialect last time
Plot twist, I learnt my foochew in SJK.
keyibukeyi
post Jan 18 2020, 03:24 PM

148 posts

Mandrin is for ada baca people used, native is ada parents used.
ApocalypseSoon
post Jan 18 2020, 03:24 PM

214 posts

Aren't you all aware?

We are in a constant state of EVOLUTION toward => 1 World 1 Gov 1 People 1 Language 1 Belief System

Which is why the dialect is dying whether in Malaysia or in China. All are interconnected.

3 Pages < 1 2 3
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0183sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 08:16 PM