> Qn for chinese ppl: Should dialects be preserved?

cucumber
post Jan 18 2020, 07:30 AM

821 posts

QUOTE(candidman78 @ Jan 18 2020, 07:18 AM)
Dialect is hard to preserve because the words are rare. Not sure on Hokkien word. Cantonese word largely preserve in hkg but is in its path of dying.
I think I've read an article somewhere that Malaysian hokkien ppl are able to preserve more hokkien culture than Fujian itself.

I grew up in an era where everybody speaks cantonese in kl, seeing how the new generation doesnt even understand cantonese is just sad. So sad. Cantonese is a beautiful dialect and it's more closer to the classical chinese than mandarin if you know the history.
Mel2
post Jan 18 2020, 07:44 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(Newsray @ Jan 18 2020, 04:22 AM)

School should allow kids to speak in their dialects on certain time/period.
No mandain time period - for dialects. Use Malay if hokkien meet cantonese for example.
Only mandarin period - where no other dialects are allowed.

Stupid system is killing chinese dialects. Speaking about championing chinese, culture and heritage are bullshit.
New system eh... Last time no such thing.. 😂

From my understanding, teachers in sjkc have problems trying to prevent the students from using dialects in their written essay. Very often they use some Cantonese words when constructing a Mandarin sentence. Only teachers can spot such mistakes.

Can't blame the kids though. They listen to all dialects at home. 😅 Kinda mix up everything, like rojak Chinese..

I think same as usage of malay too. Kids tend to use mix up phrases like.... "sos cili" and "chilli sauce" 😆

We Malaysians are lucky to be able to learn to speak various dialects and languages.

To have them in written form, it is very challenging. Thus schools are the best place to learn the languages properly.
tahfeikei
post Jan 18 2020, 07:54 AM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,245 posts

QUOTE(candidman78 @ Jan 18 2020, 07:18 AM)
I don't think tongsan doing preservation to new gen.
Is up to family. 

I watched a video on those road test on Cantonese... I founs my level is way above Guangdong people about 20-30 yrs old.

Dialect is hard to preserve because the words are rare. Not sure on Hokkien word. Cantonese word largely preserve in hkg but is in its path of dying.
you sure about path of dying? as i understand, the hongkies are very proud of cantonese
tahfeikei
post Jan 18 2020, 07:56 AM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,245 posts

QUOTE(cucumber @ Jan 18 2020, 07:30 AM)
I think I've read an article somewhere that Malaysian hokkien ppl are able to preserve more hokkien culture than Fujian itself.

I grew up in an era where everybody speaks cantonese in kl, seeing how the new generation doesnt even understand cantonese is just sad. So sad. Cantonese is a beautiful dialect and it's more closer to the classical chinese than mandarin if you know the history.
yes me too, i grew up in that era. when i visit HK, you cant imagine my joy to be surrounded by cantonese speaking ppl.

This post has been edited by tahfeikei: Jan 18 2020, 07:57 AM
pandah
post Jan 18 2020, 07:58 AM

719 posts

let time decides. Irrelevant will be phased out, relevant will stay.
Mel2
post Jan 18 2020, 08:08 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Jan 18 2020, 07:56 AM)
yes me too, i grew up in that era. when i visit HK, you cant imagine my joy to be surrounded by cantonese speaking ppl.
The last time we went to HK...
Outside one makan shop..
We queue behind one couple..

Heard the waitress answered them in Mandarin, say full house.. No empty seats..

After they left, we spoke Cantonese to the same waitress... She replied instantly, yau yau... yau wai... But had to split.... 4 of us... 2 at one small table. Another 2 at another small table... 👌😉

Yeah we felt so at home .. 😆 👍
tahfeikei
post Jan 18 2020, 08:14 AM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,245 posts

QUOTE(Mel2 @ Jan 18 2020, 08:08 AM)
The last time we went to HK...
Outside one makan shop..
We queue behind one couple..

Heard the waitress answered them in Mandarin, say full house.. No empty seats..

After they left, we spoke Cantonese to the same waitress... She replied instantly, yau yau... yau wai... But had to split.... 4 of us... 2 at one small table. Another 2 at another small table... 👌😉

Yeah we felt so at home .. 😆 👍
yes, dont speak mandarin there...either cantonese or english. biggrin.gif
mcchin
post Jan 18 2020, 08:34 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

I speak Cantonese English BM Mandarin Hokkien and Taishanese

And I am all fo preserving dialects

The place I stay in have some older ppl that could speak Taishanese, but their adult childrenl forbade them to speak it at home with their grandchildren

And that is Sad....
dickybird
post Jan 18 2020, 08:42 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(GPKGB @ Jan 18 2020, 01:07 AM)
Gong ma Kai gui
Chiu heh lo
dickybird
post Jan 18 2020, 08:43 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Jan 18 2020, 08:14 AM)
yes, dont speak mandarin there...either cantonese or english.  biggrin.gif
Tap toi in HK, ho jing siong.
SUSprince12
post Jan 18 2020, 08:50 AM

46 posts

Yes, it's good to preserve
squarepilot
post Jan 18 2020, 08:56 AM

1,075 posts

let culture die

culture come and goes

Soon all people will either speak chinese, indon, english and yindian and some proud euro and jap language.
cucumber
post Jan 18 2020, 08:56 AM

821 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Jan 18 2020, 07:54 AM)
you sure about path of dying? as i understand, the hongkies are very proud of cantonese
Many china towns in the USA are still speaking cantonese. Canada even more.

But in malaysia, I think Cantonese will slowly become obsolete one day, not now but in a few more generations.
blanket84
post Jan 18 2020, 08:58 AM

1,518 posts

QUOTE(changejob @ Jan 18 2020, 01:18 AM)
What you said make sense.

But let take that logic further. Why must we even use Mandarin then? Why not just use English, as English is already the lingua franca of the world?

If you say Mandarin is Chinese identity, many of our ancestor couldn't speak Mandarin. Mandarin is not their language. Their identity is the Chinese language/dialects.
This kind of statement makes me confuse. Is Mandarin you ancestor’s language or not?

Because when i debated in SJKC thread, i said leave the job of memperkasakan mandarin to PRC because that is their national language, people come and tell me that mandarin in the language of malaysian chinese ancestor’s and we must preserved that. But again all of my chinese friend and colleague who went to SK can’t speak mandarin and only speak their family’s dialect at home and with their friend who share the same dialect.

So the question now, how significant is mandarin according to history of chinese migrating to kepulauan melayu?
gonfeeces
post Jan 18 2020, 08:59 AM

97 posts

00s now only can speak English and mandarin
squarepilot
post Jan 18 2020, 09:03 AM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jan 18 2020, 08:58 AM)
This kind of statement makes me confuse. Is Mandarin you ancestor’s language or not?

Because when i debated in SJKC thread, i said leave the job of memperkasakan mandarin to PRC because that is their national language, people come and tell me that mandarin in the language of malaysian chinese ancestor’s and we must preserved that. But again all of my chinese friend and colleague who went to SK can’t speak mandarin and only speak their family’s dialect at home and with their friend who share the same dialect.

So the question now, how significant is mandarin according to history of chinese migrating to kepulauan melayu?
not significant

my grandmum can't even speak mandarin

mandarin is a language for communication

those idiot chinese racist know shit! biggrin.gif
Lyu
post Jan 18 2020, 09:04 AM

772 posts

You ik zak sohai

Owai
DarkNite
post Jan 18 2020, 09:10 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jan 18 2020, 08:58 AM)

Liddis oso konfius, u mmg bodo!
Dun even know how to google.
And ppl wonder why Msia education sux and grads jobless!
blanket84
post Jan 18 2020, 09:13 AM

1,518 posts

QUOTE(squarepilot @ Jan 18 2020, 09:03 AM)
not significant

my grandmum can't even speak mandarin

mandarin is a language for communication

those idiot chinese racist know shit! biggrin.gif
If mandarin isn’t your ancestor’s language, why people die die want Malaysian to accept mandarin as part of their culture’s history?

And if most malaysian chinese can’t communicate in mandarin by default, why force them to learn mandarin when we already have BM and English as communication language.

Most of my non-mandarin speaking friends speaks english or BM among themselves when they meet people who speak different dialect then theirs.
malaysiaku
post Jan 18 2020, 09:17 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(Lyu @ Jan 18 2020, 10:04 AM)
You ik zak sohai

Owai
you hao dou jak tai ling ngong la,
ngar lin chap lap you kina.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic