> Qn for chinese ppl: Should dialects be preserved?

candidman78
post Jan 18 2020, 07:18 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Jan 18 2020, 12:59 AM)
Nah, leave the preservation works to pure Chineses in Tongsan.

We Malaysian Chineses sukati use rojak localised Chinese/dialects.
I don't think tongsan doing preservation to new gen.
Is up to family.

I watched a video on those road test on Cantonese... I founs my level is way above Guangdong people about 20-30 yrs old.

Dialect is hard to preserve because the words are rare. Not sure on Hokkien word. Cantonese word largely preserve in hkg but is in its path of dying.
candidman78
post Jan 18 2020, 03:05 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jan 18 2020, 08:58 AM)
This kind of statement makes me confuse. Is Mandarin you ancestor’s language or not?

Because when i debated in SJKC thread, i said leave the job of memperkasakan mandarin to PRC because that is their national language, people come and tell me that mandarin in the language of malaysian chinese ancestor’s and we must preserved that. But again all of my chinese friend and colleague who went to SK can’t speak mandarin and only speak their family’s dialect at home and with their friend who share the same dialect.

So the question now, how significant is mandarin according to history of chinese migrating to kepulauan melayu?
Mandarin is not the only ancestors language.
Dialect word (if still exists) is its even closer to ancestors of ancestors.

There is a said Chinese is a continuous civilization since 5000yrs ago. Mandarin today if not mistaken start popular during Qing Dynasty. But dialect is way before.

Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0119sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 10:47 PM