Drug addicts in your company, What do you do?

TSipohmali70
post Dec 30 2019, 01:04 PM, updated 6y ago

1,133 posts

Sometimes there will be criminal elements or drug users in your company or in your workforce.

What do you do? How to weed them out?

Captain89
post Dec 30 2019, 01:07 PM

Jiken
3,190 posts

Immediate expulsion
whphon
post Dec 30 2019, 01:10 PM

166 posts

is that any impact to the company and office environment?

vanbrah
post Dec 30 2019, 01:14 PM

220 posts

Immediately out. No justifications.
TSipohmali70

1,133 posts

QUOTE(Captain89 @ Dec 30 2019, 01:07 PM)
Immediate expulsion
Its so easy to say. But to do it, you need to have the guts to confront the situation.

SUSbronkos

1,159 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Dec 30 2019, 01:04 PM)
Sometimes there will be criminal elements or drug users in your company or in your workforce.

What do you do?  How to weed them out?
lipot to ur boss
TSipohmali70
post Dec 30 2019, 01:16 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(vanbrah @ Dec 30 2019, 01:14 PM)
Immediately out. No justifications.
But you don't know, you merely suspect and based on hearsay.

How do you prove that a part of your workforce is on drugs?

How do you have the guts to tackle the elephant in the room?

InitialB
post Dec 30 2019, 01:17 PM

700 posts

30 years experience in HR you dunno what to do?
mega_shok.gif
vanbrah
post Dec 30 2019, 01:18 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Dec 30 2019, 01:16 PM)

Suspect and hearsay is not strong enough proof of immediate dismissal.

Does his drug habits affect his performance in office?
TSipohmali70
post Dec 30 2019, 01:18 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(InitialB @ Dec 30 2019, 01:17 PM)
30 years experience in HR you dunno what to do?
mega_shok.gif
Haha, already done that.

TSipohmali70
post Dec 30 2019, 01:19 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(vanbrah @ Dec 30 2019, 01:18 PM)
Suspect and hearsay is not strong enough proof of immediate dismissal.

Does his drug habits affect his performance in office?
Lets just say - strong suspicion.

vanbrah
post Dec 30 2019, 01:21 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Dec 30 2019, 01:19 PM)
Lets just say - strong suspicion.
How about his performance?

If he is a strong performer, I would let it slide till strong proof is obtained.

If he is a bad performer, I would find signs in his behavior (eg. lethargic and sleepy) to warrant a medical check. A medical blood check will tell me if drugs are in his body.
Si kutu rayau
post Dec 30 2019, 01:26 PM

777 posts

I got one drug addict worker before. He didn't do any crime but one day he just ran away from his hostel when high on drugs. Naked some more... sweat.gif After we managed to find him he is already at his home. Saying he wont return anymore, saying his hostel got ghost wanted to kill him. Even his salary also don't want. sweat.gif

I usually will give them chance but if I caught them taking drugs I will immediately fire them.
TSipohmali70
post Dec 30 2019, 01:30 PM

1,133 posts

I open this thread and others for engaging in healthy social debate, to share experiences and to discuss in a matured manner etc.

I have never resorted to calling names, labelling people derogatory words, this and that, using profanities etc.

Everytime you utter such things how about yourself?

Don't you have manners? Don't you feel shame?

Take a look in the mirror and see.

You are free to disagree, or to agree, or to suggest.

If you want to discuss and engage, I'm happy to.

But if you want to have destructive comments, wisecracks or to be rude etc etc, I will close this thread.

This is after all - Serious Kopitiam

Perhaps its fortunate that mod has shifted the threads here. - Thank you mod.

My gratitude to selinix for her suggestion.

Thank you for your cooperation.

This post has been edited by ipohmali70: Dec 30 2019, 01:39 PM
selinix
post Dec 30 2019, 01:43 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Dec 30 2019, 01:30 PM)
I open this thread and others for engaging in healthy social debate, to share experiences and to discuss in a matured manner etc.

I have never resorted to calling names, labelling people derogatory words, this and that, using profanities etc.

Everytime you utter such things how about yourself?

Don't you have manners?  Don't you feel shame?

Take a look in the mirror and see.

You are free to disagree, or to agree, or to suggest.

If you want to discuss and engage, I'm happy to.

But if you want to have destructive comments, wisecracks or to be rude etc etc, I will close this thread.

This is after all - Serious Kopitiam

Perhaps its fortunate that mod has shifted the threads here. -  Thank you mod.

My gratitude to selinix for her suggestion.

Thank you for your cooperation.
You are welcome. Glad u took the suggestion as i know how destructive it can get when ktards are involve.
Btw i am not a her.

tomato people
post Dec 30 2019, 01:47 PM

Tomato fan
1,734 posts

Can we ask police to come and do urine test?

desmond2020
post Dec 30 2019, 02:09 PM

911 posts

Zero tolerance policy on substance abuse
TSipohmali70
post Dec 30 2019, 03:08 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Dec 30 2019, 02:09 PM)
Zero tolerance policy on substance abuse
Everybody also say like this but how to carry it out?

I.e. to identify and to execute an action plan.

TingTong123
post Dec 30 2019, 03:14 PM

163 posts

"Random" drug test to everyone in the department
Jescon
post Dec 30 2019, 03:22 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(TingTong123 @ Dec 30 2019, 03:14 PM)
Does the department colleagues know, though?

Then, why not a random blood test? No time to take MC
desmond2020
post Dec 30 2019, 03:44 PM

911 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Dec 30 2019, 03:08 PM)
Everybody also say like this but how to carry it out?

I.e. to identify and to execute an action plan.
Dude, unrine test

Never heard before?

Daddy2be
post Dec 30 2019, 06:19 PM

459 posts

My employees are subjected to random surprise urine test. Failure to comply will result in immediate termination. Failing the drug test for the first time will get you counseling session, access to rehab and a period of probation which will have many more urine test. Any employee from CEO to cleaning lady has this inserted into their employment letter. Our machinery operators, drivers, QA on average gets surprised tested at least once a year.

If you do not have this drug test clause signed when you employ them, then You cannot obtain a urine/blood sample legally for drug test without their consent.

However, a simple naik gaji/bonus/promotion offered to them would enable you to rewrite the terms of their employment and you can insert such clause to allow random checks. 9/10 does not read the fine print. Is it legal? Yes. Can they fight you in court, yes, but how many drug users wants to go to court and risk kena test? Just make sure you do it in unison otherwise the gig is up for others.
Daddy2be
post Dec 30 2019, 06:21 PM

459 posts

You cannot draw urine or blood samples without consent. Company policy is useless against this unless the employees give consent. If you reprimand or terminate them for their failure to comply you're opening yourself and the company a world of pain cause lawyers are gonna have a field day with you
Pichu00
post Dec 30 2019, 06:42 PM

640 posts

There a thing call drug test, they do it all the time ( aus, nz)
afieQ
post Dec 30 2019, 08:07 PM

411 posts

If it doesnt hinder his performance or is a danger to others, why even bother?

Everyone uses drugs every day, like coffee
chamelion
post Dec 30 2019, 08:12 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

As long as no substance abuse during work and meet performance, there is no case.
Company can implement substance test as long is it consent.
TSipohmali70
post Dec 30 2019, 08:27 PM

1,133 posts

We had a workforce of about 22 people in our projects department.

It is suspected that a few of them are on drugs, based on hearsay and circumstancial evidence.

Furthermore, hard drugs are found inside cigarette boxes hidden in the toilet and other places.

We suspect certain individuals but are not 100% sure.

This has even been going on for some time.

Finally a police report is lodged and the assistance of the police is sought.

We made a roll call in the morning and the technicians lined up.

The police came and brought out containers for urine samples.

The urine samples are collected.

As a result 4 are arrested, 2 for drugs and a further 2 for armed robbery and snatch theft.

Problem solved.

SUSTheRant
post Dec 30 2019, 09:24 PM

688 posts

Seriously, drug tests? Your work environment must be pretty bad.
TSipohmali70
post Dec 30 2019, 09:28 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(TheRant @ Dec 30 2019, 09:24 PM)
Seriously,  drug tests?  Your work environment must be pretty bad.
I must admit it was really pretty bad then.

Drug abuse, stealing, missing stocks.

Now ok.

ohman
post Dec 30 2019, 11:32 PM

1,178 posts

medical checkup should reveal that. who skipped this step?
Lucius <3
post Dec 31 2019, 12:27 AM

209 posts

Just curious, what sort of drug?
Captain89
post Dec 31 2019, 12:33 AM

Jiken
3,190 posts

QUOTE(Lucius <3 @ Dec 30 2019, 10:57 PM)
Just curious, what sort of drug?
I guess meth, most common
MoeSzyslak
post Dec 31 2019, 06:10 AM

45 posts

Our offices does random drug test.. if found positive, immediate termination
nightzstar
post Dec 31 2019, 08:11 AM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Dec 30 2019, 01:16 PM)

First thing is to report police so that they can do medical checkup to confirm if the staff is under drug influence.
shah_ho_nam
post Dec 31 2019, 10:24 AM

らき☆すた
1,317 posts

report to integrity unit.

your name wont be made public, he will face the consequences.
beetch
post Dec 31 2019, 02:12 PM

429 posts

Dont tell me u wanna enforce drug test in your company ah aaron?
superbike
post Dec 31 2019, 02:25 PM

224 posts

There are many drug addicts in every working environments, especially in service lines hotel, fnb, fisheries, logistics etc. You cant avoid them but rather policing substance use in working environment
netmatrix
post Jan 1 2020, 01:41 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

My childhood friend is still on weed from time to time. Still functioning as a staff at some bank. I am not worried about him, but he sleeps very little most of the time. Comes back wee hours in the morning and goes to work at 8.30 next morning.
l4nunm4l4y4
post Jan 1 2020, 01:42 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(Captain89 @ Dec 30 2019, 01:07 PM)
Immediate expulsion
EddieBrock
post Jan 1 2020, 09:32 PM

98 posts

Thats the problem with the majority workers these days
Newsray
post Jan 2 2020, 07:00 AM

1,022 posts

There is a way to obtain a medical report from employee.

Just announce to few SELECTED employees that company is going to send them to some African country for a project.

Medical report and blood test is usually mandatory.
I have done HIV blood test for Iraq because of some strange requirement.
6 jabs of vaccine to Nigeria.
So it is not unusual to request those selected to undergo full medical checkup.

However, you still need to see if the medical report later can be a solid ground for dismissal.

After few months, just said the project didnt materialize.
If you inform them about project in Nigeria,
Trust me most of your employees gonna be jumping up celebrating when you announce the project didnt work out.
That how you backoff after obtaining the medical report.

Ethically, thats another matter.
Milano7
post Jan 2 2020, 04:15 PM

195 posts

one of my friend works in a bank near jalan ampang and he likes to smoke weed at the parking lot during lunch hour or after work with his other colleagues.

one day suddenly group of cops come raid the parking lot and catch all of them. now all kena dismissed. one of the admin staff snitch on them.
se800i
post Jan 2 2020, 04:16 PM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Dec 30 2019, 02:04 PM)

so dangerous... call police la..... later 1 jarum cucuk you then you habis hohohoho
wuwah
post Jan 3 2020, 11:57 PM

ai ai ai~
1,153 posts

So how did TS deal with the situation?

Take a look in DOSH website. got guideline about drug prevetion or something. I was working on similar guidelines for our group.

At least that is a start though..

Last month got an employee suddenly rage, attack someone and gone haywire. We suspected him taking drugs, because later when caught, bring to clinic he didn't cooperate in urine test. So bring to police station suddenly cooperate.

Witness told us in the car during commute to clinic he talk nonsense, cry and laugh suddenly. So people start suspecting of drugs abuse.

Sent those urine test and do some clinical examination, Turns out he got some mental health issue.. now still under treatment..

So we learnt through that case, that medical health report is our basis for any action. The suspect also allowed to get 2nd opinion or 3rd opinion under their own cost for further clarification.

Because there is false positive result in clinical test. So further test is required if the suspect insist on their innosence.

At least this is what happen in our company..
reed90
post Jan 5 2020, 10:01 PM

Road to the End
1,552 posts

Call AADK. They can do random urine test
SUSAnak El Chapo
post Jan 6 2020, 12:48 AM

report to police. drug addicts are not allowed in malaysia. it endangers life of ur workers.
SUSFenix98
post Jan 9 2020, 12:38 AM

Happy Meal upsized Sir?
377 posts

call adk and arrange for spotcheck

This post has been edited by Fenix98: Jan 9 2020, 12:42 AM
SUSFenix98
post Jan 9 2020, 12:41 AM

Happy Meal upsized Sir?
377 posts

Or you could call the pulis if you suspect they’re doing drugs at work....

This post has been edited by Fenix98: Jan 9 2020, 12:43 AM
haroldz123
post Jan 10 2020, 11:40 AM

1,062 posts

Oil n gas has been practicing this
fullmetalneko
post Jan 10 2020, 05:31 PM

90 posts

Most companies practice zero tolerance when it comes to drugs I suppose. We caught a few staff selling and smoking weed (caught purely by accident during random CCTV review) and all of them were terminated after conducting DI. In the hindsight, I personally don't think they were addicts, just recreational users, but from a management's perspective it's not a vice you want to be rampant in the workplace.
itekderp
post Jan 11 2020, 11:14 AM

674 posts

QUOTE(afieQ @ Dec 30 2019, 08:07 PM)
If it doesnt hinder his performance or is a danger to others, why even bother?

Everyone uses drugs every day, like coffee
Yeah. Unless it affects his works or endangers others in the workplace like forklift operator who cares.
Malaysians a bit funny one. Always blindly apply law but never ask the spirit behind the law, why it’s there in first place.

0.0281sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:48 PM