Drug addicts in your company, What do you do?

Newsray
post Jan 2 2020, 07:00 AM

1,022 posts

There is a way to obtain a medical report from employee.

Just announce to few SELECTED employees that company is going to send them to some African country for a project.

Medical report and blood test is usually mandatory.
I have done HIV blood test for Iraq because of some strange requirement.
6 jabs of vaccine to Nigeria.
So it is not unusual to request those selected to undergo full medical checkup.

However, you still need to see if the medical report later can be a solid ground for dismissal.

After few months, just said the project didnt materialize.
If you inform them about project in Nigeria,
Trust me most of your employees gonna be jumping up celebrating when you announce the project didnt work out.
That how you backoff after obtaining the medical report.

Ethically, thats another matter.
Milano7
post Jan 2 2020, 04:15 PM

195 posts

one of my friend works in a bank near jalan ampang and he likes to smoke weed at the parking lot during lunch hour or after work with his other colleagues.

one day suddenly group of cops come raid the parking lot and catch all of them. now all kena dismissed. one of the admin staff snitch on them.
se800i
post Jan 2 2020, 04:16 PM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Dec 30 2019, 02:04 PM)
Sometimes there will be criminal elements or drug users in your company or in your workforce.

What do you do?  How to weed them out?
so dangerous... call police la..... later 1 jarum cucuk you then you habis hohohoho
wuwah
post Jan 3 2020, 11:57 PM

ai ai ai~
1,153 posts

So how did TS deal with the situation?

Take a look in DOSH website. got guideline about drug prevetion or something. I was working on similar guidelines for our group.

At least that is a start though..

Last month got an employee suddenly rage, attack someone and gone haywire. We suspected him taking drugs, because later when caught, bring to clinic he didn't cooperate in urine test. So bring to police station suddenly cooperate.

Witness told us in the car during commute to clinic he talk nonsense, cry and laugh suddenly. So people start suspecting of drugs abuse.

Sent those urine test and do some clinical examination, Turns out he got some mental health issue.. now still under treatment..

So we learnt through that case, that medical health report is our basis for any action. The suspect also allowed to get 2nd opinion or 3rd opinion under their own cost for further clarification.

Because there is false positive result in clinical test. So further test is required if the suspect insist on their innosence.

At least this is what happen in our company..
reed90
post Jan 5 2020, 10:01 PM

Road to the End
1,552 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Dec 30 2019, 01:04 PM)
Sometimes there will be criminal elements or drug users in your company or in your workforce.

What do you do?  How to weed them out?
Call AADK. They can do random urine test
SUSAnak El Chapo
post Jan 6 2020, 12:48 AM

report to police. drug addicts are not allowed in malaysia. it endangers life of ur workers.
SUSFenix98
post Jan 9 2020, 12:38 AM

Happy Meal upsized Sir?
377 posts

call adk and arrange for spotcheck

This post has been edited by Fenix98: Jan 9 2020, 12:42 AM
SUSFenix98
post Jan 9 2020, 12:41 AM

Happy Meal upsized Sir?
377 posts

Or you could call the pulis if you suspect they’re doing drugs at work....

This post has been edited by Fenix98: Jan 9 2020, 12:43 AM
haroldz123
post Jan 10 2020, 11:40 AM

1,062 posts

QUOTE(TingTong123 @ Dec 30 2019, 03:14 PM)
"Random" drug test to everyone in the department
Oil n gas has been practicing this
fullmetalneko
post Jan 10 2020, 05:31 PM

90 posts

Most companies practice zero tolerance when it comes to drugs I suppose. We caught a few staff selling and smoking weed (caught purely by accident during random CCTV review) and all of them were terminated after conducting DI. In the hindsight, I personally don't think they were addicts, just recreational users, but from a management's perspective it's not a vice you want to be rampant in the workplace.
itekderp
post Jan 11 2020, 11:14 AM

674 posts

QUOTE(afieQ @ Dec 30 2019, 08:07 PM)
If it doesnt hinder his performance or is a danger to others, why even bother?

Everyone uses drugs every day, like coffee
Yeah. Unless it affects his works or endangers others in the workplace like forklift operator who cares.
Malaysians a bit funny one. Always blindly apply law but never ask the spirit behind the law, why it’s there in first place.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0152sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:04 PM