Cycling V37: Road bikes - Recreational/Racing, Average speed 30km/h is so 1786

GravityFi3ld
post Jun 26 2025, 04:43 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
911 posts

my road bike kan, depand belakang pun mid-profile punya wheel..each time gi kayuh 20km+ jer, the rear wheel sure flat, tak masuk lubang or speed hump pon.. is it cause i'm too heavy so the tube can't take my weight or what? sudah replace the tube one too many times, frustrated sweat.gif
vhs1
post Jun 26 2025, 05:40 PM

2,828 posts

QUOTE(ahbenchai @ Jun 25 2025, 08:43 PM)
hello,

trying to get into casual cycling, around city/taman area, nothing hardcore

can recommend a good entry bike type/brand?

Foldie
ntw
post Jun 26 2025, 05:41 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jun 26 2025, 04:43 PM)
my road bike kan, depand belakang pun mid-profile punya wheel..each time gi kayuh 20km+ jer, the rear wheel sure flat, tak masuk lubang or speed hump pon.. is it cause i'm too heavy so the tube can't take my weight or what? sudah replace the tube one too many times, frustrated  sweat.gif
check where is the puncture or leak on the tube before replacing it, then check if there are any debris on the same spot on the tyres or wheels
vhs1
post Jun 26 2025, 06:02 PM

2,828 posts

my road bike kan, depand belakang pun mid-profile punya wheel..each time gi kayuh 20km+ jer, the rear wheel sure flat, tak masuk lubang or speed hump pon.. is it cause i'm too heavy so the tube can't take my weight or what? sudah replace the tube one too many times, frustrated  sweat.gif
Every time who change the tube?
Justin.Loong
post Jun 26 2025, 06:27 PM

8,287 posts

QUOTE(ahbenchai @ Jun 25 2025, 08:43 PM)
hello,

trying to get into casual cycling, around city/taman area, nothing hardcore

can recommend a good entry bike type/brand?

May we know what's your budget?
Do you have any experience cycling before?
Justin.Loong
post Jun 26 2025, 06:33 PM

8,287 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Jun 25 2025, 11:36 PM)
find on facebook marketplace for second hand bikes around your budget. better ones usually start from thousands nowadays, branded ones like giant tcr start from 9k cry.gif
I was shocked to see Taiwan brand like Merida also $12K for endurance roadbike like Scultura with 105 Di2 groupset. blink.gif shocking.gif rclxub.gif
Justin.Loong
post Jun 26 2025, 06:34 PM

8,287 posts

Can see drillz of your wheel?
What's your weight?
May we know what tyre pressure?
What type of tube you are using?

kezsz
post Jun 28 2025, 12:50 PM

168 posts

Change your tyre? Maybe your tyre is the culprit. Something must have protrude your tyre that's why you always get a puncture..
ahbenchai
post Jun 28 2025, 02:34 PM

what do you mean you people?
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jun 26 2025, 06:27 PM)
May we know what's your budget?
Do you have any experience cycling before?
yes i cycled alot for fun when i was a kid

probably rm1k, was looking at either city or hybrid bicycle

does the brand matter? how do i identify if the bike im buying is good value

thanks all for the advice

This post has been edited by ahbenchai: Jun 28 2025, 02:34 PM
Justin.Loong
post Jul 1 2025, 11:03 AM

8,287 posts

QUOTE(ahbenchai @ Jun 28 2025, 02:34 PM)
yes i cycled alot for fun when i was a kid

probably rm1k, was looking at either city or hybrid bicycle

does the brand matter? how do i identify if the bike im buying is good value

thanks all for the advice
I think the safest option is for you to look at classified ads like in https://bicyclebuysell.com/ or in FB cycling pages.
If you got the time, perhaps you could go to bicycle shops to ask if they have 2nd hand bicycles. I've seen many shops selling customer's bicycle on behalf (especially after MCO lifted).
Also talk to the bicycle shop's salesperson to get more info, hints and tips. icon_question.gif
But note that $1K budget might not get you a branded bicycle like Specialized @ S-Works / Pinarello / Trek / Giant / Cannondale / Wilier / BMC / etc.
Maybe you could get brands like JAVA / Twitter / Polygon.
Lastly, make sure the bike fits your body. No point in getting a cheap bicycle but then the frame size is too big or too small. doh.gif

Justin.Loong
post Jul 4 2025, 02:12 PM

8,287 posts

vhs1
post Jul 6 2025, 12:43 AM

2,828 posts

vhs1
post Jul 7 2025, 12:25 AM

2,828 posts

vhs1
post Jul 8 2025, 12:11 AM

2,828 posts

Justin.Loong
post Jul 8 2025, 09:54 AM

8,287 posts

Justin.Loong
post Jul 8 2025, 10:31 AM

8,287 posts

Malaysian Cyclists Face Public Backlash After Confronting Bus Driver
A viral video showing a confrontation between cyclists and a Rapid bus driver has generated unexpected public reaction, with many expressing support for the driver.

In the footage, the cycling group accused the driver of “dangerously squeezing” them on the road and nearly causing an accident – their plan to garner public sympathy quickly unravelled.
“We were cycling on the left lane when this bus driver came driving dangerously close to us,” claimed one cyclist in the video.

The group went further, posting the driver’s full name, bus plate number, and employee ID online, apparently hoping to pressure Rapid’s management into taking action.

However, the video revealed something the cyclists may not have anticipated – they appeared to be riding side by side on the main road.
This formation appeared to impede traffic flow, which viewers suggested may explain the bus driver’s apparent frustration.

Public Stands With Bus Driver
Instead of the outrage they expected, the cyclists faced a torrent of criticism from Malaysians who watched the footage.
“Hundreds of comments flooded the post – and almost all of them criticised the cycling group, not the bus driver,” observed one social media user who watched the incident unfold online.

The video showed the bus driver remaining remarkably calm throughout the confrontation.

Despite being surrounded by a large group of cyclists, he stepped out of his vehicle alone to address the situation.
Fortunately, Road Transport Department (JPJ) officers happened to pass by and helped defuse the tension.

A Telling Comparison
One comment particularly resonated with viewers: “We always get angry at kids on basikal lajak for playing on roads and endangering themselves. But now, adults are setting the wrong example – cycling in groups, dominating main lanes and inconveniencing other road users.”

The incident has led to broader discussions about road sharing and cycling etiquette in Malaysia.
Many commenters expressed long-standing frustrations with some cycling groups whose road behaviour has drawn criticism.

Rather than facing disciplinary action, some believe the bus driver deserves recognition for his professionalism under pressure.
“He represents the voice of the majority of road users who have long been fed up with the attitude of certain cycling groups who act as they please,” wrote one supporter.

In Malaysia’s social media landscape, public opinion doesn’t always align with the original poster’s intentions, and sometimes, the camera captures more than bargained for.

Source: Malaysian Cyclists Face Public Backlash After Confronting Bus Driver

longer bideo:

RalphRatedR
post Jul 9 2025, 12:00 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jul 8 2025, 10:31 AM)
Why cycle on such roads in the first place? If me I'd just take a KTM ride (pretty sure you can bring a bicycle onto the train) to KKB.

Imo cycling is better done on trunk roads.

This post has been edited by RalphRatedR: Jul 9 2025, 12:01 AM
vhs1
post Jul 9 2025, 12:08 AM

2,828 posts

Justin.Loong
post Jul 9 2025, 11:24 AM

8,287 posts

QUOTE(RalphRatedR @ Jul 9 2025, 12:00 AM)
Why cycle on such roads in the first place? If me I'd just take a KTM ride (pretty sure you can bring a bicycle onto the train) to KKB.

Imo cycling is better done on trunk roads.
I think some of the roads are definitely dangerous especially with those lorries running so fast.

But this time the amount of hate on SocMed is tremendous. sweat.gif

doh.gif
GravityFi3ld
post Jul 9 2025, 04:40 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
911 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Jun 26 2025, 05:41 PM)
check where is the puncture or leak on the tube before replacing it, then check if there are any debris on the same spot on the tyres or wheels
cannot be any puncture, the tube and tyre also brand new - tube is decathlon's home/factory brand, the tyre maxxis pursuer 700 28c, sent for bike check-up before cycling, i did not pay attention to the tyre pressure sweat.gif

QUOTE(vhs1 @ Jun 26 2025, 06:02 PM)
Every time who change the tube?
few round i done my own, latest was sent to decathlon to do (twice!) - same result jugak rclxub.gif

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Jun 26 2025, 06:34 PM)
Can see drillz of your wheel?
What's your weight?
May we know what tyre pressure?
What type of tube you are using?
i'm in the high 60sKG, no exceed 70kg - the tube is .. iirc 700 presta, decathlon's home/factory brand

QUOTE(kezsz @ Jun 28 2025, 12:50 PM)
Change your tyre? Maybe your tyre is the culprit. Something must have protrude  your tyre that's why you always get a puncture..
i suspected this too hence changed to the maxxis, still same issue, really rclxub.gif

436 Pages « < 432 433 434 435 436 >Top

0.0228sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 10:06 PM