Model Kits Gundam Thread V5

Amanda85
post Jun 22 2007, 10:57 AM

Scuderia Ferrari
2,232 posts

i hd some question here....

my bro recently bought d 1/144 scale gundam that cost Rm28...but at the same time, i notice that there is another extreme big box of scale 1/144 too, that cost RM400++.....y is that d scale is the same??

btw...d small 1/144 gundame model actually do not hd d colour same as wat it suppose to b....do u know what shld i use to get it painted??
zeroglyph
post Jun 22 2007, 11:14 AM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Jun 22 2007, 10:57 AM)

my bro recently bought d 1/144 scale gundam that cost Rm28...but at the same time, i notice that there is another extreme big box of scale 1/144 too, that cost RM400++.....y is that d scale is the same??

btw...d small 1/144 gundame model actually do not hd d colour same as wat it suppose to b....do u know what shld i use to get it painted??
colours depend on grade. you'll notice some gundams has grades(ie: HG,PG,MG). these grades dictate how much details the model has. usually, 1/144 do not have much details, and painting is required. a HG 1/144 would have more coloured parts.

painting is not for new modellers. but u can experiment with gundam markers, maybe airbrush or spray cans(modelling ones).
whoami123
post Jun 22 2007, 11:18 AM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

Gundam not just fixed size
that's why although the scale is same
it will have different size of Gundam too
StarGhazzer
post Jun 22 2007, 12:52 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Jckk @ Jun 22 2007, 10:29 AM)
knowing bandai, they'll release da add-on at a later date wif a higher pricetag. whistling.gif
You mean like the Crossbone FullCloth? tongue.gif

Most likely not the case for MG Turn A since there isn't any variation of the mecha in the anime. Maybe MG Turn X perhaps...

But who knows?

RM 400 for a 1/144? Meteor perhaps?

RM28... I assume it's NG 1/144? The entire NG 1/144 is worthless; if you'll excuse my harsh use of words. I learned the hard way with the NG 1/144 Aegis.
fyire
post Jun 22 2007, 01:23 PM

9,270 posts

Well, I guess there's some terms for you to look up on when it comes to Gundam Modelling. Its cute that you're actually trying to learn about gundam models 'cause your brother started on them smile.gif

Check out: http://www.dannychoo.com/blog_entry/eng/24...m+modeling+FAQ/

He gives a brief run through on the differences between HG, MG, PG and so on. Normally the model type is identified by 2 things, the scale and the grade. For example: 1/144 HG, 1/100 MG and so on.

As for the painting, the ideal way is to use an airbrush, but that can be quite an investment indeed, and only ought to be considered later on, should your brother really gets serious about gundam modelling. So I guess u can start with hand brushes, using the water based Tamiya Acrylics (not the most ideal solution for hand painting either, but its the most readily available paints for such).

Also, consider getting one of the even cheaper imitation models just to use as a base for experiments and learning. Making mistakes and learning from mistakes is what experimenting is about, and its less heart aching to blotch up on an imitation model compared to messing up a genuine Bandai. Also that one single imitation test model can be used multiple times, all u need to do is strip off the paint (just soak the model in a mix of dish washing and laundry detergent for a few hours, and the paint (refering to Tamiya Acrylics here) will come off easily with minor scrubbing).
erh_teo
post Jun 22 2007, 04:37 PM

QUOTE(jim18992 @ Jun 19 2007, 05:04 PM)
LOL, I think the site already delete already, it is very old site.
oh.. rili ah? blush.gif

hmm.. V1 good ah the content? smile.gif
JdOtL
post Jun 22 2007, 04:53 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jun 22 2007, 10:17 AM)
Source?

Because from the pics, FG seems to have bent elbows, unless the elbows are permanently bent that way... And note that the NG I meant was NG 1/144 which was notoriously horrible in terms of build, colour, and mobility; not the Seed line of NG1/100 (which is supposed to be the old HG 1/100 from GW and GX).

Again, my speculation is that:
FG = NG 1/144 with limited movements @ normal HG 1/144 with just another name
HG = 1/100, since if you look at the promo pics they are drawn slightly larger than the FG. Then again, it's only a drawing, not the actual model kits.

In addition, from the promo pics there doesn't seem to be any NGs available, unless it's the 1/60 which is probably a larger version of 1/100 like the 1/60 Strike/Impulse/Freedom of the Seed line.

Meh... Don't really care about OO since they are hideous and there doesn't seem to be any special gimmicks. I am more interested in seeing what the MG Turn A can do besides tons of opening compartments and protruding frames. Somehow I doubt the presence of Moonlight Butterfly addons since it's only a 4K yen kit... Prove me wrong Bandai...
I use the seed line as example,
FG = http://www.hlj.com/product/BAN913552 limited movements
NG = http://www.hlj.com/product/BAN914211 1/100 or 1/60 scale.
HG = http://www.hlj.com/product/BAN914204 1/144 scale.

the 1/60 can consider NG also. but them the earlier edition of gunpla also know as FG, with 1/144 scale and alticulation like HG 1/144. example... http://www.hlj.com/product/BAN08659
kurz
post Jun 22 2007, 05:40 PM

176 posts

so NG is better than FG?
StarGhazzer
post Jun 22 2007, 06:07 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(JdOtL @ Jun 22 2007, 04:53 PM)
I use the seed line as example,
FG = http://www.hlj.com/product/BAN913552  limited movements
NG = http://www.hlj.com/product/BAN914211 1/100 or 1/60 scale.
HG = http://www.hlj.com/product/BAN914204 1/144 scale.

the 1/60 can consider NG also.  but them the earlier edition of gunpla also know as FG, with 1/144 scale and alticulation like HG 1/144. example... http://www.hlj.com/product/BAN08659
I get your point, but NG 1/144s were never known as FG... It's not even called as NG but we refer to them as NG for non-grade since the box doesn't grade them in any manner. Same case with Seed's NG 1/100. Even the good old RX78 doesn't have FG labels on the box.

Oh well, no point arguing over the names as long as we mean the same thing tongue.gif

QUOTE(kurz @ Jun 22 2007, 05:40 PM)
so NG is better than FG?
Depends on which one do you mean....

Nobody knows how the FG and HG line for OO will turn out to be. But it'll be revealed shortly as the first batch of Excia will be out in Sept. This means that promo pics, linearts, and previews will be out very soon, probably in July.

Anyway, found some MG Gelgoog pics.... it seems that the legs cannot be bent 180 degrees... sad.gif Chunky armour gets in the way...
There's also some Turn A pics, but the link I've posted earlier had better coloured pictures... Note the hammer... It's BIG.

post Jun 22 2007, 06:41 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jun 22 2007, 06:07 PM)
I get your point, but NG 1/144s were never known as FG... It's not even called as NG but we refer to them as NG for non-grade since the box doesn't grade them in any manner. Same case with Seed's NG 1/100. Even the good old RX78 doesn't have FG labels on the box.

Oh well, no point arguing over the names as long as we mean the same thing tongue.gif
Depends on which one do you mean....

Nobody knows how the FG and HG line for OO will turn out to be. But it'll be revealed shortly as the first batch of Excia will be out in Sept. This means that promo pics, linearts, and previews will be out very soon, probably in July.

Anyway, found some MG Gelgoog pics.... it seems that the legs cannot be bent 180 degrees... sad.gif Chunky armour gets in the way...
There's also some Turn A pics, but the link I've posted earlier had better coloured pictures... Note the hammer... It's BIG.

I think the Turn A hammer is using the same one as the MG OYW Gundam!
From the pic i can c the whole inner frame of the gelgoog already, but i still dun see any demo of its articulation, have they improved it yet?
kurz
post Jun 22 2007, 08:24 PM

176 posts

looks like we hafta wait for dalong's review after all..
neway NG models for seed are kinda good arent they?
comparing with 1/100 HG kits made b4 like wing n X..
n seed NGs r more expensive in fact.
Ah WanG
post Jun 22 2007, 08:49 PM

Banned
6,515 posts

rumours.. no 'tomato sauce' to proof yet

september release of MG will be Crossbone X3 and Ingram 1 SP Ver

heard from here, but no photo or other things to proof yet

http://news.wonderfuland.net/?group=wonder...nal.cybergundam

Added on June 22, 2007, 8:52 pmmg 100 turn A

from toyskingdom.com.hk

This post has been edited by Ah WanG: Jun 22 2007, 08:52 PM
JdOtL
post Jun 22 2007, 09:01 PM

196 posts

Hmmm...the MG terbalik A doesn't look as bad, wonder what kind of inner frame it got, from the looks of the mag, it doesn't have a inner frame.
StarGhazzer
post Jun 22 2007, 11:19 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Jun 22 2007, 08:49 PM)
rumours.. no 'tomato sauce' to proof yet

september release of MG will be Crossbone X3 and Ingram 1 SP Ver

heard from here, but no photo or other things to proof yet

http://news.wonderfuland.net/?group=wonder...nal.cybergundam

Added on June 22, 2007, 8:52 pmmg 100 turn A

from toyskingdom.com.hk

Brother... The Turn A is the exact same pic as the one I've posted lah... no need to post it again...

About the future release... X3 sounds nice, and it's just a rehash of the X1... I wonder when is X2 coming out? It seems that X2 is more popular as we've seen loads of custom painted X2s already.

QUOTE(JdOtL @ Jun 22 2007, 09:01 PM)
Hmmm...the MG terbalik A doesn't look as bad, wonder what kind of inner frame it got, from the looks of the mag, it doesn't have a inner frame.
Judging from the pics of a link I've posted before rolleyes.gif, the torso seems to have several compartments with hatches which can be opened to expose the missile tubes and the foldable arsenal. From the pic you can see the hinges are attached to a grey frame, which is I reckon will be the skeleton. Then again, notice the red parts of the torso seems to be a single chunk hence meaning it might be part of the skeleton too.

As for the limbs, it is highly possible that it will have a skeleton. The elbow joint clearly shows that. Note the back part of the legs which have the entire frame exposed. It can extend outwards as shown in the pics.

Conclusion? It's an MG !! The possibility of having a frame is almost certain! The point is, the frame might not look like a normal grey frame that we're used to see in other MGs. Turn A may have a colourful one instead... But it's still a skeleton.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 22 2007, 11:23 PM
post Jun 23 2007, 12:07 AM

1,447 posts

Stargazzer the last few picture u posted isn't the upcoming MG 100th, it is an old picture from the previous model of Turn A! It is the special material made Turn A gundam! I saw it in Grafiti and i think it is a Figure than a model kit!

This post has been edited by 300078: Jun 23 2007, 12:08 AM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 23 2007, 12:13 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

Seriously... This means that we'll get even better stuff with MG Turn A, if a previous model already has so much gimmicks. But compare it to the greyish prototype pics, they look alike, especially the joints and the weapons.

MG Turn A is promising... moonlight butterfly parts please...

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 23 2007, 12:17 AM
heretic6
post Jun 23 2007, 07:00 AM

192 posts

the elbow joints of the MG Turn A look like ball joints, or revoltech joints =/
SUSblackorange
post Jun 23 2007, 08:11 AM

186 posts

just wanna ask,

are there F91 PG?

i doubt it here...

http://www.tisinc99.com/gunpergradsc.html
JdOtL
post Jun 23 2007, 08:37 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(blackorange @ Jun 23 2007, 08:11 AM)
just wanna ask,

are there F91 PG?

i doubt it here...

http://www.tisinc99.com/gunpergradsc.html
No, that one is just normal big scale F91, very old model oledi, I got one in my collection....
post Jun 23 2007, 09:57 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jun 23 2007, 12:13 AM)
Seriously... This means that we'll get even better stuff with MG Turn A, if a previous model already has so much gimmicks. But compare it to the greyish prototype pics, they look alike, especially the joints and the weapons.

MG Turn A is promising... moonlight butterfly parts please...
Me also looking forward for that wing!!!
The strongest weapon in Gundam History!!!

122 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:41 AM