Xbox Series X, The next Xbox generation

Kidicarus
post Jan 19 2022, 11:58 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jan 19 2022, 10:08 AM)
reminds me of a conversation I had with a gameshop owner

me: why didn't bring in Xbox series?  it's picking up momentum locally

owner: Xbox no games, no one want to buy it

me: have you heard of game pass?  tonnes of games there, I played until vomit

owner: don't have any games I like, gamepass is a lot more expensive than PS+

me: out of more than 300 games, no games you like there?  Halo? Gears? Forza? you can get gamepass for cheap also you know...

owner: I can play all those on PC for "free", xbox don't have great games like God of War series, Horizon series, latest FF7

me: those are coming to PC also, you know?

owner: they come out on PS first! *owner getting agitated

*me walks out shop quietly

Gameshop owners supporting xbox seriex x is effectively killing themselves. They still sell quite a lot of physical discs for PS4/5 whereas no one on xbox wants to buy physical. If MS wants local retail to support xbox, they need to incentivise them by allowing retailers to keep a proportion of gamepass subs and digital sales. And that's more their lack of SEA strategy. Not really a fanboi issue.
Kidicarus
post Jan 27 2022, 09:46 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Jan 27 2022, 08:47 AM)
console.gif yea, growing up and afford to buy console, but cannot afford to have spare time
xbox one x set up for the kids on the crappy tv upstairs.

Nope. They insist on using the OLED and series X for minecraft and roblox.
Kidicarus
post Feb 3 2022, 09:46 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 2 2022, 11:17 AM)
u doesnt play multiplayer doesnt mean rest of the population wont. We play with our friends time to time, that is part of the fun.

Hacker tends to ruin the fun, and their fun is to ruin the game. I still think cross platform to pc is very bad decision. Hacker still here there, even when replAy can see. Yet there is not easy way to report hacker. Dunno what degeloper is doing. Probably they happy to see hacker hack their game
Cross play is actually something you can disable on a system wide basis. Just go into your account settings on your xbox and disable the cross play there. For games like forza horizon 5, I've been able to match make quite easily after disabling cross play.

I think overall cross-play is good for the platform. Having the option to disable it is even better. But in a way i do agree that MS needs more robust anti-cheat software on their sideand the developers themselves who manage the multi player need to give a shit about the cheaters.
Kidicarus
post Feb 4 2022, 11:10 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(KomradMikhail @ Feb 3 2022, 08:29 PM)
Yeah, if it's anything but a glorified snap-picture-of-a-Japanese-ghost-to-kill-a-Japanese-ghost Fatal Frame bullshit I'll be very disappointed with Mikami-san. As long as I get the third Evil Within game from him, I can forgive him though. tongue.gif
Oiiiiiiii, no cheating! laugh.gif

Sorry, I'm on a personal high right now after just finished watching "Book of Boba Fett" Episode 6 on Disney+ just now. Din Djarin! Ahsoka Tano! R2-D2! Grogu Jedi-trained by the best-looking facial facsimile Luke Skywalker since ROTJ! They did Luke justice. Brought tears to my eyes.
The best book of boba fett episodes seem to be the ones without boba fett...

In terms of buying day 1 release games.. As a rule i no longer pay for day 1 games - who has the time to play them?!? especially with game pass
Kidicarus
post Feb 22 2022, 01:26 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Feb 22 2022, 01:18 PM)
Lol ... bought the RM49 Argentina CB2077 and now left it there idle (quick resume) after done tutorial part.

Baby just comes to this world a week ago so basically i'm out of my personal free time XD

Have to really squeeze if i wanna game for the next few months.
Congrats on becoming a "gaming" dad!

At this age they only sleep, eat and poo. It's still easy lol.
Kidicarus
post Feb 23 2022, 09:48 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 23 2022, 09:27 AM)
Suggest not to play it now. Wait for the upcoming update. Something exciting they say.

I stopped playing months ago and will restart from the beginning when the update comes
Haha i bought witcher 3 GOTY on discount years ago when the xbox one x came out. I tested it for the 60fps gameplay and haven't touched it since. You know these open world games just want to suck up all your time doing some fetch or killing side quest.
Kidicarus
post Feb 28 2022, 02:15 PM

727 posts

Still undecided on elden ring. I loved Sekiro so much i completed NG+6 Level design was tight and Combat was so satifying with the ting ting TING parry gameplay. I've never been convinced with open world gameplay preferring well designed smaller levels.

Anyway playing state of decay 2 now - different type of difficulty in this game - but rewarding if you get it right.
Kidicarus
post Feb 28 2022, 04:17 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Feb 28 2022, 02:23 PM)
buy buy buy, no need to think already

it's basically Zelda:BOTW dark soul version minus the climbing and gliding tongue.gif
hahaha Thats not the way to convince me. All my open world games are not completed.. this includes BOTW, Witcher 3, RDR2, GTA V, Immortals: fenyx rising etc I get so bored. Just not my genre.

Kidicarus
post Mar 6 2022, 06:11 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(NewB-MX @ Mar 6 2022, 02:01 AM)
Can the sifus here advise whether the following behaviour of my XBX is normal :

1. I turn off the console by using the controller (after pressing the X button n choosing turn off console)

2. After the console goes off (the X logo on it blinks 3 times), I turn off the power switch (at the plug)

3. When I turn on the power switch (at the plug) n then turn on the controller, the console automatically turns on where the X logo keeps blinking n I can see my TV receives some signal BUT there is no picture on the TV. The X logo on the console continues to blink for about maybe 2 minutes n then stops by blinking. When that happens the X logo light goes off n there is still no picture on the TV. The controller also goes off by itself at this stage.

4. Then when I turn on the controller the console turns on immediately n there is picture on the TV n I it shows the 'home' page.

I thought during stage 3 above the console should turn on within 1 minute and with picture.

Pls advise. Tx in advance.
Are you in instant on in your power settings? What you describe is not the proper way of shutting down your xbox. Turning it off with the controller if you're on instant on only goes to suspend mode. When you turn off the plug, I don't think you're giving the xbox a channce to power off properly which is why its probably doing a full reboot while its trying to recover data.

If you want to turn off your power plug. Check your power options in settings so that your xbox turns totally off when you shut down with controller.

For me, i never turn off the plug because I want my xbox to update games etc while i sleep.
Kidicarus
post Mar 17 2022, 04:18 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Mar 17 2022, 09:00 AM)
FYI, i have both XSX [Primary] and XSS and a PC at home and all three sharing same primary account Account A with XGPU.
For Xbox, i can use secondary account such as my wife's one to play on XBX [Primary] while i can use my Account A on my XSS.

Asal no two x of Account A gaming on the same time else it will prompt saying one of the device is using Account A.
If account A bought the game, has gold or gamepass then you need to set one of the xboxes as the "home" xbox. The home xbox will allow account BCD etc. to use without account A logging on. This way you Account B can play multiplayer against Account A on multiple xboxes.

On an xbox that is not a "Home" xbox account A must be logged on for any other account to play the game. Account B will not be able to play against account A in this scenario as it using account A's credentials to play the game. Account A can play a game on one xbox at a time although it can be logged on to multiple xboxes - ie watching netflix or whatever.

edit: This is from using XSX and XB1X

This post has been edited by Kidicarus: Mar 17 2022, 04:20 PM
Kidicarus
post Mar 29 2022, 09:14 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Mar 28 2022, 07:10 PM)
Haha yaya, 55" cannot lah. 48" still manageable on a big desk.
Yes, LG C2 42" will be a big competitor among monitors depending on the price.

Anyone want to buy the 55" C1 off my hand? I will get the 48" instead lol tongue.gif
Keep it for your super villain multi monitor setup.

Just like in the movies!
Kidicarus
post Mar 29 2022, 02:28 PM

727 posts

Obviously this is big news.

The full press release is here https://news.microsoft.com/en-my/2022/03/29...southeast-asia/

Makes no difference to me right now as i'm already locked in to game pass for 3 years. One thing that intrigues me though is the fact that they are setting up and testing local payment systems for the xbox marketplace. Hopefully that means we'll get localised pricing instead of having to fool xbox into thinking we're Argentinians! Hola!
Kidicarus
post Mar 29 2022, 05:26 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(tripleB @ Mar 29 2022, 04:52 PM)
Not bad. Only took them 21 years to recognize us huh. Despite Xbox controllers having been made in Malaysia for quite a while now.
Back in the day when we were still using physical discs for pc gaming, i used to bitch on these forums so much over the monopolies that our local distributors had on pricing. With those distributors dead and everyone moving to digital we actually got quite good localised pricing on steam. I have faith we will get there some day.
Kidicarus
post Mar 29 2022, 05:34 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Mar 29 2022, 05:28 PM)
https://www.xbox-now.com/en/game/16652/the-...-deluxe-edition

Woot !? Deluxe edition only cost USD7.71 =.=

Suddenly felt that i bought physical normal edition last month is kinda dumb ...
I have a confession to make... my xsx disc drive is a virgin.
Kidicarus
post Apr 1 2022, 01:58 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Mar 31 2022, 06:13 PM)
Waiting Elden Ring to drop price first. I promised myself won't buy full price game ady. Although Elden Ring at RM120 is really appealing but want wait below RM100 first hehe.

Finishing up Cyberpunk 2077. Got it after the new patch and played almost 1 month ady I think Too slow pace... After this most prob play Marvel GotG first.
I got bored with the wannabe james gunn script (5 mins!)early on with GOTG. Will probably play through when i'm in the mood to sit through cutscenes and dialogue. After that I spent the last month playing state of decay 2 which is probably even more slow paced!.

If you want to play a good soulslike while waiting for Elden Ring, I'm really enjoying Tunic. It's isometric zelda X dark souls.
Kidicarus
post Apr 1 2022, 03:14 PM

727 posts

Family!

https://www.windowscentral.com/microsoft-mo...ass-family-plan

No more messing around with home xbox settings and logging in for my kids!
Kidicarus
post Apr 5 2022, 09:47 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Apr 5 2022, 08:03 AM)
look! a three headed monkey behind you!

my all time fav thumbup.gif

my time was sneaking into school computer lab and firing up the monochrome 286 & playing it black & white using 8 x 5.25" floppy disc, "Please insert disk 8 to continue" tongue.gif
those time no internet nor guidebook anything, you have to crack your brain for every puzzles, took me hours to figure out how to escape the underwater idol scene laugh.gif
and days to figure out & solve the swordmaster puzzle as my english was pretty poor at that time

since then have played all iteration of MI1 and their sequels

yeah, ever since MI2, the rest of the installments are mediocre at best, plots are forgettable and jokes aren't finnier

let's pray this latest installment doesn't disappoint wink.gif
If you want to recreate that feeling of trying to figure what to do, i really recommend Tunic. ITs a zelda soulslike mystery. It's not a monkey island type mystery but the way you discover secrets for youself is something I've not experienced for a long time. It's story is revealed to you bit by bit as you collect pieces of an annotated NES manual and its meant to be played without the internet relying on secrets and tips shared between friends. Strong recomend from me.

Kidicarus
post Apr 15 2022, 02:25 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Apr 14 2022, 01:01 PM)
Anyone anticipating Trek to Yomi?
I watched the trailer - cinematically it looks good. Can't tell how it plays from the trailer though. Interested enough to download and try.
Kidicarus
post Apr 28 2022, 09:35 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(KomradMikhail @ Apr 27 2022, 01:55 PM)
Why ah Sega? Nobody buying your bullshit Sonic Origin "remaster" ah? Your customers you treat like your personal piggy bank, have wisen up and smell your bullshit from a mile away.

Your nostalgia perfume can’t mask the overpowering smell of bullshit.

This is not really that big a deal. If you were a fan of the sonic franchise, you would have bought those editions already and if you already bought them digitally, you'll still have access to those in the marketplace. If you didn't buy them already, i doubt you'd be buying trying to buy them now.

Like most retro games, the classic games have not aged well at all and trying to introduce them to a younger generation and trying to convince them that this was one cool will just be met with glazed eyes and riducule. Trust me, I've tried. The remastered editions are a great way to get into the classic games. You don't have to put up with 4:3 aspect ratio and you can 4k/60hz it, save states and so on.

Also it'll probably go on sale at 50% off relative quickly.

Kidicarus
post Apr 28 2022, 01:24 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(KomradMikhail @ Apr 28 2022, 10:42 AM)
If this is the mentality, by reiterating every time for a "new generation", then the original version remain raped into endless "remaster" recycle machine.

Leave the original as is, in its ugly scan lines and pixelated mess glory. Reiterate by making new sequels of the original game instead. That way you keep the sanctity and purity of the original intact, and you introduce the new generation" to the generation-appropriate visuals and contemporary gameplay mechanics.

This "remaster" is just a quick cash grab, satisfying neither the purists nor does it gives the era-correct look at how it looked when it came out. Purists who grew up playing the original version in its pixelated looks. Nostalgia doesnt come from adding new flashy anime intro, it comes from remembering playing the game at how it looked when you were a kid. The crappy thing about this is, Sega actively pushing "new generation" towards these flashy "remastered" Soni Origins versus the classic unmolested original version, by delisting ways and options to buy them on online stores, and leaving only Sonic Origins as the option to play these original classics. It's the same mentality used by movies and TV reboots, ignore the original exists, just look at this news flashy reboot version instead. Have we not learned from The Last Jedi & Rise of Skywalker movies, and how The Mandalorian show trying desperately to fix the mess that those two caused damage to the brand name of Star Wars?

If you're kid who is exasperated by how Sonic looked in its original pixelated 16-bit form, and you needed flashy, fast-cut anime intro to catch his interest, then the problem isn't with the games, it's with how the current generation is brought up like a cat: dangle a colorful ball of string infront of it, then it'll come pouncing. lol.gif

I grin widely when I see a kid first picked up a NES controller to play Mario on a 14" CRT TV at a game gathering once. The kid wasn't bothered or fazed by how "ugly" or outdated the graphics were, he just wanted to jump on Goombas and collect mushrooms.

Or in the case of Sonic, collect rings.

His parents brought him up correctly.

Leave the original version as it is. Make new sequels in the spirit of these timeless classics. That way, you breathe life to the series to get the purists to check out the new sequels, and you get the millenials and kids these days to play the "flashy" new sequels and get them interested enough to look up how the originals played like. Win-win.

You dont bastardize the old classic by adding new anime intro, hoping the impatient kids of today will hopefully give the game a try. Lose-lose.
I'm not sure what you're whining about... sonic origins is playable in both original and remastered resolutions. If you want a modern 2d update sonic mania is there...

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:22 AM