5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Gigabit Fiber Sdn Bhd, What ISP is this?

dreamfasten
post Jan 10 2021, 01:52 PM

417 posts

QUOTE(pmg @ Jan 8 2021, 01:36 PM)
Saw their ad near the lift entrance of my flat. Tried looking for more info on the net, but info is quite scarce, as if nobody uses this service.

Want to ask, has anybody tried online gaming between 8 PM -1 AM using Gigabit Fiber ? How is the performance ?

Thanks in advance.
Subscribed this 1 week ago. If you are using streamyx now, i think you should give it a try.
There is nothing that can be worse than streamyx smile.gif
pmg
post Jan 11 2021, 05:24 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(dreamfasten @ Jan 10 2021, 01:52 PM)
Subscribed this 1 week ago. If you are using streamyx now, i think you should give it a try.
There is nothing that can be worse than streamyx smile.gif
Thanks for replying.

Sure it might be better than Streamyx in your opinion, but is it usable for online gaming between 8 PM to 1 AM ?

Some telco/ISP throttle connections during those hours, which means not only online gaming suffers, but Netflix/YouTube/Twitch as well. If Gigabit Fiber implements such throttling, I might as well suffer with my current ISP instead of jumping ship.

This post has been edited by pmg: Jan 11 2021, 05:24 PM
dreamfasten
post Jan 11 2021, 07:27 PM

417 posts

QUOTE(pmg @ Jan 11 2021, 05:24 PM)
Thanks for replying.

Sure it might be better than Streamyx in your opinion, but is it usable for online gaming between 8 PM  to 1 AM ?

Some telco/ISP throttle connections during those hours, which means not only online gaming suffers, but Netflix/YouTube/Twitch as well. If Gigabit Fiber implements such throttling, I might as well suffer with my current ISP instead of jumping ship.
I dont play online games now so dont have a good answer on this. I only watch youtubes and some dramas and as you know youtube have a better server, it wont likely have that issues. But from speedtest during 8pm-10pm, I dont see any issues as well.
If you have other options like unifi/TIME, i will recommend you to go for that.
IMO, just take the minimum contract (half year). By the worst, it will just waste your half year money. Streamyx is always there for you. smile.gif
nightwalker69
post Feb 19 2021, 09:41 PM

QUOTE(dreamfasten @ Jan 11 2021, 07:27 PM)
I dont play online games now so dont have a good answer on this. I only watch youtubes and some dramas and as you know youtube have a better server, it wont likely have that issues. But from speedtest during 8pm-10pm, I dont see any issues as well.
If you have other options like unifi/TIME, i will recommend you to go for that.
IMO, just take the minimum contract (half year). By the worst, it will just waste your half year money. Streamyx is always there for you. smile.gif
I switch to TIME , i wait untill the half year contract end, contact them for service termination, so far from now what i can say is, this is the hardest service termination that i ever met. good luck guys
dreamfasten
post Feb 19 2021, 10:53 PM

417 posts

QUOTE(nightwalker69 @ Feb 19 2021, 09:41 PM)
I switch to TIME , i wait untill the half year contract end, contact them for service termination, so far from now what i can say is, this is the hardest service termination that i ever met. good luck guys
Mind to share the story?
NeohWG
post Jun 27 2021, 11:05 AM

I've dealt with Maxis, Unifi and YTL before, and all of them been able to solve my issue within a time frame. This is how they deal with customers when you lodge a complaint to them (speed less than 10% of the subscription speed during night time). Be prepared if you wish to sign up for their service. 😉

danieln
post Jun 27 2021, 11:36 AM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(NeohWG @ Jun 27 2021, 11:05 AM)
I've dealt with Maxis, Unifi and YTL before, and all of them been able to solve my issue within a time frame. This is how they deal with customers when you lodge a complaint to them (speed less than 10% of the subscription speed during night time). Be prepared if you wish to sign up for their service. 😉

the problem with these small players is, if you subscribe 100mb they assign 100mb to u only. so any hiccups you feel it badly as there is always a drop and you don't get 100% of the speed. while unifi they normally assign higher speed to you, so you don't feel the drop that much that often. EG: an 8mb streamyx plan would be assigned 10mb which is what I got
PRSXFENG
post Jun 27 2021, 01:54 PM

2,615 posts

if you want some evidence that ISP's can rig speedtests, here's some

https://www.reddit.com/r/techsupport/commen...ed_internet_to/

With that said OP is not from Malaysia.
cybersans
post Jun 27 2021, 06:02 PM

319 posts

thats the problem of internet users nowadays; relying on so-called "speedtest". doesn't matter whats its name, speedtest.net, fast.com, slowmo.gov, checkspeed.ru etc. etc.

if you want to know your line capabilities, download the binary files. there is many mirrors out there that serve the *.bin file.
how about the upload? you can upload to google drive, mega, or if you can find any local mirrors to upload.

the theoritically speed that you get, is the speed between you and the nearest node. not to the usa, not to the russia, not to the europe and so on.

if you subscribe 1000Mbps, then thats the speed you get between you and your connected node, without calculation the loss because of your hardware, the cable quality etc etc.

speedtest or whatever mechanism you use in the website will not guarantee anything. back in the day when i am using 56kbps connection, in theory i can get download speed 7kBps (please see the capital B). thats happen if i download a binary file. for an asciii file, text file, a file who has a "bubble" inside it, i can download 15kBps. how come? my connection just 56kbps only. right. because the file that i download is not "solid", then the packet has much space to fill, seems like the line speed were 128kbps on that day.

pls guys. don't be too obsessed with the speedtest. if on normal days you can download/stream more than 50% from your "paid speed", you should be grateful. of a peak hours, if you still can achieve a download/stream without buffering, you should be grateful too. remember that sometime your download/streaming is from another country, outside our borders. you may not get the max speed of your "paid speed". if local connection you can only get 80% from your actual speed, do you think that you can use 80% of your allocate bandwidth downloading from usa?

NeohWG
post Jun 27 2021, 09:05 PM

QUOTE(cybersans @ Jun 27 2021, 06:02 PM)
thats the problem of internet users nowadays; relying on so-called "speedtest". doesn't matter whats its name, speedtest.net, fast.com, slowmo.gov, checkspeed.ru etc. etc.

if you want to know your line capabilities, download the binary files. there is many mirrors out there that serve the *.bin file.
how about the upload? you can upload to google drive, mega, or if you can find any local mirrors to upload.

the theoritically speed that you get, is the speed between you and the nearest node. not to the usa, not to the russia, not to the europe and so on.

if you subscribe 1000Mbps, then thats the speed you get between you and your connected node, without calculation the loss because of your hardware, the cable quality etc etc.

speedtest or whatever mechanism you use in the website will not guarantee anything. back in the day when i am using 56kbps connection, in theory i can get download speed 7kBps (please see the capital B). thats happen if i download a binary file. for an asciii file, text file, a file who has a "bubble" inside it, i can download 15kBps. how come? my connection just 56kbps only. right. because the file that i download is not "solid", then the packet has much space to fill, seems like the line speed were 128kbps on that day.

pls guys. don't be too obsessed with the speedtest. if on normal days you can download/stream more than 50% from your "paid speed", you should be grateful. of a peak hours, if you still can achieve a download/stream without buffering, you should be grateful too. remember that sometime your download/streaming is from another country, outside our borders. you may not get the max speed of your "paid speed". if local connection you can only get 80% from your actual speed, do you think that you can use 80% of your allocate bandwidth downloading from usa?
I know it's a shared service and speeds are based on best effort, so I don't expect it to reach the advertised 100% speeds all the time. The problem I'm facing is that I can't even play videos over 720p on Youtube at night with my 4K smart TV using the 100Mbps package. Until then, I'll just run speed tests to make sure the problem is with the network.
Sam Leong
post Jun 28 2021, 10:30 AM

685 posts

fast.com relies on Netflix server lol
How can it be not accurate
Each large scale ISP have their own cache OCAs on each location
For example , TIME
They have three location nodes , Penang , Kuala Lumpur , Johor
When TIME IP performs a test , Fast.com will priority assign ISP's own cache OCAs for better performance
and also they will assign some SG OCAs.
and he said mobile data not accurate because many ISP on mobile data (certain package for unlimited one) limit speed towards Netflix server
thats why it will be unaccurate , but for home fiber i dun think this is a problem

for me i currently get few of the Local ISP Netflix OCAs
Celcom , Digi , Maxis , U Mobile , TM , TIME all have their own nodes
Daniel Hyuuga
post Aug 19 2021, 11:22 PM

390 posts

The support says inaccurate because Fast.com uses netflix speedtest server which located outside Malaysia. Speedtest.com has local servers throughout Malaysia which exactly the most accurate results you need and ISP aim for. Most internet package speed offered are referring to local traffic inside Malaysia hence that is why ISP will ask you to perform speedtest on Oookla (Speedtest.net). If local traffic speed is 80% lower than promised speed, there clearly there is an issue with your connection.

For international traffic speeds are vary because it heavily depends on routing. The longer the path for your packets to travel back/forth the slower the speed gets. That is why fast.com cannot give you the promised speed. This applies to ALL ISP known on the globe even the most advanced fiber internet like Google fiber. For fast.com case use lets say if you are having issues in streaming Netlfix keeps on buffering then you can use Fast.com to detect if there is speed issue to Netflix server.
rioven
post Aug 20 2021, 03:34 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(Daniel Hyuuga @ Aug 19 2021, 11:22 PM)
The support says inaccurate because Fast.com uses netflix speedtest server which located outside Malaysia. Speedtest.com has local servers throughout Malaysia which exactly the most accurate results you need and ISP aim for. Most internet package speed offered are referring to local traffic inside Malaysia hence that is why ISP will ask you to perform speedtest on Oookla (Speedtest.net). If local traffic speed is 80% lower than promised speed, there clearly there is an issue with your connection.

For international traffic speeds are vary because it heavily depends on routing. The longer the path for your packets to travel back/forth the slower the speed gets.  That is why fast.com cannot give you the promised speed. This applies to ALL ISP known on the globe even the most advanced fiber internet like Google fiber. For fast.com case use lets say if you are having issues in streaming Netlfix keeps on buffering then you can use Fast.com to detect if there is speed issue to Netflix server.
Netflix local server at MyIX, not sure this ISP using which route/peer.
(at fast.com, there is a button show more info after complete download speed test, which can tell which server connected)
angelflames1337
post Aug 16 2022, 08:46 PM

14 posts

Just subscribed last week, their support is non-existent and atrocious + link disconnect throughout the day randomly. And I stuck with them for a year contract, RIP.

Avoid like your life depends on it.
Alpha_Tay
post Sep 15 2022, 12:17 PM

Beware The Spammer Star!
1,725 posts

ookla-speedtest-1.2.0-win64>speedtest.exe -s 53237

Speedtest by Ookla

Server: Gigabit Fiber Broadband Sdn Bhd - Johor Bahru (id: 53237)
ISP: TM Net
Idle Latency: 268.37 ms (jitter: 8.78ms, low: 256.05ms, high: 274.90ms)
Download: 53.51 Mbps (data used: 88.2 MB)
426.45 ms (jitter: 95.02ms, low: 265.98ms, high: 859.13ms)
Upload: 1.49 Mbps (data used: 2.7 MB)
414.12 ms (jitter: 94.26ms, low: 261.82ms, high: 841.61ms)
Packet Loss: 2.4%
Result URL: https://www.speedtest.net/result/c/

ookla-speedtest-1.2.0-win64>speedtest.exe -s 53123

Speedtest by Ookla

Server: Gigabit Fiber Broadband Sdn Bhd - Shah Alam (id: 53123)
ISP: TM Net
Idle Latency: 203.22 ms (jitter: 171.19ms, low: 195.85ms, high: 528.69ms)
Download: 314.18 Mbps (data used: 429.7 MB)
331.74 ms (jitter: 88.84ms, low: 198.73ms, high: 769.59ms)
Upload: 1.06 Mbps (data used: 1.8 MB)
313.76 ms (jitter: 86.80ms, low: 195.36ms, high: 688.42ms)
Packet Loss: 5.2%
Result URL: https://www.speedtest.net/result/c/
mcchin
post Sep 21 2022, 07:15 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Saw this at my apartment

Not gonna change from unifi though

So many years
Their website.....
VForValentine P
post Sep 29 2022, 11:13 PM

Probation
14 posts

Stupid ISP ever, Internet always down and their support doesnt help at all. It is hard to get real person customer support. Always shows few photos with step by step on how to turn off your modem and wait 15 sec bla bla bla. And the most funniest moment is when the wifi is down and you cant even lookup for the network name in the list, they asked you to screenshot the network on your phone. XD

Worst salesman as well, their manners their talking style not professional at all. After my contract finished, there is 1 woman whatsapp me and tell me about their new package, but I told them I wont continue anymore, and this woman suddenly vanished forever. While few weeks later, another guy contacted me and ask me to renew my contract, I said I told the woman before that I wanna terminate this service but I got ignored and this guy said he cant do anything regarding this because he just a salesman, if you need to terminate service you need to write an email. While my bills keeps continue and im not using any of their fibre services.

So highly not recommended.
Dr.Jay
post Jan 24 2023, 07:48 AM

So far, so good. Within their promised 65%-100% promised speed.
Subscribed to their new, 350Mbps, RM119/month (Included GST), 2-year contract, promo plan.

Newly completed condominium (KL), new infrastructure, new router (Their own brand of XPON router).
Tested 3x devices watching YouTube at 4K 60fps, simultaneously, no issue.

Didn't had the option for TIME yet, my favorite, my provider before moving home.
Was juggling between Unifi/Digi/Maxis or YTL Broadband or Gigabit-Fiber.
For the price, compare to currently available competitor, still value for money.
Gave them a chance. Hope all the best for me.. sweat.gif

Only worries, some US website, debatable slower speed, but still fair at ping (within ping range of competitors).

Speedtest to Malaysia Server (on LAN)

Netflix Speedtest (on LAN)

Speedtest to Singapore Server (on LAN)

Texas, US Speedtest (on LAN)

Dota 2, Roundtrip Ping Test (on LAN)

Apex Legends, Roundtrip Ping Test (on LAN)

Uptime statistic (5 days). (on LAN)
Noticed they do, Daily server restart at 3AM everyday, less than 1min.

Router Provided (XPON ONU)

Currently Available Plan for my building

This post has been edited by Dr.Jay: Jan 29 2023, 08:06 AM
Patent
post Jan 24 2023, 01:45 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

QUOTE(Dr.Jay @ Jan 24 2023, 07:48 AM)
Pretty good latency to eu.. interesting
yenchenje
post Jan 29 2023, 11:32 PM

932 posts

Wanted to quote from Dr. Jay's post, all things considered, their ping to Luxemborg is actually really good, 150ms ish to Frankfurt, my Unifi ping to my Hetzner is 220-290ms.. Wonder how their routing is done..

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0376sec    0.88    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:38 PM