Total Votes: 134
Guests cannot vote 

TSwestlife
post Nov 14 2019, 12:30 AM

12,307 posts

the price is promising, same price as 256gb 2018 macbook pro but with so much more improvements.

now it makes the 13-inch macbook pro not worthy.

if you consider a same storage size (512gb) + 4 thunderbolt 3 ports + 16gb model of 13-inch macbook pro, it is already almost the same price as base model of 2019 16-inch macbook pro not to mention the processor is not even on par, screen size, speakers, keyboard etc.
zeroendless
post Nov 14 2019, 12:42 AM

352 posts

QUOTE(zeroendless @ Nov 13 2019, 11:01 PM)
I taped mine otherwise it's impossible to use that piece of garbage without hitting the escape key and undo everything i do, like a delete key time fcking bomb. STUPID AF piece of shit.
Ha. It appears there's a physical ESC key now with 16-inch!! cool2.gif At least they are not ignorant and i am not alone. Esc touch key is a disaster, who ever designed and approved this from the beginning would get smacked by Jobs if he wasn't 6 feet under.
zeroendless
post Nov 14 2019, 12:54 AM

352 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Nov 14 2019, 12:05 AM)
Ah, workhorse. Sometimes I just wonder why my Mac mini can utilize like 60-70% of 64GB ram with just a few open tabs without any VM running :x I opened the cover for mine and placed a 20cm Noctua fan right under it to keep the Mac mini, TB3 NVME drives and toasty SPF+ modules cool
Once you used up most the ports, plus external high res monitors with mobile grade video card... things start to break apart, devices start to drop connections and slow down. External HDD for instance, you can't even play video. I open probably 30-50 browsers tabs when i code, my MBP couldn't handle it but the 128GB iMac just chilling... thumbup.gif

TSwestlife
post Nov 14 2019, 01:00 AM

12,307 posts

QUOTE(zeroendless @ Nov 14 2019, 12:54 AM)
Once you used up most the ports, plus external high res monitors with mobile grade video card... things start to break apart, devices start to drop connections and slow down. External HDD for instance, you can't even play video. I open probably 30-50 browsers tabs when i code, my MBP couldn't handle it but the 128GB iMac just chilling...  thumbup.gif
It is the processor of iMac that makes it possible. dun think the ram makes so much difference.
zeroendless
post Nov 14 2019, 01:05 AM

352 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 14 2019, 01:00 AM)
It is the processor of iMac that makes it possible. dun think the ram makes so much difference.
Browser tabs and loading big files are all Ram power. CPU probably best for transcoding then again it will hits bottomneck on large video images files processing as well.
tutuyao
post Nov 14 2019, 01:47 AM

noob
870 posts

Now I feel like selling my 2016 mbp for this.

Now customers can pay less for 512gb, better audio, better graphics, KEYBOARD and longer batt life.

Wonder how much a used 2016 15MBP worth now with 512gb storage config
Andrew Lim
post Nov 14 2019, 03:31 AM

Just keep on keeping on
2,839 posts

I've been using a 13-inch retina MBP since 2013 and never upgraded because I didn't like the touchbar and butterfly keys on every MBP for the past 4 years

Finally this 16inch MBP seems like a worthy upgrade
TSwestlife
post Nov 14 2019, 04:02 AM

12,307 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Nov 14 2019, 03:31 AM)
I've been using a 13-inch retina MBP since 2013 and never upgraded because I didn't like the touchbar and butterfly keys on every MBP for the past 4 years

Finally this 16inch MBP seems like a worthy upgrade
Yeah should be a worthy upgrade, just that for 13-inch MacBook Pro users, the 2kg weight can be a bummer.

QUOTE(zeroendless @ Nov 14 2019, 01:05 AM)
Browser tabs and loading big files are all Ram power. CPU probably best for transcoding then again it will hits bottomneck on large video images files processing as well.
browser tabs or loading big files need ram yes but likely not due to 128gb ram. what is the number of tabs or the size of big file to load at once in order to fully utilise 128gb ram? u will likely to hit the bottleneck by other factors such as processor etc.

And application itself also makes a difference, chrome or photoshop are known to be hunger for ram but it is due to the application too.

Similar application such as safari or Final Cut Pro x will utilise ram in a different ways too.

For most use cases for most people, I dun think they can fully utilise the 128gb ram due to all the factors that can bottleneck it. Even it can, it is likely nor for constant workload for the use cases. It is likely for niche group of people who know exactly what they are doing.

This post has been edited by westlife: Nov 14 2019, 04:55 AM
quadcube
post Nov 14 2019, 11:13 AM

1,771 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 14 2019, 12:18 AM)
i do connect my macbook pro 13-inch 2017 to ethernet also since my usb-c dongle has it. but important reason is it is running 24x7 at home on my table which i did not even move.

if you are really carrying your macbook pro here and there, it is a different case.

although i pointed the wifi 6 on the new macbook pro. to be frank, for real life usage, the 802.11ac is still pretty sufficient.

dun forget also to support wifi 6, ur wifi router etc needs to support it also.
AC with consumer router is okay for mobile usage and light to medium usage with relatively low speed internet, but when you have 1Gbps up/dl, wired > wifi... laugh.gif

QUOTE(zeroendless @ Nov 14 2019, 12:54 AM)
Once you used up most the ports, plus external high res monitors with mobile grade video card... things start to break apart, devices start to drop connections and slow down. External HDD for instance, you can't even play video. I open probably 30-50 browsers tabs when i code, my MBP couldn't handle it but the 128GB iMac just chilling...  thumbup.gif
desktop Mac utilise the RAM more aggressively as it should compared to MacBooks, my 2014 mini fully utilise 16GB RAM within 30 minutes on boot and once it start compressing and swapping, everything slow downs as it couldn't free up enough ram in a short time laugh.gif if the mini was equipped with CPU that support large ram like the iMac, 3 digit ram brows.gif

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 14 2019, 04:02 AM)
Yeah should be a worthy upgrade, just that for 13-inch MacBook Pro users, the 2kg weight can be a bummer.
browser tabs or loading big files need ram yes but likely not due to 128gb ram. what is the number of tabs or the size of big file to load at once in order to fully utilise 128gb ram? u will likely to hit the bottleneck by other factors such as processor etc.

And application itself also makes a difference, chrome or photoshop are known to be hunger for ram but it is due to the application too.

Similar application such as safari or Final Cut Pro x will utilise ram in a different ways too.

For most use cases for most people, I dun think they can fully utilise the 128gb ram due to all the factors that can bottleneck it. Even it can, it is likely nor for constant workload for the use cases. It is likely for niche group of people who know exactly what they are doing.
talking about browser (chromium) being a ram hog, the other day I woke up to this, sugoiii laugh.gif
Icehart
post Nov 14 2019, 11:56 AM

14,304 posts

Tempted to upgrade to this Mac. I went and checked out the trade-in offer for my 2015 15" MBP, got a SGD 328 offer. Meh

This post has been edited by Icehart: Nov 14 2019, 11:57 AM
TSwestlife
post Nov 15 2019, 08:55 AM

12,307 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Nov 14 2019, 11:56 AM)
Tempted to upgrade to this Mac. I went and checked out the trade-in offer for my 2015 15" MBP, got a SGD 328 offer. Meh
Not worth it to sell. Haha.

Might as well use it for spare. 2015 15” is quite capable machine also that can last for many years to come.
Icehart
post Nov 15 2019, 10:43 AM

14,304 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Nov 14 2019, 11:13 AM)
talking about browser (chromium) being a ram hog, the other day I woke up to this, sugoiii laugh.gif
What app is this?

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 15 2019, 08:55 AM)
Not worth it to sell. Haha.

Might as well use it for spare. 2015 15” is quite capable machine also that can last for many years to come.
Yes 2015 15" is a capable machine.
Not upgrading yet since this is the first generation of a new keyboard.
invisiblelim
post Nov 15 2019, 01:38 PM

1,253 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Nov 14 2019, 11:56 AM)
mine to share how you check the pricing, I manage to go in the site, but it won't show anything after I clicked the continue with all question answer

Icehart
post Nov 15 2019, 02:35 PM

14,304 posts

QUOTE(invisiblelim @ Nov 15 2019, 01:38 PM)
mine to share how you check the pricing, I manage to go in the site, but it won't show anything after I clicked the continue with all question answer
I went to Apple Singapore site, enter the serial number and got the offer.
But I must say the offer from Apple Singapore (Which redirects you to Brightstar site) is ridiculously low.

If I trade in the same device in Apple US can get $750.
quadcube
post Nov 15 2019, 03:00 PM

1,771 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Nov 15 2019, 10:43 AM)
What app is this?
bjango istat menus
Icehart
post Nov 15 2019, 03:54 PM

14,304 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Nov 15 2019, 03:00 PM)
bjango istat menus
Thanks, downloading now.
invisiblelim
post Nov 15 2019, 05:31 PM

1,253 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Nov 15 2019, 02:35 PM)
I went to Apple Singapore site, enter the serial number and got the offer.
But I must say the offer from Apple Singapore (Which redirects you to Brightstar site) is ridiculously low.

If I trade in the same device in Apple US can get $750.
I see. Thanks!
invisiblelim
post Nov 15 2019, 05:40 PM

1,253 posts

Thinking to sell off my mid 2016 15" full spec and get this 16". What's Sifu advise? Besides what's the current market price for my set?
quadcube
post Nov 15 2019, 06:05 PM

1,771 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Nov 15 2019, 03:54 PM)
Thanks, downloading now.
if you are purchasing it, there's a way to get it cheaper by selecting diff region (e.g. China)
Icehart
post Nov 15 2019, 07:51 PM

14,304 posts

QUOTE(invisiblelim @ Nov 15 2019, 05:40 PM)
Thinking to sell off my mid 2016 15" full spec and get this 16". What's Sifu advise? Besides what's the current market price for my set?
This is the needs speaking or just a GAS syndrome?
I think should be able to get 6.5k - 7k

QUOTE(quadcube @ Nov 15 2019, 06:05 PM)
if you are purchasing it, there's a way to get it cheaper by selecting diff region (e.g. China)
Just trying out for now. biggrin.gif

26 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0452sec    0.31    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:15 PM