[2019] Macbook Pro 16-inch Discussion Thread | V1, The best for the brightest
zeroendless
Nov 13 2019, 10:56 PM
Noice, i was going to wait for it but went with Imac top tier + 128GB Ram instead.
I am glad they finally admitted thin is not the answer but all the problems for overheat. Love to see it's not longer thin obsessed piece of hair dryer tho the useless AF touch bar still there.
zeroendless
Nov 13 2019, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 13 2019, 10:58 PM) Touchbar is not exactly useful but it is a nice piece of tech. I would love to see it there always. 😜 Can upgrade to this next year hahaha. I taped mine otherwise it's impossible to use that piece of garbage without hitting the escape key and undo everything i do, like a delete key time fcking bomb. STUPID AF piece of shit.
zeroendless
Nov 13 2019, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(quadcube @ Nov 13 2019, 11:08 PM) now that you mentioned the lack of WiFi 6  personally I still prefer Mac's wired 10GbE wow, 128GB ram  what's your usage? Plus Radeon Pro Vega 48 with 8GB, The 128GB ram of course not coming from Apple but 3rd party Samsung memory. That's the benefit of a desktop with snap in memory stick. I use it for Image, Video processing plus coding. The imac 27-inch 5k also drives a dual 4k 27inches setup. An Imac drives 3 high res monitors with ease, i can't say about any MBPs, even this new one's fan would blow OFF like JET.
zeroendless
Nov 14 2019, 12:42 AM
QUOTE(zeroendless @ Nov 13 2019, 11:01 PM) I taped mine otherwise it's impossible to use that piece of garbage without hitting the escape key and undo everything i do, like a delete key time fcking bomb. STUPID AF piece of shit. Ha. It appears there's a physical ESC key now with 16-inch!!  At least they are not ignorant and i am not alone. Esc touch key is a disaster, who ever designed and approved this from the beginning would get smacked by Jobs if he wasn't 6 feet under.
zeroendless
Nov 14 2019, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(quadcube @ Nov 14 2019, 12:05 AM) Ah, workhorse. Sometimes I just wonder why my Mac mini can utilize like 60-70% of 64GB ram with just a few open tabs without any VM running :x I opened the cover for mine and placed a 20cm Noctua fan right under it to keep the Mac mini, TB3 NVME drives and toasty SPF+ modules cool Once you used up most the ports, plus external high res monitors with mobile grade video card... things start to break apart, devices start to drop connections and slow down. External HDD for instance, you can't even play video. I open probably 30-50 browsers tabs when i code, my MBP couldn't handle it but the 128GB iMac just chilling...
zeroendless
Nov 14 2019, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 14 2019, 01:00 AM) It is the processor of iMac that makes it possible. dun think the ram makes so much difference. Browser tabs and loading big files are all Ram power. CPU probably best for transcoding then again it will hits bottomneck on large video images files processing as well.
zeroendless
Nov 22 2019, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(penangkia247 @ Nov 21 2019, 02:40 PM) "Apple Launches Extended Holiday Return Policy, Return Deadline Set for January 8, 2020" Not sure if you guys have the offer above in Malaysia but here in the US, I can buy a unit to try out and return it a month later if I am not happy with the product. Decided to settle on the 8-core base unit without upgrades. And test it out "kaw-kaw" for a month. Cheers! I think they been running extended return grace period during the holidays. I recall few years back, there's no Apple no-question-asked return policy even in US. Walmart shitty products have 3 months return policy! Back then, Apple USA had two weeks return grace period but only if defective, if return simply you don't like it, you only get store credit. Things have changed.... for the best.
zeroendless
Nov 25 2019, 09:29 AM
QUOTE(penangkia247 @ Nov 24 2019, 06:18 PM) I think a lot of Asians abusing this to the max. Can “borrow” a computer for a project and then return it. Meanwhile just buy a Macbook Air for daily use. It's the culture i guess. Middle Easterners are the same way. However for Asians, Japanese may be the exception.
zeroendless
Nov 25 2019, 10:36 PM
Glad i made the right decision, skipped the MBP upgrade and went for iMac instead. iMac 2019 Vs the 16-inch https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2re1zgAm_pQ
zeroendless
Nov 29 2019, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(AhJian @ Nov 27 2019, 09:39 PM) Well, yes, that's the good one on how to separate between iMac and 16-inch. For me, if put aside portability, I would prefer bigger screen, so iMac would be my ideal upgrade, since my MBP is dated back mid 2012. My MBP still 2017 version, plenty of juice left. So ideally upgrade with iMac and use that MBP for travel or backup is a no brainer. Of course, now that i am on the road, kinda miss the iMac powerhouse at home.
zeroendless
Dec 1 2019, 07:45 PM
Got to see it in person today in Japan. The screen really does not gives you the wow effect if you coming from previous gen. Screen is not edge to edge, visually, is not much significant than last. To me, is the return of physical esc keyboard, finally! MBP is not dumb AF anymore. Someone did wake up and not being STUPID as human being putting esc key in touch bar. QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 30 2019, 12:22 PM) Finally see in real.
1) at first glance, the bezel does not significantly looks smaller to be frank. Screen size does not look significantly bigger than the previous 15-inch.
2) speaker is awesome, a lot more base than before.
3) keyboard is surprisingly good. It is even better than the one on 2015 MacBook Pro.
zeroendless
Dec 2 2019, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(Cap Jones @ Dec 1 2019, 07:58 PM) for imac , did u go with baseline model or upgraded one ? what part of imac can upgrade ? thinking of getting imac or mac mini or mbp 16 Upgraded and 128G of Ram from amazon US - the cheapest way. I think the best thing about regular iMac 27 is the Rams, just pop open cover and put in the rams yourself. Take less than a minute. Other than that, you can not upgrade anything else, not the ssd or video card. if you don't need to travel or portability, iMac is the way to go, you get way better hardware for the same price, plus the industrial best 5k monitor for the value. This post has been edited by zeroendless: Dec 2 2019, 01:51 PM
zeroendless
Dec 19 2019, 08:34 AM
QUOTE(sai86 @ Dec 14 2019, 09:24 PM) newb MacOS question, is the separate partition thing as easy as explained in google/youtube? so i can just separate/create a new partition from my only 1TB main ssd just like below? https://support.apple.com/en-sg/guide/disk-...dskutl14079/macPartition is simple task in Mac. Used to do that separating data storage from OS on a single drive. http://osxdaily.com/2011/04/26/partition-h...drive-mac-os-x/
zeroendless
Dec 19 2019, 03:35 PM
Holidays season - It's the year most busiest season for Apple and carriers, most devices are shipping from China... kinda throw schedule off the norm i guess. QUOTE(moonsunlala @ Dec 19 2019, 03:09 PM) Anyone knows roughly how long it will takes for a customized macbook to arrive? ordered a base 16 inch and bump up ram to 32gb + 1tb storage, today is the 5th day i ordered yet still in processing hmm
zeroendless
Dec 31 2019, 05:16 PM
Google Apple Employee discount and came upon this. -------------------------------- As an employee you get 25% of discount on the FIRST unit of any product you buy, so you can buy one of each Apple product line (iPhone, iPad, MacBook…) after that you have a family and friends discount, which allows you to buy up to 10 units with 15% of discount.