4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V38, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

Jjuggler
post Apr 24 2020, 09:52 AM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Yoooo @ Apr 24 2020, 09:35 AM)
I see, I thought TPlink has improved because read some reviews and they are good feedback.

May I know how to disable the TR069 port?
I have gone through all pages, but cannot find this... The port forwarding page is nothing too...
That is why if possible, I will flash the firmware to Dlink global 3.10 version.

Only stock router has this feature. Third-party routers don't have. As mentioned by the fellow forumers above, you want best experience, invest on a good router. If i were you, I would avoid d-link and tp-link brand.
Jjuggler
post Apr 24 2020, 12:19 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Yoooo @ Apr 24 2020, 12:02 PM)
Mine is stock router from TM, but I could not find the place to turn off the TR port. Do you know where is it?
Mine is Dlink DIR842, firmware is V3.06TM

Thank you.
You can find the feature under Advance section. Source.
Jjuggler
post May 3 2020, 07:10 AM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Yoooo @ Apr 29 2020, 04:38 PM)
Really got to save money to have a better router. Asus AC66U compare to new AC59U, which 1 better?
Both router not recommended for these days. Get yourself with a ax56u and avoid ac68u as well. Better processor, better wireless coverage, better firmware support. An entry level ax router costs ~RM420 - AX56U.

Jjuggler
post May 3 2020, 06:26 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Yoooo @ May 3 2020, 05:20 PM)
Understand, I am getting the AX3000 with discount RM600, if win the award from my credit card, got further 10% cash rebate.
I just made huge leap-over to ubiquiti gear. biggrin.gif
Jjuggler
post May 4 2020, 09:07 AM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Yoooo @ May 3 2020, 09:20 PM)
wow. That is really great.

What is your set up for the whole network system?
"wow. That is really great."

I am avoiding consumer-grade routers for privacy concern. I am pretty sure that you're well aware we can't use most 'features' in a router (any brands) due to EULA agreement made to allow us our data to be gathered if we want to use a "specific" feature. I ditched out Chrome and Google (search engine) long away go and opt to duckduckgo with hardened firefox for this.

Answering to your second question, the process is quite slow since I only rely on wired over wireless. So ubiquiti gear -> a gigabit switch to route incoming/outgoing traffic to physically connected device. I begin with ubiquiti gear and the requirement of adding/mod exisiting network system may change according to the requirement during the present time in the future.

This post has been edited by Jjuggler: May 4 2020, 09:09 AM
Jjuggler
post May 4 2020, 02:18 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Morning_Star @ May 4 2020, 11:43 AM)
jjuggler, so what enterprise router brands & models do u recommend ?
Dedicated wired router brand: Ubiquiti's EdgeRouter or Mikrotik. Models varies for your needs.
Jjuggler
post May 5 2020, 05:49 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Rhetoric @ May 5 2020, 04:47 PM)
If im buying new router which one do I change?, the Huawei box or the Netis box?.

Btw eli5 what is this 2 boxes actually is, router, modem, gateway?.
Huawei box is modem or BTU. Netis is known as router. If you want to change the network equipment, you only can change the router which is Netis in your understanding. There are a few brands available in the market as the best alternative towards unifi's stock router. Each brand offers similar purpose, to provide you a gateway to the internet, but it may differ in terms of features offered. Each router model is like a car's accessories. Some may seem cheap, with less feature and this applicable for higher range router. I don't recommend D-Link and TP-LINK (only for their standalone router models) if you intent to use this for long term. Their mesh unit good for act as an access point. If you want a decent, feature packed router, pick ax56u instead.
Jjuggler
post May 5 2020, 06:57 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Rhetoric @ May 5 2020, 06:32 PM)
so for the not so advance user like me shouldnt touch the Huawei box right?.

Yeah I am looking for mesh unit.
Yes for the bolded text. Unless the Netis was not configured as a router+modem combo (because you should do some tweaking to make the third-party router to work), then you should be fine. If you're looking for a proper mesh system, go for brands like TP-LINK. ASUS is quite expensive and normally I won't recommend their mesh system (since most find it out of their budget) due to being an expensive, but you will get a few firmware patches/security fixes (only if issued) from ASUS till it reaches its EOL status.

This post has been edited by Jjuggler: May 5 2020, 06:58 PM
Jjuggler
post May 5 2020, 08:11 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Rhetoric @ May 5 2020, 07:42 PM)
Thanks man, you've been very helpful.
you're welcome mate.
Jjuggler
post May 12 2020, 12:05 AM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(judehow @ May 11 2020, 01:30 PM)
I will suggest AX56U instead. Yes, there are no proper AX clients yet, this is the current cheap, affordable, secure router compared to its AX competitors, but it is better to future proof your home network with a newer router with newer hardware. It has better processor compared to the AC66U_B1 and AC68U and retails at RM450++ est. Avoid AC66U_B1 and AC68U since it's already considered old. I have already shifted from AC68U to Ubiquiti.

Jjuggler
post May 12 2020, 06:30 AM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(judehow @ May 12 2020, 12:09 AM)
I need see my budget not easy😭
Do not rush into buying a new router. Save the cash (usually there will be some promos). Just like me, was waiting for AX86U, but Ubiquiti caught my attention. Once moved towards Ubiquiti, there is no turning back to ASUS or other consumer-grade router.

QUOTE(pakji @ May 12 2020, 02:05 AM)
nice Ubiquiti but i am not pro compare ASUS AC68U easy setup like 192.168.1.1 then login then select unifi then fill username and password then fill SSID and password then finish then port forward easy all setting easy
like this seee compare Ubiquiti  bangwall.gif   sad.gif   rclxub.gif  because i am not pro i never try Ubiquiti  cry.gif
[attachmentid=10489149]
My friend, setting up Ubiquiti router is pretty simple. You can refer to this guide and the process of setting up Ubiquiti is faster than setting up any consumer-grade routers out there.

BTW, its good you don't upgrade your stock firmware to the latest one. biggrin.gif Because the newer firmware has Game mode and OpenNAT feature and its quite buggy. ASUS made the AC68U as a gaming router already. Perhaps the cheapest AC gaming router for ASUS networking gear line-up.

QUOTE(budakoye @ May 12 2020, 03:43 AM)
last time ppl complain tplink ac1200 suck. maybe tm should replace their modem with Netis. then they know how greatful is tplink. Netis wifi signal very weak. worst router in tm history
At least their Innatech RGX4400 is way better than Netis. The C1200 is a good router, I will have to be honest here. It is just the firmware has so many bugs that causes the CPU performance to shoot up without no reason (kernel panic without no reason, or poorly coded firmware) that causes the router to freeze and then reboot.

This post has been edited by Jjuggler: May 12 2020, 06:33 AM
Jjuggler
post May 12 2020, 06:45 AM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Yoooo @ May 11 2020, 01:29 PM)

if you look back the chat history early, you will notice that initially I also thought that to renew the TM contract to get a free router and use first.
Unfortunately, the TM gave me this Netis router instead of the Dlink 842 (this Dlink spoiled after 1 year plus).

I have used it around 1 week plus time without restart is working fine except the wifi signal is crapped, the range is too short and there is no free and custom DDNS services(I required it for my NAS connection). I connect it with another AP for better wifi connection (the Asus RT-N14UHP wifi is much better than Netis, except it has no 5Ghz connection).

its ARP table and the connected clients list is always unable to show all the connected client.

I am totally getting mad for the Netis actually. That is why I posted message to those seniors guys who advised me before, I should take their advices initially.
I am really regret. end up, I get the Asus AX3000 although I just renew my contract, problem solved (although its firmware still have slightly issue), now can relax.
Get back to your problem, personally I don't think you can stand with your current situation long.
The choice is still with you, just hope that you wont be like me. Maybe you want stand current situation longer to wait for the Wifi 6E coming also can. icon_rolleyes.gif
Don't feel my friend. Everyone has to go through some learning process. Some people have budget issues and maybe that's the reason why they are not keen to listen to the advice, at-least gears like TP-LINK are way cheaper than ASUS with better hardware offerings at a cheaper price with the bonus of a "good-bye" after one year the revision released. Good thing, TP-LINK actually good, it is just they should stop releasing revision and focus more on solving bugs in the present revision just like ASUS. This is why ASUS progress better than TP-LINK and D-LINK or even brands like Tenda or Mercusys.

Have you tried to update to Merlin-firmware. The model is now supported by Merlin. I believe most of the problem present in the stock firmware should be solved in their recent signature release.
Jjuggler
post May 12 2020, 10:45 AM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(judehow @ May 12 2020, 10:31 AM)
Ubiquiti is it Malaysian brand or  overseas  ? And how long the warranty?
It is an american company. Warranty wise, it depends on our local distributor. In my case, I bought from SUBtel. They are quite famous for being Mikrotik Distributor, and I bought a unit of Mikrotik for myself last time before sold it to brother soonwai.
Jjuggler
post May 12 2020, 08:20 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ May 12 2020, 10:46 AM)
TP-Link should also stop doing region based firmware & start doing global usage firmware like ASUS

I've already told TP-Link about this last time, but as usual, they just ignore
Their business strategy is sell & abandon TP-LINK MY

Jjuggler do some YouTube video la on how to setup UniFi on Ubiquiti devices laugh.gif
I agree with your point there, globalize the firmware for one model for all region. At-least they are way better than D-Link. Sudah bikin one written guide mah... brows.gif . Enter pppoe username and password, walao terus connected to the internet. brows.gif I haven't fully explore the Ubiquiti yet lol.

QUOTE(Yoooo @ May 12 2020, 12:27 PM)
Ya, you are right, actually initially I thought to buy TPlink AX50 end of the year, but after taking you all advise (after the Netis,  cry.gif ), and suddenly saw online got promotion for Asus AX3000, I think it is worth to get it. just about 60 bucks from AX50 and this AX3000 can do mesh in the future.

I just clarified with the Asus service centre as well, they has no problem to use the firmware that given from the seller now, once there is new updated official firmware, only update again and see got resolve the problems or not.

May I know for the Merlin-firmware, if I use it, got warranty issue? and Is it 1 firmware to suit all models?
any advantage and disadvantage to use the Merlin?

It is a good question brother. Well, Merlin firmware is an alternative firmware of ASUSWRT, think of a normal stock Bezza with Bezza + Gearup kit. It adds a few extra features that don't available over stock firmware such as selective routing (some addressed it as policy routing) for VPNs since setting up VPNs in the stock firmware will cause all the clients connected will be routed through the VPN tunnel, if your VPN provider like this one supports unlimited device, then okay. Another good feature Merlin has is DNS-over-TLS and supports a few scripting such as Diversion (router level ad-blocking, enhanced firewall, Skynet uses AiProtection's log to protect your device as claimed by the developer of the script itself. And Merlin firmware tend to be ahead by solving bugs compared to ASUS engineers, and some power users able to give feedback based on the alpha-and-beta firmware released before a final version is released for the public. This is why most of the time, merlin firmware is slightly stable compared to the stock firmware. And merlin supports AiMesh feature, with condition, the master node shouldn't be running on stock firmware. If the master router runs on merlin and mesh node runs on stock firmware is supported. However I am not sure if the AiMesh stability issues solved already or not, since I am not keen into using AiMesh due to WPS feature that has to be enabled that may cause your pro neighbor or some random guy with a hood on top of his head to tap into your home network and do all the illegal stuff. brows.gif.

Additionally, merlin now supports both AX56U and AX3000 (AX58U) so shouldn't be problem for the next 5 years.
Jjuggler
post May 13 2020, 09:02 AM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(pakji @ May 13 2020, 01:35 AM)
that you give link guide

that you own site
but screenshot to small i click unable orignal size i did zoom to much blur  rclxub.gif
what model
i see what model that how much you bought
I publish the guide on my site. Brother posthumous had answered your questions. The EdgeRouter 6P costs me RM1190. Bought from SUBtel through Lazada. I just make the Deco M4 as the wireless signal broadcaster, cheap wi-fi solution lol. biggrin.gif

Jjuggler
post May 13 2020, 02:23 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(pakji @ May 13 2020, 02:01 PM)
EdgeRouter 6P nice cost RM1.1K i can afford but wifi must be buy AP but looking strong signal i think ubiquiti have power full strong signal like AX future proof whole house signal strong like 5Ghz
Just use the remaining ac router as wireless broadcaster. Can save some cash.
Jjuggler
post May 13 2020, 04:18 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(pakji @ May 13 2020, 03:07 PM)
haha i know i have AC router but whole house signal most 2-3bar i go toilet signal 1 bar then no wifi hard received slow

my asus rt-ac68u without to do port forward i tested port still open and utorrent almost works

how about EdgeRouter 6P router without to do port forward will port still open and utorrent almost works like my ac68u ???
i never to do port forward but still works green icon utorrent
The stock settings (default-settings) blocks all port and the result obtained from Gibson's Research Corporation site passes with flying colors.
Jjuggler
post May 15 2020, 10:07 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(fun_feng @ May 15 2020, 09:41 PM)
Hi guys, how do i know my unifi password?

If need to reset or change password, where can i do it?
You cannot change your PPPoE (Unifi) password. You only can change the router login credentials. As for the password, you can get it from unifi's service form (the form given to you after installing the service in your residence/office) or give a call to customer service center or login into the router to get it (refer to this guide). There was a thread dedicated for this topic.
Jjuggler
post May 16 2020, 12:53 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(fun_feng @ May 16 2020, 09:43 AM)
Thanks! This helps a lot
You're welcome mate. biggrin.gif
Jjuggler
post May 29 2020, 09:05 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,341 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ May 29 2020, 07:54 PM)
I got no idea why my post got reported. I think I better make my situation clearer.
I bought a new router, Asus RT-AX3000. I stayed in a 2-storey house and my BTU is located in my room at second floor. I have a long LAN cable connected this BTU with Innatech RG4332 downstairs in my living room. Currently, RG4332 is connected with my TV and IPTV. My intended setup is to replace RG4332 with RT-AX3000 by connecting my BTU to AX3000 and leave this new router remain at second floor while turn my old RG4332 into a network switch with the same long LAN cable connecting to AX3000. I have sketched a diagram below.
[attachmentid=10503158]
From my research, I found that DD-WRT cannot support RG4332 so I have no choice but to sacrifice 1 LAN port to turn it into a network switch. May I know if I connect AX3000 to RG4332 LAN1-LAN1 and remain VLAN ID of LAN 4 on RG4332 to 600, will HyppTV use its own independent bandwidth or parasitise my own bandwidth?
Why you want to trouble yourself? Just invest in a decent smart switch (usually this is recommended because who would waste other remaining ports for IPTV right?) / dumb switch (if you connect the RG4332 from LAN 4 port of your AX3000) then you're good to go.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.2023sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:53 PM