Hankook Prime 3 (K125), Info about the new K125
19 Degree South
Oct 21 2020, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Oct 21 2020, 04:25 PM) Can't say much as only covered around 100km after install. But initial impression on dry grip is at least at par with S1N2 or better. Like K435 (Kinergy Eco 2) I have on another car, noise signature is moved to lower frequency and it appears to be as silent as S1N2.As per my ori review above, nothing to add or change as of now after 20+k km of driving. I think it is a S1N2 with different thread pattern. Better aquaplaning resistance than S1N2 and V2C2. Threadwear also is same as S1N2, I think this VP3 can last at least 70-80k km on moderate driving style. Can't and not fair to compare with UHP as price difference is too big. This is indon tyre right? the thread pattern looks ok ler.
speedy3210
Oct 22 2020, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 21 2020, 04:34 PM) s1n2 utqg... 500 AA A, vp3 utqg... 300 A A quite big difference bro Yeah I know bro. But hv to keep in mind utgq is not constant as the reference tyre rubber grade may hv changed since. S1N2 and VP3 are quite different in terms of age. for reference, my S1N2 was dated 2012 and VP3 is 2019.
budang
Oct 22 2020, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Oct 21 2020, 04:25 PM) Can't say much as only covered around 100km after install. But initial impression on dry grip is at least at par with S1N2 or better. Like K435 (Kinergy Eco 2) I have on another car, noise signature is moved to lower frequency and it appears to be as silent as S1N2.As per my ori review above, nothing to add or change as of now after 20+k km of driving. I think it is a S1N2 with different thread pattern. Better aquaplaning resistance than S1N2 and V2C2. Threadwear also is same as S1N2, I think this VP3 can last at least 70-80k km on moderate driving style. Can't and not fair to compare with UHP as price difference is too big. What size and where did you get them and for how much?
dwRK
Oct 22 2020, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Oct 22 2020, 10:03 AM) Yeah I know bro. But hv to keep in mind utgq is not constant as the reference tyre rubber grade may hv changed since. S1N2 and VP3 are quite different in terms of age. for reference, my S1N2 was dated 2012 and VP3 is 2019. vp3 launched around 2016...my s1n2 dated 2017... i hear what you're saying...i just don't think the reference tyre/track changed so much that invalidates comparison, i also check the eu labeling for reference last time anyways this vp3 my last option if can't decide on something else to replace s1n2 that's done 70k, see maybe can get another 10k more out...close to reaching twi...
19 Degree South
Oct 22 2020, 06:01 PM
No stock for big size in KL and JB. hiaz!have to look for another brand liao.
dwRK
Oct 22 2020, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 22 2020, 06:01 PM) No stock for big size in KL and JB. hiaz!have to look for another brand liao. how big?
19 Degree South
Oct 22 2020, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 22 2020, 06:50 PM) 245/40/18.
dwRK
Oct 22 2020, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 22 2020, 07:26 PM) I also 18... if I come across I ping you
DM3
Oct 22 2020, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 22 2020, 11:24 AM) vp3 launched around 2016...my s1n2 dated 2017... i hear what you're saying...i just don't think the reference tyre/track changed so much that invalidates comparison, i also check the eu labeling for reference last time anyways this vp3 my last option if can't decide on something else to replace s1n2 that's done 70k, see maybe can get another 10k more out...close to reaching twi... Wow how u can use until 70k?i use up to 45k already very worn for all my tyres. Btw ive used k125 for almost 10k,nothing special,not so good in wet,dry ok
19 Degree South
Oct 22 2020, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 22 2020, 08:41 PM) I also 18... if I come across I ping you Thanks bro!
dwRK
Oct 23 2020, 08:59 AM
QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 22 2020, 09:02 PM) Wow how u can use until 70k?i use up to 45k already very worn for all my tyres. Btw ive used k125 for almost 10k,nothing special,not so good in wet,dry ok maybe your alignment more aggressive? I rotate/align yearly...my worst tyre still got 3+mm threads...  imho prime3 is just an upgraded eco2...the patterns quite similar so will share some characteristics... s1n2 is actually all season tyre, same max performance class as s1e2...I went to 4 shops now looking for my size, too bad no more...
19 Degree South
Oct 23 2020, 10:58 AM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 23 2020, 08:59 AM) maybe your alignment more aggressive? I rotate/align yearly...my worst tyre still got 3+mm threads...  imho prime3 is just an upgraded eco2...the patterns quite similar so will share some characteristics... s1n2 is actually all season tyre, same max performance class as s1e2...I went to 4 shops now looking for my size, too bad no more... Envy you guys can rotate tyres! Mine is staggered!
DM3
Oct 23 2020, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 23 2020, 08:59 AM) maybe your alignment more aggressive? I rotate/align yearly...my worst tyre still got 3+mm threads...  imho prime3 is just an upgraded eco2...the patterns quite similar so will share some characteristics... s1n2 is actually all season tyre, same max performance class as s1e2...I went to 4 shops now looking for my size, too bad no more... Yes i do every 10kkm,its imy bad habit,burn rubber each drive,, been chang8ng tyres every 1 to 1.5yrs,so all those hankooknoerformqnce type tried,v12 so far the best,n next S1e2, s1n2 etc so so,also used ps3,nexen,toyo,
6UE5T
Oct 23 2020, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 23 2020, 08:59 AM) maybe your alignment more aggressive? I rotate/align yearly...my worst tyre still got 3+mm threads...  imho prime3 is just an upgraded eco2...the patterns quite similar so will share some characteristics... s1n2 is actually all season tyre, same max performance class as s1e2...I went to 4 shops now looking for my size, too bad no more... S1N2 is just entry level UHP or actually still like borderline touring tire, not real UHP. S1E2 is their top UHP though, much better. QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 23 2020, 10:58 AM) Envy you guys can rotate tyres! Mine is staggered!  My Mark X also uses staggered rims now but the wear fortunately is quite even, just slightly faster at the front. Yours wears out faster front or rear? If still quite even then no need rotation.
dwRK
Oct 23 2020, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 23 2020, 04:05 PM) S1N2 is just entry level UHP or actually still like borderline touring tire, not real UHP. S1E2 is their top UHP though, much better. yeah...I consider it as touring tire only... I think classification is based on size/profile/speed/load rating...so it can still be uhp but dead last in competitiveness no more s1e2 18"
dwRK
Oct 23 2020, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 23 2020, 11:46 AM) Yes i do every 10kkm,its imy bad habit,burn rubber each drive,, been chang8ng tyres every 1 to 1.5yrs,so all those hankooknoerformqnce type tried,v12 so far the best,n next S1e2, s1n2 etc so so,also used ps3,nexen,toyo, my p7 also around 1.5yrs...alignment quite aggressive then...  I like fast corners, also hate braking...my style quite smooth, and now more neutral setup...so it helps This post has been edited by dwRK: Oct 23 2020, 04:33 PM
19 Degree South
Oct 23 2020, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 23 2020, 04:05 PM) S1N2 is just entry level UHP or actually still like borderline touring tire, not real UHP. S1E2 is their top UHP though, much better. My Mark X also uses staggered rims now but the wear fortunately is quite even, just slightly faster at the front. Yours wears out faster front or rear? If still quite even then no need rotation. The front Two always give way first!
dwRK
Oct 23 2020, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 23 2020, 10:58 AM) Envy you guys can rotate tyres! Mine is staggered!  last time I once managed 100k km without rotation and alignment...99% highway with very neutral setup, and metal valves that hardly needs pumping... haha
dwRK
Oct 23 2020, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 23 2020, 04:37 PM) The front Two always give way first!  inner or outer
6UE5T
Oct 23 2020, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 23 2020, 04:27 PM) yeah...I consider it as touring tire only... I think classification is based on size/profile/speed/load rating...so it can still be uhp but dead last in competitiveness no more s1e2 18" S1E3 already out a few years ago, just not yet available here yet. QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 23 2020, 04:37 PM) The front Two always give way first!  What I could suggest is that use higher treadwear tires at the front. For example like front uses PS4 at 320 TW and rear uses CSC5 at 280 TW.