Hankook Prime 3 (K125), Info about the new K125

dwRK
post Oct 21 2020, 04:34 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Oct 21 2020, 04:25 PM)
Can't say much as only covered around 100km after install. But initial impression on dry grip is at least at par with S1N2 or better. Like K435 (Kinergy Eco 2) I have on another car, noise signature is moved to lower frequency and it appears to be as silent as S1N2.

As per my ori review above, nothing to add or change as of now after 20+k km of driving. I think it is a S1N2 with different thread pattern. Better aquaplaning resistance than S1N2 and V2C2. Threadwear also is same as S1N2, I think this VP3 can last at least 70-80k km on moderate driving style. Can't and not fair to compare with UHP as price difference is too big.
s1n2 utqg... 500 AA A, vp3 utqg... 300 A A

quite big difference bro
dwRK
post Oct 22 2020, 11:24 AM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Oct 22 2020, 10:03 AM)
Yeah I know bro. But hv to keep in mind utgq is not constant as the reference tyre rubber grade may hv changed since. S1N2 and VP3 are quite different in terms of age. for reference, my S1N2 was dated 2012 and VP3 is 2019.
vp3 launched around 2016...my s1n2 dated 2017...

i hear what you're saying...i just don't think the reference tyre/track changed so much that invalidates comparison, i also check the eu labeling for reference last time

anyways this vp3 my last option if can't decide on something else to replace s1n2 that's done 70k, see maybe can get another 10k more out...close to reaching twi...
dwRK
post Oct 22 2020, 06:50 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 22 2020, 06:01 PM)
No stock for big size in KL and JB. hiaz!have to look for another brand liao.
how big?
dwRK
post Oct 22 2020, 08:41 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 22 2020, 07:26 PM)
245/40/18.
I also 18... if I come across I ping you
dwRK
post Oct 23 2020, 08:59 AM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 22 2020, 09:02 PM)
Wow how u can use until 70k?i use up to 45k already very worn for all my tyres.
Btw ive used k125 for almost 10k,nothing special,not so good in wet,dry ok
maybe your alignment more aggressive? I rotate/align yearly...my worst tyre still got 3+mm threads... smile.gif

imho prime3 is just an upgraded eco2...the patterns quite similar so will share some characteristics...

s1n2 is actually all season tyre, same max performance class as s1e2...I went to 4 shops now looking for my size, too bad no more...
dwRK
post Oct 23 2020, 04:27 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 23 2020, 04:05 PM)
S1N2 is just entry level UHP or actually still like borderline touring tire, not real UHP. S1E2 is their top UHP though, much better.
yeah...I consider it as touring tire only...

I think classification is based on size/profile/speed/load rating...so it can still be uhp but dead last in competitiveness

no more s1e2 18"
dwRK
post Oct 23 2020, 04:32 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 23 2020, 11:46 AM)
Yes i do every 10kkm,its imy bad habit,burn rubber each drive,, been chang8ng tyres every 1 to 1.5yrs,so all those hankooknoerformqnce type tried,v12  so far the best,n next S1e2, s1n2 etc so so,also used ps3,nexen,toyo,
my p7 also around 1.5yrs...alignment quite aggressive then... laugh.gif

I like fast corners, also hate braking...my style quite smooth, and now more neutral setup...so it helps

This post has been edited by dwRK: Oct 23 2020, 04:33 PM
dwRK
post Oct 23 2020, 04:39 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 23 2020, 10:58 AM)
Envy you guys can rotate tyres! Mine is staggered! sad.gif
last time I once managed 100k km without rotation and alignment...99% highway with very neutral setup, and metal valves that hardly needs pumping... haha
dwRK
post Oct 23 2020, 04:41 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 23 2020, 04:37 PM)
The front Two always give way first!  laugh.gif
inner or outer
dwRK
post Oct 23 2020, 05:54 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 23 2020, 05:08 PM)
outer gua.
maybe too much toe in...maybe not enough -ve camber...maybe absorber problem also...

wear can be even out a bit with proper alignment to suit your car/style
dwRK
post Oct 23 2020, 11:05 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 23 2020, 06:16 PM)
The C klass is famed for having camber issue! U ask the SC and they told u the engineer designed the car in such a way. Lol.
wah...didn't know merc & SC so bad... lol

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 23 2020, 06:35 PM)
Outer treads might be worn faster if positive camber which I think highly unlikely in a modern Mercs.
outer wear can happen if camber not -ve enough and sapu corner a lot... anyways no idea what's the real problem can only speculate
dwRK
post Oct 23 2020, 11:10 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 23 2020, 08:04 PM)
Ya most setups are toe out
toe out normal for fwd... toe in for rwd and awd
dwRK
post Oct 23 2020, 11:20 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 23 2020, 11:11 PM)
Yes but he said he doesn't drive fast so by right should not eat up the outer. All my cars all outer treads also worn out fast but inner also same coz I got like -1.5 or more camber and I like corners bit fast so the inner worn out by the camber and the outer worn out by cornering,  ends up looking like I under inflate my tires even though already quite high pressure. 😅
yeah...I wonder if the merc has too neutral caster...

same...my alignment guy say I under inflate initially... then he say I pump too hard... hahaha
dwRK
post Oct 24 2020, 09:21 AM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 24 2020, 08:42 AM)
Yup,but some how my past cars n current the standard seems more thts why always innerside wears out too fast with my harcore pedal to metal n whack corners hard
could be incompetent alignment guy?...

this my ex-front tire...inner wear from -ve camber, outer wear from toe-in/balas corner... my worst tire after 70k

my ex-rear...will gets some outer wear in before replacement... wink.gif

warning for noobs... bad tire to the rear is DANGEROUS... prone to oversteer and fishtail... don't follow my example

This post has been edited by dwRK: Oct 24 2020, 09:47 AM
dwRK
post Oct 24 2020, 11:21 AM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 24 2020, 11:15 AM)
Wah thts worn out bad, no bro if u see i drive, any long lasting tyres also wont past 2 yrs, frk pics is s1n2?
you know yourself best... laugh.gif

yeah both pic s1n2... not that bad ah... got 3-4 mm threads left... biggrin.gif

my setup now more neutral to wear the middle patch more... hehe

This post has been edited by dwRK: Oct 24 2020, 11:26 AM
dwRK
post Oct 24 2020, 11:46 AM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 24 2020, 11:36 AM)
Ya safety 1st also,time to change ,before changed to k125 in june
2020 ,used s1n2 had it for 1.5 yrs around 37k km only, thread like urs 2mm inner
sure thing. been searching for new s1n2 past few months but no more in market

now waiting to see if efficientgrip performance 2 gets launched before I gatal beh tahan try others...
dwRK
post Jan 6 2021, 02:34 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Jan 6 2021, 09:16 AM)
VP3 is different from S1N2 as VP3 has increase the level of grip and also stiffer sidewall compare to S1N2. The S1N2 is truly comfort tyre where the noise level is very minimal and the tyre provide good riding due to soft tyre giving more buffer. However S1N2 is not good in attacking corner due to softer sidewall and in fact it is not suit for heavy car like older BMW, Merc or Audi.

The VP3 is designed as touring sport tyre where it has stiffer sidewall where car can push further in corner and better grip in dry and wet (but not extreme grip). VP3 is absolutely suit for "turbocharged" vehicle as the predecessor VP2 is OE fitted to VW Golf 1.4, Beetle 2.0 (GTI engine) and Hyundai Santa Fe (400nm torque diesel engine). The VP3 is slightly noisier than and less comfort ride than S1N2 but it certainly perform better. 

S1 evo3 will be launched in 2021 if not mistaken. This tyre is premium UHP and it should perform better than VP3 but of course the price gonna be higher too. I am awaiting this coming since my tyre going to due this year too as already used for 50k km for the VP3.
wrong info bro...

s1n2 has better wet traction (AA) than vp3 (A)... i don't remember the EU label rating but it is also better...

i'm using s1n2 on my 1.7 tonne bmw... sometimes i attack corner until screeching... no problem at all

s1n2 is under the "s1 uhp family"... evo2 is summer tire, noble2 is all season... obviously for all season got some compromises... steering feel and handling vp3 should be better than s1n2

imho... vp3 is just an upgraded kinergy eco2 touring tire...the pattern is almost similar with minor changes only...
dwRK
post Jan 6 2021, 02:36 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Jan 6 2021, 09:30 AM)
Just rotated 10k km , before tht mileage already wheel spinning when wet especially on slight slopes ;P
Hankook really susah to replace legendary V12
yeah v12 very good hard to find replacement
dwRK
post Jan 11 2021, 12:45 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Jan 11 2021, 11:21 AM)
I am in automotive industry and tyre is my company main product. We basically tested out many tyre brands and pattern.

UHP is mean the tyre is 17inch and above and usually 55 or below aspect ratio, it is regardless touring (comfort) or sport pattern. S1N2 is not design for continental car as the tyre sidewall is softer. This tyre can still use for conti car but it is easily bulge if hit the road pole or curb. VP3 is upgrade of S1N2 where the tyre sidewall is harder and it is OE tyre for turbocharged vehicle.

V12 Evo2 is pure summer tyres where it has greater grip in dry and wet surface, drawback is it has tendancy to pull one side and noisier. VP3 look similar to Eco2 but the material used in both tyres are different. And Eco2 is without rim guard which cannot hold corner like VP3 which comes with rim guard.

VP3 has no UTQG indicator (treadwear, traction and temparature) because this is US standard, it is not a must to put. It doesn't mean VP3 lousier than S1N2. I have tested V2 concept 2, S1N2, VP3 and V12 evo2. Not only that I also have tested Michelin XM2, XM2+, Primacy 4, PS3 and PS4. Continental CC6, MC5, MC6, UC6 and CSC5. There are many more other brands and patterns but some were tested by other colleagues.
thanks for the disclosure...best stick with technical data/discussions then, else there is potential bias

its only your opinion soft sidewalls not suitable for heavy vehicle, correct?...otherwise it will imply the standard load and speed index is wrong and cannot be used

all tyres if hit jackpot hole hard enough will damage tyre, my friend had a blowout and cracked his rims too just driving proton normal tyre, i was passenger... i agree in general soft sidewall is potentially more prone to this kind of damage, but not knowing how the carcass is designed this is more human feeling than facts...anyways designers need to make sure tyre survives "normal" potholes, we users just need to be lucky

vp3 have utqg, wet traction A, vs s1n2 AA... no need to dispute which one lousier, as you are in the industry you should be able to find the utqg easily too. vp3 harder sidewall will give better steering feel/response/cornering which I have said...

if you go by price, s1n2 commands a premium over vp3... which typically imply it as a better tyre. however beauty in eye of beholder lah... so what is a good tyre for me...not necessarily good for you...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jan 11 2021, 04:31 PM
dwRK
post Jan 13 2021, 12:37 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Jan 12 2021, 12:15 PM)
General speaking softer sidewall less suit for heavy car, if choosing it then driver should pump higher air pressure to make the tyre harder like 3-5psi. Do not afraid the tyre will explode since the tyre can hold up to 50psi maximum. Usually the optimum pressure is around 35psi or below depends on sizes and softer tyre for heavy car use is recommend to pump at least 38psi in cold air (before 8am if possible). It is completely safe even though driving in hot sun for several hours and maximum the tyre pressure may go up to 43-45psi.

The tyre load index is mean of the maximum weight the tyre withstand. I mentioned the word of not suit for "old BMW, Mer or Audi", I never mention "cannot" if you were picky. Nowadays Continental cars are lighter but body rigidity is higher due to using ultra high strength steel which is lighter but stronger. And if one is using F30 or W205 the stock tyre is runflat which is very stiff sidewall tyres. If these vehicle change the tyres to non-runflat S1N2 the handling of the car will seriously being affected despite increase of air pressure. It is because the car designed to use runflat tyre, if using non-runflat it is highly recommend to use sport tyre with stiffer sidewall with increase of air pressure needed. 

If budget is not an issue I will recommend Michelin PS4 as it has fantastic performance in all aspects. Otherwise we can stay tune for the arrival of S1 evo3 or someone who using BMW 320i G20 can give their comment about the tyre since it is stock tyre.
i think you're mistaken in a few areas...

the tyre doesn't care about conti or jap, new steel or old... it just care about the weight sitting on it, let say 400kg per wheel, and for this a load/speed index of 95w and 35 psi inflation for normal driving... this will be the manufacturer's specification plastered on the car

hard or soft sidewall doesn't matter, because technically a 95w tyre will be able to support the 1600kg weight of the car...the index also specify different tyre inflation if you have extra weight, say 500kg per tyre, this changes the contact patch's geometry and pressure point to sub-optimal with the extra weight, and in order to compensate this you need to inflate a few psi more... the specification also says if you drive very very fast, you need to inflate more, this is also to compensate for the dynamic forces, because when you corner hard, the 400kg static load is now more like 500kg dynamic load... these are the engineering, to keep you safe on the road

hard or soft sidewall determines ride comfort and handling (steering feel/cornering roll)... so, a heavy bmw even with very soft sidewall is very well suited to uncle style of driving... that is why manufactures have uhp/high performance 95w and touring/comfort 95w to help people select... these are the characteristics, to match personal preferences, performance expectations and driving styles

obviously, if you put soft sidewall tyre and drive like a mad hatter around corners, you gonna have more body roll and feeling of unsafe handling... this is where all the generalization of soft sidewall unsuitability, and higher inflation without understanding the dynamics comes from

i had ne03 on my small and light suzuki swift and driven it mad around corners and boy does it roll but i like the fun... whereas s1n2 doesn't roll much at all on my heavy conti because there's only about 3.5" height of rubber... with a little bit more knowledge and experience, someone can mix and match without problems...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jan 13 2021, 05:48 PM

0.0338sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:11 AM