39 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

Ramjade
post Sep 20 2022, 11:49 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Sep 20 2022, 11:39 PM)
I have CDP account and now I recall the corporation actions from SG stocks held in CDP are directly issued through CDP without involving the trading accounts like DBS Vickers.  If I were to buy SG stocks through IBKR, will the stock holding be registered under CDP or under IBKR custodian?
Custodian.

You need sg address for you to be able to participate in rights. Kinda of silly in this day and age.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 20 2022, 11:49 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 21 2022, 02:04 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Sep 21 2022, 01:44 PM)

Just curious, how do you know the existence of Form 60 and know so details of it.

------------------------------------

Now I know why Nestle Malaysia's performance is good.

I mentioned "actively investing" because you gave me the vibe that you are a full time investors biggrin.gif

So it is a surprise to see you described yourself as passive investor.

I heard many said that if we transfer from Wise to IBKR, few months down the road, IBKR will begin to questions us on some questions including source of the fund due to our Wise account technically do not have our name in it? And, is it really ok to transfer money from Wise to IBKR?

The 2 conversion shall be also same with MYR, MYR -> USD -> CHF.

I see. Do let us know with the update. Since you mentioned 2 more years later, so you only enter Swiss market this year?
It's mentioned in here by someone who invest in Swiss stuff. That's why if you want the full benefit you need to go though the whole thread. But as mentioned aka yourself if your dividends are say few hundreds or say around 1-2k/year is it worth to claim your tax back from Swiss govt? If your dividends are say tens of thousands then yes. Worth asking money back from govt. That's just me.

Because Malaysia cannot let go of their Milo and Maggi. Thank god I don't eat those. If you know how much sugar is loaded into Milo, you wouldn't touch it with a 10 feet pole.

I am also a passive investor. I buy and hold things. Never sell unless fundamentals change. Only difference is I do options also to generate my own version of DIY dividends bypasssinh the dividend tax as options return are counted as capital gain tax. That way even company with no dividends are also churning out money for me.

Yes that's true. That's why I only use banks. So far 2 people got love letter from IBKR for using wise.
Ramjade
post Sep 21 2022, 11:05 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Sep 21 2022, 10:52 PM)
ok, in that case I will only use SG brokers for SG stocks.
I am new to SG government bonds, T-bills and SSB, are they worth considering besides S-REITs?
Use FSM for sg stocks. Not sure how tiger or moomoo handle rights.

If you like 2-3%p.a interest like FD then yeah. Paid in SGD. Bonds by government. For me not worth it. Why?

One round of ascendas REIT dividend easily ~5.53%p.a so you do the calculation.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 21 2022, 11:08 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 22 2022, 03:37 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 22 2022, 03:33 PM)
A few comments here :-

1) If you have bought AREIT early and your holding price is low,... you would be earning MORE THAN 5.53% today. And you would have a high margin-of-safety because your holding price is low. This margin-of-safety is impt because as the yield betw risk-free rates and REIT yields narrow, investors may selloff the REITs and 'switch-over' to the risk-free instruments.

If your holding price is low enough, there is chance that the price dip will not reach your holding price and you will still be in the green. Or,... even if the dip goes below your holding price, it will bounce back very quickly when the mkt recovers. Your red holding will quickly turn green because your price if low enough for the mkt price to run back up.

2) I've been thinking abt the the REIT model,... perhaps this model is not so 'suitable' in a rising interest rate environment,... or later-on,... in a high-interest rate environment. In the last many years since the 2008 Global Financial Crisis, the Feds has kept interest rates low, hence, REITs have a chance to do well,... but moving fwd ?

3) Finally,... how abt if the Feds overshoots,... and causes a Recession instead of a soft-landing ? The IMF and the World Bank are already signalling that growth will not be good next year.
I will rather buy ascendas over ssb. So what if overshoot? If it goes lower, I will just buy more.

I am working extra part time now to generate more cash for upcoming crash. I believed we will be there.
Extra 20-50% of salary every month really helps with firepower with options premium make big difference in able to keep buying.
Ramjade
post Sep 22 2022, 03:59 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 22 2022, 03:54 PM)
You will need to have umlimited 'firepower' to keep buying. Do you have this ? YOu can't print money like what the Feds can do.

You might lose your job/s if a Recession hits.
Bro, I don't have unlimited firepower. What I do have money keep coming in from options and part time job (50-100% of my current pay) Good enough for me to keep buying.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 22 2022, 04:00 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 22 2022, 04:10 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 22 2022, 04:06 PM)
How would you know if a Recession will not cause this parttime job of yours to disappear ?
Because it's kinda of iron bowl sector. Rain or shine, people still need to use the service that I am in.
Ramjade
post Sep 23 2022, 07:45 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 22 2022, 07:18 PM)
grabfood lor... biggrin.gif

but seriously bro Ramjade should be commended for taking up 2 jobs... so hardworking man...

but it's getting stale everything he need to bring up your unlimited funds laugh.gif
I don't have unlimited funds like our bro Hansel. Kuli only. Kuli got to work hard. sad.gif
Ramjade
post Sep 24 2022, 07:45 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 23 2022, 09:50 PM)
soon you will have unlimited funds also... and your views may change as you grow wiser also... and may even align with bro Hansel also... shocking.gif wink.gif

never say never... anyways...
Hopefully. One day.
Ramjade
post Sep 26 2022, 04:58 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Sep 26 2022, 03:37 PM)
ok, thanks.  Just found out that DBS could be charging SGD10 for incoming TT.  In that case a cheaper option is to convert from USD to SGD in IBKR and withdraw SGD directly from IBKR to DBS my account.  The downside with this is can only keep SGD.
Just keep in ibkr. Now ibkr giving interest on USD. Why do you red to move your USD around?

I don't think DBS giving any interest. If you are DBS Treasures can waive. But need to call your RM.
Ramjade
post Oct 4 2022, 11:37 AM

24,392 posts

MasBoleh! for we all who invest in US market we will get hit with US dividend tax.
No tax in capital gain yet. Selling options and getting paid the premium is counted as capital gain tax.

That's why I said create your own dividend by selling options and bypass the dividend tax.
Ramjade
post Oct 7 2022, 11:07 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Oct 7 2022, 10:46 PM)
May I know what is the difference between sell and close position for a stock?
Same thing. But if you are shorting means buy back. Close = opposite of your original order.
Ramjade
post Oct 29 2022, 10:33 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 29 2022, 12:14 AM)
Haha I only have BRK... Do you think XOM or CVX still have room to run up with recession coming soon? I think the 70% run up in price has pretty much factored in the bumper profits. "Priced to perfection" as they say.

I don't touch crypto-related stocks, but for brokerage firms... hmm..

If you look at IB's founder letters: https://investors.interactivebrokers.com/en...dex.php?f=54145
laugh.gif That's very discouraging for a passive investor like me.
Ibkr have no moat in the US. Their only moat is their international customer.
Ramjade
post Oct 29 2022, 10:47 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 29 2022, 10:36 AM)
You think which broker has "moat" in the US? tongue.gif
None. Robin hood came and stole their lunch. Now everyone copying robin hood by giving zero fees and fractional shares.

Just wait for other brokers to expand overseas. Just a question of when and not if.
Ramjade
post Nov 6 2022, 09:36 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(xerxesbear_1 @ Nov 6 2022, 09:25 AM)
Hi all, I am having qualms about which brokerage is safer. IBKR or brokerage tied to local Msia banks like RHB or maybank.

Just some background context, I am asking this question because I now have almost close to RM 1 million  in my Interactive brokers account. Back when I first started I only had a few thousand ringgit so I wasn't so worried. But now as I made some gains and the value keeps rising, I'm starting to worry about the money being offshore.

I chose Interactive brokers because I know it's top tier, renowned and regulated by SEC and CFTC. It has the cheapest fees and best UI.
But one drawbank ( not sure if its considered a drawback), is that IBKR is not regulated by the SC (suruhanjaya commission). If there is a black swan event and IBKR goes bust (touch wood), do I get my money back?

On the flipside, if my shares were held by the RHB invest or Maybank trading, if something were to go wrong will my money be insured since the banks are regulated by the SC?

I invest only in US stocks and looking to invest for another 5-10 years so the platform I use must be safe and secure.

What are you guy's thoughts on this? How big of a role does being regulated by SC play when deciding which brokerage offers the best security and guarantee?
SC Malaysia is a joke. Kindly ignore them. They ban legitimate broker like TD. If you are worried you can try split it into TD. Both have SIpc, TD SG is regulated by MAS sg.

I wouldn't put too much thought about SC regulation especially if it comes to legitimate overseas broker. SEC is more than enough.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 6 2022, 10:03 AM
Ramjade
post Nov 6 2022, 10:02 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 6 2022, 09:57 AM)
Your concerns are legitimate. The best protection IBKR offers you is the SIPC insurance protection in case the broker goes bust. You are protected up to 500k USD, including 250k USD of cash.

https://www.sipc.org/for-investors/what-sipc-protects

You can file a claim here when IB is in trouble or your assets are transferred to a trustee. https://www.sipc.org/cases-and-claims/

As far as I know, Malaysia does not have such an insurance scheme. Please correct me if I am wrong.

I do know SIDREC: https://www.sidrec.com.my/

But that is more of a dispute resolution center rather than a post-hoc claiming facility.
Bro, have you woken up yet? laugh.gif

"They ban", "regulated", "to legitimate"

Treating patients can be tiring...
Phone auto correct.

Ramjade
post Nov 6 2022, 01:33 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 6 2022, 09:57 AM)
Treating patients can be tiring...
Not me. It's my friend. Btw I am having poor quality sleep. Keep waking up at night.
Ramjade
post Nov 6 2022, 02:05 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 6 2022, 02:00 PM)
That's why must stop writing options and stop buying your favourite techie counters. laugh.gif

Buy NESN then can sleep well every night. laugh.gif

Correct? dwRK

lol
Come on gross profit and net profit higher than your normal counter. After minus inflation, how much gross profit/net profit you have left tongue.gif

The only counters I have low gross profit is home depot, Starbucks.
Ramjade
post Nov 6 2022, 10:18 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(xerxesbear_1 @ Nov 6 2022, 08:08 PM)
Thanks TOS Ramjade for the insights. I actually do I have TD ameritrade. I like the zero trading fees but didn't like the upfront usd25 that the bank deducts each time you deposit.

Have yall personally used any local Malaysian bank brokerages before?

Maybe it's prudent to spread the stocks among different brokerages in thr event one goes bust. My ignorant thinking makes me think stock trading thru Malaysian  banks would be safer but I'll check with the bank myself. I'm eyeing RHB since my family already used that.
I avoid Malaysian and Singaporean brokerage at all cost. If you want to spread here's my suggestion.
1. IBKR
2. TD
3. First trade

I think 3 brokerage more than enough.

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 6 2022, 08:24 PM)
I personally don't have MY bank brokerages, but they are certainly safe to consider if you need them. This data is kind of old, but may be useful: https://kclau.com/investment/trade-global-shares/ The main things to care about are dividend handling fees, custodian fees etc. Surely the brokerage fee per trade is expensive already for local bank brokers compared to foreign ones. 

There are local non-bank brokerage players like FSM MY, Rakuten Trade, POEMS MY etc. too.

I personally have 2 "secondary" broker to standby in case IB has problems: FSM SG and DBS Vickers SG, both linked to my CDP account. So yes, you are always encouraged to have 2-3 brokers to give you some fall-back options if one goes bust.
I will avoid FSM SG and DBS Vickers for overseas transaction. Overpriced piece of shit

Ramjade
post Nov 17 2022, 11:55 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(Toku @ Nov 17 2022, 11:38 PM)
DBS 1mth FD gives 3.42%, 3mth 4.28%. If you have >10k, IBKR giving 3.33%. Wouldn't this better than buying ETFs that gives 1.3% but may subject to various risks?
No. Cause FD you are getting fixed 3.xx%. Etf over time will give you 8-9%p.a
Ramjade
post Nov 18 2022, 12:13 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 18 2022, 12:00 AM)
lol laugh.gif

Read properly bro... We are discussing ultraliquid Uncle Sam T-bills ETF, not your typical VOO. Fed isn't raising rates until 8-9% p.a. yet...

Ok. I thought VOO.

QUOTE(Toku @ Nov 18 2022, 12:02 AM)
We are discussing ultra short fixed income investment, not equity. I doubt there is any treasury ETF that could give 8-9%p.a.

Btw, how did you manage to use DBS remit to transfer to IBKR? Did you enter your account number?
More or less like that. I am writing based off what "I think" I did last time.
1. Open up IB weboage
2. Go transfer funds
3. Deposit
4. USD
5. IBKR will ask you for sending bank account with all swift code. Input in DBS bank, DBS bank account with DBS swift code
6. Select how much USD you want to transfer
7. IBKR will not generate your virtual unique US bank account with acocunt number and swift code for you.
8. Copy it down/screenshot it.
9. Select save for future use.

Now on to DBS side
1. Login
2. Go transfer money overseas
3. DBS remit
4. Select sending USD and receiving USD. Very important both must be in USD.
5. Key in all details provided by IBKR
6. Initiate transfer. It's free.
7. Make sure to transfer the exact amount you mentioned to Ibkr.
8. Make it a favourite transaction so you don't need to repeat the process.

Hope this helps.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 18 2022, 07:39 AM

39 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.3658sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:06 AM