31 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

dwRK
post Nov 5 2022, 04:54 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 4 2022, 06:51 PM)
Hershey, US largest confectionery and no.2 snacking company, reporting Q3 results today premarket: https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/he...-301668516.html

Webcast, slides and other information can be found here when updated: https://investors.thehersheycompany.com/en_us/home.html

Hershey's stock has had a stellar run-up this year, rising 20% YTD excluding dividends, bucking the S&P500 downtrend. Big Chocolate seems to stay strong despite multiple headwinds.
comfort food for bad times?... hmm.gif

des why i've been saying dun just focus on goog tesla aapl etc... hahaha...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Nov 5 2022, 04:55 PM
dwRK
post Nov 6 2022, 05:05 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 6 2022, 02:00 PM)
That's why must stop writing options and stop buying your favourite techie counters. laugh.gif

Buy NESN then can sleep well every night. laugh.gif

Correct? dwRK

lol
maybe he winning too much... awake planning next raid?... hahaha

selling options is least stressful actually... I doubt bro Ramjade losing sleep over this... wink.gif

dwRK
post Nov 9 2022, 10:26 AM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Nov 9 2022, 09:30 AM)
Anyone got issue buying after converting usd to sgd?

Stating not sufficient cash but I have converted the right amount.

👀
maybe not yet settled cash
dwRK
post Nov 9 2022, 11:32 AM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Nov 9 2022, 11:09 AM)
O.o, meaning need to wait?

I remember I can Straight away use it after converting lol...
ya i rmb some ppl have to wait a bit... dunno about your case

This post has been edited by dwRK: Nov 9 2022, 11:32 AM
dwRK
post Dec 4 2022, 07:41 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 2 2022, 09:51 PM)
Can't be the case. The money was deducted by the correspondent bank JPM, not IBKR.

Payment requested on 1st December. Value date is 2nd of December. Both date start with a new calendar month. I am aware of the time and date.

I have pulled a ticket to ask IB about correspondent bank charges policy. Will update you guys later.
AFAIK normal for swift network... $25 outbound... $10 inbound... intermediary/correspondent bank fee...

dwRK
post Dec 4 2022, 08:30 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 4 2022, 07:45 PM)
Hi. Long time didn't hear from you. smile.gif

This page says free: https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/support/ban...nd-charges.html
They didn't say anything about correspondent bank charges.

I thought DBS should pay for the corresponding bank-related charges, no?
i sad sad... cb ftx... no mood...

dbs will only address its own fees... international wire if go through intermediary bank will kena middle man fee...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Dec 4 2022, 08:31 PM
dwRK
post Dec 4 2022, 08:43 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 25 2022, 01:20 PM)
FT 251122: https://drive.google.com/file/d/15YRXDVcN5i...?usp=share_link

----------------
Pretty much US regulation vs that of UK.

Judging by figures for investor protection if firm fails: Max 500k USD inclusive of 250k USD max cash for SIPC in the US vs 85k GBP for FSCS compensation. 

Judging by history and experience richness: SIPC's 50-year history through multiple crises vs FSCS's 20-year history. Claiming process seems to be easier via SIPC versus FSCS

(Debatable, as it's very subjective, I find the SIPC interface easy and clean, you know where to file for claims and check for status and updates easily. FSCS requires some funny inputs.)

And lastly, you want USD in a crisis, not GBP.

As for tax issues. I don't think there is any substantial changes. If I understand correctly, you pay US estate taxes on your US stocks regardless of whether your holdings are in IB UK or in IB US (up to the stipulated limit of 60k USD for NRA). As for dividend withholding taxes, it is based on your residency, nothing to do with whether you use IB UK or IB US (or Futu SG/Futu HK/Tiger/FSM SG or MY etc.). This is info from dwRK:
Source: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...#entry102602330
under us estate tax... cash kept in us broker account is taxable...

i forgot for UK estate tax... last time was thinking better having ibkr UK... lol...

dwRK
post Dec 4 2022, 08:48 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 4 2022, 08:46 PM)
How much are the loses?  tongue.gif

Next time just buy using IBKR...  smile.gif
nice car...
dwRK
post Dec 4 2022, 09:06 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 4 2022, 08:51 PM)
blink.gif

Never mind. Through this lesson, now you know what is "Counterparty risk".

console.gif
is not counterparty risk... siphon customer money is a crime...

dwRK
post Jan 26 2023, 08:51 AM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jan 23 2023, 07:14 PM)
Result too stellar liao laugh.gif I didn't include it in my Google Finance watchlist so forgot...

https://gdcdyn.interactivebrokers.com/mkt/g...ngs_Release.pdf

NIM doubled to 2% p.a. and margins are in the 60-70s percent as always.

I find the doubling of NIM quite impressive given that they are offerring 3.83% interest on USD cash accounts.
eh... long ago i already highlight ibkr good counter woh... haiyah...

dwRK
post Jan 27 2023, 01:24 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jan 27 2023, 01:08 PM)
i used to be into horology... lol...

dwRK
post Jan 27 2023, 01:30 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Jan 26 2023, 04:24 PM)
The question is did you buy and hold or not 🤦‍♀️

I bought last year during at 50+ and will sell once it reaches 100 and hopefully soon 👏
not my type... wink.gif

dwRK
post Mar 5 2023, 07:15 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Mar 4 2023, 03:19 PM)
Looks like dwRK made the right choice of quitting Shell for XOM.

shell up 13%... xom up 36%... laugh.gif

you in sg or hk nowadays?...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Mar 5 2023, 07:36 PM
dwRK
post Mar 5 2023, 10:09 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Mar 5 2023, 09:50 PM)
Now in HK, final semester, final year. Gonna graduate from HKUST this June.

Good news to share with you guys. I received an NUS Masters in Financial Engineering offer (no scholarship) and a 4-year NTU Econophysics PhD study scholarship. smile.gif

My family does not intend to support my study after Bachelor's degree, so I will go for the NTU PhD scholarship. Barring unforeseen circumstances, both NUS/NTU offers will begin this August.

My research topic will be on the "geometrical and topological study of extreme events in the stock markets".

Monthly stipend 2.2k SGD, raised to 2.7k SGD after I defend my thesis in the second year of my PhD study. Monthly expenses will be around 400-500 SGD (200-300 SGD on food, 200-300 SGD for on-campus hostel, assume I am a junior hall fellow). Saving about 2k SGD a month over a 4-year period, upon completion of my PhD can expect to save 80-90k SGD before investment returns/savings interests. rclxm9.gif

And best of all, you guys will have 4 more years of Business Times to read. laugh.gif
awesome news. congrats man...

i was ask to do PhD but decline... I finished my degree in my late twenties so decided to start working... but end up take 1 year backpack/part time across Europe... returned to Malaysia with zero ringgit... awesome budgeting... started everything from scratch... lol...

dwRK
post Mar 5 2023, 10:34 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Mar 5 2023, 10:21 PM)
Still not late if you can get the original offer now

Plus the stipend would have went up as compared to before
i fire at 50 few years ago liao... wink.gif but thanks for the thoughts...

my prof is probably gone... sad.gif

This post has been edited by dwRK: Mar 5 2023, 10:35 PM
dwRK
post Mar 7 2023, 07:33 AM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Mar 6 2023, 01:57 PM)
I too only obtained my degree on my early 30s, just thought about settling down then got lure into wanna earn quick more and go astray~ ended up debt ridden  laugh.gif .

Please don't involve yourself in any quick money scheme, I thought I'm prepared for it, who knows 千算万算最后自己被算. Wasted 1 year and now back to square **minus** one with few more years of loan debt on top of existing debt.
my lifesavings went zero 3 times before... excluding my backpacking days... lol... I know how it feels to have no money... skipping lunches and dinners... have to work so hard man... lucky those times still got job...

now no job... big mortgage... getting poor again... hahaha

This post has been edited by dwRK: Mar 7 2023, 07:58 AM
dwRK
post Mar 15 2023, 10:03 AM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Mar 15 2023, 07:15 AM)
laugh.gif and when that time comes, maybe banks will also remove some of their transfer / remittance / cable fees to meet in middle with wise tongue.gif
bank outbound tt fees quite low already...RM10 typ... but biggest culprit is the swift network of correspondence banks...

will test out rhb mca for receiving usd for myr... looks like better than wise/cimb sg...

dwRK
post Mar 15 2023, 10:13 AM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Mar 13 2023, 11:45 PM)
Correspondent bank charges for USD inward remittance to CIMB SG is 5 USD, for your info.

Info correct as at Jan 2023.

Source: https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...#post-146677239
eh?... i tot swift hit you with $10... and you wrote them love letter... what was outcome?

dwRK
post Mar 15 2023, 10:14 PM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Mar 15 2023, 09:11 PM)
Yeah someday I'll test out my HSBC MCA / Premier and also Maybank Premier just to see how thing goes with the banks TT.

One part that irks me until today is the lack of transparency. The classical back and forth between multiple backs on dispute of cable / intermediary bank charges is a classic example cry.gif

The feeling of getting randomly slapped with additional charges just feels meh (I tested HSBC MCA about 2 years ago, got slapped with $10 or more on cable/intermediary fees sad.gif)

HSBC has promo on outbound remittance now and then that is cheaper than wise, all in... Mbb dun have... usually for outbound wise is cheaper

as for swift/correspondent fees... I agree that the fee is not transparent at all... but the banks do disclose got such a thing... most people just didn't realize because never read the fine prints...and don't understand how international money transfer works... they only think like Malaysia send 100 get 100... lol... in fact if you stay in very ulu USA... your wire will bounce off 2-3 intermediary banks and each take a cut... lol...

anyways... I recently found out RHB mca has a special fx rate that ends up better than wise... I interested for inbound that can get more Ringgit than wise/cimb sg-my... have to test out see got correspondent fee or not... RHB is actually a designated correspondent bank on the swift network... lol...

dwRK
post Mar 20 2023, 12:15 AM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 19 2023, 09:08 PM)
Cause ACH is only for american bank account. I am not to sure of GIRO though.
giro is old my and sg system... donkey years old... used to change 50 sen per transaction... now free...

31 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.3350sec    1.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:01 AM