Well, in theory, foreigners will value the stocks after taking into account WHT whereas domestic US shareholder (assume we are talking about US shares) will value the stock without WHT, so this causes 2 "theoretical" prices in the markets which will converge according to the proportion of US/foreign shareholders (e.g. 70%*10 USD + 30%*7 USD). The same should be applicable to other countries' markets too.
But it's not easy to observe the 2 prices as there are valuations to take into account and like you say market makers pushing price where they want to go.
in reality... cost of finance and opportunity costs... as well as forward assumptions and decision thresholds will be different for everyone... so there's no such thing as convergence of prices... and non required
The safest way to transfer is always from your own bank account over to IBKR. Since the account is in your own name, there is no further dispute. Either TT from HSBC MY (check the total cost though) to IBKR, or use the SGD intermediary route which requires having an SG bank account, then covert SGD to USD from within IBKR.
ACH works too (e.g. with Wise USD account details) but there were past mentions here that the money was stuck with the intermediary banks for some time before being released. It could take days to weeks.
You can refer to this video tutorial by Ziet if you are interested to know how to use ACH to transfer to IB via ACH. Pros and cons are discussed as well.
6 digits need to go to the counter, and provide reasons to the little napoleons...
private/premier account then your GRO can do everything for you, including nego for best rates...
I expected this to happen,..... I am RIGHT, bro,..........
It's not the millions I will be pocketing,.. it's more like I AM RIGHT !!!!!!!!!!!!!
congrats bro...
same here... I play the market for fun... cat & mouse game... to join the market makers / whales party train... profit is just the bonus... ego inflation is the game... hahaha...
BTW gonna restart repatriating my usd to myr... it still got legs to run but take some off lah...
I am testing out withdrawing USD from IBKR to DBS my account: 2 options provided by IBKR, one is "Bank wire" and the other is "Connect Your Bank via ACH". Which one should I choose? My intention is to keep some USD in DBS my account on top of existing HKD and SGD.
wire
AFAIK... ach is for financial institutions inside usa
In celebration of the upcoming World Smile Day on 7th of October , something amusing to brighten your day while I read the above book.
The author quoted an old book "Buyout", published back in 2001 and the author, Rick Rickersten, private equity deal practitioner helped translate some "complex" financial jargon commonly encountered in private equity pitchbooks/deal making in layman terms.
Read all these in this "Glossary of Investment Banker Speak". You will find them useful in your own evaluation of companies in the future when conducting fundamental analysis of corporations.
Hi, would like to find out how to transfer stock out of IBKR ( most important want to know the fees) had try mr google, and ib website. not clear information
Hi appreciate if anyone can help, I also submitted a ticket waiting for response. I have a 6 digit amount of sgd wanting to convert to usd via ibkr app. Then it gives me a warning message I exceeded the limit of 125k usd. Though I can still proceed but I dare not considering I see the calculation provided by them showing a range.
Can I check what's this 125k usd limit? Also is the usd2 costs still there? Because it didn't say anything about usd2 and the commission page for currency conversion seems to go into tiered? I don't want a shock later the commission charged is much higher.
dwRK Congrats. This one is as good as your ex. (Maybe even better). Net profit is just behind AAPL. Net debt to capital drop to just 7%. FCF 22 billion USD in 3Q alone.
anyone else bought oil/energy? I remember saying bumper harvest soon early this year
anyways... plan to start focusing on crypto related stocks... I think btc bottom or intermediate bottom may be in... weekend will take a harder look...
also... we all use ibkr, think it's the bestest.. but never buy the stock!? ... lol... it just occurred to me also... hahaha... brokerage firms look good man... y'all don't just focus on goog amzn tsla aapl lah... hahaha...
This post has been edited by dwRK: Oct 28 2022, 11:06 PM
Haha I only have BRK... Do you think XOM or CVX still have room to run up with recession coming soon? I think the 70% run up in price has pretty much factored in the bumper profits. "Priced to perfection" as they say.
I don't touch crypto-related stocks, but for brokerage firms... hmm..
hood dropped >90% from listing peak... >80% is usually where I start to get excited... too bad this year no motivation to trade... completely missed the opportunity... lol...