22 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

TSmoosset
post Oct 19 2020, 06:50 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Solskjaer66 @ Oct 19 2020, 05:08 PM)
hi, i have registered IBKR Pro and now i want to link it with Tradestation broker....however i got an error notice: "U45xxxxx -> I2093204: The broker account is of a different entity." anyone encouter this issue? or should i just forget about IBKR Pro account and register a new one with Tradestation global? i have not funded my IBKR yet....
same issues with other users here if you have time to read the whole thread. tongue.gif

otherwise, more info in page 1.
TSmoosset
post Oct 20 2020, 06:25 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(pinkangel @ Oct 19 2020, 10:45 PM)
Hi all, i actually tried to transfer small amount of MYR -USD in IB to see if will success via transiwre. Do i need to i form customer service from IB? Because it didnt reflect in my portfolio
did you at least initiate a deposit notification on the client portal?
TSmoosset
post Oct 23 2020, 06:58 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(willylwl @ Oct 23 2020, 05:51 PM)
Hello Sifus,

May i ask if fixed or tiered commission better for small account?
Thank you.
Choose tiered.
TSmoosset
post Oct 27 2020, 02:02 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Solskjaer66 @ Oct 27 2020, 11:57 AM)
Hi, can Tradestate Global apply for Ant Group IPO?
not possible.
The CSO said HK IPOs are only open to HK residents. Other brokers may be possible.

QUOTE(rozack @ Oct 27 2020, 01:41 PM)
For dividend election, what should I put?

Reinvestment or Receive Cash, I want to reinvest all the dividends, but I think not enough haha since per share price so high.

Reinvestment got any fees charged?
if the reinvestment program is offered by the companies, then it's free.
if you use IBKR own reinvestment program (ie not offered by the companies), then normal brokerage fees apply.
TSmoosset
post Oct 28 2020, 12:08 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(pinkangel @ Oct 28 2020, 11:10 AM)
Hi All, the last transaction using transwire MYR > USD to IBKR is successful:
IBKR account:
Transwire transfer confirmation:

rclxm9.gif
has IBKR acknowledged this?
TSmoosset
post Oct 28 2020, 12:23 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 28 2020, 12:20 PM)
first pic ibkr account
wow! He made it!

so we can now transfer USD to IBKR? confused.gif
TSmoosset
post Oct 28 2020, 08:55 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 28 2020, 08:01 PM)
you must have used tt/wire... kena intermediary bank fee $25
how come he wasn't charged $25 for $50 transfer?

if transfer $25, then will you get $25 in your account or $0? laugh.gif
TSmoosset
post Oct 31 2020, 04:18 PM

1,917 posts

Looks like we are all heavily reliant on SGD!!

Let's hope for a prosperous and stable Singapore!! biggrin.gif
TSmoosset
post Nov 5 2020, 11:04 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(KeithChew94 @ Nov 5 2020, 09:18 AM)
I just made a Transferwise account, but cant seem to withdraw money to it? can anyone help? i read that they closed down borderless account for malaysians. can anyone update?
Possibly already closed for Malaysians.

To withdraw, you'll need the CIMB SG account.
TSmoosset
post Nov 5 2020, 10:01 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Nov 5 2020, 08:51 PM)
Now I am curious hmm.gif Are "borderless account" referring to TransferWise account with Bank Details under our name? Was poking around and still saw the "... Balances with bank details" in some currency but never tried before.
yes, but if you didn't open the account by now, you can't open it anymore.

I've borderless accounts with bank details for AUD, NZD, USD, EUR, GBP and SGD in their respective countries. (PLN, HUF, SEK are also available)

I tried to withdraw from IBKR to my EUR account and it worked. From there, can transfer to M'sian bank acc.

TSmoosset
post Nov 5 2020, 10:20 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(toiletwater @ Nov 5 2020, 10:13 PM)
May I ask how the banking charges are like?
I didn't transfer money back to Malaysia. I only transferred to the EU bank acc of transferwise.

Anyway, there shouldn't be any charges, because Transferwise uses local bank transfers.
You know how fintech like Transferwise works, right?

If you want to send money to the UK,
1) you send money to Transferwise Malaysia bank account (a local transfer); and
2) Transferwise UK sends money to your designated account in the UK (also a local transfer).

So there's no telegraphic transfer. Money doesn't cross the border. As such, there's no bank charges (if the country doesn't have charges for local bank transfers. In some countries, there are).
TSmoosset
post Nov 5 2020, 10:24 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(lauwenhan @ Nov 5 2020, 10:19 PM)
Never had to withdraw because I just keep putting money. But I might need to one day. So, if TransferWise is a no-go, I should open a savings account at CIMB and then CIMB singapore savings account? I am now using Public Bank
yeah. Just open CIMB and then CIMB SG.

dwRK is suggesting you to initiate a transfer on TW, then pass the details of TW to IBKR for withdrawal. I haven't tried this method so it may or may not work.
TSmoosset
post Nov 9 2020, 10:53 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(jas029 @ Nov 9 2020, 10:46 PM)
haven't compare the two so im afraid im not qualify to comment on the comparison..

won't say bypass.. i guess it's always possible subject to verification request by ibkr, as it's a 3rd party transfer afterall.. but im not sure why my transfer this time was not subject to verification request.. probably it's only a small amount
the request for verification can come 6 months later, so keep all your evidence etc.
TSmoosset
post Nov 11 2020, 09:09 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Solskjaer66 @ Nov 11 2020, 06:47 PM)
been using IBKR for 2 days..... i found out it won't allow me to convert all SGD to USD..... must leave some balance.... u guys know what is the minimum balance to keep in SGD?
so far i'm happy with the money transfer and low rate...  but i really not used to the delayed quotes.......
you need to leave some money in your base currency for commission. The commission is $2 usd. So leave that amount there.

Forex rates are live quotes!
TSmoosset
post Nov 13 2020, 11:21 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(pinkangel @ Nov 13 2020, 11:03 PM)
You can use transwire to transfer MYR > USD straight. I have done that for twice. However it took long times to process includes investigate more money laundering. It took me around. 1.5 week to appear in my account
Oh nice! Was it quite straightforward to do the transfer?

I think last time they used to have ACT and some other acronyms transfer options. Now there is only a bank wire for all TT.
TSmoosset
post Nov 14 2020, 12:06 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 14 2020, 08:47 AM)
if you meant ACATS...that is a broker to broker xfer
sorry, I think it was ABA or ACH ....

anyway, it seems like that has been eliminated.

This post has been edited by moosset: Nov 14 2020, 12:06 PM
TSmoosset
post Nov 14 2020, 03:35 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(ntdote @ Nov 14 2020, 02:42 PM)
Money transfer
These methods have worked in the past:
1. InstaRem: transfer HKD, SGD, GBP to IBKR (EUR - worked for some, rejected for some (25th Aug 2020));
2. CIMB: transfer money (via CIMB transfer or InstaRem or Transferwise) to CIMB SG, from CIMB SG to IBKR in SGD;
3. Transferwise: transfer SGD, AUD, GBP, EUR, HKD, CAD to IBKR (for Canadian dollars, it takes longer than usual. Beware!);
4. Bank Islam (over the counter);
5. Maybank Internet banking, about $25 for fees;
6. BigPay (to deposit SGD) but can't enter your own reference number.

Guys i note from the first page maybank internet banking is possible for fund transfer.

Is this applicable to maybank malaysia account? I presume withdraw from IB to maybank my also possible? Tq
Yes, Malaysian Maybank. Those who have Maybank SG would probably transfer in SGD.

for withdrawal, some users just withdraw straight to their Malaysian bank acc, but you should beware of the charges and forex mark-up involved.
TSmoosset
post Nov 14 2020, 09:39 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 14 2020, 12:16 PM)
ABA is bank routing system in US

ACH is payment xfer in US... something like our FPX

should pop up only with usd deposits...ACH need to link to US Bank account
by the way, I think I could connect ACH with TW's borderless USD bank account, but I haven't tried transferring money out yet.

QUOTE(AnasM @ Nov 14 2020, 05:14 PM)
6. BigPay (to deposit SGD) but can't enter your own reference number.

If cannot put the reference, then how IB know the transfer is from me?
Some users just took the risk and hoping that IB will be able to match it. laugh.gif

QUOTE(ntdote @ Nov 14 2020, 08:04 PM)
Updated 02 Jun 2020
For withdrawal, you can withdraw to your bank account in any developed country like Australia, UK, Singapore, HK etc.

Alternatively, you can also open an account with Transferwise and get a borderless account. It's possible to withdraw EUR from IBKR to TW Borderless account. I haven't tried other currencies yet but will keep this post updated as more info comes in from other users.

The above quoted from front page, seems no option for withdrawal for malaysia?
well, Malaysia is ........ Malaysia. laugh.gif

If you really want it the easy / expensive way, message IBKR and ask them to transfer money to Malaysia manually.

What we stated above is simply cheaper and without going through the CSO.
TSmoosset
post Nov 14 2020, 10:30 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(ntdote @ Nov 14 2020, 10:09 PM)
Thanks moosset and Gwynbleidd.

Im still confuse but from what i gather if I only have Maybank MY account:
1. Transferwise not available to malaysians as pointed out by Gwynbleidd. (sorry on a second reading, Gwyn meant for borderless account. That means we can still use transferwise to deposit to IB, right?)
2. I will incur additional transfer charge and forex charge from Maybank for deposit into IB.
3. After deposit, all else will be the same while trading in IB.

I am currently trading US stock using Hong Leong. The USD exchange rate quite competitve most of the time, only about 0.5% difference between buy and sell rate. Then the minimum charge for buying stock is USD25 + some other small fees, which i thought is quite expensive.

If i transfer to IB using MBB, i wonder if it will be even costlier as if i remember correctly the exchange rate could be nearly 2.5% higher than actual rate.
1. Transferwise is available for all; Transferwise Borderless account is not.
TW is the money transfer service. TW borderless account is one of their many services.
So ppl here use Transferwise to fund their IBKR acc.

So generally when it comes to withdrawal,
a) For ppl with the borderless account, they can withdraw money from IBKR to TW borderless account.
b) If you don't have borderless account, then you have to find alternatives like direct transfer to Maybank, or via CIMB SG.

I cannot comment on HLB as I'm not familiar. I just know all in all, international brokers are cheaper. smile.gif
Your per trade is $25, but tradestation it's only $1.50. If you use pure IBKR, it's only $0.35.
TSmoosset
post Nov 14 2020, 10:48 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 14 2020, 10:45 PM)
yes tw has ach... wire is cheaper for me hence I don't use ach... ach is also slower
wire from IBKR to bank acc in US?

22 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0561sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:35 AM