31 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

dwRK
post Sep 14 2020, 08:34 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(VincentCS @ Sep 14 2020, 08:24 PM)
FX rate is higher than fintech of course, but i don't see other way to bringing back fund from IBKR to malaysia. At least with FCA I can hold USD until the rate favors me.

TT fees from Malaysia to US is RM45 per transaction. And then US will charge additional fees when receive the fund too. But all in should be less then RM100. According to Relationship manager
ibkr is my fca ... wink.gif
dwRK
post Sep 22 2020, 01:58 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(jas029 @ Sep 22 2020, 11:59 AM)
1. no by default.. yes by subscription fee
2. no tax but there are trading fees
3. there are few alternatives where u can find in this thread
4. if u sign up ibkr through TSG, then unfortunately no such thing as zero commission
5. mine was up and running in less than 48hrs.. submitted my passport and bank statement
ibkr zero commission only for US and India
dwRK
post Sep 22 2020, 02:02 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(UsernameCopied @ Sep 21 2020, 07:49 PM)
Hi all,

I'm new to IBKR. Just have a few questions about it.

1. Does it have real time trading?
2. Is there any tax charged for buying and selling stocks? How much?
3. How do you withdraw your money back to malaysia and is there any fees or charges?
4. Do we get Zero Commission US Stock Trading as a Malaysian?
5. How long does it usually take to open an IBKR account and what kind of info do they require?
real time trading... your order goes directly to the exchange... no middleman trading desk
dwRK
post Sep 24 2020, 08:23 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Sep 24 2020, 06:56 PM)
Guys, this is a noob question, but are commissions different for market buys vs limit buys on TSG? Below screenshots are referred:

https://i.imgur.com/KIDw9Vt.png
Market buy SAWD 100 units. Total estimated cost: 611.

https://i.imgur.com/0XLgzNw.png
Limit buy SAWD 100 units @ 5.88. Total estimated cost: 589.91

Does market buy in TSG/IBKR not buy based on the lowest selling price?
market order buy 100 units...

if got 1000 units for sale at 5.88... you get 100 * 5.88
if got 10 units for sale at 5.88, next is 1000 units at 6.5... you get 10 * 5.88 + 90 * 6.5...

you need to understand orderbook/depth of market or DOM, and market order, and liquidity...

low liquidity stocks you can easily over pay with market order just because timing...

your example is system giving you an estimate because market not yet open

This post has been edited by dwRK: Sep 24 2020, 08:34 PM
dwRK
post Sep 24 2020, 08:59 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 24 2020, 08:44 PM)
Thanks. Good to know.
I have wondered about this for some time. Is it possible for IBKR to display the complete order book either on the web trader or the desktop workstation? I can't find any buttons that allows me to do so. (Well, not that daring enough to try to click on any buttons and "play with my own money". Later with an accidental push of a button I liquidate all my positions instead. tongue.gif)
the DOM is available you just need to set it up...but usually no point as this is level 2 data so you probably won't see anything unless you subscribe.

it called book trader...you can trade directly on the orderbook

This post has been edited by dwRK: Sep 24 2020, 09:06 PM
dwRK
post Sep 28 2020, 10:13 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Sep 28 2020, 07:57 PM)
hi guys, wanna clarify something..
friend of mine who use ibkr directly he subscribe live data 10usd per month, so he no need pay any monthly fees as the monthly fees will get charges if he trade commission is lower than 10usd. is kinda good bypass as well rite? haha
sure or not? how long your friend using ibkr?
dwRK
post Sep 29 2020, 09:02 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(AnasM @ Sep 29 2020, 07:42 PM)
im doing that as well
how old is your account?
dwRK
post Oct 2 2020, 07:50 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Solskjaer66 @ Oct 1 2020, 04:04 PM)
Hi, did you guys enroll for "Stock Yield Enhancement Program" ? what is this actually?
you let people borrow your stocks...earn lending interest
dwRK
post Oct 12 2020, 06:00 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(jas029 @ Oct 12 2020, 11:54 AM)
3. for IB, if u transfer in USD, there's a USD25 fee.. say u transfer USD1,000, u will get USD975 reflected in ur account
deposit to, or withdrawal from ibkr?
dwRK
post Oct 13 2020, 08:14 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(jas029 @ Oct 12 2020, 07:05 PM)
deposit to..
thanks...

I wonder if all usd xfers between msia and us goes through an intermediary bank...
dwRK
post Oct 13 2020, 10:25 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(jas029 @ Oct 13 2020, 09:46 AM)
i couldn't confirm for all m'sia banks.. but for mbb, it does seems so because when i tried to make a withdrawal from ibkr, they did asked for intermediary bank info before the withdrawal can be process
what intermediary bank info did you provide? did your ibkr withdrawal also kena $25 intermediary bank fee?

my digging found the following swift intermediary/correspondent banks...but dunno what it means and how it function

for malaysia - hsbc, pbb, rhb
for usa - amex, bank of new york, citybank, habib american, chase
dwRK
post Oct 13 2020, 11:57 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(jas029 @ Oct 13 2020, 11:17 AM)
i did not proceed with the withdrawal in the end so i couldn't answer whether mbb charged any fee upon receive the fund.. was just clicking around to get familiar with the procedures and found out we actually need additional intermediary/correspondent bank info if we want to repatriate USD straight to mbb through ibkr..

so i contacted mbb as well and the following is their reply..

https://imgur.com/bJXlf6m

the information provided by mbb does tally with the selectable option from ibkr.. feel free to try, just don't proceed at the final stage if u've no plan to withdraw yet

my understanding with regards to intermediary/correspondent banks is like ibkr go-to-bank is jp morgan right.. but jp morgan US there might not be able to transfer USD directly to malaysia.. or the swift system is not able to do so directly, etc.. so an agent bank (which can link directly to m'sia banks) is needed.. in this case, it's citibank.. i could be wrong though
thank for the snapshot thumbsup.gif
dwRK
post Oct 13 2020, 11:59 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 13 2020, 11:53 AM)
did you withdraw USD to HSBC?
never withdrawn yet
dwRK
post Oct 20 2020, 01:09 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(pinkangel @ Oct 20 2020, 12:52 PM)
So i need to check with transferwire to get back my refund?
It shows successful at transwire page. So i abit confuse
tw sent $ to ibkr = success

ibkr will reject...return $ to tw

just wait & monitor
dwRK
post Oct 20 2020, 02:42 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Oct 20 2020, 01:24 PM)
After looking at the details, seems like there's no USD.SGD pair (buy usd with SGD). Meaning I have to do double conversion right?

use convert currency tool...not trading pair

This post has been edited by dwRK: Oct 20 2020, 03:37 PM
dwRK
post Oct 20 2020, 06:17 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Solskjaer66 @ Oct 20 2020, 05:56 PM)
would it be better and cheaper just use bank's overseas FTT? ( i have not tried that before... just asking.)
better...yes less hassle
cheaper...no
dwRK
post Oct 20 2020, 06:58 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Solskjaer66 @ Oct 20 2020, 06:35 PM)
the double conversion still cheaper that bank's oversea direct FTT? may i know the variance in %? 1 or 2% cheaper?
usually yes...unless you just sending test money
dwRK
post Oct 21 2020, 05:32 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(TOHNO @ Oct 21 2020, 02:59 PM)
Hi I'm thinking of using IBKR to buy American ETFs

Should I buy directly using IBKR or go through financial planners like Affin Hwang?
this like asking toyota fan club people should you buy honda...lolz...

ibkr is all diy... like to talk to people and pay their salary affin hwang
dwRK
post Oct 28 2020, 12:20 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 28 2020, 12:08 PM)
has IBKR acknowledged this?
first pic ibkr account
dwRK
post Oct 28 2020, 12:57 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 28 2020, 12:23 PM)
wow! He made it!

so we can now transfer USD to IBKR?  :confused:
let's wait for big amount.... biggrin.gif

3rd party xfer is up to ibkr... I think they got system to auto match details so if supplied the correct info will likely go through... otherwise random manual aml check or just straight reject

31 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.3064sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:42 AM