31 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

dwRK
post Aug 22 2020, 07:08 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Aug 22 2020, 02:34 PM)
can receive USD in HSBC or not?
Thinking of withdrawing USD to a local bank, and possibly transferring USD out of the bank to IBKR again.
QUOTE(HolyAssasin4444 @ Aug 22 2020, 05:40 PM)
Never tried receiving USD, but just double confirmed with them that they can receive USD without going thru conversion
this is their version of multi currency account... additional thing is if you open new hsbc account overseas you can link it and move money around within hsbc without wire fees

dwRK
post Aug 25 2020, 10:04 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

I think should just remove instarem from recommended xfer to ibkr

best is direct bank to ibkr...you get a little bit less $ from bank exchange rate...but funds arrive in few hours... and less hassle/worry/followup

transferwise subject to delays, random aml audits and extra document submissions...and still got chance of rejection
dwRK
post Aug 25 2020, 06:51 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Aug 25 2020, 05:40 PM)
Sunway Money approved my account. Just checked SGD rates (5:35pm)

Send RM30,000 receive:
Sunway Money - 9,799.00 SGD
Transferwise - 9,793.71 SGD

But send RM30,000 receive:
Sunway Money - 6,002.97 EUR
Transferwise - 6,048.72 EUR

Seems it's different for every currency.
thumbup.gif

I checked them out 1-2 yrs ago...rate not so good for usd, eur... and limited countries...

can we fund usd get back myr to Malaysia?

I also remember they got promo rm1 fee... but fx rate not so good...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Aug 25 2020, 06:53 PM
dwRK
post Aug 25 2020, 08:35 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Aug 25 2020, 08:00 PM)
Looks like can only send MYR for now.

they mostly trying to capture sunway college / monash ppl going overseas studies and sending $ abroad...
dwRK
post Aug 25 2020, 11:02 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Aug 25 2020, 10:45 PM)
not really new but launched around 2017/2018
https://www.linkedin.com/company/sunwaymoney/about/

it's just hardly marketting done and almost no people know that  sweat.gif
most of the marketing are posters and banners around the BRT and walkway pillars surrounding the colleges, uni and student condo... lol

that's how I found out about sunway money... haha
dwRK
post Aug 25 2020, 11:26 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Aug 25 2020, 11:05 PM)
Really? I walked around that area very often (hostel to college and back) and I didn't see any such posters.  :confused: I must be blind!

Or maybe I don't bother much about investment back then. I only ventured into finance not long ago. Never mind.
here u go... haha

dwRK
post Aug 25 2020, 11:45 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Aug 25 2020, 11:32 PM)
Checked on Google Maps. That was August 2019's poster.  tongue.gif (I last stayed in Sunway around December 2018, I think.)
np ah... fight or flight type thingy... our brain remembers what is important and discards what is not... even if poster was up and you had a good look at it, it wasn't something important to you at the time and so no reason to remember...

anyways gnite bros...

dwRK
post Aug 27 2020, 12:14 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(theberry @ Aug 27 2020, 11:14 AM)
If I want transfer from Malaysia bank account to cimb sg account. And later if want to withdraw which method is safer to use? Sunway money, cimb my to cimb sg, or TransferWise , i scare ibkr and bank want to ask many thing.
all methods are safe

ibkr to banks fastest n easiest, bank rates no good

ibkr to 3rd party, will be audited may get rejected
dwRK
post Sep 2 2020, 06:07 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Sep 2 2020, 01:12 PM)
sometimes i really wonder if worth saving the $10 / mth for all the hassle.
for me, peace of mind and single of point contact worth much more than that.
I poor sod... $10 * 12 ~ rm 500 nia...
dwRK
post Sep 3 2020, 10:42 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

you guys best make sure got ID all set up properly first oh... later wanna withdraw get in trouble no ID for them to verify gg ah... lol
dwRK
post Sep 5 2020, 07:39 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Sep 5 2020, 05:51 AM)
Just to confirm, SG account (MBB or CIMB) is only necessary for easy withdrawal right? Any cons to opening IBKR/TSG first and only doing the SG account later on?

Also, some confirmation on the fees for TSG, it's only the amount which is shown on the link provided in OP (currently 0.007 USD per share), no further hidden charge? Or is that fee in addition to the IBKR fee (different tiers in the OP link, I'm still trying to read and understand)?

Also, I guess no harm when opening TSG account to take advantage of promo like https://www.tradestation.com/promo/cash-reward/ ? (Deposit X amount to get Y additional, where Y is <1% of your deposited amount)

EDIT: Hmmm... going through IBKR opening, when they ask 'net worth' how to calculate that for a married family (we hold funds jointly managed by me, both also income earners, even though most of our bank accounts/investment is theoretically one person's name). Is it very important what figure I put there?
sg account for now just save you a bit when bringing usd back to myr due to sgd-myr fx promo... otherwise not necessary

no add on ibkr fees...but got minimum rates ya

that promo is "wrong" site ah...that is ori tradestation US, trade US stocks only... we all talking about tradestation international which is different company... you can still open and enjoy the promo smile.gif

just hantam what you think you are worth ah

This post has been edited by dwRK: Sep 5 2020, 07:41 AM
dwRK
post Sep 5 2020, 09:20 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(jas029 @ Sep 5 2020, 09:06 AM)
allow myself to add in a bit regarding net worth..

u're not allow to trade stocks ya if u input ur net worth as below USD29,999.. or something around that figure.. i couldnt recall the exact range.. probably u wont even be allow to proceed with the application if u input ur net worth range as too low.. so u may want to overestimate for this part
minimum $20k for cash account... but is age/account type /product dependent ya
dwRK
post Sep 6 2020, 05:57 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Sep 6 2020, 04:23 PM)
hi guys,

have u guys been receiving email or in IBKR webpage that..
"FYI: Changes in Analyst Ratings

Stock Symbol: Xxx  Buy:0(0) ,  Outperform:3(0) , Hold:6(+1),    Underperform: 1(0), Sell:  0(0)

Anyway, where to access this full analysis?
else this kind of analysis doesnt tell any info right?
I normally ignore...

but anyways... select the stock... further down somewhere will show analysts ratings and will show rating from which company...then follow the rabbit hole lor...
dwRK
post Sep 6 2020, 09:02 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Sep 6 2020, 06:28 PM)
mind to show a screenshot of that sample insight?
because i dont think i see one.

there is nothing else to click except that recommendation to buy or sell..
example search n select tesla...
scroll down...click show more... then next page scroll down you'll find the table that the summary from the email...and further down the respective analyst publications
dwRK
post Sep 7 2020, 09:16 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Sep 7 2020, 12:17 AM)
I see..
i mean from the notification, usually it is just that summary.. which pretty much nothing useful..
But u just pointed to me other info that can be useful..  rclxm9.gif
bingo... wink.gif

that summary tells overall change in analyst 's sentiment lah... is ok useful if you hold a stock for donkey years and understand how they do the rating...
dwRK
post Sep 9 2020, 10:44 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(milque @ Sep 9 2020, 06:48 PM)
IBKR can't trade IPO?
can... but we cannot/not allowed
dwRK
post Sep 10 2020, 04:36 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(jas029 @ Sep 10 2020, 03:45 PM)
does that mean it'll require about 29 transactions in order to breakeven with the USD10 monthly charges (assuming NLV less than USD100k)?
yr math is correct ... biggrin.gif
dwRK
post Sep 10 2020, 06:28 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Sep 10 2020, 04:40 PM)
You should evaluate based on marginal benefit basis.
E.g. TSG charges 2.5% additional interest on IBKR's rate for margin.

If you borrow >$4800 per annum (don't plan to close the margin), it's better to use IBKR instead.
Reason is because you are charged additional $120 per year for borrowing $4800 using TSG than IBKR.

This means if you have no transactions during the year and borrowed $4800 on margin, and margin rates are:

IBKR0%
TSG0%+2.5%=2.5%

Your monthly statement will look somewhat like:

DetailIBKRTSG
Minimum commission$10$0
Additional finance cost$0$(4800 x 2.5% / 12)=$10

So, you technically break even if you borrow exactly $4800 for the whole year.

This is one method of evaluating which is better for you.
suddenly so complicated... biggrin.gif
dwRK
post Sep 11 2020, 07:02 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Sep 10 2020, 11:35 PM)
Yeah but I'm using example to explain marginal benefit so can illustrate better.

If I use 1.5% then,

IBKR0.09%+1.5%=1.59%
TSG1.59%+2.5%=4.09%

Your monthly statement will look somewhat like:

DetailIBKRTSG
Minimum commission$10$0
Finance cost$(4800 x 1.59% /12)=$6.36$(4800 x 4.09% / 12)=$16.36
Total cost$16.36$16.36

Therefore, the benefit of TSG = benefit of IBKR if you borrow $4800 (assume not other transactions).
If borrow >$4800 p.a (12 months like ASB loan), use IBKR.
If borrow <$4800 p.a., use TSG.
probably can further expand into a borrowing vs trade plot... smile.gif

also ppl with cash account can't borrow

nevertheless good lateral thinking here bro thumbup.gif
dwRK
post Sep 14 2020, 08:31 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Sep 14 2020, 08:03 PM)
Don’t think HSBC will give preview on the rate conversion, you will only find out the rates after the conversion done
fx board rates are published daily...usually fixed for the day

31 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.2528sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:47 AM