73 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

SUSTOS
post Jul 25 2021, 08:35 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(edwin1002 @ Jul 25 2021, 08:33 PM)
Do u have listing of fractional shares? website do not know where can see
Here, I replied an earlier post with the same info.

QUOTE(TOS @ Jul 21 2021, 11:09 PM)
Only US market and for selected stocks only.

https://www.interactivebrokers.com/lib/csto...icleId=83261303

Excel link for full list of eligible stocks for fractional trading: http://www.ibkr.com/download/fracshare_stk.csv
SUSTOS
post Jul 25 2021, 09:06 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(edwin1002 @ Jul 25 2021, 08:47 PM)
Do u know where can buy fund such as bridgewater associates?
That is called hedge fund.

https://www.quora.com/What-is-the-minimum-a...-in-bridgewater

Hedge funds are not available for trading in the open market and tend to be more secretive. You need to contact the respective fund office to initiate your client-manager relationship with them.

There are a few hedge funds in Singapore and Hong Kong. I know this one is popular with HNWIs in Malaysia, a fund from Singapore: https://www.cpgbl.com/

Also, some of the "wholesale" funds on FSM/eUT are actually "hedge funds-like" which you can invest if you have large capital. There are also some family office/hedge fund like fund companies that are hardly in the limelight: https://singular.com.my/funds/

Lastly, contact your banker/relationship manager for more info, those in the high finance world tend to know more and have better contacts.

If you are interested you can look at them.

Disclaimer: Caveat emptor. This reply should NOT be interpreted as a recommendation for any of the fund above. I do not invest in them, I am not affiliated with any of them nor do I hold any stakes in them either in the form of debt or equities.

Hedge funds are not for the faint-hearted and require huge capital outlay. Kindly do your due diligence before investing in them.

This post has been edited by TOS: Jul 25 2021, 09:16 PM
SUSTOS
post Jul 25 2021, 09:25 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(edwin1002 @ Jul 25 2021, 09:21 PM)
You are really sifu, where u are stay? if u are from penang, maybe after covid then can we yamcha in investment talk? haha
No lah, not yet reaching sifu status. laugh.gif

I am from Butterworth, Penang (mainland side, northern Province Wellesley). After covid I guess I am busy doing postgrad research, hopefully in Singapore. If I return then maybe we can meet. biggrin.gif
SUSTOS
post Jul 25 2021, 09:32 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(edwin1002 @ Jul 25 2021, 09:28 PM)
Your age around 40?
22, to be exact.
SUSTOS
post Jul 25 2021, 09:37 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(edwin1002 @ Jul 25 2021, 09:28 PM)
Your age around 40? Do u have invest china's market?
This is IB's thread. Better don't introduce too many non-related questions. We can chat via PM after this I guess.

I invest in H-shares and A-shares via mutual funds. I don't invest directly due to corporate governance concerns. But they still account for a small portion of my portfolio.
SUSTOS
post Jul 31 2021, 12:09 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(syaaron @ Jul 30 2021, 11:35 PM)
wanna ask my commission is still USD1 for 1 * APPL , had changed the pricing plan to tiered .
any setting i should check to get 0.35USD comission fee ? Thanks
Did you wait for at least one day? You can check the settings here: https://investmentmoats.com/money/competiti...y-activity-fee/

Scroll down until here:

Just go to Account Settings and check IBKR Pricing Plan. Note that even though the web portal already showed you change to tiered, IBKR will still charge you fixed pricing plan commissions. You need to wait for one day for the whole system to take effect.

If you purchase/sell on TWS desktop software, it is best advised to check the commission charges before you execute the trade.

This can be seen here (I use SGX commission as example): https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...101726470\

The commission (est.) entry is the one you need to look for.

SUSTOS
post Aug 1 2021, 05:57 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Aug 1 2021, 05:24 PM)
Did you execute the trades? Because these are just estimates... there may be discrepancies.

I tried with ETFs in EUR but I noticed the range of the estimate is quite vast.
No I didn't execute any. Just "hypothetical view".

I suppose the commissions charged should agree with the tabulated values: https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/index...=1590&p=stocks2 depending on whether you are on tiered or fixed. Did you vary the trade value for the ETFs you tried? If so, if the commissions are charged as a % of total value, then it will vary.
SUSTOS
post Aug 1 2021, 08:00 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Aug 1 2021, 07:09 PM)
if you use smart routing... it'll give you an estimate because your order may be executed at different exchanges that carry different fees... especially eu stocks
Ya, good point. SGX only one exchange. US EU there are multiple exchanges and routes.
SUSTOS
post Aug 3 2021, 11:16 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Aug 3 2021, 10:51 PM)
I recently found out that the dividend reinvestment in IB is conditional. Your dividend received must exceed the value of 1 unit of share for the reinvestment to occur. Is this normal?

To top it off, I received another dividend which exceeded the value of 1 unit of share, but at the same time nothing happen too. I just get cash credited to my balance. Is this normal or do you guys dont mind?
I don't know for other exchange but for SGX, I can confirm this is the case, IB will round down (for all products on SGX I think) even though pure CDS account will round up your holdings if you exceed 0.5 share. It happened to my OCBC scrip dividend. I thought will round up but then they insist to round down instead and I get all payments in cash.

If your entitlement is more than 1 share but less than 2, say, then they pay you the fractional component in cash and you get 1 share (for scrip dividend).
SUSTOS
post Aug 6 2021, 09:07 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Aug 6 2021, 03:36 AM)
How much is the initial deposit again for IBKR account openings? Have they changed it or is it still the same as before? hmm.gif
With the removal of inactivity fee, there is no more initial deposit. You can open an account with $0.

https://brokerchooser.com/broker-reviews/in...minimum-deposit

It is important to note that TSG also no longer has initial deposit, at least that is what the client rep told me in email, perhaps informally.

On the official website it remains there though. https://www.tradestation-international.com/...3-a653b52d-7633

Maybe that offer is (or was) for existing client which they want to retain to avoid them delinking and switch to pure IB. Just my thoughts.
SUSTOS
post Aug 30 2021, 09:47 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Aug 30 2021, 05:17 PM)
Anyone received counter offer from TSG when delinking? I just completed delinking today, then my friend now sent the email, same day got reply from TSG offering to match IB's rate (1 USD minimum fee and 0.005 per share for USD, SG, and HK markets). First I've heard about it.
Yes, many people received the offer. The counter-offer will never beat IB since they earn commissions on top of IB; if they match or beat IB's rate the business is not profitable for them.

US markets for small volume tiered pricing is cheaper (0.35 USD min) than TSG's 1 USD min (TSG uses fixed pricing back-end it seems). I don't think they offer better price for SG and HK markets, last time I knew the counter-offer is for US markets only. Can you ask your friend what is the counter-offer for SG/HK?

I doubt it would be cheaper than IB fixed/tiered.
SUSTOS
post Aug 30 2021, 11:38 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(thisisavatar @ Aug 30 2021, 10:43 PM)
Do I need a passport for delinking purposes? or Malaysian Identity Card is good enough?
Use the same original document you submitted when you open your account as proof of identity. Usually it is passport.
SUSTOS
post Sep 3 2021, 09:19 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(ryanming @ Sep 1 2021, 05:42 PM)
Guys,

I have switched/de-linked from Tradestation to IBKR since about a month ago and have been using IBKR and its rates daily.

Recently I've sent an inquiry regarding options futures trading. They have replied and added something about my IBKR account.

Their exact words (copied paste):

==================================================
Apologies for the delay in response.

Kindly refer to the below links for more information on Option on Futures (FOP) fees:
>> Commissions and Overnight Position Fees: https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/index.php?f=49560
>> Margin Requirements: https://www.interactivebrokers.co.uk/en/ind...006010801080808

Our system reflects, your IBKR account is under IB UK entity and your country of legal residence is Malaysia. We see that your IBKR account UXXXXXX was linked with iBroker TradeStation International Ltd due to which your account was opened under IB UK entity. As you have delinked your account from TradeStation International Ltd, you will have to open a new account under IBLLC US entity.

Depending on your country of Legal residence, your account is opened with the corresponding IBKR Entity. For customers from Malaysia, account is opened with IBLLC-US entity.

Once your new account is open, you will have to request for a manual transfer of assets from your existing account to the new account by creating a webticket. Please note such manual transfer requests are subject review and approval.

If you need further assistance, please let me know.

===================================================

Is it just me or anyone encountered anything similar?

Time to do a Skype toll-free call. biggrin.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=101660597

SUSTOS
post Sep 4 2021, 11:52 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(ultimate93 @ Sep 4 2021, 11:16 PM)
Hello guys, I m using Instarem to do forex (myr to sgd), but recently i wish to convert some sgd back to myr and i notice Instarem is not allow me to do so.... is this because initially i have registerd myself as Malaysian??
Instarem only allows transfer from the country you registered, in this case Malaysia. To transfer from multiple countries to multiple countries, you need to use other fintech companies like Wise (previously known as TransferWise).
SUSTOS
post Sep 5 2021, 05:57 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 5 2021, 05:50 PM)
no I meant from ibkr to wise...

you have wise global account, so can just provide that wise virtual bank account number to ibkr for withdrawal

those without global account will be like any normal end-to-end transfer... need to put a note (wise account number) during sending so that wise can track who sent it... I dunno if ibkr withdrawal can include this note to wise for further processing
I thought the OP was asking withdrawal from SGD bank to MYR bank. In that case, with Wise or CIMB SG -> CIMB MY. IB directly to wise never heard before. No idea about that. With global account should be fine.
SUSTOS
post Sep 5 2021, 11:08 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 5 2021, 08:32 PM)
Oh. Never tried Ibkr straight to wise. Good to know there's alternative.
Instarem is bloody expensive. Almost 1 year already since I last used them..
Nowadays I just use Sunway money as they give me best rate.

I went to inatarem sg and that's when I found out I cannot use instarem sg with my Malaysian ID to send money back to Malaysia.
Eh Sunway Money looks cheaper than Wise. Didn't realize that, can get additional 20 SGD for a 30k MYR transfer to SG bank, some 0.2% extra. Right now I think promotion for Sunway Money. Not sure when it ends.
SUSTOS
post Sep 6 2021, 02:41 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 6 2021, 01:25 PM)
You didn't know? I thought you are the one who found them.
lol did I? laugh.gif

I tried registering, went to Sunway Carnival to do manual verification but no such "Sunway Kiosk" exists. e-KYC cannot be done on my phone for some reason I don't know.

I guess I will just stick to Wise and Instarem for now.
SUSTOS
post Sep 6 2021, 03:27 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 6 2021, 03:18 PM)
he study at sunway but didn't see brt tiang littered with sunway money advertisements .. must be all eyes on chabo
tongue.gif
laugh.gif No lah, back then no such advertisement mah. All tiang just show Setara 5 star rating from Sunway U and Sunway College.
SUSTOS
post Sep 6 2021, 04:42 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 6 2021, 03:58 PM)
can't say when they were up...

but our brain won't register even if we see it... not something important or threat...
chabo aside. Got something serious to ask you.

From your experience in buying US shares, any configuration you think need to change on SMART or you just use the default SMART setting? Or you think certain exchanges are better?
SUSTOS
post Sep 6 2021, 08:11 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 6 2021, 07:08 PM)
Just use SMART. Different exchange give different rates. If you die-die want to save money on cons, you need to search which exchange give best rate (I don't know) but may compromise your full quantity. With coms so slow at USD0.35/transaction, not worth it. It's missing the forest for the tree.

Anyway, stay in sg market. US market is lousy. No dividend. Peanut dividend and dividend tax. Market manipulated. Dark pools here and there. Not worth your time and money tongue.gif
I didn't say it's lousy. smile.gif US I will aim for growth stock with less dividend component since there is a WHT there, but preferably blue chips US-based companies (not foreign listing). I have on my list a few:

V, MA, CLX, P&G, JNJ, CL, KMB, AAPL, EL, MSFT, AAPL and VUAA on LSE.

73 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.2905sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:14 AM