QUOTE(zerothz @ Aug 16 2020, 06:06 PM)
Pilot Sport > Primacy for wet grip.Michelin Primacy 4 or Pilot Sport 4, for Honda HRV 17 inch
Michelin Primacy 4 or Pilot Sport 4, for Honda HRV 17 inch
Aug 16 2020, 06:25 PM
503 posts Joined: Apr 2016 |
Aug 16 2020, 11:04 PM
1,704 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
Aug 16 2020, 11:10 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
Probation
10 posts Joined: Aug 2019 |
Thanks. Gonna try PS3 on my 2009 Persona hahaha
Sep 21 2020, 08:44 PM
800 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
May I know what is the difference of primacy 4 Vs primacy 4st? Seeing some seller on lazada selling primacy 4, some only primacy 4st
Oct 20 2020, 12:08 PM
2,707 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: Penang |
QUOTE(ryuzaki_L @ Sep 21 2020, 09:44 PM) May I know what is the difference of primacy 4 Vs primacy 4st? Seeing some seller on lazada selling primacy 4, some only primacy 4st FYI, there is no ST for Primacy 4Only Primacy 3 got ST ST = Silent Treads (Low Noise) Primacy 4 already ditch the ST to gain better overall safety in term of braking in dry & wet situation when even new & wear out situation. This post has been edited by littlefire: Oct 20 2020, 12:09 PM |
Oct 21 2020, 02:04 PM
376 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: K.Hills |
here's my opinion from someone who frequents trackdays
GRIP, the mythical properties everyone keep talking about, but to me it's completely irrelevant in the usual street. Please, don't kid yourself - when was the last time you heard your tyre screeching while take a corner? Or braking, most ppl thinks grippier tyre = better emergency stop, it's true to a certain extend, but most don't understand weight distribution, you need to progressively increase the load to your front tyre before it can handle such emergency stop. What happens to commoners when they want emergency brake? Well - in less then 0.5 seconds they just stomp on the brakes, and your ABS activated, which translate to even higher stopping distance(bad),. you don't want your ABS to activate in order to achieve maximal deceleration. Because of your technique, you've just disregarded your "grippier" tyre benefit as traction is proportionate to WEIGHT applied onto it, not surface area or wider tyre The point is, performance oriented tyres for the streets are really of no substantial benefit to your everyday driver, unless you are someone who are used to semi-slicks tyres and knows and can feel instinctively your car's grip, most driver don't even come close to the limit of a basic well inflated, within operating temperature michelin primacy 4 grip. For me, i use comfort oriented tyre for my daily/comfort/family car - because that car has <300hp and don't really have the hp/torque to break traction on every corner exit anyway. Instead of choosing a tyre of safety, try driving safely instead of pushing into a corner on a rainy day thinking you got a PS4s and it's OK to do such things. This post has been edited by Spitzer: Oct 21 2020, 02:05 PM |
Oct 21 2020, 08:55 PM
6,225 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(Spitzer @ Oct 21 2020, 02:04 PM) here's my opinion from someone who frequents trackdays I emergency brake once...running on p7... t bone 3rd party front wheel by 6"... my 2 months old new car bumper bended clips broke... I think if running ps4 I'd probably stop with at least 1 feet to spare... 3rd party fault btwGRIP, the mythical properties everyone keep talking about, but to me it's completely irrelevant in the usual street. Please, don't kid yourself - when was the last time you heard your tyre screeching while take a corner? Or braking, most ppl thinks grippier tyre = better emergency stop, it's true to a certain extend, but most don't understand weight distribution, you need to progressively increase the load to your front tyre before it can handle such emergency stop. What happens to commoners when they want emergency brake? Well - in less then 0.5 seconds they just stomp on the brakes, and your ABS activated, which translate to even higher stopping distance(bad),. you don't want your ABS to activate in order to achieve maximal deceleration. Because of your technique, you've just disregarded your "grippier" tyre benefit as traction is proportionate to WEIGHT applied onto it, not surface area or wider tyre The point is, performance oriented tyres for the streets are really of no substantial benefit to your everyday driver, unless you are someone who are used to semi-slicks tyres and knows and can feel instinctively your car's grip, most driver don't even come close to the limit of a basic well inflated, within operating temperature michelin primacy 4 grip. For me, i use comfort oriented tyre for my daily/comfort/family car - because that car has <300hp and don't really have the hp/torque to break traction on every corner exit anyway. Instead of choosing a tyre of safety, try driving safely instead of pushing into a corner on a rainy day thinking you got a PS4s and it's OK to do such things. so for day to day driving...better grip can mean stop at the roadside...or stuck in a longkang otherwise This post has been edited by dwRK: Oct 21 2020, 10:51 PM |
Oct 22 2020, 12:11 PM
24 posts Joined: Aug 2019 |
An update for all, I have changed to Michelin Primacy 4 after opening this thread. No regrets, pretty much the best investment indeed. Quiet on surface and comfortable experience champu liked this post
Oct 23 2020, 09:13 AM
Oct 23 2020, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 23 2020, 09:13 AM) erm honestly i do not know much about tyres, so i didnt find out much of the detailing partall i know is after i switched to michelin prim4 from the stock tyres, i find my driving experience better as i go outstation alot initially the tyre shop filled in nitro for me, but nowadays i dont care, just fill in regular air |
Oct 23 2020, 03:52 PM
Oct 23 2020, 04:42 PM
Dec 16 2020, 01:56 PM
2 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(chowhai @ Oct 23 2020, 11:20 AM) erm honestly i do not know much about tyres, so i didnt find out much of the detailing part 1. What was your stock tyre brand?all i know is after i switched to michelin prim4 from the stock tyres, i find my driving experience better as i go outstation alot initially the tyre shop filled in nitro for me, but nowadays i dont care, just fill in regular air 2. How about handling and cornering? |
Dec 17 2020, 04:13 PM
if not mistaken bluearth or something like that
Feb 22 2021, 01:43 AM
9,789 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: Rubber Duck Pond |
Feb 27 2021, 01:03 PM
13,461 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
QUOTE(Spitzer @ Oct 21 2020, 02:04 PM) here's my opinion from someone who frequents trackdays Not sure why you want to use emergency braking as a scenario to compare tires performance. Moreover how people drive on road is not that much difference than on track. The car behind cant make the car in front disappear. Braking would be applied appropriately unless in cases of emergency or someone get hot headed and trying to outdrive the car.GRIP, the mythical properties everyone keep talking about, but to me it's completely irrelevant in the usual street. Please, don't kid yourself - when was the last time you heard your tyre screeching while take a corner? Or braking, most ppl thinks grippier tyre = better emergency stop, it's true to a certain extend, but most don't understand weight distribution, you need to progressively increase the load to your front tyre before it can handle such emergency stop. What happens to commoners when they want emergency brake? Well - in less then 0.5 seconds they just stomp on the brakes, and your ABS activated, which translate to even higher stopping distance(bad),. you don't want your ABS to activate in order to achieve maximal deceleration. Because of your technique, you've just disregarded your "grippier" tyre benefit as traction is proportionate to WEIGHT applied onto it, not surface area or wider tyre The point is, performance oriented tyres for the streets are really of no substantial benefit to your everyday driver, unless you are someone who are used to semi-slicks tyres and knows and can feel instinctively your car's grip, most driver don't even come close to the limit of a basic well inflated, within operating temperature michelin primacy 4 grip. For me, i use comfort oriented tyre for my daily/comfort/family car - because that car has <300hp and don't really have the hp/torque to break traction on every corner exit anyway. Instead of choosing a tyre of safety, try driving safely instead of pushing into a corner on a rainy day thinking you got a PS4s and it's OK to do such things. I had used a set of PS3 in the past and now using PS3 ST. Even though these give similar grip somewhat, however there are big differences in braking, body roll etc. You do need to adjust driving behaviours to make up the loss of performance in the tires. Even my wife complained about my driving after changing the tires. The difference in braking performance alone affected the ride comfort to the point that she felt like Im driving too fast. Even though the difference maybe subjective to everyone, it is just blatant stupid to disregard the difference because of certain aspects that occurred in certain situations. |
Mar 11 2021, 09:49 AM
2,092 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Malaysia |
Dear sifu....do ou guys think is it worth getting Year 2020 tyre?
Mar 11 2021, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(Pat89 @ Mar 11 2021, 09:49 AM) Yes it's fine, even as old as 2019 are still fine. They actually provide the best value for money because they're still perfectly fine as new but much cheaper clearance price just due to older manufacturing date. These kind of older tires by 1-2 years are actually my favourite when looking for tires. |
Mar 11 2021, 01:00 PM
2,092 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(6UE5T @ Mar 11 2021, 12:38 PM) Yes it's fine, even as old as 2019 are still fine. They actually provide the best value for money because they're still perfectly fine as new but much cheaper clearance price just due to older manufacturing date. These kind of older tires by 1-2 years are actually my favourite when looking for tires. Thanks buddy, I can now peacefully choose 2020 tyre PS4 for my Honda Civic |
Mar 14 2021, 02:41 PM
48 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
| Change to: | 0.0306sec
5 queries
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:12 AM |