andrekua2
post Sep 26 2019, 07:55 AM

13,465 posts

QUOTE(chowhai @ Sep 24 2019, 11:54 AM)
Not well versed on tyres but i find the stock tyres from Honda noisy and bumpy

my daily commute is drive to work in city therefore traffic jam is there
probably once a month have to go south so got long distance too; i tend to stick to 110 - 140 km/h

if i have to choose, would like less noise in cabin and smoother drive tyres
any suggestion? budget maybe below 700 per tyre
Priority is less noise? Then no need think liao. Primacy is your answer.

I have been using performance tires but my current set is Primacy3ST (Primacy will be even better) due to the low price offer now. It is so quiet that I cant get used to it at first. Also my car is already 7 years+ and after changing to Primacy, can feel the urge to repair car since now can hear a lot clearer of some noises coming the suspension and under carriage which were previously subdued by the noisier tires.
andrekua2
post Sep 27 2019, 10:09 AM

13,465 posts

QUOTE(chowhai @ Sep 27 2019, 09:49 AM)
one last question to members, what is the rule of thumb; when to change tires?

mine was based on duration.. for 3 years i got the car never change b4, basically my friend told me the tire still looks ok but i guess out of safety id rather not the risk la

what about you guys??
The old saying was tires would last for 5 years and then it will start to degrade. However lately I came across a Continental website which claimed their tires could last till 10 years. I'm running on a set of Conti CSC5 which was manufactured in 2014. I thought I want to change but would instead just test it out to see if it would indeed last 10 years, since its only a weekend car.

For safety, it is still better to check the thread depth indicator. Even when the indicator is level with the tire surface, you still have 2-3mm thread which is ok for pretty much anything except aquaplanning maybe more severe. If low mileage, I used to encourage my parents to change every 5 years (provided you get fresh tires everytime aka same year manufacturing as the time you purchased it).
andrekua2
post Sep 27 2019, 10:19 AM

13,465 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Sep 26 2019, 10:51 AM)
If free go for it. If need to ask for extra money for the nitrogen gas just forget it.
Just a simple google or youtube a lot of these are just scam (Same as chamber nut change, also a scam) for tire shop to earn more money.

Our air got almost 78.09% nitrogen, so paying extra for it is no brainer.

https://www.quora.com/What-is-the-percentag...ygen-in-the-air
Not really. Nitrogen is really a convenient. Even though air is >70% nitrogen, there is still 20%++ of fluctuation. I have tried nitrogen on few occasions and the fluctuation is really minimal. 1-2 PSI after few months which is nuts compared to air only.
andrekua2
post Feb 27 2021, 01:03 PM

13,465 posts

QUOTE(Spitzer @ Oct 21 2020, 02:04 PM)
here's my opinion from someone who frequents trackdays

GRIP, the mythical properties everyone keep talking about, but to me it's completely irrelevant in the usual street.

Please, don't kid yourself - when was the last time you heard your tyre screeching while take a corner?
Or braking, most ppl thinks grippier tyre = better emergency stop, it's true to a certain extend, but most don't understand weight distribution, you need to progressively increase the load to your front tyre before it can handle such emergency stop. What happens to commoners when they want emergency brake? Well - in less then 0.5 seconds they just stomp on the brakes, and your ABS activated, which translate to even higher stopping distance(bad),. you don't want your ABS to activate in order to achieve maximal deceleration. Because of your technique, you've just disregarded your "grippier" tyre benefit as traction is proportionate to WEIGHT applied onto it, not surface area or wider tyre

The point is, performance oriented tyres for the streets are really of no substantial benefit to your everyday driver, unless you are someone who are used to semi-slicks tyres and knows and can feel instinctively your car's grip, most driver don't even come close to the limit of a basic well inflated, within operating temperature michelin primacy 4 grip.

For me, i use comfort oriented tyre for my daily/comfort/family car - because that car has <300hp and don't really have the hp/torque to break traction on every corner exit anyway.

Instead of choosing a tyre of safety, try driving safely instead of pushing into a corner on a rainy day thinking you got a PS4s and it's OK to do such things.
Not sure why you want to use emergency braking as a scenario to compare tires performance. Moreover how people drive on road is not that much difference than on track. The car behind cant make the car in front disappear. Braking would be applied appropriately unless in cases of emergency or someone get hot headed and trying to outdrive the car.

I had used a set of PS3 in the past and now using PS3 ST. Even though these give similar grip somewhat, however there are big differences in braking, body roll etc. You do need to adjust driving behaviours to make up the loss of performance in the tires. Even my wife complained about my driving after changing the tires. The difference in braking performance alone affected the ride comfort to the point that she felt like Im driving too fast.

Even though the difference maybe subjective to everyone, it is just blatant stupid to disregard the difference because of certain aspects that occurred in certain situations.
andrekua2
post May 24 2024, 08:44 PM

13,465 posts

QUOTE(blindmutedeaf @ May 14 2024, 11:45 AM)
it might kill your tire faster.
if primacy is what you after... 80k km only change new set is not abnormal yea...

You free to play around 200~280kpa and i think you mean kpa? Cause normal tire has 300~350kpa max or 40psi max (cold air)
What? 80k KMs only change tyres? What tyre can last 80k?
andrekua2
post May 27 2024, 07:38 AM

13,465 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ May 26 2024, 08:54 PM)
Yes, I'd been having 115 +-K km with several pairs of XM2 (185/70R14) over the past decade or so.

Note: With a residual tread depth of 2.0 -2.5 mm 'ish vs manufacturer recommendation of 1.6 mm tread depth for tyre replacement.
Current front and rear pairs of XM2 have done 50K  and 22K km respectively thus far - and is probably good to repeat history again.
How do you make them last 100k?
andrekua2
post May 27 2024, 07:45 AM

13,465 posts

QUOTE(blindmutedeaf @ May 27 2024, 06:39 AM)
Primacy can last about 80k, PS can last about 50k

Both under normal drive yea...
Like 50kmh all the time?
andrekua2
post May 27 2024, 03:31 PM

13,465 posts

QUOTE(blindmutedeaf @ May 27 2024, 03:04 PM)
bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif

common sense a bit can or not?
Huh? Serious here... I'm mostly 100kmh or so and I get 40k with primacy3(correction, was using primacy3 not 4) with Sonata YF. You get 80k with whatever car you are driving... so I'm wondering half the speed?

This post has been edited by andrekua2: May 27 2024, 03:32 PM
andrekua2
post May 28 2024, 12:56 PM

13,465 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ May 28 2024, 08:43 AM)
I 'followed' tyre manufacturer recommendation on tread wear indicator mark of 1.6 mm depth and 10 year old rules on tyre replacement.

Socalled tyre rot, roughened, scratches, hairline cracks, tyre noise, tyre hardening etc etc fear mongering are not the criteria of replacing tyres.

Most importantly, wheel alignment (as and when necessary or once in 2-3 years).
Yes... Im not changing tyres before it reach the indicator mark got 'even' with the surface...
andrekua2
post May 28 2024, 12:59 PM

13,465 posts

QUOTE(blindmutedeaf @ May 28 2024, 08:36 AM)
my bad then, air pressure is good?

I was using altis back then air pressure at front 240kPA; rear 230/220kPA.  This air pressure thing, you need to feel with your butt on the best combination when coasting, over holes / bump.  In Altis 10th Gen, I feel it was the best combination.
Pen <--> KL once a month.... speed about 130+
Then changed to PS4 used for 30k then sold off the car due to MCO and not back to office until today.

Having another myvi with me on PS3, can use almost 60k still not touching the 1.6mm yet but changed for peace of mind.

+edit: Yes that was Primacy 3, then I changed to PS4 after Primacy almost touching the 1.6mm
Well, Im using 215/55/R17... air pressure around 32 or 33 PSI. The thing is that I used both PS3 and Primacy3 on the same car. Roughly 40k on both... hence why Im wondering how on earth did some of you get double my mileage...

This post has been edited by andrekua2: May 28 2024, 12:59 PM
andrekua2
post May 29 2024, 08:48 AM

13,465 posts

QUOTE(blindmutedeaf @ May 29 2024, 08:38 AM)
Agree to what zeng mention.  It could be your alignment issue and your tyre pressure could be on lower side,
but again it is about the feeling - IMHO, the factory recommended air pressure is the minimum, and when coast, can you feel your car wanna slow down or maintain the speed is the key; if it wanna slow down then your air pressure is low.

Secondly, do you fetch a lot of weigh in your car such as boot full of equipment, always full load and etc?
Meantime can you describe how your tyre when it is fully used? It is eating a side (the side nearer to car body or facing outside) of the tyre or as a whole?

If as a whole, still most likely air pressure / high load, if a side then you have some other problems.
If my tyres are eating one side, do you think it would last 40k?

The tyres pressure is one of the reason I guess. I disliked the bouncy feeling if I were to pump 35PSI or above, hence I lowered it for comfort and also felt better when cornering.

0.0165sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:20 AM