Real world DX10 performance, DX10 hardware warmup battles.

linkinstreet
post Jul 7 2007, 06:05 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

QUOTE(peacenik @ Jul 7 2007, 12:39 PM)
Nvidia Geforce 5, 6, 7 VS Ati Radeon 9xxx, x800, X1xxx

All the above r Direct x 9 a/b/c card
but  to play DIRECT X 9.0c games, 3Dmark06, etc
only the later G 7 & R X1xxx series r consider GOOD & smooth flex.gif
G6 & Rx800 ok,
G5 & R9xxx capable but NOT OK ( but u can use them to play DX8 )

So expect 2 more generation Direct x 10 ( 10.1/2/3? / 10.a/b/c ) from MICROSOFT + & VGA Card from ATI & Nvidia.

Games Producers will not make that can run DX10 only.
No everyone has VISTA even in the usa. unless pirated Ver.
The game will no sell if they can only run on vista.

FOR me if i have a good Nvidia G79xx or ATi R19xx I will move to DX10
when VISTA after SP1/2, G9 / ATI R3xxx. hmm.gif

But if i have a G6 & Rx800 or G5 & R9xxx and cannot wait then buying G 8 & R2xxx now is consider a good move. rclxm9.gif

All the above r just personal preference  hmm.gif
bcoz i m just normal man with LIMITED BUDGET  sweat.gif ( have a family to take care )

Those who r earning a lot / rich, do not have to think just
buy new card now, play DX10 now, ENJOY THE GAME NOW. thumbup.gif
What logic is in that? Newer PC that are sold by vendors in the USA are now being preisntalled with Vista. And majority of US ppl buys PC from vendors. Not by making it themselves. Halo 2 and Gears of Wars are already getting much fanfare, and they ARE vista exclusive games. Majority of pro gamers in the US have already bought Vista anticipating this. Colin McRae: DIRT will only show it's true colour in DX10. UT3 will run better on DX10. Heck, there are many console exclusive game, AND THAT WHAT SELLS IT.
And why wait for Service Packs before using? XP was widely used for a long time before SP1 was released. And you really need to relearn all your grammar. It's hard to make head or tail of what wanted to say
~hunter~
post Jul 8 2007, 12:40 AM

PLsS bE PatiEnT (I'm FasTinG)
684 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jul 6 2007, 01:28 PM)
The most important is getting the card that mostly suits you for gaming.Depending on your own requirement as well,the latest card might not be the best choice as now the DX10 games are still very few in popularity.Wait for another version DX10 cards come out only decide to upgrade is better.  laugh.gif
totally agree wit u..im not planning to buy DX10 card yet unless a new version tats more stable is out..

SlayerXT
post Jul 8 2007, 03:10 AM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Just look at some DX10 benchies for now, mid range DX10 is struggling in performance. We must wait for pure DX10 games and see the performance. By then hope both ATi and Nvidia will planning to introduce faster DX10 midrange card
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jul 8 2007, 06:26 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(peacenik @ Jul 7 2007, 01:39 PM)
Nvidia Geforce 5, 6, 7 VS Ati Radeon 9xxx, x800, X1xxx

All the above r Direct x 9 a/b/c card
but  to play DIRECT X 9.0c games, 3Dmark06, etc
only the later G 7 & R X1xxx series r consider GOOD & smooth flex.gif
G6 & Rx800 ok,
G5 & R9xxx capable but NOT OK ( but u can use them to play DX8 )

So expect 2 more generation Direct x 10 ( 10.1/2/3? / 10.a/b/c ) from MICROSOFT + & VGA Card from ATI & Nvidia.

Games Producers will not make that can run DX10 only.
No everyone has VISTA even in the usa. unless pirated Ver.
The game will no sell if they can only run on vista.

FOR me if i have a good Nvidia G79xx or ATi R19xx I will move to DX10
when VISTA after SP1/2, G9 / ATI R3xxx. hmm.gif

But if i have a G6 & Rx800 or G5 & R9xxx and cannot wait then buying G 8 & R2xxx now is consider a good move. rclxm9.gif

All the above r just personal preference  hmm.gif
bcoz i m just normal man with LIMITED BUDGET  sweat.gif ( have a family to take care )

Those who r earning a lot / rich, do not have to think just
buy new card now, play DX10 now, ENJOY THE GAME NOW. thumbup.gif
err... FYI i tested Vista on the following spec...

Celeron D 347(3.06GHz)
Asrock 775i65G
512MB DDR400 RAM
built in graphics... sweat.gif
80GB SATA HDD...

slight lags... no slowmo... perfectly normal and acceptable performance... hmm.gif

tested also on

PD 925(3.0GHz)
Gigabyte GA-945GCMX-S2
512MB DDR667
GMA 950
80GB SATA HDD

no lags... no slowmo... perfect performance...

and current market games don require tat great cards... and 8500GT performance is worse than 7600GS in DX9.0C which most of our games are... so buying a DX10 GC now is juz dumb... unsure.gif at least wait until this coming PC fair la... doh.gif 3-5 August... thumbup.gif

PS: the rich ppl already got at least 8800GTS already... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by t3chn0m4nc3r: Jul 8 2007, 06:27 PM
SlayerXT
post Jul 8 2007, 06:53 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Anyway, to get a graphics card for four figure is a way too much for me. I hope can play crysis well on DX9 mode until a cheaper 8800 reincarnation card are available.
BurgerRI
post Jul 8 2007, 07:48 PM

905 posts

well only 2-3 more months till main stream dx10 games goes gold
Lemmings
post Jul 8 2007, 09:25 PM

522 posts

n when will the next batch of dx10 card comeS out? flex.gif
SlayerXT
post Jul 8 2007, 11:38 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Try to look at gamespot, they may hav latest game release info. Its around September to October.
likito
post Jul 10 2007, 10:07 PM

1,468 posts

crysis release on 17 sept if i not make mistake ..
Daywalker
post Jul 10 2007, 11:47 PM

What the hell?? This will gonna shit happen.......??
1,988 posts

hmm.gif ...... Since DX10 GC available in the market, but the DX10 gaming is not very wisely usage yet....... sweat.gif but DX9 GC with some of currently gaming is just enough to play already......
likito
post Jul 11 2007, 11:21 PM

1,468 posts

lost planet r ready now ! u can find in market now ! bioshock , crysis , age of canon coming soon ~ just be patience ~ wait .
X.E.D
post Jul 12 2007, 05:20 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

Bioshock requirements:
Minimum:
CPU: Pentium 4 2.4GHz Single Core processor
System RAM: 1GB
Video Card: Direct X 9.0c compliant video card with 128MB RAM (NVIDIA 6600 or better/ATI X1300 or better, excluding ATI X1550).

Recommended:
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo processor
System RAM: 2GB
Video card:
DX9: Direct X 9.0c compliant video card with 512MB RAM (NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GT or better)
DX10: NVIDIA GeForce 8600 or better

See 8600 or better? That's rather good proof that DX10 mainstream can run nicely.
DX10 doesn't just make stuff spiffier, it also reduces much dreaded graphics overhead that until now, because of tack-on usage, isn't much help at all.
SUSdattebayo
post Jul 12 2007, 05:55 PM

5,366 posts

that's kinda ridiculous requirements to me.
How in the heck 7900GT could be at the same par as 8600GT?
its more like 8600GT is the minimum requirement.
And the recommended proc. saying Intel C2D, they receive bribe from Intel? Totally neglecting AMD counterpart leh
goldfries
post Jul 12 2007, 05:58 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

hehe. to add to the confusion

wahhhh. my Athlon64 run 1.8ghz only leh. cannot buy this game liao oh.
X.E.D
post Jul 12 2007, 06:26 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 12 2007, 06:55 PM)
And the recommended proc. saying Intel C2D, they receive bribe from Intel? Totally neglecting AMD counterpart leh
You obvious underestimate the new cards. They CAN reach performance levels of 7800s. Give and take some driver/DX10 shortcuts, you get there with almost the same performance.

If they pull a f***ing Adobe and enforce use of SSE2/SSSE3 mandatorily/for performance... I'll kill Ken Levine. (Because they're too lazy to code.) Crysis is also *ahem ahem*, whoring Yorkfield. But that's a little more reasonable.

@Gold, laugh.gif My 1.83 Athlon XP is gonna suffer hell if they need SSE2. Virtua Tennis 3 and DiRT already need it, and I do NOT want to see Unreal Engine 3's newer builds and branches require it too.
Altivec FTW.

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Jul 12 2007, 06:26 PM
Terence573
post Jul 12 2007, 06:49 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jul 8 2007, 06:53 PM)
Anyway, to get a graphics card for four figure is a way too much for me. I hope can play crysis well on DX9 mode until a cheaper 8800 reincarnation card are available.
Use DX10 card to false detect into DX9 mode to play Crysis.....maybe can be faster fps.I'm saying this coz I'm in laptop 8600M GPU.Maybe this is the only workaround that I could get if the card cannot handle crysis well in DX10.

Yeah now just need to wait till the DX10 to be fully realised.Then the price of the beast will come dropping down...but then came along another beast...GF9?
SUSdattebayo
post Jul 12 2007, 06:49 PM

5,366 posts

dx10 performance I dunno
but I owned 8600gt before, I can honestly tell you they are nowhere near to 7900gs/radeon1950 in dx9 games
Terence573
post Jul 12 2007, 06:55 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 12 2007, 05:55 PM)
Huhu....all games in C2D requirement list....surely bribe lar...but somehow it just say optimized for more core CPU.

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 12 2007, 05:58 PM)
hehe. to add to the confusion

wahhhh. my Athlon64 run 1.8ghz only leh. cannot buy this game liao oh.
U can owez OC this CPU for I owned one two...the review say it can be OC insanely using good cooler.For me it just stucked at 2.3GHz OC.Maybe the board a bottleneck.

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jul 12 2007, 06:49 PM)
dx10 performance I dunno
but I owned 8600gt before, I can honestly tell you they are nowhere near to 7900gs/radeon1950 in dx9 games
They are in between 7600 and 7900....sad to say but turn down a little effects....at least it can be played. rclxms.gif
linkinstreet
post Jul 13 2007, 12:01 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

QUOTE(Terence573 @ Jul 12 2007, 06:49 PM)
Use DX10 card to false detect into DX9 mode to play Crysis.....maybe can be faster fps.I'm saying this coz I'm in laptop 8600M GPU.Maybe this is the only workaround that I could get if the card cannot handle crysis well in DX10.

Yeah now just need to wait till the DX10 to be fully realised.Then the price of the beast will come dropping down...but then came along another beast...GF9?
Will it really be faster? unlike other games, this will be DX10 game compatible on a DX10 card vs DX9 card. Chances are the game will run slower on a DX9 card as it IS optimised for DX10.
SlayerXT
post Jul 13 2007, 12:53 AM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Jul 12 2007, 06:26 PM)
You obvious underestimate the new cards. They CAN reach performance levels of 7800s. Give and take some driver/DX10 shortcuts, you get there with almost the same performance.

If they pull a f***ing Adobe and enforce use of SSE2/SSSE3 mandatorily/for performance... I'll kill Ken Levine. (Because they're too lazy to code.) Crysis is also *ahem ahem*, whoring Yorkfield. But that's a little more reasonable.
@Gold, laugh.gif My 1.83 Athlon XP is gonna suffer hell if they need SSE2. Virtua Tennis 3 and DiRT already need it, and I do NOT want to see Unreal Engine 3's newer builds and branches require it too.
Altivec FTW.
You just need to spend little on low end system now already beats ur Athlon XP.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0177sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:57 AM