Continental MaxContact 6 (MC6)

_kilakila_
post Nov 29 2020, 12:23 PM

JUST DO IT!
638 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 28 2020, 08:49 PM)
For touring tires, Goodyear Efficient Grip or BS Turanza T005A would be a better value for money than P4.

For UHP, try find Falken FK510, well proven good UHP tire with better value for money as well, usually just around 80-90% the prices PS4. Another better value is the newest Goodyear F1 Sport, also should be quite a bit cheaper than PS4.

If I were you I'd try the F1S coz usually Goodyear makes excellent tires which rival or even better than those of Michelin, especially the F1 line up.
Is efficientgrip much more diff than triplemax?
HalseyFrangipane
post Nov 29 2020, 12:43 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 28 2020, 08:49 PM)
For touring tires, Goodyear Efficient Grip or BS Turanza T005A would be a better value for money than P4.

For UHP, try find Falken FK510, well proven good UHP tire with better value for money as well, usually just around 80-90% the prices PS4. Another better value is the newest Goodyear F1 Sport, also should be quite a bit cheaper than PS4.

If I were you I'd try the F1S coz usually Goodyear makes excellent tires which rival or even better than those of Michelin, especially the F1 line up.
QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 29 2020, 09:14 AM)
hahaha...you giving him more choices...he already very indecisive...hahaha

for myself...for touring i'd go with mc6...for sports i agree with you i wanna try f1s...

my dilemma, i really wanna try mc6 on my slow car but no 205/55/16 size...if put this on my fast car i can't try out f1s...  ranting.gif
I've already fitted a set of new PS4, but it's quite interesting to keep up with the tyre choices/performance over time haha. And this sifu decided to add more headache to the equation aaaaaa
6UE5T
post Nov 29 2020, 02:19 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 29 2020, 09:14 AM)
hahaha...you giving him more choices...he already very indecisive...hahaha

for myself...for touring i'd go with mc6...for sports i agree with you i wanna try f1s...

my dilemma, i really wanna try mc6 on my slow car but no 205/55/16 size...if put this on my fast car i can't try out f1s...  ranting.gif
I suspect F1S price is very similar to MC6 or at least not far so I's just take the F1S.

QUOTE(_kilakila_ @ Nov 29 2020, 12:23 PM)
Is efficientgrip much more diff than triplemax?
Triplemax I think is more towards durability.

QUOTE(HalseyFrangipane @ Nov 29 2020, 12:43 PM)
I've already fitted a set of new PS4, but it's quite interesting to keep up with the tyre choices/performance over time haha. And this sifu decided to add more headache to the equation aaaaaa
Good la if already use PS4, only another 2-years then only headache to change again. Lol
Jason
post Dec 9 2020, 03:33 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 23 2020, 12:38 PM)
Naa.. I tried Michelin PS4 before and it is more silent compare to MC6..  brows.gif But for sure more expensive
MC6 is a budget UHP tires for me but not to my taste. If i were given a choice, i might go for GITI sport S1 that time..
Other than the noise, how does it compare? PS4 vs MC6
dry handling, steering response
wet handling, braking, aquaplane resistance
littlefire
post Dec 10 2020, 10:05 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Dec 9 2020, 04:33 PM)
Dry handling - PS4
Steering response - MC6
Wet handling - MC6
Braking - PS4
Aquaplane Resistance - PS4

This is base on my driving experience/feel and may not be the same to all ppl.
Overall PS4 is better but more expensive compare to MC6.

SingTime
post Dec 10 2020, 12:59 PM

110 posts

I am using 215/45R17 now. Thinking of changing to Mc6 205/45R17. What is the difference?

This post has been edited by SingTime: Dec 10 2020, 12:59 PM
dwRK
post Dec 10 2020, 09:46 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Dec 9 2020, 03:33 PM)
results here... https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=98790880
Jason
post Dec 10 2020, 10:36 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Dec 10 2020, 10:05 AM)
Dry handling - PS4
Steering response - MC6
Wet handling - MC6
Braking - PS4
Aquaplane Resistance - PS4

This is base on my driving experience/feel and may not be the same to all ppl.
Overall PS4 is better but more expensive compare to MC6.
Thanks for the review.
Aquaplane resistance seems to be a strong suit for Pilot Sport line. PS3 had very good performance too.

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 10 2020, 09:46 PM)
Saw it, very impressive.

dwRK
post Dec 11 2020, 09:08 AM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Dec 10 2020, 10:36 PM)
Thanks for the review.
Aquaplane resistance seems to be a strong suit for Pilot Sport line. PS3 had very good performance too.
Saw it, very impressive.
yeah.

what also surprised me on second reading is ls588 going head to head with re003 at maybe half the price... another very good candidate for touring use and some fun if required
6UE5T
post Dec 11 2020, 11:52 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 11 2020, 09:08 AM)
yeah.

what also surprised me on second reading is ls588 going head to head with re003 at maybe half the price... another very good candidate for touring use and some fun if required
Hmm not quite correct to say ls588 head to head with RE003. If you scrutinise more closely on the results, you would see that ls588 is more for comfort tires, low noise and rolling resistance then better on wet braking but in other categories which are more for performance oriented, the RE003 is ahead. So those are 2 different types of tires, one is more for comfort touring while the other UHP (and more geared towards dry).
Jason
post Dec 11 2020, 03:13 PM

6,354 posts

My own experience for RE003, the wet performance is lacking, especially aqua plane resistance. Dry is stellar.

My requirement is weighted more towards wet performance.
dwRK
post Dec 11 2020, 05:10 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Dec 11 2020, 11:52 AM)
Hmm not quite correct to say ls588 head to head with RE003. If you scrutinise more closely on the results, you would see that ls588 is more for comfort tires, low noise and rolling resistance then better on wet braking but in other categories which are more for performance oriented, the RE003 is ahead. So those are 2 different types of tires, one is more for comfort touring while the other UHP (and more geared towards dry).
ya in terms of overall performance re003 is still ahead...so I agree with you per se, but ls588 didn't lose out big or disgraced itself...often coming in just 1 or 2 spot behind re003, except for dry handling where re003 is legendary... that's why i did say ls588 is a good candidate as a touring tire

my main concern on ls588 outside of performance is this...
saw this 5yr old low mileage cracking n chipping...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Dec 11 2020, 05:27 PM
6UE5T
post Dec 11 2020, 07:43 PM

1,704 posts

[quote=dwRK,Dec 11 2020, 05:10 PM]
ya in terms of overall performance re003 is still ahead...so I agree with you per se, but ls588 didn't lose out big or disgraced itself...often coming in just 1 or 2 spot behind re003, except for dry handling where re003 is legendary... that's why i did say ls588 is a good candidate as a touring tire

my main concern on ls588 outside of performance is this...
saw this 5yr old low mileage cracking n chipping...

Many tires are like that if driven too short distances so they don't reach optimum temperature and easily brittle. Even PS3 also like that.
neekun
post Dec 15 2020, 04:53 PM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

I am looking to replace all 4 tyres 225 45 19 for my Mazda 6 wagon.

I was quoted BRIDGESTONE T005B RM770 and UC6 SUV RM660. Don't know which one to take, please advise. BTW, what is the difference between UC6 and MC6?

Thank you.

This post has been edited by neekun: Dec 16 2020, 09:48 AM
modesto66
post Jan 6 2021, 02:28 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(ayamback @ Jan 9 2020, 02:30 PM)

Hankook V12E2 - RM295
Michelin PS4 - RM350
Michelin Primacy 4 - RM304
Conti MC6 - RM270
Mind to share where did you get conti MC6 at RM 270? smile.gif

6UE5T
post Jan 7 2021, 12:00 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Dec 15 2020, 04:53 PM)
I am looking to replace all 4 tyres 225 45 19 for my Mazda 6 wagon.

I was quoted BRIDGESTONE T005B RM770 and UC6 SUV RM660. Don't know which one to take, please advise. BTW, what is the difference between UC6 and MC6?

Thank you.
T005 should be better than UC6. It's more proven internationally while UC6 is just a low end category tire for local Malaysia market.
UC6 is 1 class lower than MC6 and just 1 class higher than the horrible bottom of the pile CC6.
pandikar
post Jul 13 2021, 05:11 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 2 2020, 10:59 PM)
found this...

and this...

and more... this got comparison with ps4, re003...

225/45/17 >> https://zhuanlan.zhihu.com/p/75335091
245/45/18 >> https://zhuanlan.zhihu.com/p/65920020

hmm... ok shortlist lah...  biggrin.gif
Got latest/newer comparison analysis that included Bridgestone RE004?

Wanna see how RE004 fared against the others.
Chiggah
post Feb 17 2024, 02:52 PM

567 posts

The China analysis seems to match up well with this site too

https://toptirereview.com/continental-max-c...-pilot-sport-4/
Chiggah
post Feb 22 2024, 06:17 PM

567 posts

Continental MC7 is out too.
zup
post Mar 9 2024, 02:19 AM

110 posts

235 55 r18

may I know, where Hankook Ventus Prime 4 position (rank) should be?

Currently using s1 evo2 (stock), thread almost finish. Able to use it for almost 5 years 100+k mileage. (fast driver but not aggressive style).

Was looking for evo3. expensive pulak (Rm700+ / piece). Prime 4 quite cheap. Review quite good (based on tyrereview.com)

Anyone can rank out these tire:
- Hankook s1 evo3
- Michelin mc6
- Hankook prime 4/4+
- GoodYear f1 asymmetric
- Michelin primacy 4
- Bridgestone turanza
- Goodyear efficient grip
- Pirelly PZ4

- You may add other tyre to the rank.

Example:
Primacy 4 > F1 assym > prime 4