Hong Kong Exchange & HK Stocks, Per title post-Extradition Bill W/drawal

Cubalagi
post Sep 5 2019, 12:29 AM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 4 2019, 11:03 PM)
China Mobile's Net Profit Growth and EPS Growth has been negative except for FY2017. You think this will improve later ?
China Mobile currently has 740 million 4G customers. Over the next few years, these people will be upgrading their package to 5G. N China govt is pushing 5G hard as a national priority. That is what I'm excited about.

Other than China Mobile.. Well basically tech, consumer n autos should be good long term plays. The big thing about China is the growing middle class. What will they spend on? Think along that line. The traditional export manufacturing sectors are taking back seat in China economy.

The trade war will accelerate this further as China try to build domestic resilience. Early this year they introduced fiscal policies to encourage domestic consumption. Expect more to come.

Banking is out..still too risky now with their bad debt problem. Insurance is ok (eg AIA) as middle class will start buying more insurance.

Short term.. Watch Cnooc and Petrochina..

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Sep 5 2019, 12:32 AM
Krv23490
post Sep 5 2019, 12:36 PM

2,175 posts

Any sifus have any thoughts on Sinopec (0386)?
markedestiny
post Sep 5 2019, 08:49 PM

764 posts

Anyone caught the news that Carrie Lam only proposed to initiate the motion for withdrawal of the bill ? It's not the same as the bill being formally withdrew. Dont think the market will take this well if indeed true.
Cubalagi
post Sep 5 2019, 11:37 PM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Sep 5 2019, 12:36 PM)
Oh.. I missed out Sinopec.

Yes. Im bullish OnG atm but I picked Petrochina. Oil prices looking strong. if u think there will be a US China truce this month n HK calm.. this will be good place to put some bets.

Of course, high risk bet. Get ready to take profit or cut loss fast. It only takes a bad tweet... 😅

N not sifu... don't believe what I say..

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Sep 5 2019, 11:38 PM
markedestiny
post Sep 7 2019, 12:52 AM

764 posts

No hurry to buy HK stocks...

Fitch Downgrades HK :

https://www.ibtimes.com/fitch-downgrades-ho...a-fears-2822946

More protests expected as I have mentioned earlier:

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/09/hong...5181551062.html

TSHansel
post Sep 8 2019, 10:41 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 5 2019, 11:37 PM)
Oh.. I missed out Sinopec.

Yes. Im bullish OnG atm but I picked Petrochina. Oil prices looking strong. if u think there will be a US China truce this month n HK calm.. this will be  good place to put some bets.

Of course, high risk bet. Get ready to take profit or cut loss fast. It only takes a bad tweet... 😅

N not sifu...  don't believe what I say..
I guessed it's important to decide what type of investor one is ! As a Fixed Income (FI) investor, I preferred not to occupy my mind with those quick actions you mentioned above, bro,... but yeah, if one is a cap gain investor, taking profits and cutting losses should be set in.
Cubalagi
post Sep 9 2019, 01:11 PM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 8 2019, 10:41 PM)
I guessed it's important to decide what type of investor one is ! As a Fixed Income (FI) investor, I preferred not to occupy my mind with those quick actions you mentioned above, bro,... but yeah, if one is a cap gain investor, taking profits and cutting losses should be set in.
I don't see the need to limit to one type. High dividend types tend to be stable, low growth companies. Low/no dividend types tend to be high growth types. Depending on market cycle, one will outperform the other.

And of course, a great way to boost income is to get a nice capital gain somewhere and to dump it into a high yield instrument..

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Sep 9 2019, 01:12 PM
TSHansel
post Sep 9 2019, 01:25 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 9 2019, 01:11 PM)
I don't see the need to limit to one type. High dividend types tend to be stable, low growth companies. Low/no dividend types tend to be high growth types. Depending on market cycle, one will outperform the other.

And of course, a great way to boost income is to get a nice capital gain somewhere and to dump it into a high yield instrument..
Yes,.. need not limit,... in fact, portfolio analysis and studies always emphasize having different types of stocks in one's portfolio,...

For my part - I have always noticed my dividend stocks ended up as growth stocks too, because the prices will appreciate. But I do not view the appreciation as a method for me to increase my wealth and to lock-in the capital gains, UNLESS there is a change of fundamentals and qualities of the stock.

I will reap the maximum dividend payouts from any stock I buy before relinquishing the counter for any capital gain to be arrested.
TSHansel
post Sep 9 2019, 01:26 PM

9,361 posts

HSBC is one of the secondary bookrunners for the Historical Saudi Aramco IPO.

Entered HSBC at HKD 58.15 !
Cubalagi
post Sep 9 2019, 02:29 PM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 9 2019, 01:26 PM)

Aramco IPO.. Why u think I bullish OnG? 😆

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Sep 9 2019, 02:30 PM
foofoosasa
post Sep 11 2019, 11:25 AM

3,482 posts

So talk so long , What did u guys shop these few weeks ?

brows.gif icon_idea.gif rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by foofoosasa: Sep 11 2019, 11:25 AM
Cubalagi
post Sep 11 2019, 02:04 PM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Sep 11 2019, 11:25 AM)

brows.gif  icon_idea.gif  rolleyes.gif
Petrochina. End Aug just before Merdeka weekend..

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Sep 11 2019, 02:04 PM
TSHansel
post Sep 11 2019, 03:11 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 9 2019, 01:26 PM)

Entered HSBC at HKD 58.15 !
QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Sep 11 2019, 11:25 AM)

brows.gif  icon_idea.gif  rolleyes.gif
As above !

If I sell and take profit now, 'untung' 5-digit ! But I want the dividend,.... sad.gif

NO chance to average down already !!!!!!!!!!
foofoosasa
post Sep 11 2019, 08:23 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 11 2019, 02:04 PM)
Petrochina. End Aug just before Merdeka weekend..
Interesting choice. Hmm quite surprise someone will choose OnG counter since our malaysia market have plenty choice. Hehe
foofoosasa
post Sep 11 2019, 08:26 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 11 2019, 03:11 PM)
As above !

If I sell and take profit now, 'untung' 5-digit ! But I want the dividend,.... sad.gif

NO chance to average down already !!!!!!!!!!
Journey still long to go. Haha i still in accumulation phase.

I choose 3968, 700 and 2318 instead of 0005.

You can look at 1299 also probably suit your portfolio.
Cubalagi
post Sep 11 2019, 08:55 PM

4,495 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Sep 11 2019, 08:23 PM)
Interesting choice. Hmm quite surprise someone will choose OnG counter since our malaysia market have plenty choice. Hehe
Well yes.. I have parked some in Malaysia OnG also.. 😆

But u see, Malaysia OnG are small n mostly retail investor plays. So these will be slower to move n very volatile as Malaysian retail investors are still cautious. But if they move, I hope to make good $$$.

Petrochina is an HK index linked stock. So immediately benefit from the international flows n already up 10% in 2 weeks. .

Btw these are short term opportunistic trades..

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Sep 11 2019, 08:57 PM
foofoosasa
post Sep 11 2019, 10:48 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 11 2019, 08:55 PM)
Well yes.. I have parked some in Malaysia OnG also.. 😆

But u see, Malaysia OnG are small n mostly retail investor plays. So these will be slower to move n very volatile as Malaysian retail investors are still cautious. But if they move, I hope to make good $$$.

Petrochina is an HK index linked stock. So immediately benefit from the international flows n already up 10% in 2 weeks. .

Btw these are short term opportunistic trades..
Oo if short term trade i no comment la.

If short term trade, OnG counter very hard to play for me since crude oil price is very unpredictable these few month. Can up 5% percent in one day, can down 5% in one dayas well.

0700 is easier to trade for me since it constitute almost 10% of Hk index. If not mistaken is the largest in Hang seng index.

Anyway just reminder to investor here, patiently buy don't rush. HK is very volatile market, up and down 10% to 15% in a month is very very common. smile.gif i have been hunting since few months back.

This post has been edited by foofoosasa: Sep 11 2019, 10:59 PM
TSHansel
post Sep 12 2019, 12:19 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Sep 11 2019, 08:26 PM)
Journey still long to go. Haha i still in accumulation phase.

I choose 3968, 700 and 2318 instead  of 0005.

You can look at 1299 also probably suit your portfolio.
Tq.

1299 pays only twice a year,... though the dps is growing,... I'm afraid the yield is low at current price, only 1.54%. If the sp should drop further, it might warrant a look on my part !
TSHansel
post Sep 12 2019, 12:24 AM

9,361 posts

Most investors here would be capital gain investors,... myself and Ramjade could be the only odd ones out.
TSHansel
post Sep 12 2019, 12:27 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Sep 5 2019, 12:36 PM)
Referring to this post,... I had a look at Sinopec this morning before going to bed,.. I saw the last effective yield was a whopping 9+%,... mind-boggling,.. but I think there is withholding tax for this ctr,... and the payout does not seem to be growing nor stable,...

84 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:27 AM