The Golden Compass!, 7 December 2007; Ring become Compass?

TSbarry80
post Jul 4 2007, 01:09 AM, updated 19y ago

490 posts

another great epic movie goin to release by New Line Cinema. still remember the LOTR trilogy? don't know yet this tittle goin to be a trilogy as previous production LOTR tongue.gif got nicole kidman & current james bond aka daniel craig in this movie wor biggrin.gif

The Golden Compass

Trailer

James_yka
post Jul 4 2007, 08:21 AM

kNight
1,372 posts

And Advance Middle-Age battle between Science and Sorceries... chun...
greyshadow
post Jul 4 2007, 09:05 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Let's hope it doesn't turn out to be something like Eragon or Narnia

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Jul 4 2007, 09:21 AM
Makakeke
post Jul 4 2007, 11:21 AM

310 posts

What's wrong with Narnia? I thought it was a very good adaptation of the book.

The trailer looks good, and it looks like another upcoming movie, Stardust

This post has been edited by Makakeke: Jul 4 2007, 11:42 AM
greyshadow
post Jul 4 2007, 11:44 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Well... nothing wrong is with Narnia actually
It's just there's too much hype during that time, people are expecting more, they are expecting something like LOTR.
When it doesn't live up to the expectation so people just don't like it lor
SUSgogo2
post Jul 4 2007, 01:18 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

Narnia story is like normal only. Kid discover path to wonderland. and adventure begin. been there. done that. Narnia is boring.
jdreamer
post Jul 4 2007, 01:22 PM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

Narnia is fine for me, in fact I like it. I'm forever a kid, so why not? laugh.gif
Makakeke
post Jul 4 2007, 01:23 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jul 4 2007, 01:18 PM)
Narnia story is like normal only. Kid discover path to wonderland. and adventure begin. been there. done that. Narnia is boring.
In case you didn't know, it is adapted from a children fantasy storybook. It does cater to a certain audience.
internet
post Jul 4 2007, 04:57 PM

70 posts

In case anyone is interested. This movie is adapted from a trilogy book "His Dark Material" by Phillip Pullman. http://www.amazon.com/Materials-Trilogy-Go...s/dp/0440238609
yen223
post Jul 4 2007, 07:01 PM

777 posts

The books are really good, not sure how that would translate to the movie screen...
yivon
post Jul 5 2007, 01:57 PM

109 posts

Looks interesting , hope it is ...
lamely_named
post Jul 5 2007, 06:35 PM

I got younger. ROLLZ.
1,931 posts

it be sux.

like all other LOTR wannabez cheap movie.

Mark my word.

I'm willing to bet 1000000000000000000000 ringgit that it will sux. And will not win any awards.

wait, add my uterus to it, I'm willing to surgically remove my uterus if it doesnt sux and wins no award.

Why am I so hardcore?!! Becoz I KNOW this movie will sux. FOR A FACt!!!!

QuickFire
post Jul 5 2007, 07:58 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

QUOTE(lamely_named @ Jul 5 2007, 06:35 PM)
it be sux.

Mark my word.

I'm willing to bet 1000000000000000000000 ringgit that it will sux. And will not win any awards.

wait, add my uterus to it, I'm willing to surgically remove my uterus if it doesnt sux and wins no award.

wow, stunning argument you have there. rclxub.gif
lamely_named
post Jul 5 2007, 08:00 PM

I got younger. ROLLZ.
1,931 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jul 5 2007, 07:58 PM)
wow, stunning argument you have there.  rclxub.gif
stunning leh!!! biggrin.gif

Volfeed
post Jul 5 2007, 09:07 PM

396 posts

The atmosphere is so close to Final Fantasy tongue.gif
internet
post Jul 6 2007, 09:19 AM

70 posts

it be sux.

Mark my word.

Nicole Kidman is in it. Its not a cheap movie by that fact alone.. haha, she's a well-paid actress.

Hopefully it won't suck. I'm curious how the 3rd book will be portray (if they actually do a trillogy), I've heard its a bit dark.
StarGhazzer
post Jul 6 2007, 09:34 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

it be sux.

Mark my word.

It'll be laughable when it turns out that you're actually a guy and doesn't have a uterus.. so how to cut? tongue.gif

It's harsh to condemn a movie way before you've watched it. True enough you can predict it from trailers and such, but the trailers and teasers were nicely done and chances are it won't be a SUX movie... at most it'd be a disappointing one which doesn't fit the novel at all, that's it.

LOTR was an epic, yet it wasn't perfect. Episode 1 was slow and boring, while episode 3 had too much editing that the storyline doesn't flow well. Only episode 2 was near perfection.

SUSchewxy
post Jul 6 2007, 11:50 AM

Flying Side By Side with my beloved Pretty Swallow
11,234 posts

QUOTE(barry80 @ Jul 4 2007, 01:09 AM)
another great epic movie goin to release by New Line Cinema. still remember the LOTR trilogy? don't know yet this tittle goin to be a trilogy as previous production LOTR  tongue.gif got nicole kidman & current james bond aka daniel craig in this movie wor  biggrin.gif

The Golden Compass

Trailer
Whatever possesed you to think that the Golden Compass is like LOTR at all?

Something tells me you have never read either of these books. Please go read some before comparing His Dark Materials to LOTR, for they are extremely different in story, themes, and execution.

Ugh. Illiterate.

Added on July 6, 2007, 11:55 am
QUOTE(internet @ Jul 6 2007, 09:19 AM)
Nicole Kidman is in it. Its not a cheap movie by that fact alone.. haha, she's a well-paid actress.

Hopefully it won't suck. I'm curious how the 3rd book will be portray (if they actually do a trillogy), I've heard its a bit dark.
Yea. I'm curious too.

Malaysia definitely will have to censor

This post has been edited by chewxy: Jul 6 2007, 11:55 AM
QuickFire
post Jul 6 2007, 01:53 PM

2,867 posts

Wow chewxy how did you get the f word to appear here? Anything in spoiler tags wont get censored? or is it because you're a mod? UNFAIR!

f***
f***s
PhoenixByte
post Jul 6 2007, 02:40 PM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

Well...one thing is for sure now...the official website is cool.
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Jul 6 2007, 04:39 PM

1,704 posts

invis'd

This post has been edited by Crazy.SoT.Gila: Jul 6 2007, 04:40 PM
adriankhoo153
post Dec 7 2007, 11:43 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Damn, this movie is so boring. Sorry for the fans but no i didn't read the story book of this one. It didnt even inspire me to do so.

At least not for LOTR. Watch Fellowship of Ring, straight go Kino Kuniya to buy all the books.

In the otherhand, Golden Compass failed to delivered at certain time. The pace aint fast enough. It's dreadful boring plus the score sometime not correctly inplant..

I would rate it D
neorelated4
post Dec 7 2007, 11:52 PM

130 posts

i watched it.. n i admit it's just so-so.. wouldn put it above average in anyway except the whole concept of me liking big, white polar bears going into battle.. lol!

i haven't read the book yet, but my bro said the book was so much better. well mayb i'll have more comments after i read it then..
DDSFan8
post Dec 8 2007, 12:01 AM

1,278 posts

Narnia rocked man. So epic the fight scenes
adriankhoo153
post Dec 8 2007, 12:02 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Iorek Byrnison huh? Looks ok to me. I prefer the old hag. Lee Scoresby. He got style.

Anyway, one thing cool bout this movie is the airship. Damn, it really look like Final Fantasy Airship la. Be it, FFX or FFVIII, it just like every episode of FF. Haha
neorelated4
post Dec 8 2007, 12:03 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(DDSFan8 @ Dec 8 2007, 12:01 AM)
the bookS almost bored me to death though..
bonedragon
post Dec 8 2007, 12:21 AM

351 posts

so how is this movie? the only 2 reviews here aren't very good.
stormyz
post Dec 8 2007, 12:26 AM

Thread Killer
595 posts

thank god i didn't buy the gold class ticket just now... 2 many ppl d... end up didn't watch
Mgsrulz
post Dec 8 2007, 02:10 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

i thought it was OK as a children's movie.

if you go in,just remember it's a kid's movie...ie the kid saves the day tongue.gif

the battle scenes were great.
loved the polar bear fight laugh.gif
end of that fight gave me a bit of a shock sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Dec 8 2007, 02:11 AM
Neiji
post Dec 8 2007, 02:53 AM

183 posts

So overall this is a kid movie??? Shit,I buy dy the ticket!!! I thought it would be like LOTR but since the reviews not very good,I think I won't make a high expectation dy,the movie only 2 hours rite??
-PatheticSoul-
post Dec 8 2007, 02:56 AM

302 posts

gawd..the trailer like so nice nice..the movie boring~~
Reimao
post Dec 8 2007, 03:33 AM

Hola~!
709 posts

Tis is one of the worst fantasy/book-turned-movie ive ever seen..and i tot Eragon was bad.. grumble.gif

The scenes dont connect wit each other and there's not much development in the story..For the 1st time since King Kong i was fighting to not fall asleep..(King Kong was excusable since its a remake and was a 3 hours movie).. yawn.gif

Anyways dun put too much hope in tis movie as wat i did and wat did i get in the end?hopes torned apart and my wall came crashing in..Not even bothered to watch the sequel even if there's any..

p/s: the fighting scenes inside the movie to me are simply dreadful..Sure the ice bear/polar bear fight is cool and all but its juz abit too short and the fight towards the end of the movie was simply.."speechless" doh.gif

Good luck on those who's gonna watch tis..God bless u all..
cheez
post Dec 8 2007, 03:50 AM

On my way to? -> Holland?
593 posts

awww shit... is it that sucks? too many bad reviews ler. lol... biggrin.gif
my gf jz bot the ticket and will be going for it later. @@
anyway, there goes my expectations. shud b really low by now so there's no disappointment. got pawned by the publicities done dy. @@ lol... biggrin.gif
Torniquet
post Dec 8 2007, 04:00 AM

Unable to think of one
1,443 posts

my gf force me to watch this show....its boring no storyline show....
wasted RM11 and petrol just to watch this movie...haiz

the story no starting and ending....
Goblinsk8er
post Dec 8 2007, 05:03 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jul 6 2007, 01:53 PM)
Wow chewxy how did you get the f word to appear here? Anything in spoiler tags wont get censored? or is it because you're a mod? UNFAIR!

f***
f***s
Hint: Accessories>System Tools>???
Last time i did that kena warning lol.

BTW, i have just watched this movie.You cant really put any high expectations.
Its not that bad as everyone said here, its just really mediocre.
Really really average, so-so, ok-ok, boleh tahanla movie.

yiivei
post Dec 8 2007, 08:15 AM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

the movie is ok. most of them cant understand what the movie all about, then stating bad comments on it. one thing i dislike most is the ending... sigh~
panasonic88
post Dec 8 2007, 09:20 AM

37,028 posts

aiyor so many negative comments about G.C sad.gif

i am watching it tonight, though...
adriankhoo153
post Dec 8 2007, 10:49 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

I dun think i am gonna watch GC 2 or GC3 anymore..
strace
post Dec 8 2007, 10:50 AM

Ayy
700 posts

hmmm so i better assume this is some kind of a visual bed time story before I watch this tonight then
fruitie
post Dec 8 2007, 12:45 PM

Rise and Shine
72,772 posts

I watched it yesterday, a bit over-rated.. sweat.gif
Quite draggy and it seems there will be another installation for this... Lyra's damon, Pan is darn cute. wub.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Dec 8 2007, 12:46 PM
Reimao
post Dec 8 2007, 12:48 PM

Hola~!
709 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Dec 8 2007, 08:15 AM)
the movie is ok. most of them cant understand what the movie all about, then stating bad comments on it. one thing i dislike most is the ending... sigh~
There's nothing much to be understand in the movie..They failed to decipher the story properly and most of the scenes din even have a strong outline..the plot is v v poor..
aries85
post Dec 8 2007, 12:52 PM

20 posts

dissapointed. I jz watched it yesterday...

it's boring...
it's only for kids...
no ending...

for those who haven watch this movie...
don't waste your time and money to watch this...

Clan204
post Dec 8 2007, 01:56 PM

234 posts

yups ... its not too good and waste my RM9 sad.gif
better watch enchanted at least more jokes smile.gif
anyone knows what really happen to asriel lol
SUSblackorange
post Dec 8 2007, 05:18 PM

186 posts

the only reason i watch this movie is the armored bear.

mukhlisz
post Dec 8 2007, 05:38 PM

373 posts

i knew from the trailer alone that this gonna be a load of crap.

Polar bears in armor.. hah!

This post has been edited by mukhlisz: Dec 8 2007, 06:08 PM
lencent
post Dec 8 2007, 08:59 PM

1,719 posts

juz watched... i think need to watch the whole trilogy(?) to understand the whole thing... and the movie pace is moving too fast, like every scene only a few minutes... anyone know why the samujed(?) send lyra to the polar bear king?
tifosi
post Dec 8 2007, 09:35 PM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,155 posts

Watched it. Worst movie of the year for me so far. Wasted 11 bucks watching it. rclxub.gif
nTHtoSEy
post Dec 8 2007, 10:08 PM

566 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Dec 8 2007, 09:35 PM)
Watched it. Worst movie of the year for me so far. Wasted 11 bucks watching it. rclxub.gif
swt...still ok la the movie....
i believe there're other movies of the year which are worst...
oucheev
post Dec 8 2007, 10:16 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 8 2007, 09:20 AM)
aiyor so many negative comments about G.C sad.gif

i am watching it tonight, though...
Everyone expects another LOTR again. The curse of all fantasy film. Just go into the movie and expect something like Narnia instead and it should be fine Its based on a childrens book. What do you expect? I have watched it and its not too bad. Quite entertaining but feels a bit disjointed and some people could be lost if you have not read the book especially the ending. If you're those who only like shows like Transformers, 300, etc then you'll be disappointed. I guess most people will find it boring because its not LOTR type of fantasy. I remember most people did not like Fellowship of the Rings as well but most were only hooked after Two Towers because of the action.

By the way the books are one of the best fantasy sci-fi children books. Its much more better than Narnia (too Christian preachy) and Harry Potter (too damn predictable).
phoenix
post Dec 8 2007, 10:27 PM

Life is all about running...
2,529 posts

I personally think the movie is OK. It's a bit confusing and hard to understand, but acceptable. Probably will shed more lights when the trilogy is completed. And please remember, that we can't compare it with LOTR as most of us will do. Just my 2 cents. Cheers...
silencio87
post Dec 8 2007, 10:34 PM

" Freedom is From Within"
1,546 posts

hahaha..i got free tixs for this movie.i went to watch this movie on the 5th(premiere) ,i'd say it was ok.
I wanted to watch this movie because of the polar bear,tats all laugh.gif laugh.gif
jayhan
post Dec 9 2007, 12:32 AM

7 ☆ DSLR noob
2,707 posts

i do feel the movie is ok, but the ending really disappointing, like there is no ending at all! Plus, there is no climax, no ups and downs! too linear... sad.gif i dun expect this movie to be like this.

yeah, i wanna watch this is because of the bear too laugh.gif only the bear fight is the most interesting part.

3 out of 10.
maximus85
post Dec 9 2007, 12:46 AM

O.M.F.G~!!!
605 posts

wat's wif all the bashing?? shakehead.gif

personally i think its a great movie......it looks half baked becoz its the first movie of the trilogy........Craig Daniel and Nicole Kidman does not feature much in the movie.... just like LOTR 1

its just an intro to the coming great war....

i think its really great........the way the director present the world is truly amazing.....

btw....not every movie can be like LoTR....and not every movie can be like TGC.....

errmm..for those who bash the ending...... i think LoTR 1 had an even worst ending......God Fark that.........
Ninja
post Dec 9 2007, 12:54 AM

[PBMY]â„¢ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

LoL.. dun compare this with LOTR... different league already.. tongue.gif

I went to watch this movie today and i enjoyed it. Well, maybe because i was comparing this movie with Narnia. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Ninja: Dec 9 2007, 12:55 AM
Neiji
post Dec 9 2007, 03:06 AM

183 posts

Well,just finished watching this movie today....From the movie,I think the movie is quite good and pretty nice...the storyline developed nice enough but not the best I presume. Well,if you all want to see some action packed movie,then I don't think it will be nice movie,this movie is nice because of its storyline and remember this is the first episode of the movie,dun expect much like what you all mentions as climax!!! From my POV,this film is like LOTR:FOTR,a story for development to the climax of the trilogy!!! Compare to Narnia and Harry Potter,I think this film is quite good already,sorry that I say bad to the Narnia and Harry Potter's fan,hope can forgive me biggrin.gif Some more,Blue Dakota Richards the lead actress of this movie,I think her acting is nice compare to the Narnia children's actor & actress.

P/S : At first I also disappointed with the ending but after I done some research on net,then I understand why the ending should be like this.....

On October 9, 2007, Weitz revealed that the final three chapters from The Golden Compass have been moved to potential sequel The Subtle Knife to provide "the most promising conclusion to the first film and the best possible beginning to the second."Author Pullman has publicly supported these changes saying that "every film has to make changes to the story that the original book tells - not to change the outcome, but to make it fit the dimensions and the medium of film.

Taking from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Golden_Compass_%28film%29.

yen223
post Dec 9 2007, 03:09 AM

777 posts

hated this, it didnt do the books justice
llhm87
post Dec 9 2007, 03:54 AM

346 posts

This movie is a very high budget movie. Cost around 250 million dollar. So I guess the scene will be amazing.
Reimao
post Dec 9 2007, 04:08 AM

Hola~!
709 posts

I din even compare tis movie to the likes of LOTR..im juz hopin it will bring certain excitement in watching tis movie..LOTR:TFOR to my reckoning is as good as it gets for a fantasy movie..every scene was edited to make sense and not to let us all go hair wire..Da ending sucked no doubt but it was da plot tat really get on my nerve...

And i tot the Armour bear's gonna cheer me up..
HeavenNirvana
post Dec 9 2007, 09:21 AM

849 posts

QUOTE(oucheev @ Dec 8 2007, 10:16 PM)
Everyone expects another LOTR again. The curse of all fantasy film. Just go into the movie and expect something like Narnia instead and it should be fine Its based on a childrens book. What do you expect? I have watched it and its not too bad. Quite entertaining but feels a bit disjointed and some people could be lost if you have not read the book especially the ending. If you're those who only like shows like Transformers, 300, etc then you'll be disappointed. I guess most people will find it boring because its not LOTR type of fantasy. I remember most people did not like Fellowship of the Rings as well but most were only hooked after Two Towers because of the action.

By the way the books are one of the best fantasy sci-fi children books. Its much more better than Narnia (too Christian preachy) and Harry Potter (too damn predictable).
I like fellowship of the ring. The character intro, The way they set their journey, Character development, etc. I havent watch The golden Compass, and dunno either want to watch it or not.
rockdaman
post Dec 9 2007, 09:44 AM

357 posts

a movie without a story line....sucks big time!
Ninja
post Dec 9 2007, 12:27 PM

[PBMY]â„¢ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

Golden Compass = The One Ring?
Lyra = Ring Bearer?
Lee Scoresby = Aragorn?
Serafina Pekkala = Legolas?
Iorek Byrnison = Gandalf?

SUSFlizzardo
post Dec 9 2007, 02:18 PM

Troll
1,093 posts

QUOTE(DDSFan8 @ Dec 8 2007, 12:01 AM)
wtf narnia is rubbish! no good guys died.
wayne_chen
post Dec 9 2007, 03:56 PM

HELL IS ABOUT TIME
2,150 posts

I have watch tis movie juz now in Pavillion n it charge me RM12... shocking.gif
The ticket was too expensive(Maybe they got add additional RM1 from internet booking) shocking.gif
Overall, what i nid to say about tis movie is it's not like LOTR maybe i'm not kid... shakehead.gif
And I wont continue with GC2 or GC3 anymore coz it's really waste my money n time... yawn.gif

This post has been edited by wayne_chen: Dec 9 2007, 03:57 PM
-br0k3n-
post Dec 9 2007, 04:11 PM

167 posts

Well, i think better read the book.
Neiji
post Dec 9 2007, 05:30 PM

183 posts

Seems like all also hate this movie,as I say this is a first film of the trilogy,where got so many actions for you all to see...and rmb this films is based on kid novel like narnia and harry potter...is completely different from the LOTR which is an adult novel...I quite enjoy this movie compare to harry and narnia,if got 2nd episode i sure go and watch it....
panasonic88
post Dec 9 2007, 06:04 PM

37,028 posts

4.5/10 from me...
samantha0607
post Dec 9 2007, 06:24 PM

neiji,wat to do those ppl dun ve common sense.saying there's no ending 4 the GC.i didn't know earlier that it will b GC2 n GC3 but after the movie i knew that it will b a 2nd episode.Lyra mention tat they will cont to discover abt dust n so on.well..i guess they usually straightaway watch the middle part of any movies n series thats y they expect the 1st episode to ve alot of exciting scene...its such a pitiful that so many ppl out there dun ve common sense..

karmakid
post Dec 9 2007, 07:26 PM

2,598 posts

hehe u guys have too high expectation already la..all also expecting LOTR materials..

seriously, if u compare to Narnia and Harry Potter, i think this movie is way better. it's more original, fantasy and check out the scenes..all are breathtaking...

like most of the folks here said, this is the first movie. sure slow abit la...
stil i'm giving it 8/10.

worth every single cent la... it has actions, fantasy, surprise, colorful, suspense....witches, bears, propercy, aeronouts, daemon...etc etc..

nice nice
Reimao
post Dec 9 2007, 07:35 PM

Hola~!
709 posts

Wat kind of common sense do u expect from those who have watched and condemned(i.e Me) the movie...Even witout comparin it wit da likes of LOTR i can still say it is worst den any Harry Potter movies(its bad since HP5 was pretty bad)..

And i even rate HP 1(which is da 1st book ofcuz) much higher than GC cuz they make us movie-goers understand wat they are makin and their intentions(at least they tried anyways)...GC failed to do MISERABLE and even though they 'successfully' created a new world it still doesnt justify how highly rated the movie is and da budget given..

Besides its so darn obvious that they are gonna make a sequel to da movie(with such ending surely anyone notice)..Whether da movie is meant for children anot it still su*ked...Even the kids will hate tis one..

QuickFire
post Dec 9 2007, 08:10 PM

2,867 posts

well the cgi armoured bears already put me off from watching this...
jayhan
post Dec 9 2007, 08:52 PM

7 ☆ DSLR noob
2,707 posts

i was cheated by the armored bear laugh.gif i hope there is more interaction between human and their daemon thou. I do like the friendship between Lyra and Roger biggrin.gif
maximus85
post Dec 9 2007, 11:59 PM

O.M.F.G~!!!
605 posts

QUOTE(samantha0607 @ Dec 9 2007, 06:24 PM)
neiji,wat to do those ppl dun ve common sense.saying there's no ending 4 the GC.i didn't know earlier that it will b GC2 n GC3 but after the movie i knew that it will b a 2nd episode.Lyra mention tat they will cont to discover abt dust n so on.well..i guess they usually straightaway watch the middle part of any movies n series thats y they expect the 1st episode to ve alot of exciting scene...its such a pitiful that so many ppl out there dun ve common sense..
nicely said......... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
copyninja
post Dec 10 2007, 12:49 AM

27 posts

narnia wasn't that good.. but this totally sucks.
two thumbs down
post Dec 10 2007, 12:50 AM

391 posts

bored movie.. without ending.
Neiji
post Dec 10 2007, 02:44 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(Reimao @ Dec 9 2007, 07:35 PM)
Besides its so darn obvious that they are gonna make a sequel to da movie(with such ending surely anyone notice)..Whether da movie is meant for children anot it still su*ked...Even the kids will hate tis one..
Pls do more research before you say it is obvious will be a sequel...the producer already mentioned the sequel will be depending on financial success of GC.

Sylpheed
post Dec 10 2007, 08:14 AM

687 posts

i doubt they'll do a sequel, from the current numbers, seems that they didn't quite make it

http://www.usatoday.com/life/movies/news/2...ox-office_N.htm

the problem with these movies nowadays, in the trailer they try to make it as epic as LOTR. of course for those who haven't read the book, after being enticed by the trailer we would set our standards as high as LOTR. Coz that's what we want to see, but of course, the movie fails to deliver and thus the original riding on the hype of LOTR turns into a double edge sword that bites it's owner.

Haven't watched the movie yet, was kinda waiting for reviews before i decide to watch it, guess i'll watch it on the small screen now tongue.gif
herzeleid
post Dec 10 2007, 08:22 AM

770 posts

those who truly enjoys the movie........is just plain childish

Added on December 10, 2007, 8:25 am
QUOTE(maximus85 @ Dec 9 2007, 12:46 AM)
wat's wif all the bashing?? shakehead.gif

personally i think its a great movie......it looks half baked becoz its the first movie of the trilogy........Craig Daniel and Nicole Kidman does not feature much in the movie.... just like LOTR 1

its just an intro to the coming great war....

i think its really great........the way the director present the world is truly amazing.....

btw....not every movie can be like LoTR....and not every movie can be like TGC.....

errmm..for those who bash the ending...... i think LoTR 1 had an even worst ending......God Fark that.........
i seriously 100% doubt there will be a great coming war .
even at the climax of the movie which is the ending, i didnt even realised its the climax until the show was coming to the end.

hell its not even half a climax, with withches flying around for 1min, gyptian running for another min
and all of a sudden its over..

there will not be any great coming war, thats for sure because it's a KIDS KIDS KIDS movie

This post has been edited by herzeleid: Dec 10 2007, 08:25 AM
Trinity
post Dec 10 2007, 09:34 AM

188 posts

lol..i watched the movie yesterday..kinda sux
i didn watch the book so duno whts the story telling abt..
the movie was so miserable..alot of things didn explain at all
and it was so obvious that there will be 2nd or more episode coming out since the story suddenly end in a suprise..
the polar bear-Lorek Byrnison armor is uglier then those "ke leh feh" polar bear..lol
and how come the polar bear can activate his armor anytime he want??how he hide his armor..haha XD
bsides..why suddenly the witch help them in the war?bcuz the gal can speak out who the witch lover is??lol..
but i quite like the creative of the story anyway.."the daemons"..

herzeleid
post Dec 10 2007, 10:18 AM

770 posts

i like the part when ragnar, the polar bear king wan 1 v 1 combat with Iorek.

den one ke le feh bear put on the kick ass helmet for the king.. xD
Klesk
post Dec 10 2007, 10:29 AM

3,469 posts

methinks if the movie was all about Lyra and Iorek the armoured bear, it could be so much much more better, instead she needs to go on a mission to save her uncle, her friends, bla bla bla, zzzzzz, the only good thing about this movie is the battle between the two bears
-Panadol-
post Dec 10 2007, 10:29 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(herzeleid @ Dec 10 2007, 08:22 AM)
i seriously 100% doubt there will be a great coming war .
even at the climax of the movie which is the ending, i didnt even realised its the climax until the show was coming to the end.

hell its not even half a climax, with withches flying around for 1min, gyptian running for another min
and all of a sudden its over..
The only climax I got is from imagining Eva Green flying around with me as her "broomstick" brows.gif
Get it??

dOtcO[m]
post Dec 10 2007, 10:35 AM

247 posts

the worst ending ever..
Reimao
post Dec 10 2007, 01:56 PM

Hola~!
709 posts

QUOTE(Neiji @ Dec 10 2007, 02:44 AM)
Pls do more research before you say it is obvious will be a sequel...the producer already mentioned the sequel will be depending on financial success of GC.
Wat research shoud i do since the ending of the movie makes it so darn obvious tat they're gonna make a sequel out of it..Even IF say i dunno tat there's gonna be a sequel(as if.. rolleyes.gif ) tat means da movie is much much more worst..Can anyone even consider that as an ending? shakehead.gif

ccm123
post Dec 10 2007, 02:54 PM

579 posts

I think this movie is kinda boring... gotta read the book 1st though =/
ReWeR
post Dec 10 2007, 03:03 PM

Foreveralone
1,715 posts

the war part is so so only. but the daemon concept is interesting, your soul is living outside as daemon and will appear like an animal which resemble your character. Let's say you are loyal then your daemon will appear as dog. If you slap your daemon means you are slapping your soul ... haha.

also the ice bear is cute ... ya I know they suppose to be fierce and strong, but still I think they are cute. wish I can get one as pet tongue.gif
adoz
post Dec 10 2007, 03:11 PM

13 posts

7/10 for me since i like fantasy movies
-br0k3n-
post Dec 10 2007, 03:35 PM

167 posts

Any1 here if got go to Popular, check the graphic story GC. U'll find out tat the ending is so different from the movie.

In movie, after Lyra being caught, she's taken to the King. But in the book, the King only show up at ending.

In book also, it's state at Dr Asriel meet with Mdm (4get the name), but the ending in the movie juz show tat they go to find him...

The book i mention is not the real book, it's the book based on the movie.
SUSgogo2
post Dec 10 2007, 04:00 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

I'm going to watch this wednesday. I wanna check out how bad this movie is tongue.gif
herzeleid
post Dec 10 2007, 05:21 PM

770 posts

QUOTE(ReWeR @ Dec 10 2007, 03:03 PM)
the war part is so so only. but the daemon concept is interesting, your soul is living outside as daemon and will appear like an animal which resemble your character. Let's say you are loyal then your daemon will appear as dog. If you slap your daemon means you are slapping your soul ... haha.

also the ice bear is cute ... ya I know they suppose to be fierce and strong, but still I think they are cute. wish I can get one as pet tongue.gif
war part so so only ??
guess u need to watch more war flicks ..

this war scene is soooooooooo damn crappy that it couldnt even qualify as a war scene doh.gif
ReWeR
post Dec 10 2007, 06:11 PM

Foreveralone
1,715 posts

QUOTE(herzeleid @ Dec 10 2007, 05:21 PM)
war part so so only ??
guess u need to watch more war flicks ..

this war scene is soooooooooo damn crappy that it couldnt even qualify as a war scene  doh.gif
aiya ... dun be so picky icon_idea.gif I've seen war scene that is even worse. This one is ok ok liao.
Dreamworks
post Dec 10 2007, 06:38 PM

Shining with 3x2+1 stars!
2,141 posts

Watched this, but a bit let down though. The battle scenes are too short and end too quickly... At least it's better than "The Seeker" in my opinion yawn.gif

IS THAT ALL YOU'VE GOT? HUH? IS THAT ALL? IS THAT ALL?
Yeah, that's all tongue.gif
soraxroxas
post Dec 10 2007, 07:13 PM

170 posts

wow.........the best part of the show is when the teddy bear wack the mouth off the other bear. the rest? sucks........................ i thought it will be as good as lord of the ring because they have all the best actor=.="
oucheev
post Dec 10 2007, 09:55 PM

433 posts

Firstly I think its not a bad movie. In fact its quite good except the ending which left everyone rclxub.gif . Since I have read, the book I know the climax of the book was completely left out. Its a strange decision because it was filmed. Just look at the earlier trailer and you see that some really important parts were left out at the end. The ending totally spoilt the movie because its like the fellowship reached the mines of Moria and it ends. The studio screw up big time on this decision. I guess they did not want the movie ending in sad and dark note since its Christmas time. So what went wrong with this movie other than the ending?

1) Marketing. From the makers of LOTR. This really mislead a lot of people and they expect GC to be another LOTR. If you have read the book GC, you know its a different type of fantasy story. Its fantasy adventure mix with some sci-fi and religion concept. So most of the people will feel the movie sux because it does not have war or big battle scenes. Its the curse of LOTR. Narnia and Eragon suffered the same fate. OKlah I admit Eragon deserved the fate. whistling.gif

2) Hype. The book is very good and won some awards but its not as popular like Harry Potter or LOTR. There will not be people who camp outside the cinema just to watch the movie like the Harry Potter and Star Wars series. Thats why I dont think it will does not have the box office appeal of Harry Potter or LOTR.

3) Budget. The movie is grossly overbudget. What did they spend 180 million on? The special effects was good but not stunning. The sets were good and again its not stunning. Must have spent all the budget on Mr Bond and Nicole Kidman's salary. A 70 or 80 million budget movie should be more reasonable. After all, its only the first book. The studio screw up big time on this again.

4) Timing. Its Chrismas time in US and you release a anti-Christian movie during this period. If that is not suicide, I don't know what is?

5) Storyline. Dark Materials trilogy is a very complicated book because it touches on religion, science, etc. If you dumb down all this element and just concentrate on the adventure of Lyra, the whole story does not make much sense if you have not read the book. Thats why most of my friend who saw it does not really understand the storyline.

6) Story flow. This movie went too fast from one place to another. It should have slowed down and concentrate more on character development. I know some people find it already too slow but you must let people feel for the characters. Audience will care about them and want to know what happened to them at the end. I think its the editing problem. Probably the directors cut of the DVD will be better.

For those who wants to know what was left out and do not intent to read the book, read on and I will briefly tell you what the ending should be because with the weak box-office, I doubt the second and third part will be made.

Reimao
post Dec 11 2007, 06:25 AM

Hola~!
709 posts

Bravo for the explanation man.. thumbup.gif notworthy.gif rclxms.gif

Luckily ur not those ppl who BLINDLY supported the movie by saying the movie is 'good'..anyways its good tat u stand neutral but i think u still stand abit to the supporters group.. happy.gif

No worries though cuz ur da 1st to straighten things up bout da true journey of the story..thanx mate..
Klesk
post Dec 11 2007, 10:38 AM

3,469 posts

nice explanation there oucheev, i never thought the story was so deep, they should have included that part in the first installment of the movie...
soraxroxas
post Dec 11 2007, 12:47 PM

170 posts

i just wonder, they have 2 EXPENSIVE ACTORS/ACTRESS

but daniel craig like acted for less than 15min??? wow........( they are trying to lurn the daniel fans)

NIcole Kidman( also not much, maybe less than 20-30min)??

why cant they ask dacota danning or annasophia robb to act as the girl?=.-
songhan89
post Dec 11 2007, 02:44 PM

-Hankerchizf-
1,104 posts

I watched this movie a week ago. It was a terrible experiance even i though was dating Angelina Jolie, this movie doesn't even deserve a thread.

The movie has completely moronic storyline, terrible plot flow and lousy polar bear as a guardian. I see the girl saved the bear more times than the other way round. Pathetic .

I see some utterly plotless presence in some characters though. And the bear's armor was rather useless.

I give it a 3/10 for the cute little girl and easy going story for children.

This post has been edited by songhan89: Dec 11 2007, 02:45 PM
ReWeR
post Dec 11 2007, 02:53 PM

Foreveralone
1,715 posts

LOTR is talked about greed of human nature and the corruption power that make ppl suffer (there're sources say he hinted Nazi here).

His dark materials trilogy is more on telling the horror of having religion control on our thought, make us do not questions on universe, blind the children mind by saying this is only the decision from God and nothing else. The ultimate objective of religion is to make us sinless, but ask yourself, don't you become mindless zombie when all the sin was taken away from you?
oucheev
post Dec 11 2007, 04:29 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(Reimao @ Dec 11 2007, 06:25 AM)
Bravo for the explanation man.. thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif  rclxms.gif

Luckily ur not those ppl who BLINDLY supported the movie by saying the movie is 'good'..anyways its good tat u stand neutral but i think u still stand abit to the supporters group.. happy.gif

No worries though cuz ur da 1st to straighten things up bout da true journey of the story..thanx mate..
Yup I guess you're right, I am a bit biased becaused I love the book. Anyway, I don't think the second book is movie material because it deals with lots of conversation and hardly any action except at the end. So, if you think the first movie is boring, the second movie will be worse if they decide to make another movie. Anyway I think hollywood screw up all this children's book by selling them as the next LOTR type movies with all sorts of battles and wars. Look how they sell Narnia as something like LOTR. In the Narnia books, the battles and wars were usually only about one paragraph.
SUSgogo2
post Dec 13 2007, 08:35 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

Ok, I just watch yesterday. I haven't read the book yet. And surprise surprise, I find the movie very good actually. The flow is good, the story is good and the ending is good. I'm not sure why you guys said its bad. And its very easy to understand.

Looking forward to second instalment but i doubt it since majority find it not nice. Another thing is, cinema.com.my is 4 star. smile.gif
jehutyz
post Dec 13 2007, 09:05 AM

1,215 posts

My personal comment on this movie. The story plotting is kinda bad. Another movie that want to cramp a lot of content in just 2 hour show. A lot of things is unexplain. Most of the the i feel is bad as just show the person in that place then what is happening then skip to another scene. Bad one.

The ending is fine for me as a trilogy. If they want to have a trilogy why don't have a better opening than this. Hope will have budget for part 2 if not just a waste.
SUSgogo2
post Dec 13 2007, 10:17 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(jehutyz @ Dec 13 2007, 09:05 AM)
My personal comment on this movie. The story plotting is kinda bad. Another movie that want to cramp a lot of content in just 2 hour show. A lot of things is unexplain. Most of the the i feel is bad as just show the person in that place then what is happening then skip to another scene. Bad one.

The ending is fine for me as a trilogy. If they want to have a trilogy why don't have a better opening than this. Hope will have budget for part 2 if not just a waste.
wat is not explained? tongue.gif
SK2
post Dec 15 2007, 05:18 PM

79 posts

so dissapointed about this movie...no climax, just like one line.... shakehead.gif
and the story line is too bad..many things din explain well...what is the dust? is the dust an important things? then why din mention about this after that? really confused....maybe i havent read the book, but a good show should can give me more impression although i havent read a book , right? hmm.gif
kenny6891
post Dec 15 2007, 10:05 PM

^MusIC^
628 posts

so Golden Compass nice o not?
soraxroxas
post Dec 15 2007, 10:25 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(kenny6891 @ Dec 15 2007, 10:05 PM)
do u still nd to ask? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
oucheev
post Dec 15 2007, 11:57 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(kenny6891 @ Dec 15 2007, 10:05 PM)
Depends on what type of movies you like. If you like action packed movies or another LOTR. Skip it. If you're interested in a children's adventure movie, its quite good compared to Narnia or the latest Harry Potter. The problems with the movie was highlighted in my earlier posts.
Klesk
post Dec 16 2007, 12:05 AM

3,469 posts

lol i guess it is nice if you're a 12 year old, the only good thing was the polar bear battle for supremacy
g5sim
post Dec 16 2007, 03:35 AM

5,750 posts

Damn- they shouldnt put Daniel Craig in the poster. He just a cameo in the movie. the next installment of GOlden Compass should be : Saving Agent 007!

Added on December 16, 2007, 3:37 amMy name is Iorek. I am a bear. BEAR !!!!!!!

This post has been edited by g5sim: Dec 16 2007, 03:37 AM
Amedion
post Dec 16 2007, 02:05 PM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

Worst movie I've ever watch in cinema ...
madstone
post Dec 26 2007, 01:40 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Kinda dissapointed with GC
too short for me for an epic like LOTR
at least make it more than 2 hours or at least 3 hours

lot of things want to explain but they do it in very short time
lot of important dialogue gone missing
rynice
post Dec 26 2007, 02:34 PM

Frankly speaking, i don't think the gal is suitable to act as the main character in Golden Compass... tongue.gif
baoz
post Dec 26 2007, 04:28 PM

963 posts

Odd. I personally enjoyed the movie. A lot has been changed from the book but I thought it could very well stand on its own as a movie.

New Line Cinema probably made a mistake by saying that it's going to be like LotR. It's definitely not another LotR.

As for Dust, it'll be explained more if they make the 2nd movie. They didn't elaborate much on it either in the 1st book.

The new girl is good. She acted the role as Lyra well. I expected someone older...in her teens but Dakota Blue Richards didn't disappoint me anyway. Kinda disappointed that Daniel Craig only got like what - 15 minutes screen time?

I actually wanna watch it again. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by baoz: Dec 26 2007, 04:30 PM
SUSgogo2
post Dec 26 2007, 04:38 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Dec 26 2007, 04:28 PM)
Odd. I personally enjoyed the movie. A lot has been changed from the book but I thought it could very well stand on its own as a movie.

New Line Cinema probably made a mistake by saying that it's going to be like LotR. It's definitely not another LotR.

As for Dust, it'll be explained more if they make the 2nd movie. They didn't elaborate much on it either in the 1st book.

The new girl is good. She acted the role as Lyra well. I expected someone older...in her teens but Dakota Blue Richards didn't disappoint me anyway. Kinda disappointed that Daniel Craig only got like what - 15 minutes screen time?

I actually wanna watch it again. biggrin.gif
me too. it seems like people in this thread got problem in watchin movie. demand too high. this movie is already 2x better than
the stupid narnia movie
DaIdiot
post Dec 26 2007, 04:48 PM

1,028 posts

i enjoyed this movie too, like the book, alot of questions are left unanswered in the first installment of the movie.

More questions will show up in part 2 of the book/movie and some answers will appear, but nothing will be final till the 3rd and final part biggrin.gif
oucheev
post Dec 26 2007, 09:35 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(DaIdiot @ Dec 26 2007, 04:48 PM)
i enjoyed this movie too, like the book, alot of questions are left unanswered in the first installment of the movie.

More questions will show up in part 2 of the book/movie and some answers will appear, but nothing will be final till the 3rd and final part biggrin.gif
I like to movie too but its not doing well in US. So the chances for a sequel or a 3rd part in quite slim especially New Line is concentrating their budget on The Hobbit. Anyway most people did not like this movie because they compared it to LOTR. It happen to Narnia as well. Its a big mistake for New Line to market it as another LOTR. Another mistake were to aim the movie for children. The story is too dark and complicated for children. Most adult who watched it don't understand the story. They have already dumbed down the story and people still don't get it. Thats why I feel this story is suitable only for books and not movie material.

StraxorX
post Dec 26 2007, 09:38 PM

A lonely Duckling
539 posts

my friend said this movie is boring movie.
they didnt know how nice this movie is.
KaiCai
post Dec 27 2007, 09:05 AM

111 posts

Darn. i paid RM 11 juz to see 2 polar bears fighting. this movie is bad
baoz
post Dec 27 2007, 11:02 AM

963 posts

Haha, doesn't anybody like the final battle? I cried during that scene. blush.gif

herzeleid
post Dec 27 2007, 03:56 PM

770 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Dec 27 2007, 11:02 AM)
Haha, doesn't anybody like the final battle? I cried during that scene.  blush.gif

cik kakak .. umur berapa ??
Hikaru Kenshin
post Dec 27 2007, 04:01 PM

381 posts

Lol, this movie is based on the book ma..... what can you expect?
We need more sequels to this... this movie is not bad overall better than Seeker or Narnia lol...

BTW, National Treasure 2 rocks tongue.gif hehe
alienLYN
post Dec 28 2007, 03:49 AM

541 posts

As much as i admire Nicole Kidman's acting skills. This movie was a tad too boring. No progression of the plot. My gf slept through the movie leaving me trying to stay awake forcing myself to not "waste" the RM11 ticket shakehead.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jan 1 2008, 05:54 PM

52,874 posts

Watched it today ...

A little long and boring. At first, don't really catch the storyline. We will have second installament soon.

0.0389sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:27 PM