101 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

Dog Lover Mamaktiam! V2!, A Place For Dog Lovers To Gossip...

crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 30 2007, 11:59 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jul 30 2007, 11:27 PM)
I need serious help here. My dog has a skin problem so we went to a vet. The vet gave us 3 medication.
1. Fungus
2. Allergy
3. Antibiotics

Thing is, he hate those medicine. If mix in his food also he will not finish it. He will specifically spit those medicine out. I had to wrestle him, open his mouth and then force him eat it which often gag him is what I hate most.

For the past one week, we have been feeding it nothing but Orijen. However, we dont see any improvements. I think for now, I would like to say Orijen could be the culprit since Casper is a westie, a double coated pup which Orijen's 70% meat causes it to be too heaty for him?

Anyway, I am switching back to Eaglepack this weekend. The last puppy pack for him before he turns 1 at Oct. I hope the rashes on his body will go away. Poor furkid, dont have treats (biscal, dentastix, greenies, milk powder etc) all taken away.

Question for today:
1. How old should I feed him milk powder until?

2. My pup is 10 months old and he has had Nutri Source, Eaglepack and Orijen but now going back to Eaglepack. Is that OK to change 3 brands since birth?

3. What are the possible causes of rashes on dogs? We shower him twice a week now so he'd feel better and cleaner.

4. HOW DO I GET HIM TO EAT HIS MEDICINE?!
The vet gave you 3 meds coz I think he also unsure what is the causes..... if Orijen is causing this, then stop. If your Casper was doing ok with Eaglepack, you can continue with it.

You do not mix the medication with the food, that won't help at all. The only way is to force the meds into his mouth. If you are afraid to do it, get soft sweet bread.... then wrap the pill with some bread, shape it into a ball and put into the mouth.... or you can use canned food... if this helps lah. There is a pill syringe, sold at some petshops.... it looks like a big syringe that you think was for giving injections but it is made of plastic, with a small clip at the end. The clip holds the pill, the syringe holds the water and you just pump the water to wash the pill into the throat.

You should stop giving milk powder already..... dogs don't need the extra proteins from milk unless its a lactating female or an underweight dog or young puppy.

As long you do not change brands all of the sudden, then it is ok.

Rashes can be anything.... some dogs get hot spots.... some redness under their belly.... some all over the body, some flaky skin. The reasons can be anything.... shampoo, food, environment, grass, moisture, fungus spores, bacteria, allergies....

If Casper still shows such signs even after eating Eaglepack, then change food.... get fish protein.... or lamb..... so far I have heard good feedbacks about fish protein. Lamb is good too.... some dogs are allergic to beef and chicken so lamb is one of the substitutes...

Another brand which is manufactured for sensitive dogs is Addiction.... I don't think picky eaters will eat this brand but it is the only brand that is producing Vegetarian dogfood and wild game dogfood. Chicken and beef and sometimes lamb can cause allergies.... but wild game animals do not. Possum, Venison, Kangaroo are some of the meats Addiction uses in its product line.....

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Jul 31 2007, 12:05 AM
Pennywise
post Jul 31 2007, 12:37 AM

5,796 posts

Hun,
The reason why I switch from Eaglepack to Orijen is because he was not eating for days. Yes, Casper is a very picky doggy!!

Anyway, thanks for your advice Hun. It helps, as always. I will look out for that syringe. Ok, I will also stop giving milk powder. By the way, what do you mean when you say soft-sweet-bread? Please clarify with pict / price preferably. I plan to get it tomorrow.

So far, I have been feeding him medicine by forcing him to eat it but some times I tercekik him, gagged him, worried. It also get harder each day, hence I think its better I put it in some food. I will try to include it in some Caesar.

Yes, you are right, the vet is unsure.

angelgurl_nee,
Ok, I will take your advice for it... THank you! May I just ask, where is that good vet you mentioned?

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Jul 31 2007, 12:42 AM
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 31 2007, 12:44 AM

12,047 posts

Well.... if you have eaten any bread that is soft and taste a bit sweet, you can use that. Sometimes I buy potato bread from the bakery.... but any bread that is soft and taste a bit sweet will do.

I bet Casper won't even touch Addiction if he smells it hahaha.... coz my Chelsea won't.

Anyway, I don't know if Pet Safari still sell it or not but I remember seeing the syringe sold there. I once had one, got it from a vet in Subang.... I think it was Mayo clinic.... it was easy to feed pills with that syringe.

Added on July 31, 2007, 12:46 amAnother reason why must be soft and a bit sweet... soft so that you can easily roll the pill with the bread and make it like a small ball. Sweet is so that it covers up the smell of the tablet as well as acts like glue so the ball won't fall apart.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Jul 31 2007, 12:46 AM
jaunty_niel
post Jul 31 2007, 12:49 AM

i love ribena.
3,260 posts

QUOTE(nicwise @ Jul 30 2007, 11:32 PM)
Ok thanks I will observe and see how much she can eat normally. Because now she just took the jab so appetite not very good. Wait for her to get better first.

Orijen should be very good if not the best but it is very expensive. Do you know anywhere that sells less then the retail price? I bought it at RM110 for a 7kg pack at buddypetwagon.com and there is no petshop in JB that sells Orijen dogfood.

I think I'm gonna try the housebreaking aid because I am quite desperate and I dont care about the smell, just hope it will work successfully.
Thanks. It's my pleasure  biggrin.gif
This seems to be a good method but I think it only works when you confine your puppy to a small area for example a room. If not i think he will choose a few spots to do his business in.
orijen u can take from whitepalace, he's selling around da same price, but u can ask whether he can giv u discount or not lor..

really kenot tahan da smell of housebreaking aid..
Pennywise
post Jul 31 2007, 12:50 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jul 31 2007, 12:44 AM)
Well.... if you have eaten any bread that is soft and taste a bit sweet, you can use that. Sometimes I buy potato bread from the bakery.... but any bread that is soft and taste a bit sweet will do.

I bet Casper won't even touch Addiction if he smells it hahaha.... coz my Chelsea won't.

Anyway, I don't know if Pet Safari still sell it or not but I remember seeing the syringe sold there. I once had one, got it from a vet in Subang.... I think it was Mayo clinic.... it was easy to feed pills with that syringe.

Added on July 31, 2007, 12:46 amAnother reason why must be soft and a bit sweet... soft so that you can easily roll the pill with the bread and make it like a small ball. Sweet is so that it covers up the smell of the tablet as well as acts like glue so the ball won't fall apart.
It should NOT be chocolate cream, right? I know chocolate are harmful to animals but so far, my dog dont like bread. Gardenia white loaf bread does not work with him. He like to smell and waste but not eat them.

I need to find something tasty, meanwhile tmr I will wrap his medicine with Caesar dog food, bit by bit. Damn!! Hopefully I can trick him to eat it...

That syringe thing is badly needed. Mayo clinic at Subang, near where? Can have some directions / pointers? I will go there buy tomorrow.
^MochI^
post Jul 31 2007, 12:54 AM

An Angel Living A Devil's Life
4,565 posts

Oh pennywise. i saw the syringe at 1U petswonderland! Good luck!
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 31 2007, 01:00 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jul 31 2007, 12:50 AM)
It should NOT be chocolate cream, right? I know chocolate are harmful to animals but so far, my dog dont like bread. Gardenia white loaf bread does not work with him. He like to smell and waste but not eat them.

I need to find something tasty, meanwhile tmr I will wrap his medicine with Caesar dog food, bit by bit. Damn!! Hopefully I can trick him to eat it...

That syringe thing is badly needed. Mayo clinic at Subang, near where? Can have some directions / pointers? I will go there buy tomorrow.
Oh, chocolate is a no for dogs hahaha...

Well, if your Casper don't like bread, you can use Caesar but then Caesar is very soft.... you will have to make it sticky and slightly solid as if it were Plasticine hahaha. You can add some oats into the canned food, mix it and cover up the pill.

Mayo Clinic is near Taipan.... but I am not sure if they still have that syringe since it came with the meds and that was like 2 years ago hehehe.... but you can call them first. The number is on the vet list.

I was about to say cheese but then I remembered the vet I go to said that some meds cannot be mixed with dairy products....
lilcatty
post Jul 31 2007, 01:16 AM

Procrastinator
939 posts

Pennywise: I see Nutro's Lamb & Rice quite good, lovely smell and my furkid love it! even though i've changed from Innova to Nutro, just the first few times and he can totally eat without mixing them already..

maybe u can try let him try Nutro? it's good for their coat biggrin.gif my older MS eats Nutro too and she has smooth and nice coat, if u dont mind trying u can go buy at Pet Safari also got smile.gif
angelgurl_nee
post Jul 31 2007, 01:23 AM

3,819 posts

Pennywise, my boyfriend is from port dickson sweat.gif but the vet an indian man and he did house calls...i remembered him saying that it may have been caused by a type of bacteria and after he gave the injection, he asked to clean the whole house discretely as the bacteria have have infested parts of the hse...
nezumitaro
post Jul 31 2007, 06:57 AM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

QUOTE(nicwise @ Jul 30 2007, 04:04 PM)
I got her from a petshop in JB that imported them in from Thailand but their parents are from Taiwan.

It cost RM2600, the petshop owner said she is just testing to see if there are any demand for this dog. There were 3 of them in the petshop, 2 females and 1 male but the male has already been bought when I went there. But Babo is the most beautiful out of the 3 although she is really quite a handful now.

I actually was preparing to get her from a local breeder but I read from a chinese forum that 2 girls bought their corgi from a local breeder and one of them had hips dysplasia which is hereditary so I decided against getting from a local breeder because I'm afraid of getting one with the disease which can never be cured.
RM2600 with cert??

QUOTE(nicwise @ Jul 30 2007, 04:47 PM)
Haha thanks but I'm not sure if I am very lucky because yesterday she bit me on the hands and it bleed. I think its because she is teething now and yesterday she was biting an old slipper in the house and I took the slipper away from her then she got very yuppy. She keep jumping up and down and trying to bite my hands, I was not fast enough and she jumped up and bit me then I quite angry that time so I turned away from her and ignore her for 30 mins.

Here's more pics of her in sleeping smile.gif

[attachmentid=269530]

[attachmentid=269531]
baby pee poo alot as they canot hold themselve... just tell her bite is not acceptable will do, baby excited sure bite... cos dog only hv mouth to grap u.. they don't hv hands n legs like us..smile.gif cute baby!!
Pennywise
post Jul 31 2007, 08:12 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Jul 31 2007, 12:54 AM)
Oh pennywise. i saw the syringe at 1U petswonderland! Good luck!
Mochi, thank you very much. I think I will go get it from 1U soon then!! The syringe is badly needed.

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jul 31 2007, 01:00 AM)
Oh, chocolate is a no for dogs hahaha...

Well, if your Casper don't like bread, you can use Caesar but then Caesar is very soft.... you will have to make it sticky and slightly solid as if it were Plasticine hahaha. You can add some oats into the canned food, mix it and cover up the pill.

Mayo Clinic is near Taipan.... but I am not sure if they still have that syringe since it came with the meds and that was like 2 years ago hehehe.... but you can call them first. The number is on the vet list.

I was about to say cheese but then I remembered the vet I go to said that some meds cannot be mixed with dairy products....
Yea I also think Caesar is very soft, thats why I hope can somehow tipu him to eat it. When you said mix the oats, do you mean uncook oats or at least boil them?

Dont need to get a Mayo clinic anymore since Mochi said that Pets Wonderland has it. Thanks Hun.

QUOTE(lilcatty @ Jul 31 2007, 01:16 AM)
Pennywise: I see Nutro's Lamb & Rice quite good, lovely smell and my furkid love it! even though i've changed from Innova to Nutro, just the first few times and he can totally eat without mixing them already..

maybe u can try let him try Nutro? it's good for their coat biggrin.gif my older MS eats Nutro too and she has smooth and nice coat, if u dont mind trying u can go buy at Pet Safari also got smile.gif
Is Nutro hollistic? I dont want to go back to premium brand. I just wanna stick with hollistic. Oh well, if Casper dont like eaglepack, I guess its no harm to try. I was seriously hoping that he'd like Orijen but unexpectedly it gave him so much trouble. However, it's still not concluded that the rashes are due to orijen, I just assume so because after one week of medication, no improvement.
joanalooidog
post Jul 31 2007, 09:26 AM

2,823 posts

oh, recently so many pups got skin problem hor....My shih tzu also got it, been to the vet, hope will recover. The vet also not sure about the problem, wat he do is give watever is possible, change food, give antibiotics, anti-allergy pills, antibiotic cream, plus a jab.
She got red spots with no pus over her body. The weird part is the spots only can be found on her body, not under her tummy. The spots covered by hair, hard to find them and apply cream......
Last time my pup dun hv this problem, but after i swtiched her to Eagle PAck holistic chicken(not saying that this brand is no good)....dunno whether is this the cause, but her pack has finished, now back to BW. After finish this BW puppy, will change to BW lamb and rice.

Pennywise: the pill syringe ah, for ur info, the pet shop at TMn Megah there got sell.
But i din buy also. I mix the pill together with her kibbles. Wat i do is I'll add a bit supplement, like nutristat or nutrigel on it. Squeeze some on it so that it stick the pill and kibbles together, then my pup will wallop everything. U can try though.........

Another thing is u can try royal canin kibbles for allergy skin(recommend by the vet, but i din buy also), i think contains no corn and chicken, main ingredient is fish.....around Rm66 per 2kg pack. Smells nice too.

This post has been edited by joanalooidog: Jul 31 2007, 09:30 AM
Pennywise
post Jul 31 2007, 10:26 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Jul 31 2007, 09:26 AM)
oh, recently so many pups got skin problem hor....My shih tzu also got it, been to the vet, hope will recover. The vet also not sure about the problem, wat he do is give watever is possible, change food, give antibiotics, anti-allergy pills, antibiotic cream, plus a jab.
She got red spots with no pus over her body. The weird part is the spots only can be found on her body, not under her tummy. The spots covered by hair, hard to find them and apply cream......
Last time my pup dun hv this problem, but after i swtiched her to Eagle PAck holistic chicken(not saying that this brand is no good)....dunno whether is this the cause, but her pack has finished, now back to BW. After finish this BW puppy, will change to BW lamb and rice.

Pennywise: the pill syringe ah, for ur info, the pet shop at TMn Megah there got sell.
But i din buy also. I mix the pill together with her kibbles. Wat i do is I'll add a bit supplement, like nutristat or nutrigel on it. Squeeze some on it so that it stick the pill and kibbles together, then my pup will wallop everything. U can try though.........

Another thing is u can try royal canin kibbles for allergy skin(recommend by the vet, but i din buy also), i think contains no corn and chicken, main ingredient is fish.....around Rm66 per 2kg pack. Smells nice too.
Hi Joanalooidog,
Thank you for your advice. I so happen to have NutriStat at home but never thought of the idea. Thanks for sharing.

My vet has told me not to give him anything besides the kibble to narrow down the possibility of the cause that is giving him rashes. I think I will give it a shot with NutriStat since I have not fed him with it in a long time (so its not a possible cause).

Yea, its hard to apply cream for them because its on their back where all the fur is covered, especially true if your dog has double coat like my Casper, a westie.
^MochI^
post Jul 31 2007, 04:19 PM

4,565 posts

pennywise do call 1u petwonderland first. i saw the syringe last mth. Dunoe now they still hav anot. The num is at the petshop list.
Get well soon Casper!
nairud
post Jul 31 2007, 04:32 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

If you guys noticed, now is kutu season. better becareful
^MochI^
post Jul 31 2007, 04:38 PM

4,565 posts

Wah.. kutu also got season wan.. sleep.gif

jaunty_niel
post Jul 31 2007, 05:16 PM

i love ribena.
3,260 posts

like bugs oso got season la.
preparing my frontline d.
wakakkaka..
lilcatty
post Jul 31 2007, 06:23 PM

Procrastinator
939 posts

Pennywise: i dont think it's a holistic one because they have diff types, the Ultra one is holistic.. while i think the lamb and rice would be more to a premium one.. but i'm not sure whether malaysia have the 'Ultra' ones sad.gif sorry i cant help out even a bit..

and w00ttttt it's ticks season!? i would even let Copper stand out of the house a bit D:

This post has been edited by lilcatty: Jul 31 2007, 06:23 PM
Syrian
post Jul 31 2007, 07:23 PM

2,761 posts

when does the kutu season last ??? I guess i will not bring Hepy outta house until it's over tongue.gif. Anyone has any idea ?
wjie20
post Jul 31 2007, 10:41 PM

6 Star-Dude
1,582 posts

usually rainy times i guess?

101 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:20 PM