> Awek denied boarding to Aussie

prophetjul
post Aug 9 2019, 08:38 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 9 2019, 08:35 AM)
3k AUD a month can't even survive lah my frog faced fren.....

Liddat better stay home in Malaysia.
Cannot survive on $750 a week?
You sure?

prophetjul
post Aug 9 2019, 08:51 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(LamTin. @ Aug 9 2019, 08:50 AM)
He so arrogant bcoz he manyak high salary over there of course for him is cannot survive.
Yea

He's a On G man.

limeuu
post Aug 9 2019, 08:53 AM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 9 2019, 08:38 AM)
You sure?
After tax, it wouldn't be....at 36k, I think tax is 25%.....plus 2% Medicare levy....

A room at share rental in reasonable area with utilities is already 200/week....higher in syd/Mel.....

36k pa is really borderline poverty ...... equivalent to say, 2k pm MYR in KL.....

prophetjul
post Aug 9 2019, 09:00 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 9 2019, 08:53 AM)
After tax, it wouldn't be....at 36k, I think tax is 25%.....plus 2% Medicare levy....

A room at share rental in reasonable area with utilities is already 200/week....higher in syd/Mel.....

36k pa is really borderline poverty ...... equivalent to say, 2k pm MYR in KL.....
Much less than 25%

https://www.paycalculator.com.au/

Total tax is $3402 p a.

Medi $720

Leaves $31878. About $613 p week.
limeuu
post Aug 9 2019, 09:03 AM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 9 2019, 09:00 AM)
Much less than 25%
https://www.paycalculator.com.au/
Total tax is $3402 p a.
Medi  $720
Leaves $31878.  About $613 p week.
At that income, you are condemned to forever rent....
empire23
post Aug 9 2019, 09:04 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 9 2019, 08:38 AM)
You sure?
You can but barely. That's pretty much minimum wage as minimum wage is 725 dollars per week.

At that level you pay 10 percent income tax. Which means you get about 650 a week.

Average rent is 200 a week with utilities, so you have 400 left.

Say makan 15 dollars a day because you don't eat out but you cook decent food. So you have 295 left.

Transport usually based on zones and if you work fruit picking, you're easily doing a few zones. But usually 12 to 13 bucks a day is enough lower border estimate. So you have 200 left.

Not including handphone, health insurance, emergency funds, entertainment......

prophetjul
post Aug 9 2019, 09:05 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 9 2019, 09:03 AM)
At that income, you are condemned to forever rent....
Yea. Hopefuly the income will rise. biggrin.gif

prophetjul
post Aug 9 2019, 09:08 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 9 2019, 09:04 AM)
You can but barely. That's pretty much minimum wage as minimum wage is 725 dollars per week.

At that level you pay 10 percent income tax. Which means you get about 650 a week.

Average rent is 200 a week with utilities, so you have 400 left.

Say makan 15 dollars a day because you don't eat out but you cook decent food. So you have 295 left.

Transport usually based on zones and if you work fruit picking, you're easily doing a few zones. But usually 12 to 13 bucks a day is enough lower border estimate. So you have 200 left.

Not including handphone, health insurance, emergency funds, entertainment......
Yeah

Its really minimum wage. But one can still 'survive'. Compare with Malaysia's minimum wage of Rm1,100.

Survivalist do not consider entertainment! laugh.gif
Get a yearly travel card. Its much cheaper if you do different zones.
limeuu
post Aug 9 2019, 09:19 AM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 9 2019, 09:05 AM)
Yea. Hopefuly the income will rise.  biggrin.gif
From fruit picking? Not a chance.....lol
empire23
post Aug 9 2019, 09:22 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 9 2019, 09:08 AM)
Yeah

Its really minimum wage. But one can still 'survive'. Compare with Malaysia's minimum wage of Rm1,100.
Survivalist do not consider entertainment!  laugh.gif
Get a yearly travel card. Its much cheaper if you do different zones.
Yeah...I generally consider the threshold for a worthwhile lifestyle to be around the 60k per annum mark, it means you aren't stressed as long as you live a relatively austere lifestyle. And that isn't much either.

Also, manaada yearly travel card here, most states don't do monthly or yearly passes. You can only get concession fares if you're a registered student or a welfare recipient.
prophetjul
post Aug 9 2019, 09:22 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 9 2019, 09:19 AM)
From fruit picking? Not a chance.....lol
If its fruit picking, surely they can get much cheaper accommodations in the countryside?
empire23
post Aug 9 2019, 09:26 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 9 2019, 09:22 AM)
If its fruit picking, surely they can get much cheaper accommodations in the countryside?
Not really, I used to work in a regional area. Fruit picking, chicken handling, commercial cleaning....I've done that to pay my way through uni.

Room for rent was 130 a week in 2008 in a regional area. Not inclusive of utilities.

Remember utilities have a large base charge here regardless of whether you use them or not, and in countryside areas electricity and gas are 30 to 40 percent more expensive sometimes due to the cost of servicing rural areas.
limeuu
post Aug 9 2019, 09:27 AM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 9 2019, 09:22 AM)
Of course they do.....these illegal fruit pickers generally live on the farm, they don't mind basic cramp living conditions, don't pay any taxes, and save their money ....

That's the whole point of the exercise....work and save for a few years.....they know eventually they will be found out and have to leave... Hopefully not before saving enough to justify the whole exercise....
limeuu
post Aug 9 2019, 09:28 AM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 9 2019, 09:26 AM)
Not really, I used to work in a regional area. Fruit picking, chicken handling, commercial cleaning....I've done that to pay my way through uni.

Room for rent was 130 a week in 2008 in a regional area. Not inclusive of utilities.

Remember utilities have a large base charge here regardless of whether you use them or not, and in countryside areas electricity and gas are 30 to 40 percent more expensive sometimes due to the cost of servicing rural areas.
I though you drove taxi......
empire23
post Aug 9 2019, 09:30 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 9 2019, 09:28 AM)
I though you drove taxi......
Yeah did that for 2 and half years, but when taxi shifts dried up. Had to do other things to keep the income train rolling.

I worked 7 days a week. So in my opinion, minimum weekly wage of 600 ish after tax isn't living.
prophetjul
post Aug 9 2019, 09:45 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(LamTin. @ Aug 9 2019, 09:43 AM)
Are you sure those illegal workers without working permit have to pay income tax as well?
I am not. biggrin.gif
empire23
post Aug 9 2019, 09:50 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(LamTin. @ Aug 9 2019, 09:43 AM)
Are you sure those illegal workers without working permit have to pay income tax as well?
A cash payment or what we call a "cashie" is possible, but usually they get only 13 dollars an hour because the employer knows they're desperate ler.

The usual going rate is 30 percent off a full rate if you want cash in hand. They employer will hide your payments but it also costs them money as they can't deduct your pay from their business income anymore for lower tax.
Bonchi
post Aug 9 2019, 12:55 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Aug 9 2019, 06:46 AM)
LEL... AUD3k=RM10k, there you have it laugh.gif
tak cukup la sweat.gif guess i can never be a fruit picker haha
differ
post Aug 9 2019, 01:08 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(KayDknighT @ Aug 8 2019, 09:33 PM)
macam kiling mabuk todi
This one next level racist dy.
Rand
post Aug 9 2019, 01:29 PM

319 posts

Basically it's not worth it to work in Australia illegally or at minimum wage. Working holiday visa should only be taken as an experience, not a way to earn money.

43 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 >

0.0216sec    2.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:25 PM