[RESOLVED] Creaking Sound When Going Over Bumps, Suspension Issue Honda City TMO (09-13)

TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 10:15 AM, updated 3y ago

22 posts

Hi everyone. my Honda City TMO (2010) has been making creaking sounds at the front ('nyek -nyek'...like old spring bed ) when going over uneven surface / the slightest bumps. I took the car to Honda SC a few weeks back when the sound was not so obvious, and they said it was the STABILIZER BAR BUSH. I have since tried to google this and found that worn out stabilizer bush will result in clunking or knocking sound and not creaking.
I have an appointment to replace the stabilizer bar bush in a few days @ RM120+, but i am not confident it will solve the problem. The SC did say that my front absorbers need to be changed as well since its almost 9 years old. But again, according my Google searches, bad shocks don't creak - they only leak, go dead, etc. (Do correct me if i am wrong). My priority is getting rid of the sound since the ride doesn't seem harsh to me esp since the car is mostly used for short trips.

There is no sound when turning the steering. No other problems with car ride or handling. Everything in the car is stock. Im guessing it is something to do with the coil spring mounting

Really appreciate if those who have faced this problem could share their experience and how it was resolved. Thanks a lot

This post has been edited by Swivlev: Aug 6 2019, 06:51 PM
smallcrab
post Aug 4 2019, 10:17 AM

140 posts

are you a student?

since only RM120, just change it first

no need headache troubleshooting
SUSAllnGap
post Aug 4 2019, 10:20 AM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Aug 4 2019, 10:15 AM)
Hi everyone. my Honda City TMO (2010) has been making creaking sounds at the front ('nyek -nyek'...like old spring bed ) when going over uneven surface / the slightest bumps. I took the car to Honda SC a few weeks back when the sound was not so obvious, and they said it was the STABILIZER BAR BUSH. I have since tried to google this and found that worn out stabilizer bush will result in clunking or knocking sound and not creaking.
I have an appointment to replace the stabilizer bar bush in a few days @ RM120+, but  i am not confident it will solve the problem. The SC did say that my front absorbers need to be changed as well since its almost 9 years old. But again, according my Google searches, bad shocks don't creak - they only leak, go dead, etc. (Do correct me if i am wrong). My priority is getting rid of the sound since the ride doesn't seem harsh to me esp since the car is mostly used for short trips.

There is no sound when turning the steering. No other problems with car ride or handling. Everything in the car is stock. Im guessing it is something to do with the coil spring mounting

Really appreciate if those who have faced this problem could share their experience and how it was resolved. Thanks a lot
Buy at205 spray on rubber parts
Absorber mounting should be the part making noise when you hit bumps

ihavenoidea
post Aug 4 2019, 10:22 AM

1,301 posts

Did uncle google didnt tell you to get a 2nd opinion at a different workshop?
ihavenoidea

1,301 posts

Double post

This post has been edited by ihavenoidea: Aug 4 2019, 10:24 AM
SUSNew Klang

4,998 posts

After 9 years, almost all parts of the suspension system needs replacement if you want the new car feel.
SUSskyblu3
post Aug 4 2019, 10:23 AM

157 posts

I have an appointment to replace the stabilizer bar bush in a few days @ RM120+, but  i am not confident it will solve the problem. The SC did say that my front absorbers need to be changed as well since its almost 9 years old. But again, according my Google searches, bad shocks don't creak - they only leak, go dead, etc. (Do correct me if i am wrong). My priority is getting rid of the sound since the ride doesn't seem harsh to me esp since the car is mostly used for short trips.

Stabilizer bar/anti roll bar bushing worn out usually cause knocking, not squeek.

MR_alien
post Aug 4 2019, 10:25 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

9 years old car and haven't change absorber before
it's time lah

squeaking is indicating that your absorber needed replacement already
SUSAllnGap
post Aug 4 2019, 10:26 AM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Aug 4 2019, 10:22 AM)
After 9 years, almost all parts of the suspension system needs replacement if you want the new car feel.
Not really.
If the rubber parts doesn't collapse or crack no need to change. If change all rubber parts need like 2-3k.

There's a chemical called at205 to rejuvenate rubber. Spray some test n see sound can go away. If not only go change the part. And not necessarily change the correct part as mechanic just guess which part to change only

My suspension also got sound when hit bumps, after spray no more sound. I prayed onto absorber mounts
SUSAllnGap
post Aug 4 2019, 10:27 AM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Aug 4 2019, 10:25 AM)
it's time lah

Squeaking is the absorber mount.
Not absorber.

If absorber the whole car will oscillate up down excessively after hitting bump
SUSAllnGap
post Aug 4 2019, 10:29 AM

4,561 posts

Most likely sound comes from this part.
You can try spray wd40 see sound goes away.

If yes then can buy at205 later to apply

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Aug 4 2019, 10:30 AM

TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 10:47 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(smallcrab @ Aug 4 2019, 10:17 AM)
are you a student?

since only RM120, just change it first

no need headache troubleshooting
Sorry, i don't subscribe to your approach. All the same, thanks for your input.
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 10:49 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(ihavenoidea @ Aug 4 2019, 10:22 AM)
Did uncle google didnt tell you to get a 2nd opinion at a different workshop?
Thanks for ur insightful comments.
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 10:50 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Aug 4 2019, 10:25 AM)
it's time lah

Thanks for your view
idoblu
post Aug 4 2019, 10:52 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

i have the same problem but at the rear. let me know once you get rid of it....tia
Global_Financing
post Aug 4 2019, 10:54 AM

driving the same honda city and got the same sound when going over bumps, at the front.

tell me when u solved it.
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 11:00 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Aug 4 2019, 10:29 AM)

Hi AllnGap,

Thanks for reading my post, understanding my question and offering solutions. This can sometimes be a rare commodity on this forum.

I am leaning towards the mounts, bushing or coil spring insulator/seat as the culprits. I will look up the product u mentioned..thanks a lot.

In the meantime, i still hope someone who has first hand experience with this problem could weigh in and help zero-in on the problem.

Cheers
aziratul
post Aug 4 2019, 11:02 AM

136 posts

In this /k alone, ive seen a lot honda prob here n there been discuss

Luls

But still so many support it
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 11:03 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(Global_Financing @ Aug 4 2019, 10:54 AM)
driving the same honda city and got the same sound when going over bumps, at the front.

tell me when u solved it.
did u take ur car to a workshop ? I suggest u do that and we can compare findings
netmatrix
post Aug 4 2019, 11:08 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,734 posts

To be fair we do not know what kind of abuse the car went through. Another thing is quality of parts may be of another factor why the car creaks over duration of time.

Be fair 10 years is really a long time for rubber/ silicone/ PU parts to be in service.

Spraying oils/ chemicals is only a stop gap measure. Replacing is the only way to go. You have to remember crushed /worn with material loss/ cracked parts cannot be rejuvenated with any chemicals.

I am driving a 10 year old Myvi and a 43 year old Corolla. So i do know what kind of acceptable damage and wear level either car has with the age and driving that goes into it. Your 10 year old Honda would have same wear level on suspension as my Myvi. The myvi has creaking sound at the back when braking. And rattly under carriage when driving on bad roads. All are due to worn bushings that needs to be changed. I have sprayed WD silicone on these joints and it is only good for about a few weeks if it was not raining. I wish i have time to mount an action cam to the under carriage to prove my point. But get the car on a lift and manually shaking the suspension & control arms confirms the worn parts for play and creaks.

If you are still not happy that anyone can prove that the worn parts that needs replacing, then buy a new car. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 11:14 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Aug 4 2019, 11:08 AM)
To be fair we do not know what kind of abuse the car went through. Another thing is quality of parts may be of another factor why the car creaks over duration of time.

Be fair 10 years is really a long time for rubber/ silicone/ PU parts to be in service.

Spraying oils/ chemicals is only a stop gap measure. Replacing is the only way to go. You have to remember crushed /worn with material loss/ cracked parts cannot be rejuvenated with any chemicals.

I am driving a 10 year old Myvi and a 43 year old Corolla. So i do know what kind of acceptable damage and wear level either car has with the age and driving that goes into it. Your 10 year old Honda would have same wear level on suspension as my Myvi. The myvi has creaking sound at the back when braking. And rattly under carriage when driving on bad roads. All are due to worn bushings that needs to be changed. I have sprayed WD silicone on these joints and it is only good for about a few weeks if it was not raining. I wish i have time to mount an action cam to the under carriage to prove my point. But get the car on a lift and manually shaking the suspension & control arms confirms the worn parts for play and creaks.

If you are still not happy that anyone can prove that the worn parts that needs replacing, then buy a new car.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
ketupatlazat
post Aug 4 2019, 11:19 AM

555 posts

Tukak to used city 2015 sudeh

Around 50k or less can get already
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 11:21 AM

22 posts

The car has only done 90k on the road. Was always driven carefully and gently and parked in covered area. Everything on the car is original. Fully maintained at Honda SC till today.

I do understand that rubber degrades with time and im prepared to change whatever necessary. Just trying to avoid fixing things blindly. In my experience, once you start opening up and changing parts you start a chain reaction where 1 after the other, related components start to act up - i guess coz the equilibrium has been disturbed.

No need for anyone to prove anything la. Just share if you have faced simillar issues so that i can minimize fiddling with the car more than necessary.

Cheers

This post has been edited by Swivlev: Aug 4 2019, 11:26 AM
Enzam
post Aug 4 2019, 11:21 AM

169 posts

Got ju-on below. Don't look down when your hear it next time.
shirohamada
post Aug 4 2019, 11:23 AM

944 posts

1 2 3 4

rcracer
post Aug 4 2019, 11:24 AM

?????
3,772 posts

lower arm
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 11:48 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Aug 4 2019, 11:24 AM)
lower arm
Did you experience this yourself? I thought if lower arm it would have steering vibration, sound when turning steering. I don't experience any of this. Is it possible to just change out the bush of the arm and not the antire arm?

This post has been edited by Swivlev: Aug 4 2019, 11:53 AM
SUSAllnGap
post Aug 4 2019, 12:03 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Aug 4 2019, 11:08 AM)

If you are still not happy that anyone can prove that the worn parts that needs replacing, then buy a new car.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
yes WD silicone can just last a few weeks, but at least you know that part is worn. rain water will wash away easily too
Problem has been identified to be that particular piece.

Mechs are just guessing anyway when it comes to this, tell you change lower arm, sound still there, stabilizer bushing all those change, later sound still there !!!!
it's all their guessing only. to be on safe side is of course change all.

the chemical i use is AT205, i've checked the compound itself, it will cause rubber to swell.
i put it into spray bottle. after 30min, spray bottle cant spray d, i think the rubber inside it swell and cause it to be inoperable.

what i wanna say is the problem is just that stupid sound, if it doesnt affect the handling or cause the whole car to sway, it's just the annoying sound problem.
Chemical wise WD40 is an excellent problem detector, while AT205 can cause the rubber to swell.
If the AT205 doesnt work, then treat it as preventive maintenance routine.
if it does work, then can save you a few hundred bucks.

I've seen in CX5 facebook groups that their suspension making creaking sound after 2years. if everytime got creak go change the whole part sure pokai wan. sometimes the rubber shrinks a bit, when it makes contact, it rubs against something making that creaking sound only

idoblu
post Aug 4 2019, 12:06 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Aug 4 2019, 11:23 AM)
1 2 3 4

thanks, learned something today
gonna put some in my engine, hopefully it can stop the leak rclxms.gif
SUSAllnGap
post Aug 4 2019, 12:07 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Aug 4 2019, 11:48 AM)
Did you experience this yourself? I thought if lower arm it would have steering vibration, sound when turning steering. I don't experience any of this. Is it possible to just change out the bush of the arm and not the antire arm?
It's most likely absorber mount (called struts)
that piece of rubber is attached to your car holding the absorber.
when you hit bumps, the rubber is compressed, thus making annoying sound.

see this picture, it's the black stuff on top of the absorber. that piece of thing shrink d

Boomwick
post Aug 4 2019, 12:15 PM

1,007 posts

1. Absorber
2. Absorber mount
3. Drive shaft
4. Engine mount
5. Lower arm
6. 4 pcs Tayar change
7. Power steering oil change
8. Door rubber all change

9th option is best.. change car

Then will feel ok
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 12:58 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Aug 4 2019, 12:07 PM)
It's most likely absorber mount (called struts)
that piece of rubber is attached to your car holding the absorber.
when you hit bumps, the rubber is compressed, thus making annoying sound.
see this picture, it's the black stuff on top of the absorber. that piece of thing shrink d

That rubber part is called struts is it? Ok, will get mine checked. Tx

JeremyLord
post Aug 4 2019, 12:59 PM

321 posts

Time to buy a new car
noien
post Aug 4 2019, 01:04 PM

3,186 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Aug 4 2019, 12:15 PM)
1. Absorber
2. Absorber mount
3. Drive shaft
4. Engine mount
5. Lower arm
6. 4 pcs Tayar change
7. Power steering oil change
8. Door rubber all change

9th option is best.. change car

Then will feel ok
Thjs. Mine got some sound due to absorber mount. Mechanic ask me to change absorber and mount. Almost 1k..
RicoT
post Aug 4 2019, 01:06 PM

200 posts

SC says it is that problem, if still have, then they have to be responsible and fix it without additional cost if their diagnostic is wrong. Write to Honda Malaysia to complain.
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 01:22 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(noien @ Aug 4 2019, 01:04 PM)
Thjs. Mine got some sound due to absorber mount. Mechanic ask me to change absorber and mount. Almost 1k..
Did the sound go away after you changed the mount and absorber?

SC has quoted me RM1484 to change front absorbers (together with dust cover, bump stop and rubber comp - i think this is the rubber mounting)

SUSBluePants
post Aug 4 2019, 01:34 PM

20 posts

DIY identify the source. Connect one end of a tube/hose near each component and the other end to your ear, listen while driving.

Or get silicone spray and spray each bushing one by one and test.

Absorber mounts can last a lot longer than 90K KM.
brapa?
post Aug 4 2019, 01:37 PM

154 posts

spray where ya ?
the hole in the centre ?
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 01:43 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(BluePants @ Aug 4 2019, 01:34 PM)
DIY identify the source. Connect one end of a tube/hose near each component and the other end to your ear, listen while driving.

Or get silicone spray and spray each bushing one by one and test.

Absorber mounts can last a lot longer than 90K KM.
Yeah.. and from my vehicle records, i found that both sides were replaced in 2014! unsure.gif

Put hose near the part and hear while driving. I can't imagine how this can be done biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Swivlev: Aug 4 2019, 01:45 PM
noien
post Aug 4 2019, 01:49 PM

3,186 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Aug 4 2019, 01:22 PM)

SC has quoted me RM1484 to change front absorbers (together with dust cover, bump stop and rubber comp - i think this is the rubber mounting)
Ya. Absorber is quite easy to identify
Sc quote me 3k for all
SUSAllnGap
post Aug 4 2019, 01:51 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(brapa? @ Aug 4 2019, 01:37 PM)
spray where ya ?
the hole in the centre ?
yes, open engine bay, see those strut mount on top of front wheel, spray those. (left and right side)
if those struts are compromised kawkaw, the moment you brake, you can feel your car twist (or unstable).

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Aug 4 2019, 01:52 PM
SUSAllnGap
post Aug 4 2019, 01:56 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(noien @ Aug 4 2019, 01:49 PM)
Sc quote me 3k for all
absorber hard to spoil, usually they will check for signs of oil leak.
if none then change the mounting will do.

you already kana parang when you change whole set where as it's the rubber mount making annoying noise

SUSAllnGap
post Aug 4 2019, 02:06 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Aug 4 2019, 12:58 PM)
That rubber part is called struts is it? Ok, will get mine checked. Tx
another name is absorber mounting.

usually mechanics will ask you to change whole set including absorber so warn you first. laugh.gif laugh.gif

TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 02:13 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Aug 4 2019, 02:06 PM)
another name is absorber mounting.

usually mechanics will ask you to change whole set including absorber so warn you first.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
ok ok. But ar i checked my records, 2014 aredi changed absorber mounting both sides wor.

Could it be any other part like the bottom part of the coil spring. I donno whether there oso got another rubber like on the top.
noien
post Aug 4 2019, 02:18 PM

3,186 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Aug 4 2019, 01:56 PM)
absorber hard to spoil, usually they will check for signs of oil leak.
if none then change the mounting will do.

you already kana parang when you change whole set where as it's the rubber mount making annoying noise
No choice. First time encounter this. And I did check online say absorber normally wear and tear too. So just change whole set
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 03:23 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(noien @ Aug 4 2019, 01:49 PM)
Sc quote me 3k for all
RM3k just for the pair of front absorbers?! Mind to share what else they changed together

This post has been edited by Swivlev: Aug 4 2019, 03:23 PM
RoastedChicken
post Aug 4 2019, 03:25 PM

味噌チキン
1,277 posts

Im driving civic just some sometimes i pass bunp, can feel creaking sound also let me knw if u able to solve it
SUSAllnGap
post Aug 4 2019, 03:29 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Aug 4 2019, 02:13 PM)
ok ok. But ar i checked my records, 2014 aredi changed absorber mounting both sides wor.

Could it be any other part like the bottom part of the coil spring. I donno whether there oso got another rubber like on the top.
already 5 years since you changed, rubber shrink a bit they rub against each other when hit bump can cause annoying noise.

spray some WD40 on it, let it flow down. if sound goes away then confirm come from that part.

idoblu
post Aug 4 2019, 03:40 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Aug 4 2019, 03:29 PM)
already 5 years since you changed, rubber shrink a bit they rub against each other when hit bump can cause annoying noise.

spray some WD40 on it, let it flow down. if sound goes away then confirm come from that part.
If spray at-205 onto the mounting need to dilute the solution? Won’t get worse right?

Wonder if can also work for engine mountings or not?

This post has been edited by idoblu: Aug 4 2019, 03:41 PM
Strixes
post Aug 4 2019, 03:53 PM

26 posts

mind telling me where is the place that changes vushings for rm120? all the places ive checked quoted me rm300+
rooney723
post Aug 4 2019, 03:57 PM

596 posts

dont go official SC to change absorbers, they chop u thr kaw kaw wan, go outside n chnge it to 3rd party brands much cheaper, SC quote u 3k, but u go outside cn get it for 1 - 1.5k
SUSahter
post Aug 4 2019, 04:07 PM

266 posts

for 9 yo car .. better get it fix outside if cost is your concern. stabilizer bush only cost few bucks per piece. few other possible cause is absorber mounting/absorber/lower arm. can check the price at sparepart shops / lazada / shopee to get an idea how much it cost. SC sure cut throat price ler.

why dont u open the hood n push down the front bumper. get someone to try to identify where the sound coming from.
SUSAllnGap
post Aug 4 2019, 04:20 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Aug 4 2019, 03:40 PM)
If spray at-205 onto the mounting need to dilute the solution? Won’t get worse right?

Wonder if can also work for engine mountings or not?
No need to dilute. Just spray. If the piece or rubber is big piece then spray let it soak and re-spray.

But dont let it kena car body as it is not paint friendly.

It works on all rubber. It absorb into rubber make it swell. One thing you must understand is what's your rubber conditions. If it shrink then ok, but if crack d then it won't work.

I do use this as lubrication for lower arm rubber, CV boots, engine mounting, absorber mounting, for preventive maintenance method. (whatever rubber will fail at some point, even rubber seals inside engine, transmission will fail, thats why old car leak oil, cuz the rubber shrink, harden, crack d)

check out this thread
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...70205&hl=at+205

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Aug 4 2019, 04:29 PM
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 04:26 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(Strixes @ Aug 4 2019, 03:53 PM)
mind telling me where is the place that changes vushings for rm120? all the places ive checked quoted me rm300+
PMed u

Strixes
post Aug 4 2019, 04:31 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Aug 4 2019, 04:26 PM)
PMed u
tyvm! you rock!
PaulReedSmooth
post Aug 4 2019, 04:52 PM

161 posts

Watch min 4.14
Buy a "silicon lubricant" and spray at that area of the absorber, as shown in the video.

Mine city 2013. After spraying, the squeaks become less audible.
And to access the absorber, just turn steering wheel all the way left / right. No need to jack up car.

"Silicon lubricant" can get less than rm20, ace hardware, Mr DIY, etc.

This post has been edited by PaulReedSmooth: Aug 4 2019, 04:53 PM
noien
post Aug 4 2019, 06:34 PM

3,186 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Aug 4 2019, 03:23 PM)
RM3k just for the pair of front absorbers?! Mind to share what else they changed together
No idea. It is from Sc. I think they change the whole set
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 06:43 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(PaulReedSmooth @ Aug 4 2019, 04:52 PM)

Watch min 4.14
Buy a "silicon lubricant" and spray at that area of the absorber, as shown in the video.

Mine city 2013. After spraying, the squeaks become less audible.
And to access the absorber, just turn steering wheel all the way left / right. No need to jack up car.

"Silicon lubricant" can get less than rm20, ace hardware, Mr DIY, etc.
Tx for the suggestion. It seems like a temporary fix though. Read quite a few reviews about how the sound came back a shortwhile after

SUSskyblu3
post Aug 4 2019, 07:03 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Aug 4 2019, 01:51 PM)
yes, open engine bay, see those strut mount on top of front wheel, spray those. (left and right side)
if those struts are compromised kawkaw, the moment you brake, you can feel your car twist (or unstable).
Funny

When the absorber top mounting got noise, it means it is loose. Worn out. Not suppose to have movement.

Just change it.
TSSwivlev
post Aug 4 2019, 07:10 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(ahter @ Aug 4 2019, 04:07 PM)
for 9 yo car .. better get it fix outside if cost is your concern. stabilizer bush only cost few bucks per piece. few other possible cause is absorber mounting/absorber/lower arm. can check the price at sparepart shops / lazada / shopee to get an idea how much it cost. SC sure cut throat price ler.

why dont u open the hood n push down the front bumper. get someone to try to identify where the sound coming from.
Just tried to push down with the bonnet open, unfortunately couldn't reproduce the creaking sound sweat.gif
jimmy_none
post Aug 4 2019, 07:13 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Aug 4 2019, 10:20 AM)
Buy at205 spray on rubber parts
Absorber mounting should be the part making noise when you hit bumps
you know any mall selling it? tried searching it in ACE hardware can't find it.
SUSAllnGap
post Aug 4 2019, 07:37 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(jimmy_none @ Aug 4 2019, 07:13 PM)
you know any mall selling it? tried searching it in ACE hardware can't find it.
ACe don't have. Shopee or Lazada only
TSSwivlev
post Aug 6 2019, 06:58 PM

22 posts

UPDATE:

Just changed the stabilizer bar bushes at SC and the creaking is gone. It seems this is a common problem for this model City.

I was also STRONGLY ADVISED not to lubricate these bushes or absorber mount and othert parts tht were designed to function dry. It seems they have seen quite a few customers come after using AT205 and other simillar products, where the rubber part degrades terribly after some time and becomes useless. Some others had corrosion and surface damage on the metal parts and painted surface.

Just be careful and be warned if anyone thinking of trying that stuff out.

JasonTheGreat
post Aug 6 2019, 07:08 PM

832 posts

Wah. My 2 yr old civic has friction sound at drivers rear wheel. It is not hard knocking sound but it sounds like friction (sound like the bottom of your car hit high hump) when go through wide hump. Small hump no sound.

Are yours with the same sound? My Civic only managed to make appointment at Honda on Friday

TSSwivlev
post Aug 6 2019, 08:08 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(JasonTheGreat @ Aug 6 2019, 07:08 PM)
Wah. My 2 yr old civic has friction sound at drivers rear wheel. It is not hard knocking sound but it sounds like friction (sound like the bottom of your car hit high hump) when go through wide hump. Small hump no sound.

Are yours with the same sound? My Civic only managed to make appointment at Honda on Friday
No, mine was a ngeeek..ngeeek sound like opening a rusty gate.
PaulReedSmooth
post Aug 6 2019, 08:17 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Aug 6 2019, 06:58 PM)
UPDATE:

Just changed the stabilizer bar bushes at SC and the creaking is gone. It seems this is a common problem for this model City.

I was also STRONGLY ADVISED not to lubricate these bushes or absorber mount and othert parts tht were designed to function dry. It seems they have seen quite a few customers come after using AT205 and other simillar products, where the rubber part degrades terribly after some time and becomes useless. Some others had corrosion and  surface damage on the metal parts and painted surface.

How much is it? How many quantity did u change? Got photo of your old one?
adren1
post Aug 6 2019, 08:18 PM

137 posts

this part visible or hidden inside?

TSSwivlev
post Aug 6 2019, 08:28 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(PaulReedSmooth @ Aug 6 2019, 08:17 PM)
How much is it? How many quantity did u change? Got photo of your old one?
RM122.15. It comes in a pair. Din take pic

SUSAllnGap
post Aug 6 2019, 08:34 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(adren1 @ Aug 6 2019, 08:18 PM)
this part visible or hidden inside?
Visible, just spray more let it flow. Open hood can see d. Go Google struts

It's a piece of rubber that holds absorber to body and cushion the absorber when hit bumps
adren1
post Aug 6 2019, 09:53 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Aug 6 2019, 08:34 PM)
Visible, just spray more let it flow. Open hood can see d. Go Google struts

It's a piece of rubber that holds absorber to body and cushion the absorber when hit bumps
cool but that spray rm88 per bottle
SUSAllnGap
post Aug 6 2019, 09:55 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(adren1 @ Aug 6 2019, 09:53 PM)
It's like that....plenty of rubber parts inside car.
When need to change those costs thousands.
So preventive maintenance don't wanna do will cost much more in the future
adren1
post Aug 6 2019, 09:59 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Aug 6 2019, 09:55 PM)
It's like that....plenty of rubber parts inside car.
When need to change those costs thousands.
So preventive maintenance don't wanna do will cost much more in the future
Will buy 1 when salary out biggrin.gif thanks for the info appreciate it
SUSAllnGap
post Aug 6 2019, 10:03 PM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(adren1 @ Aug 6 2019, 09:59 PM)
Will buy 1 when salary out biggrin.gif thanks for the info appreciate it
Last time putting grease on rubber parts was part of preventive maintenance.
But all those have changed liao, that's why now everything spoil change, burn wallet kaokao
TSSwivlev
post Aug 7 2019, 04:21 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(adren1 @ Aug 6 2019, 09:53 PM)
Be careful.

Read My above post.

Honda SC strongly recommends against using this product for stabilizer bush and absorber mount! After thinking about it i think there might be a safety issue as well. If something is designed to work dry (no grease oso) then if we lubricate it/spray stuff on it..it may cause a malfunction because of the slippery film on the surface. esp for moving parts and suspension. Don play-play and take the risk la.

spacelion
post Aug 7 2019, 04:38 PM

Ada Liu
1,692 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Aug 4 2019, 01:22 PM)

may i know why you continue go to SC after warranty period over
TSSwivlev
post Aug 11 2019, 05:19 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(spacelion @ Aug 7 2019, 04:38 PM)
may i know why you continue go to SC after warranty period over
peace of mind - less likely to get scammed for unecessary repairs, warranty for all work done, original parts assured, better waiting experience.

maxpudding
post Aug 11 2019, 07:16 AM

165 posts

UPDATE:

I was also STRONGLY ADVISED not to lubricate these bushes or absorber mount and othert parts tht were designed to function dry. It seems they have seen quite a few customers come after using AT205 and other simillar products, where the rubber part degrades terribly after some time and becomes useless. Some others had corrosion and  surface damage on the metal parts and painted surface.

did you put lubricants on them without knowing you shouldnt? A price to pay for sure, glad you worked it out

TSSwivlev
post Aug 12 2019, 03:24 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(maxpudding @ Aug 11 2019, 07:16 AM)
did you put lubricants on them without knowing you shouldnt? A price to pay for sure, glad you worked it out
No i did not. I'm just sharing the feedback i got from Honda SC when i told them about the AT205 spray recommended by Scotty. Seems it could be dangerous. Just hope everyone will be careful in trying stuff out, itu je.

This post has been edited by Swivlev: Aug 12 2019, 03:24 PM
maxpudding
post Aug 12 2019, 04:11 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Aug 12 2019, 03:24 PM)
No i did not. I'm just sharing the feedback i got from Honda SC when i told them about the AT205 spray recommended by Scotty. Seems it could be dangerous. Just hope everyone will be careful in trying stuff out, itu je.
Yeah, dry mechanical bushes that dont require any lubricants should just be left alone, they werent designed for lubes anyways

The creaking sound from these dry joints should be immediately checked for any wear and tear, most of the time the sound will go away after a few days, whilst lubrication might reduce or eliminate the sound, but it’ll just make the bushes degrade more over time
jex-koi
post Feb 24 2020, 09:55 AM

273 posts

I had the same problem. Going over bumps or bumpy roads, you will hear that sound 'creaking'. This is due to the lower-arm joint. I guess your car went into a pool of water (or flood), then this problem start occurring.

To solve this, spray silicone lubricant on the lower arm joint (left & right). You will need to turn the streering full-left and full-right to access them. For me, I spray on 3 spots on each side of the car. No sound after that. Of course, you will need to re-spray the silicone lubricant every few months when the sound starts again.

This post has been edited by jex-koi: Feb 24 2020, 09:56 AM
iverice
post Jun 1 2022, 08:41 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(jex-koi @ Feb 24 2020, 09:55 AM)
I had the same problem. Going over bumps or bumpy roads, you will hear that sound 'creaking'. This is due to the lower-arm joint. I guess your car went into a pool of water (or flood), then this problem start occurring.

To solve this, spray silicone lubricant on the lower arm joint (left & right). You will need to turn the streering full-left and full-right to access them. For me, I spray on 3 spots on each side of the car. No sound after that. Of course, you will need to re-spray the silicone lubricant every few months when the sound starts again.
any reason why the lower arm made noise after the car went into a pool of water, my car also had this noise, and if i remember correctly, it only happened after i went through a water on a heavy rain day.
mousqy
post Jun 1 2022, 08:44 AM

758 posts

buy new car ....what use 9 years car

This post has been edited by mousqy: Jun 1 2022, 08:46 AM
delphine.88
post Mar 20 2023, 09:00 AM

143 posts

UPDATE:

Mine have that “krakk” sounds when going over bump and rattling on uneven road?
Could it be stabiliser bar bush too?
TSSwivlev
post Mar 27 2023, 03:37 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Mar 20 2023, 09:00 AM)
Most likely not.
if stabilizer bush the sound is squeaking sound.
tungfunglaw
post Mar 27 2023, 03:40 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Mar 27 2023, 03:37 PM)
Most likely not.
if stabilizer bush the sound is squeaking sound.
have u changed it?

Paradigmata
post Mar 27 2023, 03:47 PM

345 posts

Just put grease that compatible with rubber.

If me, I use used engine oil to sapu only. Let it soaked.

OK also, FOC
JON97
post Jun 26 2023, 05:11 PM

346 posts

Honda? Maybe the steering rack... Try turning your steering wheel left and right, if got a knocking sound.... well prepare your wallet.

Also, might be an issue with absorber bearings, stabilizer bush, or absorber link...

FYI, the lower arm, and stabilizer bush are easy to verify. Just fully turn your steering wheel and use your phone to take a picture to check for cracks.

delphine.88
post Jun 26 2023, 10:45 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Jun 26 2023, 05:11 PM)
Honda? Maybe the steering rack... Try turning your steering wheel left and right, if got a knocking sound.... well prepare your wallet.

Also, might be an issue with absorber bearings, stabilizer bush, or absorber link...

FYI, the lower arm, and stabilizer bush are easy to verify. Just fully turn your steering wheel and use your phone to take a picture to check for cracks.

Looks good right? I suspect my shocks now.
Was wondering should I go back to sc to check.
Or any recommended workshop?
mingyuyu
post Jun 26 2023, 10:47 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Jun 26 2023, 10:45 PM)
best way is to go to tyre shop and ask them to check
JON97
post Jun 27 2023, 10:03 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Jun 26 2023, 10:45 PM)
QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 26 2023, 10:47 PM)
best way is to go to tyre shop and ask them to check
Gonna agree with mingyuyu... the best way is to go tyre shop and check if you are not sure. Because even though there are no signs of cracks, the inner part might be bad.

Also, if your car is still under warranty (Honda 5 Years - engine, gearbox & steering rack etc. | 3 Years - Break, Suspension etc). Yes, it would be best if you go back SC. If not, ask SC to do the checking and ask them to list out the part that can claim warranty, go out to change if cannot claim.

But SC sometimes won't give you exact detail of what is gone, they usually ask you to change the whole car... But it's also good to self-verify or find reputable workshops... Because from my experience with SC, they didn't inform me my steering rack is gone after multiple test drives by them. Till I complained and pointed out steering rack got sound only, they proceeded to properly check and claim.

If SC I recommended HZN Shah Alam, overall, they are more straightforward instead of others like Kepong, give you a 10k bill to replace the whole suspension LoL.
If Damansara - Uptown Tyre
IF Kajang - SC Automotive (They do more HRVs but City also can)
Others not sure.. can try FB community groups for eg: honda city
delphine.88
post Jul 6 2023, 08:53 PM

143 posts

I haven’t go check yet. Maybe this weekend.
But from the look, is it stabiliser link spoilt?
JON97
post Jul 10 2023, 01:45 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Jul 6 2023, 08:53 PM)

I haven’t go check yet. Maybe this weekend.
But from the look, is it stabiliser link spoilt?
Yea.. from the looks of it. Also, from the pic, it looks like your absorber might be leaking, if yes, then absorber also gone
delphine.88
post Jul 10 2023, 04:01 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Jul 10 2023, 01:45 PM)
Yea.. from the looks of it. Also, from the pic, it looks like your absorber might be leaking, if yes, then absorber also gone
I went to check at some shop and was told the sound is from steering rack. When they gently knock on the rack end, there’s some sound from steering rack. Was quoted 700+ for a China brand rack. Worth it?
terradrive
post Jul 10 2023, 04:09 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

stabilizer link with worn rubber bush can create that sound, my first gen old vios has that and fixed after i changed the stabilizer link. But I end up changing all shock absorbers and shock mountings with ori ones to eliminate all the small noises before. It runs great now (i did previously changed the lower arm and steering linns etc with ori too)

most bush starts to worn after 10 years
JON97
post Jul 11 2023, 02:03 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Jul 10 2023, 04:01 PM)
I went to check at some shop and was told the sound is from steering rack. When they gently knock on the rack end, there’s some sound from steering rack. Was quoted 700+ for a China brand rack. Worth it?
If budget, try to get half cut - because they are cheaper and ori, OEM Thai - Also ok, not sure about OEM china... Sounds like it might not last long
If budget not an issue - New Ori
If repair - Might not last

Or maybe try a different workshop haha
JON97
post Jul 11 2023, 02:05 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jul 10 2023, 04:09 PM)
stabilizer link with worn rubber bush can create that sound, my first gen old vios has that and fixed after i changed the stabilizer link. But I end up changing all shock absorbers and shock mountings with ori ones to eliminate all the small noises before. It runs great now (i did previously changed the lower arm and steering linns etc with ori too)

most bush starts to worn after 10 years
Cough cough... Mine 5 years 70k already replace all except the stabilizer link.
Virlution
post Jul 11 2023, 02:17 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Jun 26 2023, 05:11 PM)

my car got knocking sound.... turn parking got knock sound... jialat already
delphine.88
post Jul 11 2023, 07:37 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(Virlution @ Jul 11 2023, 02:17 PM)
my car got knocking sound.... turn parking got knock sound... jialat already
Turn steering left and right for sound?could be steering rack also
Virlution
post Jul 12 2023, 09:02 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Jul 11 2023, 07:37 PM)
Turn steering left and right for sound?could be steering rack also
yeah, turn left or right, every now and then will get a "tok" knocking sound
bigduck
post Jul 12 2023, 09:06 AM

156 posts

Sohai TS thinks he’s smarter than mechanic

Avangelice
post Jul 12 2023, 09:13 AM

5,274 posts

Good morning guys, thanks for the topic.

Sometimes when I get out of my car, my car creaks. I changed all my absorbers and stabilizer arms but still creaking.

A car forum suggested it's my parking brake. Any idea?
DupeIkan
post Jul 12 2023, 09:25 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jul 12 2023, 09:13 AM)

Sometimes when I get out of my car, my car creaks. I changed all my absorbers and stabilizer arms but still creaking.

If its from the front it aint it
delphine.88
post Jul 12 2023, 11:23 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Jul 11 2023, 02:05 PM)
Cough cough... Mine 5 years 70k already replace all except the stabilizer link.
Which steering rack u use? Genuine? How much?

QUOTE(Virlution @ Jul 12 2023, 09:02 AM)
yeah, turn left or right, every now and then will get a "tok" knocking sound
Macam steering rack liao

I think it is. Try pull hand brake tight and try again.
skywardsword
post Jul 12 2023, 11:44 AM

680 posts

Check to see if the nuts bolting the suspension from the top is properly torqued.
JON97
post Jul 18 2023, 09:37 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Jul 12 2023, 11:23 AM)
Which steering rack u use? Genuine? How much?
I managed to claim from Honda before my warranty ended... SC didn't tell me got problem until I self noticed.

A suggestion, if yours need to change, make sure to replace stabilizer bushings along the way, as it's easier to access it with the front subframe removed. Not sure if the absorber need to remove or not. If needed, then can replace at the same time no need to keep paying labour.
JON97
post Jul 18 2023, 09:39 AM

346 posts

Maybe it's from the car body itself. Honda is known for their creaking sound LOL.
Avangelice
post Jul 18 2023, 09:47 AM

5,274 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Jul 18 2023, 09:39 AM)
Maybe it's from the car body itself. Honda is known for their creaking sound LOL.
BTW I already resolved it. I had to apply my parking break whilst driving in neutral. No more creaks

0.2478sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:28 PM