PC Audio Stoner Acoustics User Thread, New UD130 Released

TSStonerAcoustics
post Nov 10 2019, 09:26 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(ahmadfaizadnan @ Nov 10 2019, 09:20 PM)
does the ud130 require external power?
No it doesn't. biggrin.gif It's just a rather individual case above. The USB 2.0 standard spec is rated for 0.5A per port and the UD130 draws less than half of that.

raif
post Nov 10 2019, 11:02 PM

126 posts

Well, technically ud130 does require external power because it doesn't have a battery. When you connect it directly to a pc or phone, it draws power from the connecting device so this is external power. If the connecting device cannot supply power then it needs the split y connection as shown from my usecase with power drawn from power bank.

Edit: Of course, if you say that usb powered does not count as external supply, then yes one might say ud130 does not need external power thumbsup.gif . I'm editing this post coz I saw somewhere that a device that is usb powered, a reviewer just said that the unit does not need an external power.

This post has been edited by raif: Nov 13 2019, 06:51 AM
TSStonerAcoustics
post Nov 11 2019, 04:17 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(raif @ Nov 10 2019, 11:02 PM)
Well, technically ud130 does require external power because it doesn't have a battery. When you connect it directly to a pc or phone, it draws power from the connecting device so this is external power. If the connecting device cannot supply power then it needs the split y connection as shown from my usecase with power drawn from power bank.
rclxms.gif You are correct.
4lt4ir
post Nov 20 2019, 02:46 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

So is everyone enjoying their UD130? Asking because I'm thinking to get one as my first desktop dac/amp, mainly for earbuds, iems & headphones <150 ohms. Any drawbacks that I should be aware of? Similarly, what are the main advantages of the ud130? I'm mostly concerned with sound quality and the tactile feed of that volume knob. Any feedback appreciated. Thanks!
boreddeadbeat P
post Dec 14 2019, 09:00 AM

Probation
24 posts

How does the UD 130 compare to FX Audio Dac-X6 and SMSL M3? Looking to buy my first dac/amp.
2tigers
post Apr 27 2020, 05:40 PM

18 posts

Just received my U130 today. Doing a quick listening test. I can say it is a step up from the U125 (which I have too). I am also comparing it to the Mojo. Honestly its not its equal but for RM300 you cannot go wrong. I am impressed to say the least. Kudos. Malaysia Boleh!

This post has been edited by 2tigers: Apr 27 2020, 05:41 PM
TSStonerAcoustics
post Apr 27 2020, 06:52 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(2tigers @ Apr 27 2020, 05:40 PM)
Just received my U130 today. Doing a quick listening test. I can say it is a step up from the U125 (which I have too). I am also comparing it to the Mojo. Honestly its not its equal but for RM300 you cannot go wrong. I am impressed to say the least. Kudos. Malaysia Boleh!
Thank you very much for your kind words and support! thumbup.gif
amyhs99
post Apr 27 2020, 10:01 PM

3,807 posts

Anyone tried to connect the UD130 to an iPhone?
2tigers
post Apr 28 2020, 01:00 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(amyhs99 @ Apr 27 2020, 10:01 PM)
Anyone tried to connect the UD130 to an iPhone?
I don't think the iPhone can power the unit. It does not have a battery of its own.

amyhs99
post Apr 28 2020, 03:51 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(2tigers @ Apr 28 2020, 01:00 PM)
I don't think the iPhone can power the unit. It does not have a battery of its own.
Will try to experiment once this adaptor reach my doorstep blush.gif
4lt4ir
post Apr 28 2020, 08:25 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(2tigers @ Apr 28 2020, 01:00 PM)
Not necessarily so. My old Motorola android phone powers the UD130 via USB OTG just fine.
amyhs99
post Apr 29 2020, 12:40 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(4lt4ir @ Apr 28 2020, 08:25 PM)
Not necessarily so. My old Motorola android phone powers the UD130 via USB OTG just fine.
Ya, as stated in their website.
https://stoneracoustics.com/ud130/

"Android USB OTG Support
The UD130 works with your modern Android Smart Phones via the USB OTG.
*Some phones may not work with the UD130, contact us for more details."

Will wait for the Lightning to USB3 and test it out. biggrin.gif
4lt4ir
post Apr 29 2020, 11:37 AM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(amyhs99 @ Apr 29 2020, 12:40 AM)
Ya, as stated in their website.
https://stoneracoustics.com/ud130/

"Android USB OTG Support
The UD130 works with your modern Android Smart Phones via the USB OTG.
*Some phones may not work with the UD130, contact us for more details."

Will wait for the Lightning to USB3 and test it out.  biggrin.gif
Yes, that is correct. As mentioned, my Motorola phone powers the UD130 just fine. However, a Huawei Nova 2i does not.
amyhs99
post Apr 30 2020, 01:45 PM

3,807 posts

Managed to make the UD130 work on IOS, but with a catch.
You need to connect the power to the CCK Adapter to make things work. iPhone cannot power up the UD130 by itself.

QUOTE(amyhs99 @ Apr 28 2020, 03:51 PM)
Will try to experiment once this adaptor reach my doorstep  blush.gif
raif
post Sep 8 2020, 11:39 AM

126 posts

What is the max line-out voltage for ud130? Doesn't say in the spec but on the site of ud125, the max line out voltage is stated at 4.8Vrms. Any idea for ud130? Thanks
andrekua2
post Apr 17 2022, 06:27 PM

13,494 posts

This thread has long been abandoned...

My pc went dead and I tried plugging UD125 to my Sony X90J. I was surprised it works... clean high quality audio. Forget about using bluetooth, arc(earc)... I'm happy it's so flexible.
otnuus
post Apr 18 2022, 11:27 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Apr 17 2022, 06:27 PM)
This thread has long been abandoned...

My pc went dead and I tried plugging UD125 to my Sony X90J. I was surprised it works... clean high quality audio. Forget about using bluetooth, arc(earc)... I'm happy it's so flexible.
Good for you. ARC is very useful in my case. I can keep my old receiver and still run DD 5.1. The receiver has a decent dac too. I sold my UD100 and still using UD120 on my desktop. Really good stuff from Stoner Acoustics.
andrekua2
post Apr 19 2022, 01:30 AM

13,494 posts

QUOTE(otnuus @ Apr 18 2022, 11:27 PM)
Good for you. ARC is very useful in my case. I can keep my old receiver and still run DD 5.1. The receiver has a decent dac too. I sold my UD100 and still using UD120 on my desktop. Really good stuff from Stoner Acoustics.
Perhaps I'll buy an earc sound bar one day when it become more affordable. Tried my sister arc system before and it was really convenient that it was able to output audio regardless of which channel being active. A really good one just cost to much more to even consider buying.
ktek
post Apr 20 2022, 10:58 AM

小喇叭
13,217 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Apr 19 2022, 01:30 AM)
Perhaps I'll buy an earc sound bar one day when it become more affordable. Tried my sister arc system before and it was really convenient that it was able to output audio regardless of which channel being active. A really good one just cost to much more to even consider buying.
sony x90 is tv rite. wow the android have dac driver

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0182sec    1.09    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:55 AM