52 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V40th Anniversary, Happy 40th!

StuartLee2015
post Oct 12 2020, 09:43 PM

1,221 posts

Any of you guys build gunpla without topcoat the armor (PS Plastics) , and how long before it takes for WHITE parts to turn yellowish?

I built my gunplas that way, spray the inner frame only, spray yellow parts to Golden. Panel lining too...

My room doesn't have Sunlight at all, and no smoke either.
carpathia
post Oct 13 2020, 01:35 AM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Oct 12 2020, 09:43 PM)
Any of you guys build gunpla without topcoat the armor (PS Plastics) , and how long before it takes for WHITE parts to turn yellowish?

I built my gunplas that way, spray the inner frame only, spray yellow parts to Golden. Panel lining too...
My room doesn't have Sunlight at all, and no smoke either.
With or without sunlight it will eventually degrade and turn yellow la
StuartLee2015
post Oct 13 2020, 06:52 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Oct 13 2020, 01:35 AM)
With or without sunlight it will eventually degrade and turn yellow la
How's yours btw?
gaiachronicler
post Oct 13 2020, 10:00 PM

58 posts

oh, my pure white unicorn has yellowish pattern. and i kept it in a box for a long time. smile.gif
definitely not a pattern i like but meh, i kept it so long that i just decide to ignore it and continue keeping in a box laugh.gif
carpathia
post Oct 14 2020, 10:52 AM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Oct 13 2020, 06:52 PM)
How's yours btw?
i dont have any white kits over 20-30 yrs old la hahaha
StuartLee2015
post Oct 14 2020, 08:10 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(gaiachronicler @ Oct 13 2020, 10:00 PM)
oh, my pure white unicorn has yellowish pattern. and i kept it in a box for a long time. smile.gif
definitely not a pattern i like but meh, i kept it so long that i just decide to ignore it and continue keeping in a box laugh.gif
Your unicorn is what scale? your environment might be a factor?

My MG wing kits that are 8years+ only shows 2 - 5% thin shade on yellow or might be just dirt.
StuartLee2015
post Oct 14 2020, 08:17 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Oct 14 2020, 10:52 AM)
i dont have any white kits over 20-30 yrs old la hahaha
lol... not that long lol

My Kits only 8 - 9 year. oldest is MG 00 QanT.. yet to show any yellowish....

MG Wing kits i have, also around 8 years old still white, but as white as new.... sweat.gif

i have 2x PG unicorn and PG Exia that has white parts still in white... only the ' Made in China ' PG Unicorn's antenna/v-fin show little yellowish, since it's not Made in Japan, it's original by Bandai Though. i bought the kit from IT Toys.

gaiachronicler
post Oct 15 2020, 07:33 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Oct 14 2020, 08:10 PM)
Your unicorn is what scale? your environment might be a factor?

My MG wing kits that are 8years+ only shows 2 - 5% thin shade on yellow or might be just dirt.
MG 1/100. i had it displayed for a while in my room, maybe some sunlight contributed to it hmm.gif
chilskater
post Oct 15 2020, 07:38 AM

1,124 posts

just bought my first Gundam..50% discount.. last months..
zemega
post Oct 15 2020, 06:28 PM

723 posts

Hello.

I sort of got insect problem with HMM Blade Liger. After a while (maybe a really long time), start playing and posing it. Then really small ant or maybe termite comes out of it. There's around 2 or 3 that I see. SHould I be worried and do something about the rest of my model kits?

gaiachronicler
post Oct 15 2020, 08:35 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(zemega @ Oct 15 2020, 06:28 PM)
Hello.

I sort of got insect problem with HMM Blade Liger. After a while (maybe a really long time), start playing and posing it. Then really small ant or maybe termite comes out of it. There's around 2 or 3 that I see. SHould I be worried and do something about the rest of my model kits?
unless you're eating near wherever your liger is.. laugh.gif

nothing should happen.. with ants..

termite? man, i think you need to get a pest exterminator.. not just for your model kits. It's for your house... smile.gif
zemega
post Oct 15 2020, 11:18 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(gaiachronicler @ Oct 15 2020, 08:35 PM)
unless you're eating near wherever your liger is.. laugh.gif

nothing should happen.. with ants..

termite? man, i think you need to get a pest exterminator.. not just for your model kits. It's for your house... smile.gif
Its these damn cracked walls I think. I really should get some putty and patch all the cracks.
carpathia
post Oct 17 2020, 07:33 AM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(zemega @ Oct 15 2020, 06:28 PM)
Hello.

Just wash the kit la

That steel Jeeg looks good but of course im hyped for the hyaku shiki but that price....

zemega
post Oct 17 2020, 10:03 AM

723 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Oct 17 2020, 07:33 AM)
Just wash the kit la
Probably true, its full of dust and spider web.
carpathia
post Oct 18 2020, 01:12 PM

2,619 posts

Hmn...just realised there's no 30mm thread in the forum. anyone investing into this series ? i'm still kinda split bcos the 30mm mobile suits are kinda.....small.....but this 30mm Extended Armament Vehicle Air Fighter looks good though...damn detail

KyoLee
post Oct 18 2020, 02:56 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Oct 18 2020, 01:12 PM)
Hmn...just realised there's no 30mm thread in the forum. anyone investing into this series ? i'm still kinda split bcos the 30mm mobile suits are kinda.....small.....but this 30mm Extended Armament Vehicle Air Fighter looks good though...damn detail

that design remind me of the kotobukiya frame arms
carpathia
post Oct 18 2020, 03:27 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(KyoLee @ Oct 18 2020, 02:56 PM)
that design remind me of the kotobukiya frame arms
the entire 30mm series memang copy Kotobukiya Frame arms and Hexa Gear line. I personally prefer the Hexa Gear series. ok back to gunpla, what is everyone building/ buying lately ? this year really too many premium bandai kits
zemega
post Oct 19 2020, 03:06 PM

723 posts

So, I have some chisel from a hobby leather project. And I was working on BT Liger Zero Panzer. Considering it is a not HMM, lots of work needs to be done. So, instead of using pocket knife to trim the nubs, I tried using the chisel. Much better in cleaning the nub mark. Often, the color remains the same or slightly darker than surrounding. It also helps to 'level' all the imperfection edges of the imitation kits. I don't have any hobby knife though.

Anyone else use non-standard tools for cutting and cleaning the parts from the spruce?
carpathia
post Oct 29 2020, 02:11 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(zemega @ Oct 19 2020, 03:06 PM)
So, I have some chisel from a hobby leather project. And I was working on BT Liger Zero Panzer. Considering it is a not HMM, lots of work needs to be done. So, instead of using pocket knife to trim the nubs, I tried using the chisel. Much better in cleaning the nub mark. Often, the color remains the same or slightly darker than surrounding. It also helps to 'level' all the imperfection edges of the imitation kits. I don't have any hobby knife though.

Anyone else use non-standard tools for cutting and cleaning the parts from the spruce?
Er..... not really wor...

So i decided to repaint the MG Gundam AGE II.... i kinda prefer this colour la...
Btw - you can browse for gunpla on HLJ here https://shop.hlj.com/2HJCerK

This post has been edited by carpathia: Oct 29 2020, 02:12 PM
GameFr3ak
post Oct 29 2020, 02:25 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(zemega @ Oct 19 2020, 03:06 PM)

You can get a lot of necessary tools from Mr. DIY. They work decently.

Also my latest video is out with my most ambitious scribing attempt yet.

52 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:53 AM