5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Do you think it's worth studying overseas

SUSTheRant
post Jul 16 2019, 12:41 PM

688 posts

QUOTE(bursageek @ Jul 15 2019, 10:49 PM)
Let me rebut it one by one. Stocks do return more than FD, just pull up NASDAQ's new high and look at your measly FD returns, you'll know what I'm talking about. In unexciting markets like MY or SG (Asean in general), of course returns are poor. I have been investing since my uni years in foreign markets - again, something that people without overseas exposure won't be at advantage to do, simply because they will not understand the local economy, the startup scenes nor view the actual storefronts.

Next, I have emphasised that being a single male saves lots of expenses. In fact this applies to anywhere you live. Sure SF is an area where ppl have been priced out due to the abundance of tech firms, but you can't point at the US' most unequal neighborhood and generalise the case across the 51 states. The sheer number of US and UK companies that could pay you a decent wage while being located in midwest / cheaper eastern states / outer London (say Birmingham, Cambridge, Manchester) are quite unimaginable if you know where to look.  Software engineers and coders could also work remotely, and intangible benefits (dinner claims etc) also help to alleviate living cost. Next, some consultants don't even live in their homes and live the frequent flyer, Tumi luggage life. And these are pretty demanding professions that require network, critical thinking, academic knowledge to succeed - again, lacking in average unis.

It's not ironic la I just don't think it adds to the discussion? I'm sponsored for my undergraduate, hence working with the company that sponsors my study. So my job seeking process / career path is obviously not the same as the ones who are privately funded. I on the other hand am interested to know why you are this disillusioned, are you becoming a father and getting afraid of spending money on your children?

TBH, getting a job in the UK / US aren't that difficult if you know what you are after, and how you want to get there. Even working in a 2nd tier professional services (take a 2k GBP job in an SME from the UK, whereas premium consulting or professional services could start at 4k+) would likely mean earning 3 times the Malaysian salary. Add that to better public healthcare, transport, food and living quality, I honestly do not see why

And quite happy to see you bring the topic back to actual benefits of university study. Universities, I emphasise again, provide you the resources (something as simple as a Bloomberg Terminal, networking events). You can say that people don't have to spend a lavish amount to succeed, but honestly how many people become top guitar / chess players / soccer players / consultants without getting a techer / entering an academy / paying for consulting case studies? We are simply analysing the benefits and costs, and to me if the family can afford it (i.e. not having to strap their belt or cut back on consumption), the mere experience of studying a good Ivy / Oxbridge uni is worth it, not even talking about the job opportunities that come your way.

Given that business environments entail more risk for incoming entrepreneurs and the increasing gaps between uni graduates from top / bottom unis, the importance of a degree is only going to increase, unless you are willing to take alternative routes.
Ok appreciate your discussion.

Well. For NASDAQ stocks in general. I would think based on PE ratios, they are pretty overvalued right? Most of their "valuation" comes from future expectation. I dunno. But of course if you research properly, there should be no issues for you right? I dunno. But dun you think right now, it's a bubble everywhere? Maybe I am wrong and you can correct me on this. But the US Economy is not doing pretty well right? Also, there is a problem of share buybacks. If we leave it to fundamentals itself, those stocks would not have gone up but then companies actually buyback their own stocks and push the stock price up. This is very unethical because the profits that those companies earn should be reinvested. It also mean that people are buying the stocks at a higher price then what is normally at. The other thing is also QE. Without QE, I think the crash would have been much earlier. I actually invested in the "crash" but I guess I underestimated what they can do. Also the other thing to consider is the fact that just like bitcoin, the us stock market is actually controlled by a "few hands". I dunno. Call me a conspiracy theorist. I think bitcoins is also hold by a few hands. When this happen, those people can manipulate the price pretty easily. But of course, if you are making money out there, you are successful. I mean you are at least better then people who keep their money on cash. Its a funny world we are living in though. Where fundamentals does not matter anymore. Not saying you are wrong. You are right if you are making money and if you know how to exploit the situation.

You are right in the other points. I mean if you can afford it(Having say 6 times of networth compared to the cost) then maybe you should go for it. Also you are right. It's not just the actual education itself. But then kids should also have the maturity to take advantage of the situation and realize that their parents are not just paying for the actual education. But then if you are 17-19 years old, it's questionable whether you actually have that maturity or not. The thing is the education you are describing right now is not just the learning part but then other things as well.

Well. I am not married yet. Just wanted to create this thread for discussion that's all. I have a situation actually but I am not comfortable to share as of now.

Of course there's also the thing about student debt. But I guess you would probably say that taking debt is not worth it right?

Just curious. I look at your sig and found out that you are researching on Malaysian stocks. I thought you are investing in Nasdaq?

This post has been edited by TheRant: Jul 16 2019, 04:10 PM
SUSBillCollector
post Jul 16 2019, 06:36 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(TheRant @ Jul 9 2019, 12:47 PM)
What do you guys think. Do you think it's worth studying overseas.  Would it be better if we use that money for investment OK n the first place.
I always thank my parents for the opportunity to study in America.

The exposure, standard of education and career opportunities I had as a result could not be replicated locally.

It only is useful if the student is below 30 though. Anything more than that your career experiences will bring you to better places.
SUSTheRant
post Jul 16 2019, 06:37 PM

688 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Jul 16 2019, 06:36 PM)
I always thank my parents for the opportunity to study in America.

The exposure, standard of education and career opportunities I had as a result could not be replicated locally.

It only is useful if the student is below 30 though. Anything more than that your career experiences will bring you to better places.
So did you work in US as well?
cassian948
post Jul 16 2019, 06:56 PM

931 posts

Yes.

Employers smirk at Malaysia university.
SUSBillCollector
post Jul 17 2019, 11:46 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(TheRant @ Jul 16 2019, 06:37 PM)
So did you work in US as well?
Yes, 3 years during my studies and till 5 years after graduation.

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Jul 16 2019, 06:56 PM)
Yes.

Employers smirk at Malaysia university.
A myth at best in the real world.
CommonPeople
post Jul 17 2019, 05:50 PM

168 posts

In today's world with foreign certs? Mehhhhhhh

10-15 years ago could be a diff story

Studied in London and spent close to RM 500,000 (3 years, had a car, rent the whole apartment)

Came back MY with initial salary of MYR 2,500

Where da fuk is the ROI?

I should have just continued my bach in Taylors and probably gonna spend MYR 100,000

But studying abroad 'unlock' another mindset which im grateful to have that kind of mindset now

This post has been edited by CommonPeople: Jul 17 2019, 05:52 PM
PrincZe
post Jul 17 2019, 06:22 PM

3,050 posts

I think if u have extra money, it's a good experience.

Else, local is fine
SUSTheRant
post Jul 17 2019, 07:58 PM

688 posts

QUOTE(CommonPeople @ Jul 17 2019, 05:50 PM)
In today's world with foreign certs? Mehhhhhhh

10-15 years ago could be a diff story

Studied in London and spent close to RM 500,000 (3 years, had a car, rent the whole apartment)

Came back MY with initial salary of MYR 2,500

Where da fuk is the ROI?

I should have just continued my bach in Taylors and probably gonna spend MYR 100,000

But studying abroad 'unlock' another mindset which im grateful to have that kind of mindset now
Well.maybe that "mindset" is just to comfort yourself?

mekboyz
post Jul 19 2019, 04:35 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Jul 9 2019, 01:21 PM)
Im almost 50, to me studying for my Undergraduate degree in Canada was the most eye opening and best times of my life.

I had an opportunity to study for my diploma in local government university before going abroad.  So I know how our local universities are.

I then did my Masters part time in Malaysia (but I did see how doing Master is so different from doing undergraduate degree in Canada, most of the time you
have to work independently) whereas for undergraduate group discussion is important.

In my working life, I did have short term assignments overseas.  People tend to say working overseas, holiday is the same thing as studying overseas, I disagree.
It is a different type of experience
agree.

CRaider2
post Jul 23 2019, 03:44 AM

225 posts

I never said that understanding is not required. What I was implying is that exams do not give you much time to "think". The moment you "think", you already do not have much time left to finish your exam paper. If "memorizing" was not required, why do we still have mock examinations out there. Also, notice that most exams are not open book exams. If memorizing is not required, why are exams not open book then. Are you saying that you do not memorize the terms ,etc. You are already being very dishonest by hinting that there is no memorizing involved. I dare say that many people do not do well in exams because they just cannot memorize. If you think that memory is not part of the test, you are either lying or you have a bad memory.  One of the selling points to studying overseas is that its more understanding rather then route learning. Of course that's a lie. I dare say that if most universities really stick to their principals and emphasize on understanding rather then route learning and focus more on open book exams. The passing rate would be much greater. In fact I dare say, most people flunk in their exams not because they do not understand but because they just could not remember everything. And to be honest, I know you probably could not accept it. It is in the university interest that there is a significant failure rate because if 80% of the people passes, their course would not be so prestigious anymore. If any Tom, Dick and Harry can pass the exam, why should they charge high tuition fees. In fact ask yourself this. If exams are really understanding base rather then rote learning base, why asians students always do well.

//Please go thru my comment and highlight where did I say or imply no memorizing is involved? I thought this is supposed to be a matured discussion about the merits and inferiority of overseas education where opposing opinions are supposed to matter. Your logic leap on what I said is magnificent. If you read my comments I was neutral throughout and shared my experience and in what way was I lying about what I experienced? I might be too stupid to perceive them from my limited experience but it what I think. Agree or not your comments is uncalled for. You sure know a lot for someone who has not studied overseas and very set on what sort of answers that should be given.

You are already making assumption that I am about to study overseas. In fact, you do not even know my background and you are making assumptions. Did your education taught you to make such assumptions? I guess when you get threatened you use ad hominen attacks right. This already shows you are on the losing end. Wow. Your argument is a very flawed one. I could also make the same argument by saying that driving a BMW will make my next 5 years richer. Of course you are now at a defensive because of your insecurities. You want to convince yourself that the decision to send you overseas is a good one. What are the tangibles pertaining to your experience overseas. In fact, one thing I like about the west is at least they are honest. They will tell you upfront that in most cases studying overseas is not worth is monetary especially if you are studying overseas. Of course tangibles have to be measured. If you studied overseas but yet you are not able to cover your tuition fees after working it's not too good right? Of course a few of you out there are going to be dishonest and say that your overseas education enriches your experience but I can bet many of the others would have thought otherwise as they realize that overseas education did not really give them a massive advantage. This is considering the fact that there are quite a few reputable twinning programs that are being set up in Malaysia. The only reason to justify sending someone overseas to study is so that they can have some advantage over those who are studying locally. Let's put it this way. If tertiary education was not so bad in Malaysia, would most parents send their kids overseas in the first place. I think that's the main reason why parents send their kids overseas right? Not for the experience you are describing.

//Again, I wished you good luck on whatever you determined as I have the foggiest clue on your decision. Your life u live the way u want. Where in my sentence did I imply you are going overseas? The way you answer is so defensive and making allegations where there is none. My education apparently is not as good as yours and my insecurity made me insinuate a lot of things and maybe fabricating my experiences. If you are going to start a thread with preconceived notions and slam anyone who shares a different opinion then why act noble and ask for opinion when apparently only yours is the one that matter.

Pertaining to what you said about facebook.  You mention that you see facebook post regurgitating the same points over and over again. But then this is not just a local phenomenon. If you are exposed to "foreign" pages, you will realize that people will always support their favorite teacher no matter what.Most people do not have a opinion. Unfortunately, there are very few leaders in this world. Admittedly, over here it's about who shout the loudest. Overseas, it's a not a whole lot different actually. Try challenge popular views against LGBT , feminism , racism openly. See where that gets you. The reason why you would not challenge those views is because those views have already been embedded in your mind. 
Try challenging your lecturer then. Answer the exams in a different manner then what is expected. See where that lands you in.

//I said before it is my personal opinion. What has challenging popular view has to do with it? You then assume I would not challenge those view becos it is embedded in my mind. Tell me what exactly is embedded in my mind. Challenge my lecturer? Been there done that. I survived and landed in a good spot actually. Again you seem to know me very well and my lecturer as well.

Are you sure students do not know how to write shorthand in classes. And there lies the main point. Most of the topics that the lecturer covers are in textbooks. I would say that in most cases, if you spend the time understanding the text book, you do not even need to go to the classes. But then most people do not admit it. In fact, if you tell me which classes you are attending, I could probably tell you the textbook to "refer" to. But then lecturers are dishonest and tell you that those textbook are "reference" materials. Because if they told you the truth that most of their materials are just from the textbook. Most people will not take them seriously. From your last paragraph, I can tell that you just cannot see that. The only thing is, you probably do not know where to start of with if you did not go for those courses.

//You said student has no time to copy down. I merely suggested shorthand as a way to speed things up. No way did I say students do not know how to write. Yes it is true everything is in the textbook. Then why even bother to go uni at all? Self taught, but society demands you to get that piece of paper. My inferior experience with my uni is that textbook is only the basis of concepts which is about 30% of the course, the 70% is based on real world projects where my lecturers show us what is said in the textbook, then highlight to us what actually is being done in the real world. I am pretty certain what I experienced, however you seem to know I am wrong, for someone who has not even gone overseas to study but has vast amount of knowledge of what is wrong there.

The only assumption I am going to make is this thread is a total waste of time as you are not open to other people's ideas, and has a deep seated bias and resort to name calling people who glorify overseas education. Only the insecure will call others that and it would be fitting for someone who enjoys smelling their own flatus. My notion of you is that you are a follower in life from your comments on Nasdaq, and beholden to people who show some sort of intellectual superiority. Don't bother to respond as I will not be commenting any further

This post has been edited by CRaider2: Jul 23 2019, 03:46 AM
sacwoc
post Jul 23 2019, 09:46 AM

306 posts

Been out of Malaysia for more than 15 years. Did my first degree in Malaysia and masters overseas. And I can say that the years I spend overseas studying is really priceless. At that time I am stilll young and energetic and get to meet more people from around the world. It is the experience which you can never buy. Understanding the different cultures and I can say that my current jobs owe much to my years spend studying abroad. Working abroad now is totally different than studying. ANd I still miss the those years.

My outlook in life is very simple. Life is too short to just think about making more money. Regret I do have now is not dating more girls form other countries! Cant do that now as I am already married to a non Malaysian. smile.gif

SUSTheRant
post Jul 25 2019, 04:31 PM

688 posts

QUOTE(CRaider2 @ Jul 23 2019, 03:44 AM)
I never said that understanding is not required. What I was implying is that exams do not give you much time to "think". The moment you "think", you already do not have much time left to finish your exam paper. If "memorizing" was not required, why do we still have mock examinations out there. Also, notice that most exams are not open book exams. If memorizing is not required, why are exams not open book then. Are you saying that you do not memorize the terms ,etc. You are already being very dishonest by hinting that there is no memorizing involved. I dare say that many people do not do well in exams because they just cannot memorize. If you think that memory is not part of the test, you are either lying or you have a bad memory.  One of the selling points to studying overseas is that its more understanding rather then route learning. Of course that's a lie. I dare say that if most universities really stick to their principals and emphasize on understanding rather then route learning and focus more on open book exams. The passing rate would be much greater. In fact I dare say, most people flunk in their exams not because they do not understand but because they just could not remember everything. And to be honest, I know you probably could not accept it. It is in the university interest that there is a significant failure rate because if 80% of the people passes, their course would not be so prestigious anymore. If any Tom, Dick and Harry can pass the exam, why should they charge high tuition fees. In fact ask yourself this. If exams are really understanding base rather then rote learning base, why asians students always do well.
//Please go thru my comment and highlight where did I say or imply no memorizing is involved? I thought this is supposed to be a matured discussion about the merits and inferiority of overseas education where opposing opinions are supposed to matter. Your logic leap on what I said is magnificent. If you read my comments I was neutral throughout and shared my experience and in what way was I lying about what I experienced? I might be too stupid to perceive them from my limited experience but it what I think. Agree or not your comments is uncalled for. You sure know a lot for someone who has not studied overseas and very set on what sort of answers that should be given.

You are already making assumption that I am about to study overseas. In fact, you do not even know my background and you are making assumptions. Did your education taught you to make such assumptions? I guess when you get threatened you use ad hominen attacks right. This already shows you are on the losing end. Wow. Your argument is a very flawed one. I could also make the same argument by saying that driving a BMW will make my next 5 years richer. Of course you are now at a defensive because of your insecurities. You want to convince yourself that the decision to send you overseas is a good one. What are the tangibles pertaining to your experience overseas. In fact, one thing I like about the west is at least they are honest. They will tell you upfront that in most cases studying overseas is not worth is monetary especially if you are studying overseas. Of course tangibles have to be measured. If you studied overseas but yet you are not able to cover your tuition fees after working it's not too good right? Of course a few of you out there are going to be dishonest and say that your overseas education enriches your experience but I can bet many of the others would have thought otherwise as they realize that overseas education did not really give them a massive advantage. This is considering the fact that there are quite a few reputable twinning programs that are being set up in Malaysia. The only reason to justify sending someone overseas to study is so that they can have some advantage over those who are studying locally. Let's put it this way. If tertiary education was not so bad in Malaysia, would most parents send their kids overseas in the first place. I think that's the main reason why parents send their kids overseas right? Not for the experience you are describing.

//Again, I wished you good luck on whatever you determined as I have the foggiest clue on your decision. Your life u live the way u want. Where in my sentence did I imply you are going overseas? The way you answer is so defensive and making allegations where there is none. My education apparently is not as good as yours and my insecurity made me insinuate a lot of things and maybe fabricating my experiences. If you are going to start a thread with preconceived notions and slam anyone who shares a different opinion then why act noble and ask for opinion when apparently only yours is the one that matter.
Pertaining to what you said about facebook.  You mention that you see facebook post regurgitating the same points over and over again. But then this is not just a local phenomenon. If you are exposed to "foreign" pages, you will realize that people will always support their favorite teacher no matter what.Most people do not have a opinion. Unfortunately, there are very few leaders in this world. Admittedly, over here it's about who shout the loudest. Overseas, it's a not a whole lot different actually. Try challenge popular views against LGBT , feminism , racism openly. See where that gets you. The reason why you would not challenge those views is because those views have already been embedded in your mind. 
Try challenging your lecturer then. Answer the exams in a different manner then what is expected. See where that lands you in.

//I said before it is my personal opinion. What has challenging popular view has to do with it? You then assume I would not challenge those view becos it is embedded in my mind. Tell me what exactly is embedded in my mind. Challenge my lecturer? Been there done that. I survived and landed in a good spot actually. Again you seem to know me very well and my lecturer as well.
Are you sure students do not know how to write shorthand in classes. And there lies the main point. Most of the topics that the lecturer covers are in textbooks. I would say that in most cases, if you spend the time understanding the text book, you do not even need to go to the classes. But then most people do not admit it. In fact, if you tell me which classes you are attending, I could probably tell you the textbook to "refer" to. But then lecturers are dishonest and tell you that those textbook are "reference" materials. Because if they told you the truth that most of their materials are just from the textbook. Most people will not take them seriously. From your last paragraph, I can tell that you just cannot see that. The only thing is, you probably do not know where to start of with if you did not go for those courses.

//You said student has no time to copy down. I merely suggested shorthand as a way to speed things up. No way did I say students do not know how to write. Yes it is true everything is in the textbook. Then why even bother to go uni at all? Self taught, but society demands you to get that piece of paper. My inferior experience with my uni is that textbook is only the basis of concepts which is about 30% of the course, the 70% is based on real world projects where my lecturers show us what is said in the textbook, then highlight to us what actually is being done in the real world. I am pretty certain what I experienced, however you seem to know I am wrong, for someone who has not even gone overseas to study but has vast amount of knowledge of what is wrong there.

The only assumption I am going to make is this thread is a total waste of time as you are not open to other people's ideas, and has a deep seated bias and resort to name calling people who glorify overseas education. Only the insecure will call others that and it would be fitting for someone who enjoys smelling their own flatus. My notion of you is that you are a follower in life from your comments on Nasdaq, and beholden to people who show some sort of intellectual superiority. Don't bother to respond as I will not be commenting any further
I decided to edit this to give a more thorough explaination.
You did implied that very little memorization is required. This is what I said earlier.

In most uni out there.  You are still force to memorize during exams.  Sharing facebook post without their own opinion is not something that is applicable just over here.

For which you then replied.
you are missing the forest for the trees. Nobody force you to memorise. If you are comparing to countries like China the you are probably correct. It was there that I was exposed to the idea understanding a subject matter is a better way to memorise fact.

So you admit that you are a liar now? I never said you were lying about your experience in overseas. I was saying that you were lying about saying that understanding and not memorization is required in university. You are really capable though. For implying things I NEVER SAID.

Well you dun even understand what you wrote I wonder how you understand what your lecturer said.
This is where you implied that I was to go over seas
Your mind seems made up so good luck on your future.

Making allegations when there is none? Or maybe you have a reading comprehension at even the things you wrote.

Nah it is probably a waste of time discussing with you. Please do not respond. I feel a little bit more stupid just reading your post.

Analysis on things like Nasdaq is probably not for people like you,

It takes one to call one remember that. The fact that you make the commend that you are not going to reply the next time but yet took the time to write a long post shows that you are the one who is insecure. I studied overseas b4 for your info and I have the courage to do a cost analysis on this.

This post has been edited by TheRant: Jul 26 2019, 05:45 PM
SUSTheRant
post Jul 26 2019, 05:49 PM

688 posts

You are pretty good though. I answered to your point but then you are dishonest. It's impossible to actually discuss with you when you say something and later deny later.

For one. I never said that you fabricated your experience. I was saying that you should measure in terms on tangibles. Everyone can say that they have an experience that "money cannot buy". For example, I can plan to go go to Paris in order to have "an experience that money cannot buy". But then I do not have much savings. Do I then decide to go to Paris to experience an "experience that money cannot buy".

I think in my previous post, I actually answered your concern but then you are incapable to do so in kind. You accuse me of the actual thing you do. I never asserted that you fabricated your experience. And I think you know that but then all you want to do is win at all costs.

Anyways. Can sense your bitterness. That is why you do not even care to actually reply to my comment because you are afraid that I will know about it. And your cowardly way of replying and then saying that you will not reply to my post tells me a lot about your character.

And you actually say that I am close minded when I agreed with what Bursageek was writing. Who is the bitter one.

You are no different from the people who post commands in facebook without thinking to be honest.

Who is calling who name now since you mention about NASDAQ.

Of course now you ask why bother going to uni. And my answer is to get that cert. But then if cert is all that matters it does not matter which uni to go to right?

This post has been edited by TheRant: Jul 26 2019, 07:36 PM
.Cipher P
post Jul 30 2019, 11:15 AM

Probation

Whether going overseas is the right path for you depends on what you intend to pursue and what your goals are. If you're planning to spend the money to go abroad, do make sure that you're spending it on a degree that is likely to offer you a high chance of employment coming out of school - the best at this time are computer science, finance, math & statistics (data science) for high earning in-demand careers right out of undergrad.

Once you've chosen a useful area of study, the second thing to make sure of is that you can work in the overseas location where you're studying during the time that you are student there. It will be essential that you get local work experience via internships or student work placements while you are completing your degree. Without this experience it might be very hard to find a job after graduation, and you're unlikely to maximize your parents' investment if you have to go back to Malaysia and start your career under the Malaysian pay scale sad.gif

I know that you mentioned Australia in your post, but if you're a superstar student do try shooting for elite colleges in the US, the UK, and Canada. In my experience the average quality of top graduates from those countries (particularly Tier 1 US schools) tends to be higher than the average Australian graduate (although there are definitely some good Aussie professionals out there too) and your projected earnings from starting out in each of those countries will likely be higher as well.

Although a good amount of your time in school should be spent studying to make sure that your GPA is high, it will be important for you to be social as well. Join clubs where you can show leadership and meet new friends and professionals in your field - those are contacts that can help you later. Generally, try and find a few hours a week to be social. Remember that hiring managers and teams are made up of people and they want to work with people they'll like, so you're doing yourself a big favour if you come across as likeable and charismatic during the interview process - this is easier said than done and difficult to fake, so building your social skills throughout your undergrad journey will be helpful. Asian culture tends to heavily stress academics and downplay social skills, and that frequently results in graduates that have great resumes but struggle in interviews because they come across as woody or robotic...

Anyway if you think you can do that all the stuff above, I'd say definitely do go overseas to study because the experience you gain from doing college right and starting a career in a high-income country will probably change your life for the better. If not, maybe just study domestically, get some professional experience for a couple of years in a big office in Malaysia, and then once you get disillusioned with corporate life and have built some professional skills, use the money your parents saved by not sending you overseas to start your own business smile.gif
MGM
post Jul 30 2019, 11:17 AM

18,495 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Jul 23 2019, 09:46 AM)
Been out of Malaysia for more than 15 years. Did my first degree in Malaysia and masters overseas. And I can say that the years I spend overseas studying is really priceless. At that time I am stilll young and energetic and get to meet more people from around the world. It is the experience which you can never buy. Understanding the different cultures and I can say that my current jobs owe much to my years spend studying abroad. Working abroad now is totally different than studying. ANd I still miss the those years.

My outlook in life is very simple. Life is too short to just think about making more money. Regret I do have now is not dating more girls form other countries! Cant do that now as I am already married to a non Malaysian. smile.gif
I am of the same view of getting first degree locally but at the top public universities n then post graduate overseas.
.Cipher P
post Jul 30 2019, 12:00 PM

Probation

QUOTE(.Cipher @ Jul 29 2019, 07:15 PM)
Whether going overseas is the right path for you depends on what you intend to pursue and what your goals are. If you're planning to spend the money to go abroad, do make sure that you're spending it on a degree that is likely to offer you a high chance of employment coming out of school - the best at this time are computer science, finance, math & statistics (data science) for high earning in-demand careers right out of undergrad.

Once you've chosen a useful area of study, the second thing to make sure of is that you can work in the overseas location where you're studying during the time that you are student there. It will be essential that you get local work experience via internships or student work placements while you are completing your degree. Without this experience it might be very hard to find a job after graduation, and you're unlikely to maximize your parents' investment if you have to go back to Malaysia and start your career under the Malaysian pay scale sad.gif

I know that you mentioned Australia in your post, but if you're a superstar student do try shooting for elite colleges in the US, the UK, and Canada. In my experience the average quality of top graduates from those countries (particularly Tier 1 US schools) tends to be higher than the average Australian graduate (although there are definitely some good Aussie professionals out there too) and your projected earnings from starting out in each of those countries will likely be higher as well.

Although a good amount of your time in school should be spent studying to make sure that your GPA is high, it will be important for you to be social as well. Join clubs where you can show leadership and meet new friends and professionals in your field - those are contacts that can help you later. Generally, try and find a few hours a week to be social. Remember that hiring managers and teams are made up of people and they want to work with people they'll like, so you're doing yourself a big favour if you come across as likeable and charismatic during the interview process - this is easier said than done and difficult to fake, so building your social skills throughout your undergrad journey will be helpful. Asian culture tends to heavily stress academics and downplay social skills, and that frequently results in graduates that have great resumes but struggle in interviews because they come across as woody or robotic...

Anyway if you think you can do that all the stuff above, I'd say definitely do go overseas to study because the experience you gain from doing college right and starting a career in a high-income country will probably change your life for the better. If not, maybe just study domestically, get some professional experience for a couple of years in a big office in Malaysia, and then once you get disillusioned with corporate life and have built some professional skills, use the money your parents saved by not sending you overseas to start your own business smile.gif
Lmao sorry. I posted this on the wrong thread and can't find a way to edit/delete. Still semi-relevant here I guess...
ukauka2020
post Jul 30 2019, 12:28 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(TheRant @ Jul 9 2019, 12:47 PM)
What do you guys think. Do you think it's worth studying overseas.  Would it be better if we use that money for investment OK n the first place.
with the increasingly expensive costs associated with it, i believe it has to be justified. if your notion is simply study in overseas for the sake of "overseas" i would say no. unless you have a strong motivation behind such as studying in one of the top universities for the particular expertise that you wished to learn and practice in the future. exposure is overrated, in the end its your effort to learn and network that truly counts. many do study abroad and come back to msia to work with stories of getting drunk, and thats about it

This post has been edited by ukauka2020: Jul 30 2019, 12:33 PM
rooney723
post Jul 30 2019, 11:57 PM

596 posts

its oni worth it if u get a job overseas n work thr , then u can regain bck the cost u paid for the course

but if u go overseas study but come bck malaysia work, then dont waste ur money la, better just go local unis, u can spend 500k-1 million n then come back here earn 3-4k as freshie? how long u gonna take to recoup the 500k u spent for the overseas degree?

i got a fren, went to UK study degree n masters, graduated from top uni, LSE to b specific, he spent almost myr 1 million to study in UK up to masters

then cnt find job in UK, n come bck malaysia here work, his parents mortgaged their house to pay for his education overseas, n after he came bck to msia n work here, he actually was very regret for studying overseas, his parents spent so much n sacrificed so much for him, n he felt the overseas degree he have is not really useful, yes he studied in top uni in UK n very easy to get jobs in top companies here, but he spent so much more compared to his colleagues who went to local private unis n spending much lesser for their degrees or masters, when is he going to recoup the almost 1 million he spent on his education in UK?

he is already carrying such a huge debt when he started working n his parents are not rich, just normal working class n they have to mortgage their house n use their savings to pay the fees, he felt very guilty to put his parents in such situation n now repaying money to his parents for the loan he took to study overseas
rooney723
post Jul 30 2019, 11:58 PM

596 posts

double post

This post has been edited by rooney723: Jul 30 2019, 11:59 PM
MGM
post Jul 31 2019, 09:55 AM

18,495 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Jul 30 2019, 11:57 PM)
its oni worth it if u get a job overseas n work thr , then u can regain bck the cost u paid for the course

but if u go overseas study but come bck malaysia work, then dont waste ur money la, better just go local unis, u can spend 500k-1 million n then come back here earn 3-4k as freshie? how long u gonna take to recoup the 500k u spent for the overseas degree?

i got a fren, went to UK study degree n masters, graduated from top uni, LSE to b specific, he spent almost myr 1 million to study in UK up to masters

then cnt find job in UK, n come bck malaysia here work, his parents mortgaged their house to pay for his education overseas, n after he came bck to msia n work here, he actually was very regret for studying overseas, his parents spent so much n sacrificed so much for him, n he felt the overseas degree he have is not really useful, yes he studied in top uni in UK n very easy to get jobs in top companies here, but he spent so much more compared to his colleagues who went to local private unis n spending much lesser for their degrees or masters, when is he going to recoup the almost 1 million he spent on his education in UK?

he is already carrying such a huge debt when he started working n his parents are not rich, just normal working class n they have to mortgage their house n use their savings to pay the fees, he felt very guilty to put his parents in such situation n now repaying money to his parents for the loan he took to study overseas
Pity the parents, now their retirement plan has to be downgraded. Surprised that even LSE graduate needs long time to recoup back 1m.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0231sec    1.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:53 PM