164 Pages « < 131 132 133 134 135 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.32, Need To Buy Laptop..? Please Come In

ZM Fong
post May 12 2020, 03:17 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(q135 @ May 12 2020, 01:14 PM)
Max weight in kg?
2~3kg
Min battery life in hours?
6~8hrs
Would suggest waiting for more Ryzen 4800H models. Anyway, if you can't wait:
Illegear Selenite Pro
Illegear Onyx G
QUOTE(okw1 @ May 12 2020, 03:01 PM)
Err example if both at 90W the performance not much different, is that what you mean? If like that then for what purpose Nvidia announced the new/refreshed 2060?
Yes

Just a refresh with slight downgrade+slight upgrade specs and allows TGP up to 115W (previously only Tongfang did that)
okw1
post May 12 2020, 04:00 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 12 2020, 03:17 PM)
Yes

Just a refresh with slight downgrade+slight upgrade specs and allows TGP up to 115W (previously only Tongfang did that)
Oh like that, but I heard that the old 2060 might having graphic issues with the DLSS2.0 and the ray tracing, was that been fixed in the latest drivers? If yes then I may no need to eye on the refreshed version....
ZM Fong
post May 12 2020, 04:20 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(okw1 @ May 12 2020, 04:00 PM)
Oh like that, but I heard that the old 2060 might having graphic issues with the DLSS2.0 and the ray tracing, was that been fixed in the latest drivers? If yes then I may no need to eye on the refreshed version....
this one I'm not sure
okw1
post May 12 2020, 04:41 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 12 2020, 04:20 PM)
this one I'm not sure
Ok never mind, thanks for answering my many questions biggrin.gif . Still waiting for your update for the recommendation thread though. Are you plan to come out with review once Lenovo Malaysia announce the new Legion laptop?
ZM Fong
post May 12 2020, 04:46 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(okw1 @ May 12 2020, 04:41 PM)
Are you plan to come out with review once Lenovo Malaysia announce the new Legion laptop?
You mean review on Legion laptops? Unless I got one, I wouldn't be able to do it

If you're curious about thermals of each model, I have compile all the data info an Excel file: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ifsxRRnARf...iew?usp=sharing
okw1
post May 12 2020, 04:56 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 12 2020, 04:46 PM)
You mean review on Legion laptops? Unless I got one, I wouldn't be able to do it

If you're curious about thermals of each model, I have compile all the data info an Excel file: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ifsxRRnARf...iew?usp=sharing
Ya the Legion Laptops. Need to know if the new one can handle the thermal well with 2060 and Ryzen or not.

Thanks for the document, it does simplify a lot. Any plan to add in other model once you can get one to test?
ZM Fong
post May 12 2020, 06:30 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(okw1 @ May 12 2020, 04:56 PM)
Thanks for the document, it does simplify a lot. Any plan to add in other model once you can get one to test?
I have no contacts with Lenovo Malaysia, therefore getting review units from them are nearly impossible. Unless I buy one for myself (like my own Y530)

Most of the time I gather info from different reviews

This post has been edited by ZM Fong: May 12 2020, 06:30 PM
creepydslr
post May 12 2020, 09:23 PM

627 posts

hi..
im looking for laptop..
my preference below 2.5kg, powerful for CAD & rendering, last at least 6-8hrs..
im eyeing this model Asus TUF A15 FA506I-VAL118T 15.6'' FHD 144Hz Gaming Laptop ( Ryzen 7 4800H, 16GB, 1TB SSD, RTX2060 6GB, W10 ) any thermal issue regarding this model (ryzen 7 4800 pair with rtx2060)?
Is there any cheaper option with Ryzen 4800H series?
creepydslr
post May 12 2020, 09:25 PM

627 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 12 2020, 03:17 PM)
Would suggest waiting for more Ryzen 4800H models. Anyway, if you can't wait:

is there more Ryzen 4800 model beside Asus TUF A15 FA506I-VAL118T?
ZM Fong
post May 12 2020, 09:30 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(creepydslr @ May 12 2020, 09:25 PM)
is there more Ryzen 4800 model beside Asus TUF A15 FA506I-VAL118T?
Yes
creepydslr
post May 12 2020, 09:38 PM

627 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 12 2020, 09:30 PM)
Yes
ready stock or pre order basis?
care to share..
linguafranca P
post May 12 2020, 09:40 PM

Probation

Hello! Hoping to get some help

1. Budget: 6k - 7k
2. Usage: Microsoft Office, Graphic design (Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop, Lightroom), Watching movies, The Sims 4, Web browsing
3. Requirements:
- 1TB storage
- I often have to run Illustrator, Photoshop, and Chrome simultaneously
- not picky about laptop weight, size and all that, as long as it has a sturdy build
- decent battery
- considering convertible laptops so I can draw with a pen but this isn't necessary if they're not powerful or sturdy enough
- I know this cannot be guaranteed, but I hope for something that will last longer than 2 or 3 years? my trusty old sony vaio lasted 8 years RIP vaio

Thank you smile.gif
ZM Fong
post May 12 2020, 10:01 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(creepydslr @ May 12 2020, 09:38 PM)
ready stock or pre order basis?
care to share..
not available yet
QUOTE(linguafranca @ May 12 2020, 09:40 PM)
- decent battery
Min how many hours?

Able to wait further?
linguafranca P
post May 12 2020, 10:11 PM

Probation

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 12 2020, 10:01 PM)
not available yet

Min how many hours?

Able to wait further?
3 to 5 hours while running heavier programs like Illustrator & Photoshop?

and yeah I can wait.
ZM Fong
post May 12 2020, 10:19 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(linguafranca @ May 12 2020, 10:11 PM)
3 to 5 hours while running heavier programs like Illustrator & Photoshop?

and yeah I can wait.
3 hrs is almost impossible under heavy load
linguafranca P
post May 12 2020, 10:25 PM

Probation

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 12 2020, 10:19 PM)
3 hrs is almost impossible under heavy load
Ah ok ok. Well, battery life isn't a big issue for me because my laptop is plugged in most of the time.
myway1985
post May 12 2020, 10:39 PM

12,090 posts

QUOTE(linguafranca @ May 12 2020, 09:40 PM)
Hello! Hoping to get some help

1. Budget: 6k - 7k
2. Usage: Microsoft Office, Graphic design (Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop, Lightroom), Watching movies, The Sims 4, Web browsing
3. Requirements:
- 1TB storage
- I often have to run Illustrator, Photoshop, and Chrome simultaneously
- not picky about laptop weight, size and all that, as long as it has a sturdy build
- decent battery
- considering convertible laptops so I can draw with a pen but this isn't necessary if they're not powerful or sturdy enough
- I know this cannot be guaranteed, but I hope for something that will last longer than 2 or 3 years? my trusty old sony vaio lasted 8 years RIP vaio

Thank you  smile.gif
hi.. xps 13 7390 2 in1

asus zenbook duo

dun need wait for zephryus ryzen 4000.. the thermal control is bad.. but asus pay the reviewer only to mention good thing bout it
ZM Fong
post May 12 2020, 11:56 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(linguafranca @ May 12 2020, 10:25 PM)
Ah ok ok. Well, battery life isn't a big issue for me because my laptop is plugged in most of the time.
I would suggest waiting for a bit for upcoming models
leongsem
post May 13 2020, 10:49 AM

3,259 posts

I plan to buy one laptop (<3.5k)
touch screen is not important for me
prefer 15.6inch
8G RAM

once a while play some game but not high graphic game.

THank you very much.
ZM Fong
post May 13 2020, 03:07 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(leongsem @ May 13 2020, 10:49 AM)
I plan to buy one laptop (<3.5k)
touch screen is not important for me
prefer 15.6inch
8G RAM

once a while play some game but not high graphic game.

THank you very much.
Any preferences on weight and battery life?

164 Pages « < 131 132 133 134 135 > » Top

0.0868sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:17 PM