Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, Q&A about tips and technique here

ozak
post Mar 5 2008, 11:53 AM

17,018 posts

There is a tutorial at the pinned site http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/488910 . Check out there what paint to use.

This post has been edited by ozak: Mar 5 2008, 11:53 AM
ozak
post Mar 6 2008, 05:07 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Mar 6 2008, 08:22 AM)
smile.gif Thanks notworthy.gif
I got few crappy 1/144 kits to try on first... At least, I won't ruin my coming MG Wings and PG Wings

The matter I don't have time to search around now was that freaking Streamyx haven't activated yet... So I don't have access to all the guides, tutorial and come asking here instead...I off @ 4pm and I've plenty plenty of free time... Just don't have access to web @ home for now...

Just easy and go.

Assume that I'm kind of getting the idea of it, see if I'm wrong in the whole process... I'm bad @ it and need advices..

1) Paint + Thinner
2) Paint on the Kits
3) Let it Dry
4) Do lining

Am I correct or I'm missing some parts here? blush.gif
If you like to learn in hand on, I mean somebody guide you face to face, you can go to cinemaleisure sunday after 12pm. Go up to 3rd floor, look for outpost beside cinema. There got few people modeling thier kits there. You can ask them to teach you.
ozak
post Mar 30 2008, 08:56 PM

17,018 posts

You can get the cutter from the pasar road electronic shop. Quite cheap and the quality is not bad either. Got made in japan, taiwan and china.
ozak
post Apr 12 2008, 02:45 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Apr 12 2008, 01:33 AM)
BTW, for compressor rite, which type would u guys recommend, cos i heard like got diff types.

My boss uses one, which can be used whole day without turning off. Really good la. Think it was written 40 hp at the side.
He said AB + Compressor around 800 plus. I think it's abit expensive, but very worth it lo cos the compressor can literally run whole day.
The compressor is not run whole day. It will switch on when the pressure is below set limit. If run whole day, your electric bill can kill you. I ve compressor function like this. I just let it on for whole day, but it won't run if you don't use it. The compressor alone can cause over RM1k. A reasonable quality AB is cause around rm200+. Mostly made in taiwan. I think it is good enough. 0.3 size should be ok. 0.5 is too big and 0.2 is good also if you have extra $$.
There is some good package comp+AB selling at multifila, balakong.
ozak
post Apr 12 2008, 12:11 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(Elanges @ Apr 12 2008, 09:36 AM)
well im lookin for cheap one cos me lack of money ler.... how about this model?
SPRAY-WORK BASIC AIR COMPRESSOR w/AIRBRUSH
isist good??
If budget is limited, just take it. Even if the AB won't give you good result, pratice your skill to overcome it. Once you have budget than consider more expensive one. I start with a basic one during school time. With a basic Badger AB and a super noisy overheat compressor pass down from my father. I train my skill to compensate the basic AB. Even it is tough, but it worth it. Once I work and have $$, one short I change to good comp+AB. thumbup.gif
ozak
post Apr 30 2008, 01:07 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(zoidx_chung @ Apr 29 2008, 01:19 AM)
i wear a useless mask  doh.gif
anyone using a mask which totally no smell?

now i still  rclxub.gif
Better if you invest a spray booth. Even if you wear mask, the spray mist is still in the air for sometime. So how good the mask, the smell is still there. And the smell is not danger. But the spray paint mist will get to your lung. Is it poison.

Added on April 30, 2008, 1:11 pm
QUOTE(kurz @ Apr 29 2008, 12:56 AM)
hmm this ---> http://www.tamiya.com/english/products/745.../basic_comp.htm

rm550..shud get onot?
is it ok good enuff n can get gd results?
Maybe add another rm100-200 can get a sparmax comp and a double action AB. Alot better than the tamiya set.

This post has been edited by ozak: Apr 30 2008, 01:11 PM
ozak
post May 10 2008, 11:39 PM

17,018 posts

Yeah, There is many way beside compressor. The most cost effective way is setup the AB with a hose and use your mouth to blow. tongue.gif Once you have experience it, you can upgrade to real compressor. icon_rolleyes.gif
ozak
post May 12 2008, 07:49 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(-Kouichi- @ May 12 2008, 03:00 AM)
hahaha thx for telling beckylaw..
i know i heard bout it..using airbrush with preassure gas can..
and the result wont be as good as using compressor..
but just wanna make sure..i will check it out

Added on May 12, 2008, 3:02 amenvy envy..i wanted gundam exia..
i wonder wht color shud i get to paint exia??
is that a normal dark blue??
Got another idea. Curi your father car spare tyre and pump it till max pressure. Regulate the pressure and you can use very longtime. Makesure you pump back the air and put back the tyre to the car. Kena scold don't blame me. tongue.gif
ozak
post May 14 2008, 10:30 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(Tsubasa66 @ May 13 2008, 11:46 PM)
anyone assemble fighter jet model kit b4 ??
how was it plz share with me i juz m  interested in which manufacture i should pick which i shouldn't
There is a few brand you can try. The most good quality is the tamiya. Others like hasegawa, trumpeter, revell, dragon and airfix. Recommended is tamiya, hasegawa and airfix.

Added on May 14, 2008, 10:50 pm
QUOTE(MakNok @ May 14 2008, 02:29 PM)
thx for the info
Have call Venus Art....1/8 Hp air compressor...but don't have 1/4 or 1/5 air compressor with tank
Nanyang...visit just now but not what i have in mind...
Toy City...not sure whether i go or not...but i went in some toy shop there just now.

Multifilla..... got but Germany brand 1/4 horse and costly Rm1,350

AF Hobby....still searching

but can anyone help...something similar like this

i am looking for something like this yet silent
http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2008-05D...nflator_etc.htm
thx
icon_rolleyes.gif
I ve seen this comp before in 1U toycity. And you can try KLCC and midvalley toycity. There is one hobby shop in astria damansara which the owner using one of this. You can ask him to recommend. He is friendly. You can ask mr. low hobby HQ in city square, ampang. Saw one there and he demo to me. Abit noisy for me. Try this website also --> www.hobbiescorner.com. A local website. So should be cheap in delivery charge.

This post has been edited by ozak: May 14 2008, 10:50 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0183sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:05 PM