Household 2019 Real estate market situation, can buy property now ?

TSKevxion
post May 21 2019, 03:26 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ May 18 2019, 01:18 AM)
Agreed, most people aren't property investors. Personally I view it that it is a good time to buy premium landed homes because never before in the last 30 years that you could bargain up to 1/3 off the listed price.

There are good deals out there and now is the time to be picky when it comes to buying especially if you have money to spend.
It is your one and only opportunity to buy a decent sized property in fairly decent locations. It may not appreciate in value by much but it will always be a positive cashflow investment. Otherwise it is a cheap place to live.

Policies will come, change and go, cross the bridge when you get to it.
There will be 3 residential status developments within the KL Sentral proper meaning it carrier a KL Sentral address and title. They are Suasana Sentral, Suasana Sentral Loft and the last one that is now under construction is KL Sentral Suites.

After KL Sentral Suites is completed there won't be any further residential development with a KL Sentral address. Everything else will be commercial only.

Actually all 3 of the residential developments have a lot of Sillyporean buyers. Many of them are weekend or holiday homes.

When I was buying a unit at Sentral Suites the SA suggested when I rent it out to rent the carpark separately or charge more in rental if renting with the carpark. Common practice it seems.
If the project was launched sometime in the last 5-10 years, check out all the property reviews and you will know the launching price.

Otherwise there are many sites where you can find out the price trends of the house you are interested in.
Depends where that out of town property is.

As a whole if you are buying it for your own stay better to buy the condo especially if you are working in the city, have family in the city and would mostly be in the city. Commuting does cost money and it will mean time away from family and loved ones.
Well you could visit H20 Residence at Ara Damansara and judge for yourself biggrin.gif I went in to a few units and hope the developer honours their DLP.

Riveria while near KL Sentral isn't a KL Sentral but more of a Brickfields development and must be priced in as such. In that respect I consider it an extremely expensive development.
Do it long and often enough and you will have your own network of connections, been doing this for 16 years and counting. Probably do it for another 16 years smile.gif
thanks for the advice

TSKevxion
post May 21 2019, 03:28 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ May 18 2019, 01:18 AM)
Agreed, most people aren't property investors. Personally I view it that it is a good time to buy premium landed homes because never before in the last 30 years that you could bargain up to 1/3 off the listed price.

There are good deals out there and now is the time to be picky when it comes to buying especially if you have money to spend.
It is your one and only opportunity to buy a decent sized property in fairly decent locations. It may not appreciate in value by much but it will always be a positive cashflow investment. Otherwise it is a cheap place to live.

Policies will come, change and go, cross the bridge when you get to it.
There will be 3 residential status developments within the KL Sentral proper meaning it carrier a KL Sentral address and title. They are Suasana Sentral, Suasana Sentral Loft and the last one that is now under construction is KL Sentral Suites.

After KL Sentral Suites is completed there won't be any further residential development with a KL Sentral address. Everything else will be commercial only.

Actually all 3 of the residential developments have a lot of Sillyporean buyers. Many of them are weekend or holiday homes.

When I was buying a unit at Sentral Suites the SA suggested when I rent it out to rent the carpark separately or charge more in rental if renting with the carpark. Common practice it seems.
If the project was launched sometime in the last 5-10 years, check out all the property reviews and you will know the launching price.

Otherwise there are many sites where you can find out the price trends of the house you are interested in.
Depends where that out of town property is.

As a whole if you are buying it for your own stay better to buy the condo especially if you are working in the city, have family in the city and would mostly be in the city. Commuting does cost money and it will mean time away from family and loved ones.
Well you could visit H20 Residence at Ara Damansara and judge for yourself biggrin.gif I went in to a few units and hope the developer honours their DLP.

Riveria while near KL Sentral isn't a KL Sentral but more of a Brickfields development and must be priced in as such. In that respect I consider it an extremely expensive development.
Do it long and often enough and you will have your own network of connections, been doing this for 16 years and counting. Probably do it for another 16 years smile.gif
there sound good , need to do much study regarding for tat
Bjorn1688
post May 21 2019, 11:44 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 21 2019, 01:32 AM)
Ya, I believe in 'live till old, learn till old'...of those I've been exploring in recent years, I found that it'll take me ages to understand stocks-stuffs, so I won't do crazy things with them, no certainties too in returns.

I do find that I naturally lean towards educating myself in property, since I quite like it for I could see something tangible...and does appreciate in value (unless you get real crap ones).
I'm not saying real estate is the absolute best way to invest but it is one of the better ones out there.

Stocks, currently unless you can second guess what Xi Jin Ping and Donald Trump's next moves are you better keep your money in your pocket.

There are also too many school of thoughts out there that makes it very difficult to learn other than through years of experience and also with money you won't cry if it is wiped out.

Thanks, I'll try to match this target someday if I could happy.gif
Why is single storey preferable yea? Easier to sell?
There are several many good reasons for a single storey and many of it very practical reasons. Here are some of the reasons :-

1) It will always be in demand, in this country it is 50% Malay and when they could afford it this is what they would rent especially when there are 3 generations living under the same roof. It will definitely be easier to sell or rent out.
2) Practical, one day you may have aged parents that comes to live with you or you may be in a situation where you can no longer climb stairs, what else beats a single storey terrace house, get out of your car and open your door and you are home. You could say the same about a condo but have you tried unloading your groceries when you live in a condo or a flat pack furniture you bought from IKEA?
3) They aren't being built in big numbers any longer so demand for them can only go up. Tends to be located in more mature neighbourhoods as well.
4) They are usually cheaper to buy than an equivalent DSL house with the same land size. If you are on your own why do you need a 2nd storey? This also means rental yields on them will be fairly good. The lower prices on them won't remain forever though.
5) Cheaper to renovate and modernise. An average 22x70 single storey terrace assuming it is a time warp special to 1970s or 1980s, RM50k should make it to be a very nice house that would be in good condition for at least 30 years and if you know where and how to make your money work harder for you it would be enough to even furnish it. You will need 2-3x that amount if it is a double storey house.

One question...if you have 100k, will you choose to put in FD-like or dump all into your flexi-mortgage? Sorry if this is a silly one cuz I'm not familiar with mortgage concepts we have (full, semi, flexi, etc.) I've learnt we can somewhat put in however much $ we have, saving interest/reducing tenure in the process (till you have to withdraw them again), is that what you meant?
I usually buy a place only with full-flexi mortgage. That Bangsar semi-d for example was purchased by a full flexi 15 year mortgage. Each month the mandated repayments are RM4329. However every month I would pay in RM580 extra towards the principal amount. (From the rental while my dad took the rest)

On the 10th year, it was 4 payments away from the mortgage being settled in full and was remortgaged.

As for what I'd be doing with RM100k? I would definitely be parking money into all my mortgages.

I'm taking this to heart, thanks for providing a clearer thought of refinancing for me. Especially first point.
Great, its actually called leverage. Do it while you are still young where you could qualify for longer term mortgages, once you hit 45 the term of your mortgage starts to reduce. Also best to do it when you have income from a job that every month there is a fixed salary especially if you foresee in future you may have to take a pay cut for whatever reason.

Champion, lol...very tough, but works really well to groom his children, I'd imagine.
Lol, ladies...it's pretty hard to get them into making decision fast, haha...it's nice that you let go of the earlier property for your sis too. But I think you have higher chance to find similar properties in the future compared with them, so your father needs to help them out somewhat smile.gif

Well I viewed it as favouritism smile.gif

impulsebeat
post May 22 2019, 02:58 PM

120 posts

Bjorn1688 always give very good advice (Y)
yeddy7 P
post May 22 2019, 06:23 PM

Probation
47 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ May 21 2019, 11:44 PM)

I usually buy a place only with full-flexi mortgage. That Bangsar semi-d for example was purchased by a full flexi 15 year mortgage. Each month the mandated repayments are RM4329. However every month I would pay in RM580 extra towards the principal amount. (From the rental while my dad took the rest)

On the 10th year, it was 4 payments away from the mortgage being settled in full and was remortgaged.

Sorry if this is a silly one cuz I'm not familiar with mortgage concepts. Just wanted to know more. only Full Flexi can reduce the loan tenure with advance payment. Can we do the same with Semi Flexi loan??
Bjorn1688
post May 22 2019, 08:31 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(yeddy7 @ May 22 2019, 06:23 PM)
Sorry if this is a silly one cuz I'm not familiar with mortgage concepts. Just wanted to know more. only Full Flexi can reduce the loan tenure with advance payment. Can we do the same with Semi Flexi loan??
There isn't a 1 size fit all answer as different banks give different meanings to the term "flexi" and now am finding out there are also differences between how a bank defines "full flexi" as well.

As a whole, most if not all with the term "flexi" in it you can do some advance payments to reduce your loan tenure but some now even on a full flexi will limit the amount of payments you could make.

yeddy7 P
post May 22 2019, 10:41 PM

Probation
47 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ May 22 2019, 08:31 PM)
There isn't a 1 size fit all answer as different banks give different meanings to the term "flexi" and now am finding out there are also differences between how a bank defines "full flexi" as well.
As a whole, most if not all with the term "flexi" in it you can do some advance payments to reduce your loan tenure but some now even on a full flexi will limit the amount of payments you could make.
Thanks Bjorn1688 for your valuable advise rclxms.gif rclxms.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif . Let me do the rest and find out more with the bank. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
pinksapphire
post May 23 2019, 12:27 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ May 21 2019, 11:44 PM)
I'm not saying real estate is the absolute best way to invest but it is one of the better ones out there.

Stocks, currently unless you can second guess what Xi Jin Ping and Donald Trump's next moves are you better keep your money in your pocket.
Ya, the current climate is one of the worst to try venture into stocks. There's no patterns, clear signals to pick up...cuz your future lies in the tiny hands of Trump.

There are also too many school of thoughts out there that makes it very difficult to learn other than through years of experience and also with money you won't cry if it is wiped out.
Fully agree. And unless a person's natural with economy, for me, I'd rather put my money into something more tangible while gaining knowledge in a more real space. So, I'm happy for those who are good in that.

There are several many good reasons for a single storey and many of it very practical reasons. Here are some of the reasons :-

1) It will always be in demand, in this country it is 50% Malay and when they could afford it this is what they would rent especially when there are 3 generations living under the same roof. It will definitely be easier to sell or rent out.
2) Practical, one day you may have aged parents that comes to live with you or you may be in a situation where you can no longer climb stairs, what else beats a single storey terrace house, get out of your car and open your door and you are home. You could say the same about a condo but have you tried unloading your groceries when you live in a condo or a flat pack furniture you bought from IKEA?
3) They aren't being built in big numbers any longer so demand for them can only go up. Tends to be located in more mature neighbourhoods as well.
4) They are usually cheaper to buy than an equivalent DSL house with the same land size. If you are on your own why do you need a 2nd storey? This also means rental yields on them will be fairly good. The lower prices on them won't remain forever though.
5) Cheaper to renovate and modernise. An average 22x70 single storey terrace assuming it is a time warp special to 1970s or 1980s, RM50k should make it to be a very nice house that would be in good condition for at least 30 years and if you know where and how to make your money work harder for you it would be enough to even furnish it. You will need 2-3x that amount if it is a double storey house.
Thanks for your insights...does seem to make alot of sense.
I know you've done quite a bit on landed and how it can be worth your efforts...but can I know what you think of aged landed houses in general? They normally require refurbishment or major renovation - will banks/people view it as old in anyway that can serve as a disadvantage? Is there a cut-off age for landed that you will not consider?

Well I viewed it as favouritism smile.gif
Awww... +_+
Bjorn1688
post May 23 2019, 01:10 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 23 2019, 12:27 AM)

Thanks for your insights...does seem to make alot of sense.
I know you've done quite a bit on landed and how it can be worth your efforts...but can I know what you think of aged landed houses in general? They normally require refurbishment or major renovation - will banks/people view it as old in anyway that can serve as a disadvantage? Is there a cut-off age for landed that you will not consider?
Awww... +_+
My advice on buying single storey houses :-

Aged homes, let me get a few things straight first, the only real renovation required as a house ages is to update the wiring and plumbing, both of which these days can be done without costing an arm and a leg. Maybe the roof could do with a replacement and if you do take the opportunity to insulate it as well, it isn't really considered major renovations. Everything else is considered a want rather than a need smile.gif

I don't really recommend buying a house that has had extensive renovations for extra money. Heard of the term shiny mess? If you haven't what it means is sure you have a nice extension but do you know if the extension was properly built? Sure you have a nicely tiled up bathroom and floors, however do you know for sure if it was properly done? The seller may claim it has new plumbing and wiring but how do you know for sure? The answer is you will never know, hence I would never buy a nicely renovated place at a premium.

As for buying an aged house. If it is a freehold, as long as it is made from bricks in a halfway decent location I won't worry too much about its age. No issues with bank loans. If you get one for investment don't fix what is not broken just rent it out as it is. If it is for your own stay do up the plumbing, roof and wiring first everything else as and when you have extra money to spend.

If it is a leasehold, if you are 30 years old today then the lease must have 70 years remaining. If you are 40 then there must be 60 years remaining. Loans, usually not an issue if it is 80 years tenure remaining, if it is less than that you may face some issues getting loans for it especially if it is less than 60 years remaining, you will find the margin of finance goes down significantly to reflect that the value of the land lease has reduced.
pinksapphire
post May 23 2019, 01:58 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ May 23 2019, 01:10 AM)
My advice on buying single storey houses :-

Aged homes, let me get a few things straight first, the only real renovation required as a house ages is to update the wiring and plumbing, both of which these days can be done without costing an arm and a leg. Maybe the roof could do with a replacement and if you do take the opportunity to insulate it as well, it isn't really considered major renovations. Everything else is considered a want rather than a need smile.gif

I don't really recommend buying a house that has had extensive renovations for extra money. Heard of the term shiny mess? If you haven't what it means is sure you have a nice extension but do you know if the extension was properly built? Sure you have a nicely tiled up bathroom and floors, however do you know for sure if it was properly done? The seller may claim it has new plumbing and wiring but how do you know for sure? The answer is you will never know, hence I would never buy a nicely renovated place at a premium.
Alright, I hear you...sometimes it's not necessary for our own good.
As for buying an aged house. If it is a freehold, as long as it is made from bricks in a halfway decent location I won't worry too much about its age. No issues with bank loans. If you get one for investment don't fix what is not broken just rent it out as it is. If it is for your own stay do up the plumbing, roof and wiring first everything else as and when you have extra money to spend.
laugh.gif got you!
rotloi
post Oct 9 2020, 11:10 PM

878 posts

Nice location, suites somemore

This post has been edited by rotloi: Oct 9 2020, 11:10 PM

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0139sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:30 PM