Household 2019 Real estate market situation, can buy property now ?

TSKevxion
post May 16 2019, 05:21 PM, updated 7y ago

35 posts

can i have some opinion current market, nowadays a lot of agents say that is good time to buy a property,

what is the Pros and cons??

got alot rebate and got cash back some more is it really good to purchase ?
the property free MOT until end of JUNE sound like now buy before JUNE is pretty good?
base rate drop interest lower then previous d?

need some advice from specialist adviser !
TSKevxion
post May 16 2019, 06:01 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(BeastB @ May 16 2019, 05:52 PM)
I'm not a specialist adviser but I would say it is starting to be a good time to look at subsale.

Many owners who bought the past 5 years are trying to offload quickly since the trend is now firmly down.

If you're buying from developer.....best of luck. I'm not a believer of new developments, especially in a soft market.
is it subsales free for all the legal fee like MOT? and where can we know which area are under value?
TSKevxion
post May 17 2019, 12:00 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(vckc @ May 16 2019, 06:03 PM)
No... You have to bear all legal fees for SNP and LA. Prepare about 5% of property price for Legal fees and SD.

For under value props.. go out and look for them. Start calling agents.
under value how can we know is under value?
TSKevxion
post May 17 2019, 12:03 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Siao_Lang @ May 17 2019, 12:23 AM)
Whoever that says now is a bad time will always say this no matter what.. There is never a good time or bad time.

If you dont take risk you dont win.

There are always good buy properties. To be safe, always go for landed in city area, not ulu area.

New launch condo 400k and above, better dont see. Most are in non favourable area, small or low ROI and overpriced.
if for this current situation got 500k will you go for condo in city or out skirt landed from the town ?
TSKevxion
post May 17 2019, 12:03 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ May 17 2019, 12:55 AM)
Buy low
Sell high
straight to the point , thanks for the advice lol
TSKevxion
post May 17 2019, 12:14 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(lollipopkan @ May 16 2019, 07:36 PM)
Yes free mot, however most of the time you need to pay 10% downpayment.

Example: First time home buyer, 400k - 40k(10% discount, some have, some dont have) = 360k discounted spa price

360k - 36k(10% downpayment) = 324k nett price

Personally, I feel like more rebates and cashback means developers are getting more desperate to sell their units as they want to avoid too much overhang.

Yes, interest rate lower.
then feel like can save a lot though , but some of the developer cash back they wont cash back us early , say have to wait until getting house key only can get is it legal in this way because we are servicing the loan
TSKevxion
post May 17 2019, 12:22 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Siao_Lang @ May 17 2019, 12:23 AM)
Whoever that says now is a bad time will always say this no matter what.. There is never a good time or bad time.

If you dont take risk you dont win.

There are always good buy properties. To be safe, always go for landed in city area, not ulu area.

New launch condo 400k and above, better dont see. Most are in non favourable area, small or low ROI and overpriced.
where you will buy bro ? can bring me fly ?
TSKevxion
post May 17 2019, 12:29 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ May 17 2019, 02:36 AM)
Currently there are 2 new KL Sentral properties.
1) Sentral Suites.
2) Riveria.

Sentral Suites mostly sold out so nothing much to talk about. It is also quite an expensive development. This is the only real KL Sentral development as the rest are Brickfields. It is also the last one as after this there would be no more further KL Sentral residential development.

Riveria? This isn't a residential development and doesn't carry a KL Sentral address.

As for why other developments don't get talked about much?

1) Cost, very high average prices.
2) Rarity, good units rarely ever come on the market.
3) The area lacks vibrancy and for the most part much of it are slums.
4) Most people have little need to live close to 7 rail lines and therefore opt to live elsewhere where it is more conducive.
5) Rentals may be high but occupancy rates aren't that fantastic.
Riveria is come with affordable price, but psf is little high, i think that area can invest , how is the developer performance can share some ?
TSKevxion
post May 17 2019, 06:03 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ May 16 2019, 10:35 PM)
Am not a specialist adviser.

But here's my take on the current property market climate. The first thing you will need in the current climate is good holding power as no matter what property you buy you need to be prepared for it to be vacant for longer than usual.

It is a good time to pick up cheap medium cost places that are near MRT/LRT/KTM stations. Positive cash flow investments but it will take some effort to manage. Are you eligible for a rumawip?? Quickly get one. One of these get on auction? Get it if it is on the cheap. There will always be demand for them.

Properties that are between RM500-700k, plenty of them about but only those near LRT/MRT stations need to be considered with the other exception being those close to major roads.

Properties between RM700k-1.5m, stay away unless it is a freehold, landed and you are keeping it for capital appreciation, only buy one if you have holding power and find one going for below market value. Condo in "atas" areas, only recent ones need to consider, everything else not worth it.

Properties >RM1.5m, this will typically be landed houses in well established neighbourhood. Rentals are crap on them but they will have capital appreciation value, find very basic but liveable condition units that are going for a bargain.

How I find properties on a bargain?
The 6 subsale I own :-
-2 were from my lawyer, was informed of the troubles of the buyer and if could help they had a properties to let go.
-2 were from my banker, 1 was a distress situation and another colleague migrating.
-2 were by an REA that I have a good relationship with and these 2 were basically owners been wanting to sell for a long time but couldn't sell and he informed me what were the magic numbers to close a deal and how to seal the deal.
you have alot of good connection, lawyer and banker will know the info in a first hand quite good though.
TSKevxion
post May 21 2019, 03:23 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Lescotesco @ May 17 2019, 02:35 PM)
is rawang near anggun city or rawang aeon considered as ulu area? interested in a double storey landed there
my friend have bought one prop over there call desa country home , 550k after discount

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ May 20 2019, 02:46 AM)
Never too late or old to learn.

Read up on personal financial management plenty of good resources online these days.

Also try to follow some of the FI/RE movements. You do get some good insights from it here and there.

Oh yes and always be careful of scammers such as those selling forex/money/stock games smile.gif
I always teach when asked that each person should have 4 or more properties.
1 to live in.
1 for retirement income.
1 for savings.
1 for contingencies/emergencies.

Only 1 of those properties should be a landed and ideally a single storey.

If you have no one to pass it on to then do consider leasehold that can command good rental yields for 2 of those properties.
I don't have much cash on me at any one time. In fact at any one time between my missus and me we don't have more than RM200 between us in physical cash. Any extra cash we have after paying for our needs we always park it into one of our flexi-mortgage accounts to reduce interest.

Refinancing a property can be a good idea for the following reasons :-
1) Buying another property (either low LTV or fully paid off)
2) Buying good stocks.
3) Investing into a genuine business.
4) Investing in yourself (Qualifications to earn more money)

Refinancing a property isn't a good idea in the following reasons :-
1) Buying into skim cepat kayas.
2) Buying into forex/money game scams.
3) Buying a fancy car (unless it is a classic car that is appreciating in value)
4) Buying a property with high LTV.
Just a correction there, he never taught us any of the skills, we have to learn it on our own. He taught us you make a mess you go clean it up. Don't know how to clean it up, then you better learn or you will have another mess to clean up after that. Very plain, very clean and very simple.

I have no complaints on what he wants to do with his money, the keyword being it is HIS money.
Yes many young ones are absolute self-entitled brats these days. While I empathise with many of them some of them are just pure spoiled brats and you don't even need to look into wealthy families to find these brats.
I took on 3 "rough gems" 1 was this Bangsar semi-d, 1 was 22x80 DSL house in Damansara that the previous owner started renovating and ran out of money to finish and the final one was a bungalow in TTDI that had extensive fire damage, owner took the insurance money and did not want to rebuild instead sold it on the cheap.
I took 2 that I bought at launch price from him that were in decent condition.
I took on 1 of his condo at under launch price from him because it had been badly damaged by the tenant.

My elder half sister took on 1 at launch price, a 5 year old condo in MK that she renovated it till it was really one of a kind to live in. She took on 1 "rough gem" a condo in MK, was a basic unit, she took money to renovate and gave it a top of the range ID job. Only problem is the old man said she overspent by RM200k and told her to repay the amount she overspent. She sold both her condos to buy up that TTDI bungalow that I had rebuilt. Sold it to her at a profit but below market value.

The younger half sister took 2 at launch price and sold both of them almost instantaneously, both were condos at MK as well. Last year she and her husband bought the Damansara house from me which the old man asked me to sell to them at below market value in exchange to take on that condo that he sold to me at below launch price. Did not really want to sell but difficult to say no to this type of request.

Now he has 2 more condos in TTDI, its his final 2 investment properties, both are nice units and selling at launch price. When I refinanced the Bangsar house and the deal to buy the neighbour unit fell through I offered to buy both units from him but he said I should buy the 2 semi-ds instead and let the 2 girls have a chance to own an investment property. Only problem is this was in February, they are still fighting because 1 faces the park, 1 faces the pool and they both want the unit that faces the park.
this look complicated @@, nid some time to absorb
TSKevxion
post May 21 2019, 03:26 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ May 18 2019, 01:18 AM)
Agreed, most people aren't property investors. Personally I view it that it is a good time to buy premium landed homes because never before in the last 30 years that you could bargain up to 1/3 off the listed price.

There are good deals out there and now is the time to be picky when it comes to buying especially if you have money to spend.
It is your one and only opportunity to buy a decent sized property in fairly decent locations. It may not appreciate in value by much but it will always be a positive cashflow investment. Otherwise it is a cheap place to live.

Policies will come, change and go, cross the bridge when you get to it.
There will be 3 residential status developments within the KL Sentral proper meaning it carrier a KL Sentral address and title. They are Suasana Sentral, Suasana Sentral Loft and the last one that is now under construction is KL Sentral Suites.

After KL Sentral Suites is completed there won't be any further residential development with a KL Sentral address. Everything else will be commercial only.

Actually all 3 of the residential developments have a lot of Sillyporean buyers. Many of them are weekend or holiday homes.

When I was buying a unit at Sentral Suites the SA suggested when I rent it out to rent the carpark separately or charge more in rental if renting with the carpark. Common practice it seems.
If the project was launched sometime in the last 5-10 years, check out all the property reviews and you will know the launching price.

Otherwise there are many sites where you can find out the price trends of the house you are interested in.
Depends where that out of town property is.

As a whole if you are buying it for your own stay better to buy the condo especially if you are working in the city, have family in the city and would mostly be in the city. Commuting does cost money and it will mean time away from family and loved ones.
Well you could visit H20 Residence at Ara Damansara and judge for yourself biggrin.gif I went in to a few units and hope the developer honours their DLP.

Riveria while near KL Sentral isn't a KL Sentral but more of a Brickfields development and must be priced in as such. In that respect I consider it an extremely expensive development.
Do it long and often enough and you will have your own network of connections, been doing this for 16 years and counting. Probably do it for another 16 years smile.gif
thanks for the advice

TSKevxion
post May 21 2019, 03:28 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ May 18 2019, 01:18 AM)
Agreed, most people aren't property investors. Personally I view it that it is a good time to buy premium landed homes because never before in the last 30 years that you could bargain up to 1/3 off the listed price.

There are good deals out there and now is the time to be picky when it comes to buying especially if you have money to spend.
It is your one and only opportunity to buy a decent sized property in fairly decent locations. It may not appreciate in value by much but it will always be a positive cashflow investment. Otherwise it is a cheap place to live.

Policies will come, change and go, cross the bridge when you get to it.
There will be 3 residential status developments within the KL Sentral proper meaning it carrier a KL Sentral address and title. They are Suasana Sentral, Suasana Sentral Loft and the last one that is now under construction is KL Sentral Suites.

After KL Sentral Suites is completed there won't be any further residential development with a KL Sentral address. Everything else will be commercial only.

Actually all 3 of the residential developments have a lot of Sillyporean buyers. Many of them are weekend or holiday homes.

When I was buying a unit at Sentral Suites the SA suggested when I rent it out to rent the carpark separately or charge more in rental if renting with the carpark. Common practice it seems.
If the project was launched sometime in the last 5-10 years, check out all the property reviews and you will know the launching price.

Otherwise there are many sites where you can find out the price trends of the house you are interested in.
Depends where that out of town property is.

As a whole if you are buying it for your own stay better to buy the condo especially if you are working in the city, have family in the city and would mostly be in the city. Commuting does cost money and it will mean time away from family and loved ones.
Well you could visit H20 Residence at Ara Damansara and judge for yourself biggrin.gif I went in to a few units and hope the developer honours their DLP.

Riveria while near KL Sentral isn't a KL Sentral but more of a Brickfields development and must be priced in as such. In that respect I consider it an extremely expensive development.
Do it long and often enough and you will have your own network of connections, been doing this for 16 years and counting. Probably do it for another 16 years smile.gif
there sound good , need to do much study regarding for tat

0.0200sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:17 AM