Netflix 4K HDR with Atmos, What device to use?

TSFusion
post May 2 2019, 12:59 PM, updated 7y ago

.:ATI:.
1,201 posts

Guys,

i am using a projector and would like to know which device could i use to stream 4K HDR with Atmos sound to my HT.

i m currently using my PS4 Pro but it doesnt support Atmos output.

anyone has tried using Media player like Egreat or himedia to stream 4k HDR + atmos?
mpyw
post May 2 2019, 01:01 PM

3,603 posts

Which devices support Dolby Atmos audio with Netflix?

The following devices support Dolby Atmos with Netflix. For exact device models with Dolby Atmos available, please visit the device manufacturer's website.

Apple TV 4K (requires tvOS 12 or later)

LG OLED TVs (2017 or newer models)

Panasonic TVs (2019 or newer models)

Pixela 4K Smart Tuner

Roku TVs (2018 or newer models)

Sony BRAVIA Android TVs (2018 or newer models)

Toshiba TVs (2019 or newer models)

Vizio TVs (2018 or newer models)

Windows 10 computer or tablet (requires Windows 10 RS3 Build 16299 or later)

Xbox One, Xbox One S, and Xbox One X

cassian948
post May 2 2019, 01:03 PM

931 posts

Windows PC supports Dolby Atmos.
TSFusion
post May 2 2019, 01:09 PM

1,201 posts

seems like i do not have any other choice but to buy a new product for netfix atmos.

i prefer not to use Windows PC to stream because the HDMI output cant really output very good Black color. it mostly turn out to be slightly grey. tried Radeon and Nvidia but the PQ is not as good as dedicated Media player.

i do have egreat a5, anyone has experience installing Netflix using APK with this media player?

greyshadow
post May 2 2019, 01:27 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ May 2 2019, 01:09 PM)
seems like i do not have any other choice but to buy a new product for netfix atmos.

i prefer not to use Windows PC to stream because the HDMI output cant really output very good Black color. it mostly turn out to be slightly grey. tried Radeon and Nvidia but the PQ is not as good as dedicated Media player.

i do have egreat a5, anyone has experience installing Netflix using APK with this media player?
you only can get 4K on Netflix certified devices, egreat isn't one of it, and it never will
SSJBen
post May 2 2019, 03:01 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ May 2 2019, 01:09 PM)

Bunch of hocus pocus bs. No offense but that's down to your own personal fault for not getting the settings right.

Since you didn't specifically explain your problem, I can only assume that you didn't even set the correct RGB range matching between output and display to begin with hence your claim "cant really output very good Black color".
TSFusion
post May 2 2019, 03:19 PM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 2 2019, 03:01 PM)
Bunch of hocus pocus bs. No offense but that's down to your own personal fault for not getting the settings right.

Since you didn't specifically explain your problem, I can only assume that you didn't even set the correct RGB range matching between output and display to begin with hence your claim "cant really output very good Black color".
thanks for your reply but no thanks for the attitude.

a reply of " you could try changing the dynamic range to full so that RGB could cover 0 to 255" would suffice.

by the way, i have done this with my GTX780 but still dont like the output hence the comment that i made.

if you got it running perfectly, then good for you.

SSJBen
post May 2 2019, 03:23 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ May 2 2019, 03:19 PM)

a reply of " you could try changing the dynamic range to full so that RGB could cover 0 to 255" would suffice.
by the way, i have done this with my GTX780 but still dont like the output hence the comment that i made.

Nah that's because this board is full of spreading myths and misinformation.

Besides, you only set the dynamic range to full on the Display settings page. But did you change the dynamic range to Full as well on the Video setting page which affects web-based player streams?

This post has been edited by SSJBen: May 2 2019, 03:26 PM
TSFusion
post May 2 2019, 03:44 PM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 2 2019, 03:23 PM)
Nah that's because this board is full of spreading myths and misinformation.

Besides, you only set the dynamic range to full on the Display settings page. But did you change the dynamic range to Full as well on the Video setting page which affects web-based player streams?
hmm...thats interesting. The netflix atmos requires windows 10 running netflix apps in order to output full atmos, i did not play with the video setting page. i didnt know that it would affect the Netflix apps output. will try it out later.
SUSskyforcerld
post May 3 2019, 08:46 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ May 2 2019, 03:19 PM)

I was using a HTPC with low end Radeon HD6850 for years. Looks great. Now decommission due to using Android TV.

Frankly, i didnt do any special settings...

But probably an Android TV box would be more user friendly.
SUSskyforcerld
post May 3 2019, 08:47 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ May 2 2019, 03:44 PM)
hmm...thats interesting. The netflix atmos requires windows 10 running netflix apps in order to output full atmos, i did not play with the video setting page. i didnt know that it would affect the Netflix apps output. will try it out later.
Yes, i was using Windows 10 Netflix app. The web based version cant do some stuff if i remember correctly.
rx330
post May 3 2019, 12:43 PM

11,811 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ May 2 2019, 01:01 PM)
Which devices support Dolby Atmos audio with Netflix?

The following devices support Dolby Atmos with Netflix. For exact device models with Dolby Atmos available, please visit the device manufacturer's website.

Apple TV 4K (requires tvOS 12 or later)

LG OLED TVs (2017 or newer models)

Panasonic TVs (2019 or newer models)

Pixela 4K Smart Tuner

Roku TVs (2018 or newer models)

Sony BRAVIA Android TVs (2018 or newer models)

Toshiba TVs (2019 or newer models)

Vizio TVs (2018 or newer models)

Windows 10 computer or tablet (requires Windows 10 RS3 Build 16299 or later)

Xbox One, Xbox One S, and Xbox One X
do the the TVs in this list supports eARC?
mpyw
post May 3 2019, 02:11 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 3 2019, 12:43 PM)
do the the TVs in this list supports eARC?
Only 2019 Sony TV A9F and Z9F
rx330
post May 3 2019, 02:54 PM

11,811 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ May 3 2019, 02:11 PM)
then the others is self decode Atmos in tv is it? since normal ARC can't send the Atmos signal thru either
mpyw
post May 3 2019, 03:11 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 3 2019, 02:54 PM)
then the others is self decode Atmos in tv is it? since normal ARC can't send the Atmos signal thru either
I think can, those people using the LG OLED by ARC can get atmos sound, maybe their atmos is the compress type (448kbps?) so bandwidth requirement not so high?

Netflix is updating the sound bandwidth to 640kbps, so don't know if this will affect those older TV
rx330
post May 3 2019, 03:38 PM

11,811 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ May 3 2019, 03:11 PM)
I think can, those people using the LG OLED by ARC can get atmos sound, maybe their atmos is the compress type (448kbps?) so bandwidth requirement not so high?

Netflix is updating the sound bandwidth to 640kbps, so don't know if this will affect those older TV
ahhh, okok
thanks for the info bro tongue.gif tongue.gif
SSJBen
post May 3 2019, 04:07 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Atmos from Netflix is slipped into DD+ which has a range that goes up to 6.144mbps, but of course no audio editor and engineer would use a lossy codec at its maximum bitrate (waste of space, no benefit). So previously (well still currently), DD+ with Atmos meta data is capped at 448kbps, which fits through the ARC bandwidth pipeline.

People have to understand that Atmos is not actually a soundtrack. It's actually DATA that is layered on top of the bed layer soundtrack for object based effects.

As for Netflix upgrading their DD+ track to 640kbps, that's really nothing ground breaking lol. They sprinkle all that bullshit marketing and how they have some "secret sauce" that is baked into the track that distinguishes it from their lossless counterpart... yeah sure thing. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by SSJBen: May 3 2019, 05:50 PM
Convael
post May 3 2019, 04:07 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ May 3 2019, 02:11 PM)
And 2019 LG OLEDs.

A9F and Z9F are TVs from last year , X950G , A9G & Z9G from this year are expected to support eARC as well.

This post has been edited by Convael: May 3 2019, 04:10 PM
TSFusion
post May 3 2019, 05:24 PM

1,201 posts

i finally tried atmos in my AV room yesterday using a computer and to tell the truth, the quality is actually a little disappointing. i doubt increasing the bitrate to 640kbps would have much impact to the overall sound especially for those who are used to Bluray or BDMV files. The overall sound was quite compress and the higher octave was cut off, very much like comparing a compress MP3@160 Kbps to a lossless flac/wav.

the 4k HDR video however has the embedded metadata of Max CLL and Max Fall which is a nice touch. at least we we would know the HDR used for the particular movie.

AVFAN
post May 3 2019, 05:52 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ May 3 2019, 05:24 PM)
i finally tried atmos in my AV room yesterday using a computer and to tell the truth, the quality is actually a little disappointing. i doubt increasing the bitrate to 640kbps would have much impact to the overall sound especially for those who are used to Bluray or BDMV files. The overall sound was quite compress and the higher octave was cut off, very much like comparing a compress MP3@160 Kbps to a lossless flac/wav.

the 4k HDR video however has the embedded metadata of Max CLL and Max Fall which is a nice touch. at least we we would know the HDR used for the particular movie.
actually, even netflix dd5.1 is dull compared to full dd5.1.

netflix is marketing it right... dd, dd+, atmos, hd, 4k, etc.

but really... both video and audio - they are the lowest quality u find for the classifications.

u will not want anything netflix if u r used to BD or BDMV on a full home theater like u said! biggrin.gif

which is strange why some still look for netflix-atmos soundbar!! tongue.gif
SSJBen
post May 3 2019, 05:52 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Audio quality wise it is indeed disappointing. But more than 90% of Netflix users are watching on TV speakers, earpods or some beats headphone. The advent of soundbars has at least notified Netflix that there's an increasing demand for better audio quality, but better doesn't mean good either.

For their target groups, it's good enough.

For people who demands quality, netflix isn't the place.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: May 3 2019, 09:51 PM
mois
post May 3 2019, 08:04 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

The DD 5.1 on netflix is really bad compared to normal bluray. Wait they roll out new audio quality, only then can compare.
skylinelover
post May 12 2019, 12:12 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

ATMOS is not standard yet

Dont bother 4 now hahahaha
SUSskyforcerld
post May 13 2019, 10:45 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ May 12 2019, 12:12 PM)
ATMOS is not standard yet

Dont bother 4 now hahahaha
Yep. Unless you have tons of BluRay disc with Atmos or ripped source....

Atmos on Netflix is very few and far between.

But it seems like the next standard to replace DD5.1

If buying equipments today, no harm getting it ready for Atmos.
kevinlim001
post May 13 2019, 11:30 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

do you have a ATMOS speaker setup?
TSFusion
post May 14 2019, 12:25 PM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ May 13 2019, 11:30 AM)
do you have a ATMOS speaker setup?
yup. running 7.2.4 using Arcam and Starke A7 power amp.

i think Atmos is quite common in comparison to DTS-X and most of the new movies comes with Atmos. Even the 4K GOT season 1 has Atmos embedded.

SSJBen
post May 14 2019, 04:35 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

DTS dropped the ball huge time. They were simply too late to the party. Back in the 1080p Blu-Ray days, DTS was mopping every studio up with DTS-HD MA tracks. Not many had Dolby TrueHD. This time, it's the other way around.

When implemented properly, DTS:X really is amazing - IMO, even better than Atmos.

Auro 3D is the real deal though, too bad they are so irrelevant to the consumer market that most people don't even know wtf they do.
TSFusion
post May 14 2019, 07:42 PM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 14 2019, 04:35 PM)
DTS dropped the ball huge time. They were simply too late to the party. Back in the 1080p Blu-Ray days, DTS was mopping every studio up with DTS-HD MA tracks. Not many had Dolby TrueHD. This time, it's the other way around.

When implemented properly, DTS:X really is amazing - IMO, even better than Atmos.

Auro 3D is the real deal though, too bad they are so irrelevant to the consumer market that most people don't even know wtf they do.
i remember the days when i moved from dolby pro logic which was emulated from 2 channel to dedicated 5.1 DTS. the improvement was drastic and it really pushed forward the home theater industry.

end of the day, the format war are always won by marketing and the studios that support it rather than the technology and quality of the format.

Aura 3D with Voice of God...havent really had the chance to listen to a properly setup Aura 3D.

aressandro10
post May 15 2019, 04:05 PM

121 posts

I am trying to find a suitable home theater system to enhance my netflix viewing...

currentlu using samsung smart tv as netflix source..so no atmos..

since netflix audio quality is my bottleneck, what is the most suitable home theather package that will do the job without being overspec ?

definately will not be renting or buying any bluray.

This post has been edited by aressandro10: May 15 2019, 04:06 PM
SUSskyforcerld
post May 15 2019, 06:20 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ May 15 2019, 04:05 PM)
I am trying to  find a suitable home theater system to enhance my netflix viewing...

since netflix audio quality is my bottleneck, what is the most suitable home theather package that will do the job without being overspec ?

Then you dont need Atmos....unless you very hardworking download 50GB uncompressed files or something.

In this case, i suggest you just buy a soundbar. No point buying expensive HT for Netflix DD 5.1.
AVFAN
post May 15 2019, 09:18 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ May 15 2019, 04:05 PM)
I am trying to  find a suitable home theater system to enhance my netflix viewing...

if u dun care much about audio but like something better than tv sound, can consider multimedia speakers.

<rm1k, u shud get something pretty good, incl dolby digital, optical input for yr tv's netlfix.

read n ask the guys here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3605086/+1160
SSJBen
post May 15 2019, 11:19 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Buy a pair of Edifier S3000 Pro and call it a day if you want no fuss. You won't find a better pair of bookshelfs below RM3k (yeah, I'm not kidding). Can't spend that much? Get the S2000 Pro for half the price.

Still can't spend that much? Get a Yamaha YAS207 soundbar for RM1.3k but don't expect miracles.

EDIT - Holy shooot are you in luck! RM2.3k for a S3000 Pro is an absolute steal of the century - https://www.lazada.com.my/products/i4424372...lFlag=true&mp=1

This post has been edited by SSJBen: May 15 2019, 11:24 PM
rx330
post May 16 2019, 11:31 AM

11,811 posts

nowadays book shelf so exp ar

I remember my old svs book shelf not so ex... but still usable
SUSskyforcerld
post May 16 2019, 01:01 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 16 2019, 11:31 AM)
nowadays book shelf so exp ar

I remember my old svs book shelf not so ex... but still usable
Book shelf, HT, all butt ugly. tongue.gif

Since TS requirement very simple, soundbar is best.

I recummend TS Yammy YAS108. Only RM 9xx at Desa Home in Kepong. It does much better job then my HT by balancing superb vocal enhancement with the rest of the sound effects. Can upgrade and plug in external sub woofer too. But if not picky, the built in sub woofer also quite decent.

I love ma sexy soundbar. Want to use it as bolster to sleep....😍

==Update: YAS-108 only RM 8xx in Lapsada now...Raya sales==

cry.gif

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: May 16 2019, 01:24 PM
rx330
post May 16 2019, 01:36 PM

11,811 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ May 16 2019, 01:01 PM)
Book shelf, HT, all butt ugly. tongue.gif

agreed tongue.gif tongue.gif

#sourgrape
SUSskyforcerld
post May 16 2019, 01:38 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 16 2019, 01:36 PM)
agreed  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

#sourgrape
Yes..i am sourgrape because can't get rid of my HT...lol.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: May 16 2019, 01:39 PM
aressandro10
post May 16 2019, 02:19 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ May 15 2019, 06:20 PM)
Then you dont need Atmos....unless you very hardworking download 50GB uncompressed files or something.

In this case, i suggest you just buy a soundbar. No point buying expensive HT for Netflix DD 5.1.
Currently samsung tv is not listed among netflix atmos devise. if they do, I would invest for them.

But I do want a real surround sound though. So still siding on 5.1 channel rather than soundbar.

do you guys think Onkyo S3800 is still overspec for Netflix ?
aressandro10
post May 16 2019, 02:22 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 15 2019, 09:18 PM)
if u dun care much about audio but like something better than tv sound, can consider multimedia speakers.

<rm1k, u shud get something pretty good, incl dolby digital, optical input for yr tv's netlfix.

read n ask the guys here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3605086/+1160
Thanks... so these are those computer speakers without amplifier right ?

This post has been edited by aressandro10: May 16 2019, 02:28 PM
aressandro10
post May 16 2019, 02:54 PM

121 posts

1. surround sound 5.1
2. 2 way Bluetooth capability
3. Calibration mic.

I guess that is my only simple requirement...

This post has been edited by aressandro10: May 16 2019, 02:56 PM
SSJBen
post May 16 2019, 04:29 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ May 16 2019, 02:54 PM)
1. surround sound 5.1
3. Calibration mic.

Already off topic.

But to answer you question simply;

1) Get a set of Q Acoustics 30xx speakers (just for the LCR, surrounds don't matter just get whatever that is cheap since you don't have a high budget), get an entry level receiver like a Yamaha v365.

2) Receivers have bluetooth connectivity. Or if you had been reading, get the pair of Edifier S3300 Pro - has bluetooth connectivity as well.

3) You want a good calibration mic? Get either the UMIK1 or Behringer ECM8000. Learn how to use REW, learn how to implement it into a DSP like minidsp or antimode.

4) Stay away from a soundbar.
AVFAN
post May 16 2019, 04:53 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ May 16 2019, 02:22 PM)
Thanks... so these are those computer speakers without amplifier right ?
yes, built for for computers, u can use for TV, some are quite powerful.
the "amp" is in one of speakers or subwoofer, typically.

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ May 16 2019, 02:54 PM)
1. surround sound 5.1
3. Calibration mic.
that is not simple.
simple means nothing of that sort, just 2.1, vol, treble, bass controls.
for those requirements, start looking at AVRs.
no more few hundred RM but thousands.
it is a waste to have full AVR/home theater if u only use it for netflix dd5.1 unless u buy used/2nd hand.
there are existing threads on AVRs/home theaters.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 16 2019, 04:59 PM
SUSskyforcerld
post May 16 2019, 05:03 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 16 2019, 04:53 PM)
that is not simple.
it is a waste to have full AVR/home theater if u only use it for netflix dd5.1 unless u buy used/2nd hand.
aressandro10 Listen to sifu! Click my siggy, buy my HT! biggrin.gif
aressandro10
post May 16 2019, 05:16 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 16 2019, 04:29 PM)
Already off topic.

But to answer you question simply;

1) Get a set of Q Acoustics 30xx speakers (just for the LCR, surrounds don't matter just get whatever that is cheap since you don't have a high budget), get an entry level receiver like a Yamaha v365.

2) Receivers have bluetooth connectivity. Or if you had been reading, get the pair of Edifier S3300 Pro - has bluetooth connectivity as well.

3) You want a good calibration mic? Get either the UMIK1 or Behringer ECM8000. Learn how to use REW, learn how to implement it into a DSP like minidsp or antimode.

4) Stay away from a soundbar.
wow..thanks man..
SSJBen
post May 16 2019, 05:20 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Honestly get the S3300 Pro and be done with it if simplicity is all you want (except you get amazing sound out of this). Does everything so well. Buy once, enjoy.

Not buy once and then hate it, have to sell it or contemplate to trash it or curse everyday on the forum like certain people here.
aressandro10
post May 16 2019, 05:31 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 16 2019, 04:53 PM)
that is not simple.
thanks for the input. Will move the discussion to AVR thread.
*7*
post Dec 22 2019, 01:50 PM

38 posts

hi, I have audio flicker issue every few minutes when i play netflix content that has atmos.

my current setup is using samsung ru7100 tv with the hdmi arc input to yamaha rv685 receiver hdmi eArc slot via hdmi arc supported cable, along with speakers/woofer.

Any idea how to fix this?

0.4913sec    0.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:58 AM