Netflix 4K HDR with Atmos, What device to use?

aressandro10
post May 15 2019, 04:05 PM

121 posts

I am trying to find a suitable home theater system to enhance my netflix viewing...

currentlu using samsung smart tv as netflix source..so no atmos..

since netflix audio quality is my bottleneck, what is the most suitable home theather package that will do the job without being overspec ?

definately will not be renting or buying any bluray.

This post has been edited by aressandro10: May 15 2019, 04:06 PM
aressandro10
post May 16 2019, 02:19 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ May 15 2019, 06:20 PM)
Then you dont need Atmos....unless you very hardworking download 50GB uncompressed files or something.

In this case, i suggest you just buy a soundbar. No point buying expensive HT for Netflix DD 5.1.
Currently samsung tv is not listed among netflix atmos devise. if they do, I would invest for them.

But I do want a real surround sound though. So still siding on 5.1 channel rather than soundbar.

do you guys think Onkyo S3800 is still overspec for Netflix ?
aressandro10
post May 16 2019, 02:22 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 15 2019, 09:18 PM)
if u dun care much about audio but like something better than tv sound, can consider multimedia speakers.

<rm1k, u shud get something pretty good, incl dolby digital, optical input for yr tv's netlfix.

read n ask the guys here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3605086/+1160
Thanks... so these are those computer speakers without amplifier right ?

This post has been edited by aressandro10: May 16 2019, 02:28 PM
aressandro10
post May 16 2019, 02:54 PM

121 posts

1. surround sound 5.1
2. 2 way Bluetooth capability
3. Calibration mic.

I guess that is my only simple requirement...

This post has been edited by aressandro10: May 16 2019, 02:56 PM
aressandro10
post May 16 2019, 05:16 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 16 2019, 04:29 PM)
Already off topic.

But to answer you question simply;

1) Get a set of Q Acoustics 30xx speakers (just for the LCR, surrounds don't matter just get whatever that is cheap since you don't have a high budget), get an entry level receiver like a Yamaha v365.

2) Receivers have bluetooth connectivity. Or if you had been reading, get the pair of Edifier S3300 Pro - has bluetooth connectivity as well.

3) You want a good calibration mic? Get either the UMIK1 or Behringer ECM8000. Learn how to use REW, learn how to implement it into a DSP like minidsp or antimode.

4) Stay away from a soundbar.
wow..thanks man..
aressandro10
post May 16 2019, 05:31 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 16 2019, 04:53 PM)
yes, built for for computers, u can use for TV, some are quite powerful.
the "amp" is in one of speakers or subwoofer, typically.
that is not simple.
simple means nothing of that sort, just 2.1, vol, treble, bass controls.
for those requirements, start looking at AVRs.
no more few hundred RM but thousands.
it is a waste to have full AVR/home theater if u only use it for netflix dd5.1 unless u buy used/2nd hand.
there are existing threads on AVRs/home theaters.
thanks for the input. Will move the discussion to AVR thread.

0.0153sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:53 PM