Netflix 4K HDR with Atmos, What device to use?

SSJBen
post May 3 2019, 05:52 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Audio quality wise it is indeed disappointing. But more than 90% of Netflix users are watching on TV speakers, earpods or some beats headphone. The advent of soundbars has at least notified Netflix that there's an increasing demand for better audio quality, but better doesn't mean good either.

For their target groups, it's good enough.

For people who demands quality, netflix isn't the place.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: May 3 2019, 09:51 PM
mois
post May 3 2019, 08:04 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

The DD 5.1 on netflix is really bad compared to normal bluray. Wait they roll out new audio quality, only then can compare.
skylinelover
post May 12 2019, 12:12 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

ATMOS is not standard yet

Dont bother 4 now hahahaha
SUSskyforcerld
post May 13 2019, 10:45 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ May 12 2019, 12:12 PM)
ATMOS is not standard yet

Dont bother 4 now hahahaha
Yep. Unless you have tons of BluRay disc with Atmos or ripped source....

Atmos on Netflix is very few and far between.

But it seems like the next standard to replace DD5.1

If buying equipments today, no harm getting it ready for Atmos.
kevinlim001
post May 13 2019, 11:30 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

do you have a ATMOS speaker setup?
TSFusion
post May 14 2019, 12:25 PM

.:ATI:.
1,201 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ May 13 2019, 11:30 AM)
do you have a ATMOS speaker setup?
yup. running 7.2.4 using Arcam and Starke A7 power amp.

i think Atmos is quite common in comparison to DTS-X and most of the new movies comes with Atmos. Even the 4K GOT season 1 has Atmos embedded.

SSJBen
post May 14 2019, 04:35 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

DTS dropped the ball huge time. They were simply too late to the party. Back in the 1080p Blu-Ray days, DTS was mopping every studio up with DTS-HD MA tracks. Not many had Dolby TrueHD. This time, it's the other way around.

When implemented properly, DTS:X really is amazing - IMO, even better than Atmos.

Auro 3D is the real deal though, too bad they are so irrelevant to the consumer market that most people don't even know wtf they do.
TSFusion
post May 14 2019, 07:42 PM

.:ATI:.
1,201 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 14 2019, 04:35 PM)
DTS dropped the ball huge time. They were simply too late to the party. Back in the 1080p Blu-Ray days, DTS was mopping every studio up with DTS-HD MA tracks. Not many had Dolby TrueHD. This time, it's the other way around.

When implemented properly, DTS:X really is amazing - IMO, even better than Atmos.

Auro 3D is the real deal though, too bad they are so irrelevant to the consumer market that most people don't even know wtf they do.
i remember the days when i moved from dolby pro logic which was emulated from 2 channel to dedicated 5.1 DTS. the improvement was drastic and it really pushed forward the home theater industry.

end of the day, the format war are always won by marketing and the studios that support it rather than the technology and quality of the format.

Aura 3D with Voice of God...havent really had the chance to listen to a properly setup Aura 3D.

aressandro10
post May 15 2019, 04:05 PM

121 posts

I am trying to find a suitable home theater system to enhance my netflix viewing...

currentlu using samsung smart tv as netflix source..so no atmos..

since netflix audio quality is my bottleneck, what is the most suitable home theather package that will do the job without being overspec ?

definately will not be renting or buying any bluray.

This post has been edited by aressandro10: May 15 2019, 04:06 PM
SUSskyforcerld
post May 15 2019, 06:20 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ May 15 2019, 04:05 PM)
I am trying to  find a suitable home theater system to enhance my netflix viewing...

since netflix audio quality is my bottleneck, what is the most suitable home theather package that will do the job without being overspec ?

Then you dont need Atmos....unless you very hardworking download 50GB uncompressed files or something.

In this case, i suggest you just buy a soundbar. No point buying expensive HT for Netflix DD 5.1.
AVFAN
post May 15 2019, 09:18 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ May 15 2019, 04:05 PM)
I am trying to  find a suitable home theater system to enhance my netflix viewing...

if u dun care much about audio but like something better than tv sound, can consider multimedia speakers.

<rm1k, u shud get something pretty good, incl dolby digital, optical input for yr tv's netlfix.

read n ask the guys here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3605086/+1160
SSJBen
post May 15 2019, 11:19 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Buy a pair of Edifier S3000 Pro and call it a day if you want no fuss. You won't find a better pair of bookshelfs below RM3k (yeah, I'm not kidding). Can't spend that much? Get the S2000 Pro for half the price.

Still can't spend that much? Get a Yamaha YAS207 soundbar for RM1.3k but don't expect miracles.

EDIT - Holy shooot are you in luck! RM2.3k for a S3000 Pro is an absolute steal of the century - https://www.lazada.com.my/products/i4424372...lFlag=true&mp=1

This post has been edited by SSJBen: May 15 2019, 11:24 PM
rx330
post May 16 2019, 11:31 AM

11,811 posts

nowadays book shelf so exp ar

I remember my old svs book shelf not so ex... but still usable
SUSskyforcerld
post May 16 2019, 01:01 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 16 2019, 11:31 AM)
nowadays book shelf so exp ar

I remember my old svs book shelf not so ex... but still usable
Book shelf, HT, all butt ugly. tongue.gif

Since TS requirement very simple, soundbar is best.

I recummend TS Yammy YAS108. Only RM 9xx at Desa Home in Kepong. It does much better job then my HT by balancing superb vocal enhancement with the rest of the sound effects. Can upgrade and plug in external sub woofer too. But if not picky, the built in sub woofer also quite decent.

I love ma sexy soundbar. Want to use it as bolster to sleep....😍

==Update: YAS-108 only RM 8xx in Lapsada now...Raya sales==

cry.gif

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: May 16 2019, 01:24 PM
rx330
post May 16 2019, 01:36 PM

11,811 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ May 16 2019, 01:01 PM)
Book shelf, HT, all butt ugly. tongue.gif

agreed tongue.gif tongue.gif

#sourgrape
SUSskyforcerld
post May 16 2019, 01:38 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 16 2019, 01:36 PM)
agreed  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

#sourgrape
Yes..i am sourgrape because can't get rid of my HT...lol.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: May 16 2019, 01:39 PM
aressandro10
post May 16 2019, 02:19 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ May 15 2019, 06:20 PM)
Then you dont need Atmos....unless you very hardworking download 50GB uncompressed files or something.

In this case, i suggest you just buy a soundbar. No point buying expensive HT for Netflix DD 5.1.
Currently samsung tv is not listed among netflix atmos devise. if they do, I would invest for them.

But I do want a real surround sound though. So still siding on 5.1 channel rather than soundbar.

do you guys think Onkyo S3800 is still overspec for Netflix ?
aressandro10
post May 16 2019, 02:22 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 15 2019, 09:18 PM)
if u dun care much about audio but like something better than tv sound, can consider multimedia speakers.

<rm1k, u shud get something pretty good, incl dolby digital, optical input for yr tv's netlfix.

read n ask the guys here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3605086/+1160
Thanks... so these are those computer speakers without amplifier right ?

This post has been edited by aressandro10: May 16 2019, 02:28 PM
aressandro10
post May 16 2019, 02:54 PM

121 posts

1. surround sound 5.1
2. 2 way Bluetooth capability
3. Calibration mic.

I guess that is my only simple requirement...

This post has been edited by aressandro10: May 16 2019, 02:56 PM
SSJBen
post May 16 2019, 04:29 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ May 16 2019, 02:54 PM)
1. surround sound 5.1
2. 2 way Bluetooth capability
3. Calibration mic.

I guess that is my only simple requirement...
Already off topic.

But to answer you question simply;

1) Get a set of Q Acoustics 30xx speakers (just for the LCR, surrounds don't matter just get whatever that is cheap since you don't have a high budget), get an entry level receiver like a Yamaha v365.

2) Receivers have bluetooth connectivity. Or if you had been reading, get the pair of Edifier S3300 Pro - has bluetooth connectivity as well.

3) You want a good calibration mic? Get either the UMIK1 or Behringer ECM8000. Learn how to use REW, learn how to implement it into a DSP like minidsp or antimode.

4) Stay away from a soundbar.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0227sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:16 PM