woodentiger86
post Jan 8 2020, 05:12 PM

Budding DIY Detailer & Avid Gamer
2,414 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jan 8 2020, 05:03 PM)
game during cny? hmm.gif
Haha. Unlikely.

Will bring my 3DS/Switch with me.

Laptop likely at home for mini-gaming sessions.

Can't wait to start my Man Utd save on Football Manager 20. brows.gif
tky0414
post Jan 9 2020, 10:06 AM

24 posts

Hi, last year i have asked for a recommendation of a gaming laptop with a high srgb display as good as mac book for radiology reporting purpose, i was getting few recommendation choice but i was not too keen for it as it doesnt have eveeything i wan... However, seeing that the new illeagear onyx pro gaming laptop has been released with a 4k oled display version.. with that kind of price tag, would u recommend it? It does looks very enticing for me. Not sure have you get a hand of the laptop already or not but i hope someone who does can help me..
I am worried abt few things,
1) is it going to heat up during gaming due to its small chasis?
2) will the battery used up much faster with usage compromise due to nature of 4k display taking up more power?
TSZM Fong
post Jan 9 2020, 10:25 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(tky0414 @ Jan 9 2020, 10:06 AM)
with that kind of price tag, would u recommend it?
only can tell after I reviewed it
incubus_skj
post Jan 9 2020, 02:16 PM

oh mai gotto
1,749 posts

QUOTE(tky0414 @ Jan 9 2020, 10:06 AM)
Hi, last year i have asked for a recommendation of a gaming laptop with a high srgb display as good as mac book for radiology reporting purpose, i was getting few recommendation choice but i was not too keen for it as it doesnt have eveeything i wan... However, seeing that the new illeagear onyx pro gaming laptop has been released with a 4k oled display version.. with that kind of price tag, would u recommend it? It does looks very enticing for me. Not sure have you get a hand of the laptop already or not but i hope someone who does can help me..
I am worried abt few things,
1) is it going to heat up during gaming due to its small chasis?
2) will the battery used up much faster with usage compromise due to nature of 4k display taking up more power?
1. i'm also reading up on the Onyx Pro as my upcoming replacement and i came across this video about the laptop's heat dissipation during gaming: https://youtu.be/39ldg0HnLiw?t=482

2. not sure about this, but 4k display confirm battery drain faster. but then again why i would go for the 240hz IPS display because 4k on a 15" screen is way overkill. better to plug it to a 4k external monitor, no?

FarisAsh P
post Jan 10 2020, 07:58 AM

Probation

What about acer predator triton 300?
TSZM Fong
post Jan 10 2020, 09:52 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(FarisAsh @ Jan 10 2020, 07:58 AM)
What about acer predator triton 300?
looks like it has the same cooling with Nitro, so avoid
woodentiger86
post Jan 10 2020, 02:16 PM

2,414 posts

Bro, just curious on the below:

Was checking the status of the shipping and noticed the following.

Is this a normal message to get when the products are being shipped in?

Or everyone else has the same status whenever tech products reaches Customs...

This post has been edited by woodentiger86: Jan 10 2020, 02:17 PM
steevan1000
post Jan 10 2020, 02:49 PM

4,539 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jan 10 2020, 02:16 PM)

few weeks ago my friend ordered a laptop from lenovo
he also had this exactly same issue
so maybe it's normal for lenovo products hmm.gif hmm.gif
TSZM Fong
post Jan 10 2020, 03:05 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(steevan1000 @ Jan 10 2020, 02:49 PM)
few weeks ago my friend ordered a laptop from lenovo
he also had this exactly same issue
so maybe it's normal for lenovo products  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
refer to this topic for explaination
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4815281
woodentiger86
post Jan 10 2020, 03:30 PM

2,414 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jan 10 2020, 03:05 PM)
refer to this topic for explaination
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4815281
Ah, awesome!

Sirim certification.

Did cross my mind how it will be done too - guess this post above clarified things.

At least it's safely in Malaysia now and hopefully on track to receive it next week as shared by bro ZM Fong earlier!
TSZM Fong
post Jan 10 2020, 03:59 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jan 10 2020, 03:30 PM)
At least it's safely in Malaysia now and hopefully on track to receive it next week as shared by bro ZM Fong earlier!
Hope you can receive it in time

Off topic a bit: Would you like to go through some thermal testing and tuning (eg undervolting) after receiving the laptop? Just make sure that everything's in good condition, QC issue can happen sometimes due to mass production
steevan1000
post Jan 10 2020, 04:13 PM

4,539 posts

how to do thermal testing / tuning for laptop?
by using certain software ?
need to open up the laptop casing?

going to pick up forge15 tomorrow afternoon so like to know about it too
TSZM Fong
post Jan 10 2020, 04:14 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(steevan1000 @ Jan 10 2020, 04:13 PM)
how to do thermal testing / tuning for laptop?
by using certain software ?
need to open up the laptop casing?

going to pick up forge15 tomorrow afternoon so like to know about it too
There are many ways, I will guide you

No need to open bottom cover

What time you're going there? I'll go there to pick up review unit also
steevan1000
post Jan 10 2020, 04:18 PM

4,539 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jan 10 2020, 04:14 PM)
There are many ways, I will guide you

No need to open bottom cover

What time you're going there? I'll go there to pick up review unit also
after 3pm, maybe around 4
TSZM Fong
post Jan 10 2020, 04:21 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(steevan1000 @ Jan 10 2020, 04:18 PM)
after 3pm, maybe around 4
ok I might go there around that time
steevan1000
post Jan 10 2020, 04:23 PM

4,539 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jan 10 2020, 04:21 PM)
ok I might go there around that time
biggrin.gif looking forward to meet u tomorrow, master fong
FarisAsh P
post Jan 10 2020, 04:27 PM

Probation

I want to buy a decent gaming laptop with i5-9th gen, nvidia gtx 1650, 1tb hdd + 512 gb hdd. What laptop can I get with budget below rm4000?
FarisAsh P
post Jan 10 2020, 04:27 PM

Probation

QUOTE(FarisAsh @ Jan 10 2020, 04:27 PM)
I want to buy a decent gaming laptop with i5-9th gen, nvidia gtx 1650, 1tb hdd + 512 gb hdd. What laptop can I get with budget below rm4000?
512gb ssd
TSZM Fong
post Jan 10 2020, 05:20 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(FarisAsh @ Jan 10 2020, 04:27 PM)
Mind low sRGB 60Hz display?
hamjun0225
post Jan 10 2020, 11:58 PM

388 posts

You need to apply sirim.

169 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.1564sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:37 PM