39 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 >Bottom

My Movie Review Thread V3, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

Veteran director Martin Scorsese recently criticised review aggregator websites for pushing the idea that "every image is there to be instantly judged and dismissed without giving audiences time to see it." Do reviews online reduce value of cine

Judgement is fast in the social media age and film-makers should get used to it. [ 20 ] ** [27.40%]
Reviewing a movie should be left to experts. [ 7 ] ** [9.59%]
Viewers take their own decisions irrespective of quick reviews. [ 46 ] ** [63.01%]
Total Votes: 73
Guests cannot vote 

6so
post Jun 5 2025, 08:37 PM

135 posts

Ballerina - Pretty jolly time to be had with Ana De Armas as the baby baba yaga. Storyline and set-up pretty much non-existent...then action set piece is a blast. So many creative kills and for me the most memorable one is the grenade segment. Let's not kid ourselves, the main reason for us batang to watch is solely to cuci mata with Ana's beauty. She looks fabulous and not forgetting the kickass stunt works.

6so
post Jun 7 2025, 04:39 PM

135 posts

This is a continuation of the well received Predator Prey. Here you have three warriors of three different timeline taking down three different Predator in a rather satisfying as action sequence concerned. So what if they group together in Predator home world? And of course Amber Midthunder!!!
skylinelover
post Jun 8 2025, 03:58 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,236 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Jun 5 2025, 08:37 PM)
Ballerina - Pretty jolly time to be had with Ana De Armas as the baby baba yaga. Storyline and set-up pretty much non-existent...then action set piece is a blast. So many creative kills and for me the most memorable one is the grenade segment. Let's not kid ourselves, the main reason for us batang to watch is solely to cuci mata with Ana's beauty. She looks fabulous and not forgetting the kickass stunt works.
I take flame thrower fight all day laugh.gif laugh.gif

Also real gun pro salute John Wick 99% almost can be applied in real life rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(6so @ Jun 7 2025, 04:39 PM)

This is a continuation of the well received Predator Prey. Here you have three warriors of three different timeline taking down three different Predator in a rather satisfying as action sequence concerned. So what if they group together in Predator home world? And of course Amber Midthunder!!!
I wonder will Wick action style works in sci fi genre like Predator😄😆or Starship Troopers style still better lols
GravityFi3ld
post Jul 7 2025, 11:21 AM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
911 posts

Thundercatsbolts*
Ayam just going to say the last parts of the movie is a blatant rip-off from GotG3 laugh.gif
Marvel has been very lazy - same goes for this entry. You cannot la promote whole cast macam groupie, then awal2 sudah unalive watak2 - wtf rclxub.gif
serious la, all the promo materials/posters of the title has THAT character(s), Marvel ni bodoh ke apa - how can ppl buy your vibe sia rolleyes.gif
While I do give points on their efforts to address a certain mental disorder - yes, we all have our bad days - but it is an action film after all, so yeah - not as deep as it could have been.
Quite gutted that the father-daughter dynamics just did not cut it - at all, also the team bonding, just utter nonsense laugh.gif How Sebastian Stan is even still around is just bonkers (its probably the nice paycheck), it's like he's just being thrown in and out all over the marvel universe to help hold the plot or something shakehead.gif
And lastly, there can only be one BOB!

Certainly another one and done(er) marvel film, not something i'd rewatch on purpose sweat.gif
Also, psa - if you ever have a day that's too bad to bear and need to vent :

skylinelover
post Jul 8 2025, 08:22 PM

11,236 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jul 7 2025, 11:21 AM)
Thundercatsbolts*
Ayam just going to say the last parts of the movie is a blatant rip-off from GotG3  laugh.gif
Marvel has been very lazy - same goes for this entry. You cannot la promote whole cast macam groupie, then awal2 sudah unalive watak2 - wtf  rclxub.gif
serious la, all the promo materials/posters of the title has THAT character(s), Marvel ni bodoh ke apa - how can ppl buy your vibe sia  rolleyes.gif
While I do give points on their efforts to address a certain mental disorder - yes, we all have our bad days - but it is an action film after all, so yeah - not as deep as it could have been.
Quite gutted that the father-daughter dynamics just did not cut it - at all, also the team bonding, just utter nonsense  laugh.gif How Sebastian Stan is even still around is just bonkers (its probably the nice paycheck), it's like he's just being thrown in and out all over the marvel universe to help hold the plot or something shakehead.gif
And lastly, there can only be one BOB!

Certainly another one and done(er) marvel film, not something i'd rewatch on purpose  sweat.gif
Also, psa - if you ever have a day that's too bad to bear and need to vent :

DC will win big in 2 days time

A reboot of Chris Reeve 1978 Superman very promising

I know i stand having doubts on all kinds of reboot but i make James Gunn an exception

laugh.gif rclxms.gif
GravityFi3ld
post Jul 21 2025, 01:45 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
911 posts

Brick (2025 @ Netflix)[German]
Watched this whilst lepak at airbnb la kan..
forgot if they had english dub, but layan in German with English subs je la

Previously already seen this fella, the blond geeky fellow in Army of Thieves / Army of the Dead, ingatkan dah lama acting tu takde kayu/generic sangat, but same ol' Matthias Schweighöfer - macam the Rock la - asyik template yg sama je laugh.gif BUT unlike the Rock, this fella doesn't have the swagger to be the lead, just like Army of Thieves - he cast as lead but rasa lain macam ah sweat.gif ok, done kecam the poor guy

The plot initially quite intriguing la, siap ada wee bit of 10Cloverfield Lane punya vibe (sikit je la), but alas when it progresses - it starts falling into a typical movie narrative/trope - you dah tau sape akan buat apo etc - ending was a little better cause throughout the show it did leave you guessing what it is/happened - so this film boleh layan la if you want something to burn time, or learn German laugh.gif nothing hoo-ha but at least tak teruk sampai terberak bricks la rclxs0.gif
skylinelover
post Jul 23 2025, 10:35 AM

11,236 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jul 21 2025, 01:45 PM)
Brick (2025 @ Netflix)[German]
Watched this whilst lepak at airbnb la kan..
forgot if they had english dub, but layan in German with English subs je la

Previously already seen this fella, the blond geeky fellow in Army of Thieves / Army of the Dead, ingatkan dah lama acting tu takde kayu/generic sangat, but same ol' Matthias Schweighöfer - macam the Rock la - asyik template yg sama je  laugh.gif  BUT unlike the Rock, this fella doesn't have the swagger to be the lead, just like Army of Thieves - he cast as lead but rasa lain macam ah  sweat.gif ok, done kecam the poor guy

The plot initially quite intriguing la, siap ada wee bit of 10Cloverfield Lane punya vibe (sikit je la), but alas when it progresses - it starts falling into a typical movie narrative/trope - you dah tau sape akan buat apo etc - ending was a little better cause throughout the show it did leave you guessing what it is/happened - so this film boleh layan la if you want something to burn time, or learn German laugh.gif nothing hoo-ha but at least tak teruk sampai terberak bricks la  rclxs0.gif
Matthias some how got same shape with Jack Reacher Alan Ritchson laugh.gif rclxms.gif
6so
post Aug 4 2025, 10:28 PM

135 posts

Remember Hollywood forced Jai Courtney as the "it" leading man with streams of mediocre movies. Like Sam Worthington and Taylor Kitsch all found redemption after their failed climb at the A-Lister club. Here he is really good as the creepy but yet charming serial killer. He has this peculiar obsession of feeding his victims to the sharks. Of course the thrill is seeing the main girl outsmarting the killer. Cool slasher cum thriller movie.
6so
post Aug 9 2025, 10:15 AM

135 posts

The guy who brought us Barbarian, his latest doesn't disappoint. Rumors has it bitter bidding war behind the scenes for getting this movie made. The jizz is the mystery of missing students but unravel via Rashomon type of storytelling. Each iteration of the account intensifies as the main culprit came to the surface. Good watch with enough suspense and some masterful jump scare. Great cast who brings in the horror and surprised humor to drive the movie.
defaultname365
post Aug 17 2025, 11:54 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Aug 9 2025, 10:15 AM)

The guy who brought us Barbarian, his latest doesn't disappoint. Rumors has it bitter bidding war behind the scenes for getting this movie made. The jizz is the mystery of missing students but unravel via Rashomon type of storytelling. Each iteration of the account intensifies as the main culprit came to the surface. Good watch with enough suspense and some masterful jump scare. Great cast who brings in the horror and surprised humor to drive the movie.
Watched it yesterday. For fans of horror/thriller/suspense/mystery, this is highly recommended. Zach Cregger delivers yet another brilliant movie after Barbarian. I cannot wait to see his take on the Resident Evil reboot.

The cast is excellent, the acting strong and I loved how the characters’ stories are told from their own perspectives before converging toward the end. It kept me guessing the whole way through, and the trailer wisely gave very little away.

Definitely one of the strongest films I’ve seen this year.

I’d rate it a 9/10

P/S: Due to commitments I couldn’t catch it last week and by this week the number of showings had already dropped a lot (at least in my area). Catch it while you still can.
GravityFi3ld
post Aug 18 2025, 02:33 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
911 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Aug 17 2025, 11:54 PM)
Watched it yesterday. For fans of horror/thriller/suspense/mystery, this is highly recommended. Zach Cregger delivers yet another brilliant movie after Barbarian. I cannot wait to see his take on the Resident Evil reboot.

The cast is excellent, the acting strong and I loved how the characters’ stories are told from their own perspectives before converging toward the end. It kept me guessing the whole way through, and the trailer wisely gave very little away.

I’d rate it a 9/10

P/S: Due to commitments I couldn’t catch it last week and by this week the number of showings had already dropped a lot (at least in my area). Catch it while you still can.
YAS!

Weapons
memang kenot brain la biler tgk trailer, budak missing tapi nama weapons, genre horror pulak tu rclxub.gif
Like defaultname365 said, filem ni kan, dia punya cara cite cam filem 2008, Vantage Point.
Nak kata seram tapi tak de la seram sgt pon, more towards thriller/suspense with some peekaboo element laugh.gif
Also warning yg tak tahan gory2, if you tak leh tahan filem2 SAW - ada quite a few disturbing scenes that tak censor tau jgn kata tak payung eh sweat.gif
Jarang you will appreciate or rather pay attention to the music/score dlm filem2 camni, but damn the drum beats are so f*kin on point - really brings out the energy bruce.gif
It's generally a great show, had more than a few good laughs throughout despite the premise laugh.gif

Ok - last but not least - up to you if you nak kecam if the below is spoiler or not - but seriously, in todays society - better safe than sorry

skylinelover
post Aug 18 2025, 04:10 PM

11,236 posts

I’d rate it a 9/10

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Aug 18 2025, 02:33 PM)
YAS!

Weapons
memang kenot brain la biler tgk trailer, budak missing tapi nama weapons, genre horror pulak tu  rclxub.gif
Like [email=defaultname365]defaultname365[/email] said, filem ni kan, dia punya cara cite cam filem 2008, Vantage Point.
Nak kata seram tapi tak de la seram sgt pon, more towards thriller/suspense with some peekaboo element  laugh.gif
Also warning yg tak tahan gory2, if you tak leh tahan filem2 SAW - ada quite a few disturbing scenes that tak censor tau jgn kata tak payung eh  sweat.gif
Jarang you will appreciate or rather pay attention to the music/score dlm filem2 camni, but damn the drum beats are so f*kin on point - really brings out the energy bruce.gif
It's generally a great show, had more than a few good laughs throughout despite the premise  laugh.gif

Ok - last but not least - up to you if you nak kecam if the below is spoiler or not - but seriously, in todays society - better safe than sorry

Haha speaking of king of Indo horror

Nobody 2 opening soon laugh.gif rclxms.gif

Dude was the first transitioning from Horror to Action gory smoothly

This is his first Hollywood directorial debut ever laugh.gif rclxms.gif

I hope he wont flop hard like Iko Uwais👏👏👏👏
6so
post Aug 18 2025, 09:08 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Aug 18 2025, 12:54 AM)
I read in an interview, David Fincher had a hand in the editing stage and providing feedbacks on the script. Hence his name is in the thank you nod at the end credits crawl. Basically he godfather this movie.
Also Jordan Peele lost a bitter bidding war to produce this movie.
skylinelover
post Aug 20 2025, 10:20 AM

11,236 posts

I’d rate it a 9/10

QUOTE(6so @ Aug 18 2025, 09:08 PM)
I read in an interview, David Fincher had a hand in the editing stage and providing feedbacks on the script. Hence his name is in the thank you nod at the end credits crawl. Basically he godfather this movie.
Also Jordan Peele lost a bitter bidding war to produce this movie.
For the second week Weapons top the domestic charts again laugh.gif rclxms.gif

Hopefully it can end its run half as high as Sinners👏👍

There still hope for solid movie originals in 2025 and post covid 19 hahahaha

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Aug 20 2025, 10:22 AM
6so
post Sep 26 2025, 10:16 PM

135 posts

This is the frontrunner comes award season. Solid castings and a very accessible PTA movie. When you take out all the premise, fundamentally it's a father-daughter story that told through highly unusual circumstances. Yeah it weaves through many tonal shifts as early on you can't really tell where it's going. Then the second half with the stakes ramping up and plot points started to converge, it sticks the landing. It has Coen brothers ironic storytelling element and also a bit of Martin McDonagh dark comedy. Chase Infiniti is the stand out as she can go toe to toe with Sean Penn and DiCaprio.

Surprised the Republicunts didn't cry over this movie as it does mirror a fair bit of the shitshow going on in the US. For the record, this was filmed before orange turd got elected.
salimbest83
post Sep 26 2025, 10:40 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,633 posts

hi. just found tis tered.
why not much review ya
poweredbydiscuz
post Sep 26 2025, 10:44 PM

3,831 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Sep 26 2025, 10:16 PM)
This is the frontrunner comes award season. Solid castings and a very accessible PTA movie. When you take out all the premise, fundamentally it's a father-daughter story that told through highly unusual circumstances. Yeah it weaves through many tonal shifts as early on you can't really tell where it's going. Then the second half with the stakes ramping up and plot points started to converge, it sticks the landing. It has Coen brothers ironic storytelling element and also a bit of Martin McDonagh dark comedy. Chase Infiniti is the stand out as she can go toe to toe with Sean Penn and DiCaprio.

Surprised the Republicunts didn't cry over this movie as it does mirror a fair bit of the shitshow going on in the US. For the record, this was filmed before orange turd got elected.
Did you watch on IMAX? Wondering if it's worth it to watch on IMAX.
6so
post Oct 9 2025, 07:18 PM

135 posts

It's ok...not great but not unwatchable. The world building is not as rich as Legacy but enough eye candy vfx to keep you occupied. Truth be told the plotline rather simplistic with a big McGuffin to drive things forward. Also the MCU-ish sequel baiting is very lazy writing. MVP is the NIN score that really drives the excitement of the action sequences. Time will tell whether it can hold up to Daft Punk's legendary OST.

On a whole I would rather rewatch this than FF on streaming later on.
GravityFi3ld
post Oct 13 2025, 03:34 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
911 posts

F1
Ready, Set.. bikini-clad flag-off for FAMILY!!.. oh wait, wrong film laugh.gif
You want the super serious short summary? This is another on of those white-folks under-doge sports film that if you've seen one, you've probably seen'em all.
Yeap, that's about it.
Cuma setting in a F1 punya sport, bukan rugby (the americans do love this don't they) / baseball / soccer football / golf/ boxing or what have you not ..

Ayam thought this was gonna be something that could hit the feels cause Hans Zimmer do the score .. but flat like the tyres in the show - guess you can't lift every show (or maybe in my case, appease every picky audience) rclxs0.gif

It was nonetheless interesting for me personally, simply because ayam never gib a dang for F1 before (sorry Sepang) laugh.gif so very much have BLANK knowledge of how this F1 thing works, from their race format, line-ups, points, pit-stop, crew, team hierarchy - this film opened up to me how F1 is 'played' - not sure if in real life really got driver pull those stunts during their races, but yea - interesting to see laugh.gif

Cast chemistry not quite there - the camaraderie they try to build tarak feel, if you pay attention there's easily a handful of scenes where i think the actors not fully in their role / acted weird / not convincing enough, maybe script or editorial problem? (yes, ayam looking at you Javier Bardem, not your best outing) sweat.gif

in short, whether you are an F1 fan or not, if you are curious what F1 is about (as in the sport, and ok, maybe the film itself) - give it a go thumbsup.gif

GravityFi3ld
post Oct 27 2025, 12:36 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
911 posts

PRIMALMITIVE WAR
To put it simply, if you can stomach JW Rebirth, you can ride through this one too!

Whilst not quite your regular walk in the park, this film caters to dino-nerds and those who prefer simple linear plot - no fancy pancy time travel bending Nolan-ish filmography here.

Definitely not an A-list Hollywood blockbusting production, they probs tried to make do with the budget they had - sound effect editors were probably paid donuts or were running on leftover ciggies, ayam not talking about the soundtrack or score here, the actual CHOMP of the dinos sounding way too cheap (if you've seen the film, you'll know it!).

Visually tho, you've got quite a good variety of dinos to keep you interested and yes - there are some scenes that imho, were pretty damn good - as in, they know how to use the dinos they put in thumbsup.gif , unlike a certain JW series having to rely on big ol' rexy to show-up last minute rolleyes.gif

Quite nostalgic in a sense, the film gives off vibes like those 90's Stallone/Schwarzenegger macho army films, with guns ablazin' and the usual army cliche dialogues - so if you can enjoy those sorts, this one can la icon_rolleyes.gif

In the simplest way, imagine Predator (yes, the Arnold one) but with Dinosaurs instead laugh.gif

39 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 >Top

0.0418sec    0.40    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:51 AM