Merchantrade money VISA, Multi Currency Wallet

TSlkwah86
post Apr 16 2019, 10:54 AM, updated 6y ago

544 posts

Anyone using this Merchantrade money VISA prepaid card? Signed up when visited MATTA fair.

https://www.merchantrademoney.com

The benefit of this wallet is you can buy the foreign currencies with cheaper rate before you going to oversea and spend.

Promotion:
https://www.merchantrademoney.com/news-promotions/

What is a Multi-Currency Wallet?
A Multi-currency wallet is one of the features of the Merchantrade Money VISA Prepaid Card where you can pre-load up to 20 different foreign currencies. The available foreign currencies are US Dollar (USD), Singapore Dollar (SGD), British Pound (GBP), Australia Dollar (AUD), Indonesia Rupiah (IDR), Euro (EUR), Thai Baht (THB), Japanese Yen (YEN), Saudi Riyal (SAR), Chinese Renminbi (CNY), New Taiwan Dollar (TWD), Hong Kong Dollar (HKD), South Korean Won (KRW), Indian Rupee (INR), Philippines Peso (PHP), Canadian Dollar (CAD), New Zealand Dollar (NZD), United Arab Emirates Dirham (AED), Swiss Franc (CHF) and Vietnamese Dong (VND). The default currency is Ringgit Malaysia (MYR). This feature allows you to pay in the local currency of the country you are visiting, as long as you have pre-loaded your card with sufficient funds before travelling abroad or shopping online.

You can exchange MYR with the listed 20 foreign currencies or exchange any of the listed 20 foreign currencies to MYR via Mobile Application and Web Portal.
The foreign exchange rates can be found in Mobile Application and Web Portal.

The maximum amount you can exchange and store will be based on your card’s overall wallet size in Ringgit Malaysia (MYR). The total cumulative value of your multi-currency wallets must not exceed your card’s overall wallet size in Ringgit Malaysia. Transactions made in any of the 20 listed foreign currencies supported by Merchantrade Money VISA Prepaid Card but with insufficient available balance, the value of the transaction will be processed using respective Listed Currency Wallet(s) in the following order of priority: MYR, USD, SGD, GBP, AUD, IDR, EUR, THB, YEN, SAR, CNY, TWD, HKD, KRW, INR, PHP, CAD, NZD, AED, CHF and VND at conversion rate set by VISA international. The number of listed currencies available may vary from time to time.

What are the benefits of the Card?
Benefits include the following:
a) Enjoy peace-of-mind of not having to carry physical cash, especially when you shop or travel overseas.

b) Convenience in making payments for goods and services at more than 120,000* VISA merchant in Malaysia and 46 million* VISA merchant locations worldwide.

c) Cash withdrawals at Merchantrade branches, participating agents as well as more than 11,000* VISA Plus ATMs in Malaysia and more than 2.5 million* worldwide.

d) Access to a range of services 24 hours a day including convenient management of your funds through Merchantrade Money web service.

e) No hidden forex or cross-currency charges for the listed currency wallet(s) if Cardholder makes payment for overseas purchases using their stored corresponding foreign currencies in the wallet.
(*Note: The figures shown are approximate as at June 2018 and may vary from time to time).

This post has been edited by lkwah86: Apr 16 2019, 11:04 AM
SUSDavid83
post Apr 16 2019, 10:55 AM

52,874 posts

Not a frequent traveler?
Anything better besides that?
TSlkwah86
post Apr 16 2019, 11:02 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 16 2019, 10:55 AM)
Not a frequent traveler?
Anything better besides that?
I signed up because it has promotion 50% cashback for the first spend at that time.

I think this card good for travelers. Besides that, I seldom using this card.
digimon09
post Apr 16 2019, 01:42 PM

447 posts

Just cancel my card last month. Donno what to do with this card... haha
ajay67
post Apr 20 2019, 07:22 AM

2,960 posts

Just got the card last week. Not enough info though.
Planning to use it on my next oversea trips
kaiserreich
post Apr 21 2019, 09:48 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Nice offer
Why is it nice?

This rebate is based on MCC code. You can use agoda/booking.com voucher and get additional rebates.
TSlkwah86
post Apr 26 2019, 07:45 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Apr 20 2019, 07:22 AM)
Just got the card last week. Not enough info though.
Planning to use it on my next oversea trips
You can start to check the currency rate, buy it when you think is good rate.
Can set rate alert in the app.
MGM
post May 2 2019, 06:56 AM

18,385 posts

Can reload with any credit card?
xperiaDROID
post May 3 2019, 04:26 PM

K
3,966 posts

Basically a prepaid card like Bigpay...

Aside from traveling purposes, you can also use it as usual like a normal prepaid card for daily cashless payments.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: May 3 2019, 04:26 PM
TSlkwah86
post May 4 2019, 01:19 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ May 2 2019, 06:56 AM)
Can reload with any credit card?
Cannot
ajay67
post May 6 2019, 11:59 AM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(lkwah86 @ Apr 26 2019, 07:45 AM)
You can start to check the currency rate, buy it when you think is good rate.
Can set rate alert in the app.
i have set the rate but donno why it send alert eventhough not reach the set rate
TSlkwah86
post May 6 2019, 06:19 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ May 6 2019, 11:59 AM)
i have set the rate but donno why it send alert eventhough not reach the set rate
yaya, bugs may be... need to tell the developer
kaiserreich
post May 8 2019, 10:27 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Not a bad promo if you can hit minimim RM100 swipe

80ers
post May 8 2019, 11:21 AM

32 posts

looks like a good prepaid card, can just register online?
TSlkwah86
post May 8 2019, 01:15 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(80ers @ May 8 2019, 11:21 AM)
1) Register online or via the Merchantrade Money app.
2) Verify your identity with your Malaysian NRIC/PR and a ‘selfie’.
3) Top up with any Malaysian online bank account (FPX).
4) Receive your card at your doorstep within 5-7 days.
5) Activate your card online or via Merchantrade Money app.
ajay67
post May 13 2019, 06:41 AM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(80ers @ May 8 2019, 11:21 AM)
Can..except for the multi currency function which u still need to visit branch to activate.
Reventon
post Jun 8 2019, 02:55 AM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ May 13 2019, 06:41 AM)
Can..except for the multi currency function which u still need to visit branch to activate.
Yeah , i think its better to go their branch directly to apply for the card and get it on the spot with MCA activated as well.
I apply thru the app and still go to their branch to activate it.
I buy some currency and keep it when the rate is good.
Too bad the limit set by BNM is 10k for each prepaid card.

estcin
post Jun 17 2019, 11:04 AM

407 posts

Anyone used this card and how are the rates compared to BigPay?
ajay67
post Jun 17 2019, 11:58 AM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(estcin @ Jun 17 2019, 11:04 AM)
Anyone used this card and how are the rates compared to BigPay?
different way of converting. for bigpay, u only convert when purchase, & will only know the conversion rate at that time. for merchantrade, u can convert earlier to foreign currency. so u can choose to convert when the rate is low. u can check the rate on the apps before converting.
estcin
post Jun 17 2019, 12:16 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Jun 17 2019, 11:58 AM)
different way of converting. for bigpay, u only convert when purchase, & will only know the conversion rate at that time. for merchantrade, u can convert earlier to foreign currency. so u can choose to convert when the rate is low. u can check the rate on the apps before converting.
Noted. thanks for the info
TSlkwah86
post Jul 5 2019, 05:27 PM

544 posts

now they introduced referral rewards program
marogal
post Jul 14 2019, 11:37 PM

139 posts

anyone using this card? Not much discussion here.

Dexter
post Jul 15 2019, 11:09 AM

1,102 posts

For me it's another debit/prepaid card which I think is very common.
Since top-up via credit card is not allow, it's probably very similar to other debit card in the current market.

Multi-currency feature is unique, let's see if anyone can share experience using this. I got mine and activated the card, but no time yet to activate this at their nearest branch.
MR_alien
post Jul 15 2019, 04:52 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(Dexter @ Jul 15 2019, 11:09 AM)
Since top-up via credit card is not allow, it's probably very similar to other debit card in the current market.

Multi-currency feature is unique, let's see if anyone can share experience using this. I got mine and activated the card, but no time yet to activate this at their nearest branch.
i register at the counter yesterday, got the card and MCW activated
asked their CS
it seems, u just change the currency u want in their app
then go to that country to swipe the card and it will deduct the amount of "foreign currency" that you've preloaded inside the MCW

at least thats what the CS have told me just now
MR_alien
post Jul 15 2019, 04:54 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(marogal @ Jul 14 2019, 11:37 PM)
just got the card yesterday
still experimenting with it
got it mainly for the multi currency wallet and their lower than counter rate only
TSlkwah86
post Jul 15 2019, 05:18 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 15 2019, 04:52 PM)
asked their CS
then go to that country to swipe the card and it will deduct the amount of "foreign currency" that you've preloaded inside the MCW

yes, you're correct.

Exchange the foreign currency anytime in the wallet, use it in oversea... It will deduct from the multi currency wallet in foreign currency.
Good to have it if you plan to go oversea next few months/year.
If your foreign currency not able to finish, can sell to exchange back to MYR.
MR_alien
post Jul 15 2019, 06:57 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(lkwah86 @ Jul 15 2019, 05:18 PM)
yes, you're correct.

Exchange the foreign currency anytime in the wallet, use it in oversea... It will deduct from the multi currency wallet in foreign currency.
Good to have it if you plan to go oversea next few months/year.
If your foreign currency not able to finish, can sell to exchange back to MYR.
it can also be used to make money via forex as well(if hold it long enough)
Dexter
post Jul 16 2019, 01:26 PM

1,102 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 15 2019, 04:52 PM)
asked their CS

Now I get it. Thanks for sharing the usage of foreign currency via the card.

I initially thought when we have foreign currency, we can go any dedicated multi-currency ATM to withdraw cash in that specific currency. Look like I'm wrong. But good for me as I'll be traveling to Thai soon.

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 15 2019, 06:57 PM)
it can also be used to make money via forex as well(if hold it long enough)
True, within the limit allow to store in this card. icon_rolleyes.gif
MR_alien
post Jul 16 2019, 02:09 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(Dexter @ Jul 16 2019, 01:26 PM)

I initially thought when we have foreign currency, we can go any dedicated multi-currency ATM to withdraw cash in that specific currency. Look like I'm wrong. But good for me as I'll be traveling to Thai soon.
True, within the limit allow to store in this card.  icon_rolleyes.gif
to clarify to those
if u have preloaded MYR in there and spend overseas, they will convert it back to MYR and deduct the MYR inside your wallet
but if u have changed foreign currency within the app, if u spend 300thb for example, it will deduct 300thb from your wallet

that's their definition of "lock in rate and spend abroad"

Dexter
post Jul 17 2019, 11:36 AM

1,102 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 16 2019, 02:09 PM)
to clarify to those
if u have preloaded MYR in there and spend overseas, they will convert it back to MYR and deduct the MYR inside your wallet
but if u have changed foreign currency within the app, if u spend 300thb for example, it will deduct 300thb from your wallet

ohh, tq for sharing. it's very useful information to me and forumers.

tjying95
post Jul 17 2019, 02:20 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 16 2019, 02:09 PM)
to clarify to those

QUOTE(Dexter @ Jul 17 2019, 11:36 AM)
ohh, tq for sharing. it's very useful information to me and forumers.
Just a thing to add, preloading your wallet with foreign currency has no additional charge compared to change on the spot if you don't have the currency preloaded.
CloudComputer
post Jul 26 2019, 11:51 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Dexter @ Jul 16 2019, 01:26 PM)

True, within the limit allow to store in this card.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hi Bro,

Have you returned from Thailand? Please share us your experience. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
greenstuffs21
post Jul 29 2019, 10:47 AM

BTW, if you register physically at the branch, you can only get the Merchantrade card + multicurrency wallet verification on the spot if you opt for the non-personalised card with no name.

If you register at the branch and want a personalised card with your name, you'll have to wait for 2 weeks and come to the branch again for verification.

If you register through the app (card with name OR no name), you'll receive the card in the post in 2 working days. After receiving the card, you'll still need to go to a branch for the multicurrency wallet verification.

Confirmed this yesterday at the KL Sentral branch. Tried registering myself but I wanted a card with my name, so will register online instead. The app registration process is currently under maintenance.

This post has been edited by greenstuffs21: Jul 29 2019, 10:57 AM
MR_alien
post Jul 29 2019, 11:21 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(greenstuffs21 @ Jul 29 2019, 10:47 AM)
BTW, if you register physically at the branch, you can only get the Merchantrade card + multicurrency wallet verification on the spot if you opt for the non-personalised card with no name.

If you register at the branch and want a personalised card with your name, you'll have to wait for 2 weeks and come to the branch again for verification.

If you register through the app (card with name OR no name), you'll receive the card in the post in 2 working days. After receiving the card, you'll still need to go to a branch for the multicurrency wallet verification.

Confirmed this yesterday at the KL Sentral branch. Tried registering myself but I wanted a card with my name, so will register online instead. The app registration process is currently under maintenance.
for me, i don't bother wanting a name
why?
the card itself isn't as high quality as the ones issued by banks
the font itself doesn't protrude from the card
Dexter
post Jul 29 2019, 02:32 PM

1,102 posts

QUOTE(CloudComputer @ Jul 26 2019, 11:51 PM)
Hi Bro,

Have you returned from Thailand? Please share us your experience.  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Not yet. Coming Nov. WIll share..haha
I hardly use credit card previously in Bangkok due to high exchange rate. I use cash instead.
ajay67
post Jul 29 2019, 03:04 PM

2,960 posts

been using this card on my recent trip to uk. it's so convenient having loaded it with pound. over there u can even buy ticket bus with it. u can immediately see what u have spent. just a small issue since it records in malaysia time.

bare in mind that the paywave is limited to RM250 so means about 50 pound or less, which can be a little hassle after u reach your limit where u need to use it old fashion way (slot & sign)
ajay67
post Jul 29 2019, 03:12 PM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(marogal @ Jul 14 2019, 11:37 PM)
if you go travel oversea, i fully recommend to have it.
ajay67
post Jul 29 2019, 03:15 PM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(Dexter @ Jul 15 2019, 11:09 AM)

yeah.. multi-currency feature is very convenient. got 3 currencies on my card currently. pound for my last visit to uk, AUD for my next visit to australia, & RM of course smile.gif

ZURAFIQ
post Aug 6 2019, 10:31 PM

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Jul 29 2019, 03:15 PM)
yeah.. multi-currency feature is very convenient. got 3 currencies on my card currently. pound for my last visit to uk, AUD for my next visit to australia, & RM of course  smile.gif
Mr. Ajay ! Is it possible to withdraw GBP from any ATM machine in UK using Merchantrade Money Visa? Or only certain ATM ? Is there any charges for withdrawal? Tq.
ajay67
post Aug 7 2019, 09:00 AM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(ZURAFIQ @ Aug 6 2019, 10:31 PM)
Mr. Ajay ! Is it possible to withdraw GBP from any ATM machine in UK using Merchantrade Money Visa? Or only certain ATM ?  Is there any charges for withdrawal? Tq.
yes possible. any ATM with visa sign should be accepted, but i have not tried it myself, & there will be extra charge incurred as well. for me, beter to stick to visawave or normal CC slot in payment.
ZURAFIQ
post Aug 7 2019, 10:20 AM

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Aug 7 2019, 09:00 AM)
yes possible. any ATM with visa sign should be accepted, but i have not tried it myself, & there will be extra charge incurred as well. for me, beter to stick to visawave or normal CC slot in payment.
thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif Tq.
djeeta P
post Aug 8 2019, 04:56 PM

Probation

hi all, kinda surveying this card at the moment. actually planning to preload it and exchange to yen, then redraw them in japan... so am wondering what will the extra charges be like :/ anyone has any idea?
TSlkwah86
post Aug 9 2019, 10:02 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(djeeta @ Aug 8 2019, 04:56 PM)
hi all, kinda surveying this card at the moment. actually planning to preload it and exchange to yen, then redraw them in japan... so am wondering what will the extra charges be like :/ anyone has any idea?
RM10 for overseas withdrawal...
Not sure Japan ATM has extra charges or not
MR_alien
post Aug 13 2019, 03:31 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

u can't do that
u preloaded it in yen
you're suppose to swipe the card like a credit card/debit card and yen will be deducted from each transaction

i do not think u can preload yen and withdraw yen from ATM, u better confirm that with merchant trade CS
AFAIK that's not how the multi currency wallet works
SevereHedgehog
post Aug 19 2019, 11:15 PM

Hi all. From what I understand from reading this is that you only have money in the card/app. If you want to go somewhere that only accepts cash, you need to use the card to withdraw money from an ATM. Then there will be an extra charge. Is this correct?
TSlkwah86
post Aug 20 2019, 10:32 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(SevereHedgehog @ Aug 19 2019, 11:15 PM)
Hi all. From what I understand from reading this is that you only have money in the card/app. If you want to go somewhere that only accepts cash, you need to use the card to withdraw money from an ATM. Then there will be an extra charge. Is this correct?
you are correct.

https://www.merchantrademoney.com/how-it-works/
https://www.merchantrademoney.com/fees/
TSlkwah86
post Aug 20 2019, 10:43 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Aug 13 2019, 03:31 PM)
u can't do that
u preloaded it in yen
you're suppose to swipe the card like a credit card/debit card and yen will be deducted from each transaction

i do not think u can preload yen and withdraw yen from ATM, u better confirm that with merchant trade CS
You can withdraw yen from the ATM in Japan if you already exchange yen in the wallet.
If you do not have enough yen, it will be deduct from your MYR wallet.

This post has been edited by lkwah86: Aug 20 2019, 10:46 AM
ajay67
post Aug 20 2019, 12:22 PM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(SevereHedgehog @ Aug 19 2019, 11:15 PM)
correct. when you travel, you gotta have both with you. some cash & some money in ewallet maybe 50:50 ratio. that way you should be covered.
Raexim
post Aug 20 2019, 12:28 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Aug 13 2019, 03:31 PM)
u can't do that
u preloaded it in yen

Please don't spread misinformation if you are not sure of it.

I am just back from Japan, so here are my experience of using this card:

1. You can preload it with yen and withdraw from their ATM. Granted that you find those that accept overseas Visa cards. Some examples include 7Bank (can be found in 7-11) and Japan Post Bank.

2. Minimum withdrawal is 10,000 yen (for both 7Bank and JP bank that I tried). 7Bank processes a fee of 108 yen for 10,000 yen withdrawal, 216 yen for 20,000 yen withdrawal. Now I don't think there is ATM that does not have a fee anymore.

3. Merchantrade charges RM10 for each withdrawal. This transaction will NOT be recorded. So do take note.

4. Including all the fees, it is still worth it compared to exchanging money at money changer, as long as you transact more than RM50. Granted you can find ATM that accepts <10,000 yen withdrawal.

5. If you have enough yen, everything will be deducted in yen. If not, it will deduct yen first, then top up the remaining yen from your RM, with an extra small fee.

6. Japan is a little bit behind in cards acceptance. Most shops still swipe your card. Do make sure your magnetic stripe is still in good conditions. (No pins anywhere, signature please)

7. Major tourist shops and restaurants accept cards. I am able to get by with 30,000 yen cash for 2 weeks. (Well, I don't spend that much actually, so a bit of salt please)

8. Do carry some cash before you go. Transit tickets machine do not accept cards.
MR_alien
post Aug 20 2019, 03:33 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(lkwah86 @ Aug 20 2019, 10:43 AM)
You can withdraw yen from the ATM in Japan if you already exchange yen in the wallet.
If you do not have enough yen, it will be deduct from your MYR wallet.
even if u can, it's not worth to do so
there will be a RM10 surcharge for withdrawing the money from ATM

QUOTE(Raexim @ Aug 20 2019, 12:28 PM)
please also do not spread way that will cost user more money
because when u preload it with yen and swipe it....it deduct from your yen wallet...no additional charges
but if u withdraw from your yen wallet...it's already stated that there will be a FROM RM10 charges should u withdraw from ATM

u use this multi currency wallet to save money, end up it's no different than any credit card out there doh.gif laugh.gif
it's not worth it to do it that way
Raexim
post Aug 20 2019, 04:01 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Aug 20 2019, 03:33 PM)
even if u can, it's not worth to do so
there will be a RM10 surcharge for withdrawing the money from ATM
please also do not spread way that will cost user more money
because when u preload it with yen and swipe it....it deduct from your yen wallet...no additional charges
but if u withdraw from your yen wallet...it's already stated that there will be a FROM RM10 charges should u withdraw from ATM

u use this multi currency wallet to save money, end up it's no different than any credit card out there doh.gif  laugh.gif
it's not worth it to do it that way
Ohh, the poster asked about the extra charges. You however do not provide any useful information whatsoever. There are times, especially in Japan where cash is a must. Japan is very backwards in terms of monetary transactions. They use cash more.

It is cheaper to withdraw from ATM than exchanging in money changer. Also this card rate is better than some of the credit cards out there.
MR_alien
post Aug 20 2019, 04:12 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(Raexim @ Aug 20 2019, 04:01 PM)
Ohh, the poster asked about the extra charges. You however do not provide any useful information whatsoever. There are times, especially in Japan where cash is a must. Japan is very backwards in terms of monetary transactions. They use cash more.

It is cheaper to withdraw from ATM than exchanging in money changer. Also this card rate is better than some of the credit cards out there.
for japan usage, it's better to change cash earlier or change yen using the multi currency wallet earlier
both option is better than using it for withdrawal(which has extra charged)

i for one are holding a lot of yen(3.6XX) that i've changed many months ago before the sudden spike last month
inside my MCW also have 88k yen that is changed between 37.8-38....basically i can sell it now for a profit

when i apply for this card, i'm only interested in it's MCW function
other than the MCW, this is not a very good card based on it's fees...there are many card out there that offer better benefit...1 of which is bigpay but bigpay is unable to let u lock in your desired rate like this MCW
this card also has an annual fee that can't be waived
and if u ran out of yen and need to using your MYR wallet, rate follow visa(not mtarate's rate) +1% service charge(which bigpay don't have)
Raexim
post Aug 20 2019, 04:28 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Aug 20 2019, 04:12 PM)
for japan usage, it's better to change cash earlier or change yen using the multi currency wallet earlier
both option is better than using it for withdrawal(which has extra charged)

i for one are holding a lot of yen(3.6XX) that i've changed many months ago before the sudden spike last month
inside my MCW also have 88k yen that is changed between 37.8-38....basically i can sell it now for a profit

when i apply for this card, i'm only interested in it's MCW function
other than the MCW, this is not a very good card based on it's fees...there are many card out there that offer better benefit...1 of which is bigpay but bigpay is unable to let u lock in your desired rate like this MCW
this card also has an annual fee that can't be waived
and if u ran out of yen and need to using your MYR wallet, rate follow visa(not mtarate's rate) +1% service charge(which bigpay don't have)
Of course it is better earlier, just like saying it is better to change to yen in 2007 than today.

But if you are to get the money TODAY and comparing with exchanging at money changer TODAY, it is better to withdraw from ATM, with all those fees counted. The poster asked about the fees associated with overseas ATM withdrawal.

So, it is 108 yen (charged by Japanese bank) + RM 10 (charged by Merchantrade, this fee also applies to Bigpay card) for 10,000 yen.
Or, 216 yen + RM 10 for 20,000 yen.

He may or may not care about the currency rate lock in function of the card.
sulab
post Aug 20 2019, 09:17 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(Raexim @ Aug 20 2019, 04:28 PM)

So, it is 108 yen (charged by Japanese bank) + RM 10 (charged by Merchantrade, this fee also applies to Bigpay card) for 10,000 yen.
FYI, for BigPay card the fee for withdrawal is ONLY RM10 per withdrawal. There are no 108 yen charge. And maximum withdrawal for BigPay card per withdrawal is 100,000 yen @7bank ATM. And for this 100,000 yen, RM10 is charged for withdrawal fee
Raexim
post Aug 20 2019, 09:24 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(sulab @ Aug 20 2019, 09:17 PM)
FYI, for BigPay card the fee for withdrawal is ONLY RM10 per withdrawal. There are no 108 yen charge. And maximum withdrawal for BigPay card per withdrawal is 100,000 yen @7bank ATM. And for this 100,000 yen, RM10 is charged for withdrawal fee
It is charged by the bank, not Bigpay. Unless Bigpay somehow is able to waive the fee with the bank?
sulab
post Aug 20 2019, 09:32 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(Raexim @ Aug 20 2019, 09:24 PM)
It is charged by the bank, not Bigpay. Unless Bigpay somehow is able to waive the fee with the bank?
By the way, did you own BigPay card and tested it in Japan yourself? I own it and have done the 100,000 yen withdrawal in Japan @SevenBank ATM. NO CHARGE WHATSOEVER by the ATM. Only RM10 charge for withdrawal. Still don't believe me? Head over to BigPay thread and read on your own on page 1.
Raexim
post Aug 20 2019, 10:07 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(sulab @ Aug 20 2019, 09:32 PM)
By the way, did you own BigPay card and tested it in Japan yourself? I own it and have done the 100,000 yen withdrawal in Japan @SevenBank ATM. NO CHARGE WHATSOEVER by the ATM. Only RM10 charge for withdrawal. Still don't believe me? Head over to BigPay thread and read on your own on page 1.
I do not. By the way, the one you quoted me on was actually about the RM 10, not the 108 yen.

I read somewhere that 108 yen charged by the bank is conditional? I am not quite sure myself. I got charged on my Merchantrade card for 108 yen and RM 10 when I withdraw 10,000 yen.
DigitalDimension P
post Aug 21 2019, 02:08 PM

Probation

QUOTE(sulab @ Aug 20 2019, 09:32 PM)
If that's so, BigPay should be a better choice at least in Japan.
TSlkwah86
post Aug 21 2019, 03:20 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(DigitalDimension @ Aug 21 2019, 02:08 PM)
If that's so, BigPay should be a better choice at least in Japan.
Depends on the time you buy the currency, can buy anytime on merchantrade, there is a flexibility
Bigpay can withdraw 100,000 yen, better

This post has been edited by lkwah86: Aug 21 2019, 03:27 PM
TSlkwah86
post Aug 21 2019, 03:26 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(Raexim @ Aug 20 2019, 04:28 PM)
Of course it is better earlier, just like saying it is better to change to yen in 2007 than today.

But if you are to get the money TODAY and comparing with exchanging at money changer TODAY, it is better to withdraw from ATM, with all those fees counted. The poster asked about the fees associated with overseas ATM withdrawal.

He may or may not care about the currency rate lock in function of the card.
max limit to withdraw in Japan only 20,000 yen using Merchantrade VISA?
Raexim
post Aug 21 2019, 03:47 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(lkwah86 @ Aug 21 2019, 03:26 PM)
max limit to withdraw in Japan only 20,000 yen using Merchantrade VISA?
100,000 if not wrong, depends on bank actually.
MR_alien
post Oct 23 2019, 11:11 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

it works
loaded yen into my multi-currency wallet back when it's still 37.8
used it in a restaurant and it deduct the same amount as to what is being charged and no extra charges
TSlkwah86
post Oct 30 2019, 03:39 PM

544 posts

Remit money overseas in the app

https://www.merchantrademoney.com/move-your...chantrade-money

This post has been edited by lkwah86: Oct 30 2019, 03:45 PM
djeeta P
post Nov 6 2019, 10:25 AM

Probation

QUOTE(Raexim @ Aug 20 2019, 12:28 PM)
I am just back from Japan, so here are my experience of using this card:

1. You can preload it with yen and withdraw from their ATM. Granted that you find those that accept overseas Visa cards. Some examples include 7Bank (can be found in 7-11) and Japan Post  Bank.

2. Minimum withdrawal is 10,000 yen (for both 7Bank and JP bank that I tried). 7Bank processes a fee of 108 yen for 10,000 yen withdrawal, 216 yen for 20,000 yen withdrawal. Now I don't think there is ATM that does not have a fee anymore.

3. Merchantrade charges RM10 for each withdrawal. This transaction will NOT be recorded. So do take note.

4. Including all the fees, it is still worth it compared to exchanging money at money changer, as long as you transact more than RM50. Granted you can find ATM that accepts <10,000 yen withdrawal.

5. If you have enough yen, everything will be deducted in yen. If not, it will deduct yen first, then top up the remaining yen from your RM, with an extra small fee.

6. Japan is a little bit behind in cards acceptance. Most shops still swipe your card. Do make sure your magnetic stripe is still in good conditions. (No pins anywhere, signature please)

7. Major tourist shops and restaurants accept cards. I am able to get by with 30,000 yen cash for 2 weeks. (Well, I don't spend that much actually, so a bit of salt please)

8. Do carry some cash before you go. Transit tickets machine do not accept cards.
thank you so much for the insights and sharing! I'd seen guidelines on redrawing from Japanese ATM but you have to choose saving or credit right? did you pick saving or credit?
Going Japan next month and still debating to exchange 90% here first or 50% here 50% through the Merchantrade card cz the rates are getting much better rclxub.gif
Raexim
post Nov 6 2019, 05:51 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(djeeta @ Nov 6 2019, 10:25 AM)
thank you so much for the insights and sharing! I'd seen guidelines on redrawing from Japanese ATM but you have to choose saving or credit right? did you pick saving or credit?
Going Japan next month and still debating to exchange 90% here first or 50% here 50% through the Merchantrade card cz the rates are getting much better  rclxub.gif
If I recall, there should be one option saying if you are not sure, choose this.
Rainforest2008
post Nov 8 2019, 06:55 AM

Hi there

Can I withdraw the foreign currency like USD or SGD in hard cash from any of the merchantrade outlet in Malaysia?
TSlkwah86
post Nov 9 2019, 08:41 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(Rainforest2008 @ Nov 8 2019, 06:55 AM)
Hi there

Can I withdraw the foreign currency like USD or SGD in hard cash from any of the merchantrade outlet in Malaysia?
you can try their e-forex service to exchange currency
ajay67
post Dec 12 2019, 09:15 AM

2,960 posts

Hi there

i dont think you can do that. you can always buy back RM with your extra foreign currency & use the card in malaysia
MilesAndMore
post Dec 13 2019, 10:48 AM

9,301 posts

Hi there

No. You can’t. You can only withdraw MYR from any Merchantrade outlets.
nanan75
post Jan 4 2020, 07:16 PM

431 posts

Yay! My online application approved yday. Parking.
MR_alien
post Jan 6 2020, 09:02 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(king timidandslow @ Jan 6 2020, 08:23 PM)
hi all, i have a Naive question. can this be a tool that i can use to hedge/trade forex ? meaning i use myr to buy usd today, then some time in the future when usd appreciates, i change usd back to myr and pocket the difference as profit ?
yes, can
ShadowBlack2014
post Feb 2 2020, 03:28 PM

Post deleted

This post has been edited by ShadowBlack2014: Feb 2 2020, 05:17 PM
ericlaiys
post Feb 27 2020, 07:34 PM

7,529 posts

anyone can share experience on using this ? How does it compare with bigpay? Still thinking to apply or not?
TSlkwah86
post Feb 28 2020, 12:33 AM

544 posts

Merchantrade Receives BNM Approval to Increase E-Wallet Limit Size to RM 20,000

https://fintechnews.my/23009/e-wallets-mala...ze-to-rm-20000/
abcn1n
post Feb 29 2020, 11:49 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(lkwah86 @ Feb 28 2020, 12:33 AM)
Merchantrade Receives BNM Approval to Increase E-Wallet Limit Size to RM 20,000

https://fintechnews.my/23009/e-wallets-mala...ze-to-rm-20000/
Wow, wanted to sign up previously but didn't.
abcn1n
post Mar 5 2020, 11:20 PM

2,379 posts

Went to open a merchantrade account. Cashier asked for $100 but when I checked the app, balance is only $70. Why is it so?
nbdy
post Mar 6 2020, 02:04 AM

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Mar 5 2020, 11:20 PM)
Went to open a merchantrade account. Cashier asked for $100 but when I checked the app, balance is only $70. Why is it so?
RM10 join fee, RM20 refundable deposit, RM70 balance.
that RM20 won't show up in balance
abcn1n
post Mar 6 2020, 01:04 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(nbdy @ Mar 6 2020, 02:04 AM)
Thank you. The customer service did not tell me this although she should have. You just save me a trip to merchantrade today. notworthy.gif
leo_kiatez
post Mar 11 2020, 01:56 AM

2,112 posts

Where can we top up merchantrade prepaid card using credit card?
TSlkwah86
post Mar 11 2020, 10:42 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Mar 11 2020, 01:56 AM)
Not able to use credit card to top up
ericlaiys
post Mar 11 2020, 12:49 PM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Mar 11 2020, 01:56 AM)
cash or FPX only.
abcn1n
post Mar 11 2020, 03:09 PM

2,379 posts

Merchantrade forex is no good. Was thinking of converting MYR to SGD and deposit into my Singapore bank account but the forex rate was even worse than a normal money changer's rate. In addition, still have to pay fees on top of the forex rate
leo_kiatez
post Mar 12 2020, 08:34 AM

2,112 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Mar 11 2020, 03:09 PM)
Merchantrade forex is no good. Was thinking of converting MYR to SGD and deposit into my Singapore bank account but the forex rate was even worse than a normal money changer's rate. In addition, still have to pay fees on top of the forex rate
Just noticed, merchantrade doesn't have MYR to USD prepaid card wallet conversion? Anyone can confirm.

This post has been edited by leo_kiatez: Mar 12 2020, 08:35 AM
TSlkwah86
post Mar 12 2020, 11:59 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Mar 12 2020, 08:34 AM)
Just noticed, merchantrade doesn't have MYR to USD prepaid card wallet conversion? Anyone can confirm.
I saw USD in multi currency wallet
TSlkwah86
post Mar 12 2020, 11:59 AM

544 posts

Deleted... Double post

This post has been edited by lkwah86: Mar 12 2020, 12:00 PM
leo_kiatez
post Mar 12 2020, 03:15 PM

2,112 posts

QUOTE(lkwah86 @ Mar 12 2020, 11:59 AM)
I saw USD in multi currency wallet
But for Remit it's missing rite?
TSlkwah86
post Mar 12 2020, 04:52 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Mar 12 2020, 03:15 PM)
But for Remit it's missing rite?
ohh... I think so
you call their CS to confirm

https://www.eremit.com.my/home
abcn1n
post Mar 13 2020, 12:52 AM

2,379 posts

Yep. Can't see it
wyen
post May 21 2020, 11:21 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(nbdy @ Mar 6 2020, 02:04 AM)
Hello, I just recently signed up for this card and activated it. Means this card charged rm10 for annual fee? Meaning Rm70 balance plus RM 20 deposit can be used for my transaction rm90?
TSlkwah86
post May 21 2020, 02:37 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(wyen @ May 21 2020, 11:21 AM)
Hello, I just recently signed up for this card and activated it. Means this card charged rm10 for annual fee? Meaning Rm70 balance plus RM 20 deposit can be used for my transaction rm90?
No, you can only use RM70. RM20 will be refund if you terminate the card

RM10 is issuing fee. RM8 is annual fee (1st year waived)

This post has been edited by lkwah86: May 21 2020, 02:38 PM
coo|dude
post May 27 2020, 10:09 AM

Cool By The Pool!
1,064 posts

Do I get borderless accounts with this merchantrade visa?
TSlkwah86
post Jun 2 2020, 11:53 AM

544 posts

https://www.merchantrademoney.com/wp-conten...Y4U_Generic.pdf
TSlkwah86
post Jun 2 2020, 11:58 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ May 27 2020, 10:09 AM)
Do I get borderless accounts with this merchantrade visa?
There is multi currency wallets, can be use in multiple countries
ChiaW3n
post Jun 3 2020, 10:29 AM

3,731 posts

QUOTE(lkwah86 @ Jun 2 2020, 11:53 AM)
I emailed them and ask about the free RM50, this is what she replied.

Please be informed that you will be entitled for 5% cash back from minimum spending of RM200.Also take note that the RM50 is the maximum pay out and not entitled for your entire minimum spending.

This campaign will be ending on 30th June 2020 and the cash back will be credited three weeks from the end date of the campaign.

The mechanism is to reward 5% cash back from your highest spending throughout this campaign period. Example is you have spent RM200 twice and RM250 once, the cash back will be applied on RM250 and you will rewarded with RM12.50.
cybpsych
post Jun 3 2020, 10:52 AM

---------------------
65,250 posts

QUOTE(ChiaW3n @ Jun 3 2020, 10:29 AM)

Please be informed that you will be entitled for 5% cash back from minimum spending of RM200.Also take note that the RM50 is the maximum pay out and not entitled for your entire minimum spending.

This campaign will be ending on 30th June 2020 and the cash back will be credited three weeks from the end date of the campaign.

The mechanism is to reward 5% cash back from your highest spending throughout this campaign period. Example is you have spent RM200 twice and RM250 once, the cash back will be applied on RM250 and you will rewarded with RM12.50.
no difference than the T&C

4.2 Cash Back of 5%

4.2.1 Eligible Cardholder(s) are entitled to receive FIVE percent (5%) Cash Back for an
eligible retail spend (“Eligible VISA Transaction”) amounting to Ringgit Malaysia
RM200.00 or more during the Campaign Period.

4.2.2 If an Eligible Cardholder(s) makes more than one transaction above Ringgit Malaysia
RM200.00 during the Campaign Period, the Cash Back shall be awarded to the
highest Eligible VISA Transaction only.

4.2.3 Eligible Cardholder(s) shall only be entitled to receive the Cash Back once and the
Cash Back shall be capped at a maximum of Ringgit Malaysia Fifty (RM50.00) only for
each Eligible Cardholder(s) as illustrated in Table B below. Every subsequent spend
beyond the capped amount shall not be entitled to the Cash Back.

ChiaW3n
post Jun 3 2020, 07:35 PM

3,731 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 3 2020, 10:52 AM)
no difference than the T&C

4.2 Cash Back of 5%

4.2.1 Eligible Cardholder(s) are entitled to receive FIVE percent (5%) Cash Back for an
eligible retail spend (“Eligible VISA Transaction”) amounting to Ringgit Malaysia
RM200.00 or more during the Campaign Period.

4.2.2 If an Eligible Cardholder(s) makes more than one transaction above Ringgit Malaysia
RM200.00 during the Campaign Period, the Cash Back shall be awarded to the
highest Eligible VISA Transaction only.

4.2.3 Eligible Cardholder(s) shall only be entitled to receive the Cash Back once and the
Cash Back shall be capped at a maximum of Ringgit Malaysia Fifty (RM50.00) only for
each Eligible Cardholder(s) as illustrated in Table B below. Every subsequent spend
beyond the capped amount shall not be entitled to the Cash Back.

Long story cut short, need to spend with card 1k one transaction in order to reap the max cb of RM50. At first I thought can accumulate like we do for maybank2.
leo_kiatez
post Jun 6 2020, 12:12 AM

2,112 posts

QUOTE(lkwah86 @ Jun 2 2020, 11:53 AM)
Existing card holder can take part for the 5% cashback promo?
TSlkwah86
post Jun 6 2020, 01:28 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Jun 6 2020, 12:12 AM)
Existing card holder can take part for the 5% cashback promo?
Cannot
abcn1n
post Jun 6 2020, 01:30 AM

2,379 posts

I am a merchantrade card holder but so far have never used their service. Will they cancel/kick me out due to inactivity?
ericlaiys
post Jun 6 2020, 01:41 AM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Jun 6 2020, 01:30 AM)
I am a merchantrade card holder but so far have never used their service. Will they cancel/kick me out due to inactivity?
no. as long you got money inside. frankly speaking now mco, where got people want to travel and use other currency.
they will charge RM8 per year for your card. Let say next year (after a year), if inside no balance to deduct rm8, then most likely card invalid
abcn1n
post Jun 6 2020, 09:57 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jun 6 2020, 01:41 AM)
no. as long you got money inside. frankly speaking now mco, where got people want to travel and use other currency.
they will charge RM8 per year for your card. Let say next year (after a year), if inside no balance to deduct rm8, then most likely card invalid
Thanks. Didn't know they charged RM8 per year. Wanted to use it as an ewallet but found out merchantrade forex rate really lousy-worse than moneychanger.
ericlaiys
post Jun 6 2020, 10:59 AM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Jun 6 2020, 09:57 AM)
Thanks. Didn't know they charged RM8 per year. Wanted to use it as an ewallet but found out merchantrade forex rate really lousy-worse than moneychanger.
it has it's usage and depend how u see it. u can use as prepaid debit card with RM balance.
for me,you can easily buy the currency when low and keep digitally. Multi currency wallet is quite useful. I sure need SGD, USD, Dong, Euro, Pound, etc when travel
Else, end up having physically notes which keep as dust and always useless for small notes changes.

compare to bigpay, u can keep the currency (buy low) and sell when high. or keep it for future use.

conclusion, it has the value depend how you use it

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Jun 6 2020, 11:00 AM
coo|dude
post Jun 6 2020, 04:57 PM

Cool By The Pool!
1,064 posts

QUOTE(ChiaW3n @ Jun 3 2020, 07:35 PM)
Long story cut short, need to spend with card 1k one transaction in order to reap the max cb of RM50. At first I thought can accumulate like we do for maybank2.
Can it be used for ewallet topup?
ChiaW3n
post Jun 7 2020, 12:23 AM

3,731 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Jun 6 2020, 04:57 PM)
I haven’t even got my card yet
datolee32
post Jun 7 2020, 07:04 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Jun 6 2020, 04:57 PM)
Can use cash or FPX only I heard
abcn1n
post Jun 8 2020, 12:29 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jun 6 2020, 10:59 AM)
it has it's usage and depend how u see it. u can use as prepaid debit card with RM balance.
for me,you can easily buy the currency when low and keep digitally. Multi currency wallet is quite useful. I sure need SGD, USD, Dong, Euro, Pound, etc when travel
Else, end up having physically notes which keep as dust and always useless for small notes changes.

compare to bigpay, u can keep the currency (buy low) and sell when high. or keep it for future use.

conclusion, it has the value depend how you use it
I got merchantrade because of the multicurrency wallet--wanted to use it for investment purpose but the rates are just too lousy.
datolee32
post Jun 14 2020, 10:47 AM

654 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Jun 8 2020, 12:29 AM)
I got merchantrade because of the multicurrency wallet--wanted to use it for investment purpose but the rates are just too  lousy.
Compare to Merchantrade, bigpay currency more attractive right?
datolee32
post Jun 14 2020, 11:54 AM

654 posts

QUOTE(ChiaW3n @ Jun 3 2020, 10:29 AM)

Anyone use this card to pay insurance (not insurance from Merchantrade), whether it is entitle the cash back or not? I am going to pay for auto insurance.
abcn1n
post Jun 14 2020, 01:07 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(datolee32 @ Jun 14 2020, 10:47 AM)
Not only bigpay but normal money changer forex are better
ericlaiys
post Jun 14 2020, 02:02 PM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(datolee32 @ Jun 14 2020, 10:47 AM)
merchantrade allow you to buy and sell anytime even before u travel
bigpay is when use and only after 3 days know the currency conversion. depend on market price. if go up, then no good. if go down, it is good

So both has value & i have both as travel companion
ChiaW3n
post Jun 14 2020, 09:38 PM

3,731 posts

QUOTE(datolee32 @ Jun 14 2020, 11:54 AM)
Anyone use this card to pay insurance (not insurance from Merchantrade), whether it is entitle the cash back or not? I am going to pay for auto insurance.
I have asked if top up to e wallet entitled for the 5% cash back and obviously no.

So direct pay to shopee yes, but shopeepay no.

As below,

Furthermore the 5% cashback is eligible for online and retail transaction whereby top up/transfer amount to another e wallet account is not eligible for this campaign thus miss can go through product T&C for further info at https://www.merchantrademoney.com/wp-conten...Y4U_Generic.pdf .
datolee32
post Jun 14 2020, 09:44 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(ChiaW3n @ Jun 14 2020, 09:38 PM)
I have asked if top up to e wallet entitled for the 5% cash back and obviously no.

So direct pay to shopee yes, but shopeepay no.

As below,

Furthermore the 5% cashback is eligible for online and retail transaction whereby top up/transfer amount to another e wallet account is not eligible for this campaign thus miss can go through product T&C for further info at https://www.merchantrademoney.com/wp-conten...Y4U_Generic.pdf .
I see, thank you. I saw that too. But it didn't mention whether 3rd party insurance entitle it or not. Any card has more cash back if pay insurance besides standard chartered?
ChiaW3n
post Jun 15 2020, 09:32 AM

3,731 posts

QUOTE(datolee32 @ Jun 14 2020, 09:44 PM)
I see, thank you. I saw that too. But it didn't mention whether 3rd party insurance entitle it or not. Any card has more cash back if pay insurance besides standard chartered?
I think you just missed the boat, Barcelona whereas offered 10% capped at RM100 back in May, next boat will be in Aug.
datolee32
post Jun 15 2020, 01:10 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(ChiaW3n @ Jun 15 2020, 09:32 AM)
I think you just missed the boat, Barcelona whereas offered 10% capped at RM100 back in May, next boat will be in Aug.
I see, thanks for your advise. My Barcelona quota full last month, but so coincident this month need to pay auto insurance, just asking if there any card have better cash back on this.
ClarenceT
post Jun 15 2020, 01:14 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(datolee32 @ Jun 15 2020, 01:10 PM)
I see, thanks for your advise. My Barcelona quota full last month, but so coincident this month need to pay auto insurance, just asking if there any card have better cash back on this.
Motortakaful.com (Etiqa Takaful) - Maybank M2 Amex Gold/Platinum 5% weekend CB.
datolee32
post Jun 15 2020, 01:16 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Jun 15 2020, 01:14 PM)
Motortakaful.com (Etiqa Takaful) - Maybank M2 Amex Gold/Platinum 5% weekend CB.
I see, thank you very much!
harrishkrishna1
post Jun 29 2020, 07:47 PM

344 posts

Any other benefits such as points etc.?
datolee32
post Jul 21 2020, 06:08 PM

654 posts

Received RM 50 cash back and RM 10 issuing fee waiver today smile.gif
leo_kiatez
post Jul 31 2020, 10:52 AM

2,112 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Jun 8 2020, 12:29 AM)
I got merchantrade because of the multicurrency wallet--wanted to use it for investment purpose but the rates are just too  lousy.
So which rate is not lousy?
abcn1n
post Aug 1 2020, 09:50 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Jul 31 2020, 10:52 AM)
So which rate is not lousy?
Try transferwise
PC_CHEAH
post Sep 4 2020, 06:30 AM

67 posts

If I buy something online using the card that is in USD for example, will it deduct the money from USD wallet or from MYR wallet?
ericlaiys
post Sep 4 2020, 08:52 AM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(PC_CHEAH @ Sep 4 2020, 06:30 AM)
If I buy something online using the card that is in USD for example, will it deduct the money from USD wallet or from MYR wallet?
USD.
GrumpyNooby
post Oct 28 2020, 08:32 PM

12,387 posts

Kenanga buys stake in money services operator Merchantrade

KUALA LUMPUR (Oct 28): Kenanga Investment Bank Bhd said it has acquired 4.99% equity interest in Merchantrade Asia Sdn Bhd, a leading e-money player and the country’s largest money services business operator.

This follows Kenanga’s recent collaboration with Merchantrade to introduce Malaysia’s first stockbroker e-wallet, Kenanga Money, it said in a statement today.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/kena...or-merchantrade
cybpsych
post Nov 1 2020, 08:43 PM

---------------------
65,250 posts

The wait is finally over. The e-Wallet is now RM20,000!

Yes that’s right. Your same favorite e-Wallet, now TWICE the size, DOUBLE the fun!

Now you can do more with MerchantradeMoney. Keep more, spend more, send more. T&C apply.

Click here to find out more > https://www.merchantrademoney.com/upgradewallet/

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Nov 1 2020, 08:44 PM
cybpsych
post Feb 25 2021, 04:10 PM

---------------------
65,250 posts

AmBank partners with Merchantrade to enable Hybrid e-Wallet – a first in the market cross border, multi-currency payment solutions.

We are very pleased to partner with Merchantrade, as part of our FinTech collaboration agenda to develop the first in the market cross border, multi-currency payment solutions by leveraging on cutting-edge technology and an innate understanding of the market and fast-paced environment we operate in.

-----------

AmBank partners Merchantrade Asia in hybrid e-wallet venture

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...-wallet-venture

KUALA LUMPUR: AmBank Group has partnered Merchantrade Asia Sdn Bhd in a hybrid e-wallet venture as part of the banking group’s fintech driven initiatives.

AmBank said in a statement on Thursday with this hybrid e-wallet enablement, Merchantrades’ customers will have a much larger e-wallet capacity while reaping the benefits of the bank’s current account-i.

It said this strategic collaboration will also improve customer experience and ease the hassle of e-wallet top-ups. This implementation, it said, will make it more convenient and cost-effective for the user.

Group chief executive officer, AmBank Group Datuk Sulaiman Mohd Tahir said the partnership with Merchantrade is part of its fintech collaboration agendas to “develop the first in the market cross border, multi-currency payment solutions by leveraging on cutting-edge technology and an innate understanding of the market and fast-paced environment we operate in.”

He said digitalisation is riding on the coattails of the pandemic. With physical distancing and travel restrictions, he said AmBank was working to transform anything that can be done online or virtually.

-----------

Dato’ Sulaiman Mohd Tahir, Group Chief Executive Officer, AmBank Group said,

“We are indeed very pleased to partner with Merchantrade, as part of our fintech collaboration agendas to develop the first in the market cross border, multi-currency payment solutions by leveraging on cutting-edge technology and an innate understanding of the market and fast-paced environment we operate in.

Presently, digitalisation is riding on the coattails of the pandemic. With physical distancing and travel restrictions, we are working to transform anything that can be done online or virtually.”

Commenting on the partnership, Ramasamy K. Veeran, Managing Director of Merchantrade Asia said,

“The hybrid e-wallet will be the first-of-its-kind and with the largest wallet size of RM50,000. It will allow us to expand Merchantrade’s offering, giving our loyal customers even greater benefits and rewards than ever before.

We’re delighted to be partnering with AmBank to enable us to bring this latest in a long run of Merchantrade innovations.”.
This post has been edited by cybpsych: Feb 26 2021, 08:12 AM
!@#$%^
post Feb 26 2021, 07:02 PM

Safe Trader
17,492 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Feb 25 2021, 04:10 PM)

AmBank partners with Merchantrade to enable Hybrid e-Wallet – a first in the market cross border, multi-currency payment solutions.

We are very pleased to partner with Merchantrade, as part of our FinTech collaboration agenda to develop the first in the market cross border, multi-currency payment solutions by leveraging on cutting-edge technology and an innate understanding of the market and fast-paced environment we operate in.

-----------

AmBank partners Merchantrade Asia in hybrid e-wallet venture

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...-wallet-venture

KUALA LUMPUR: AmBank Group has partnered Merchantrade Asia Sdn Bhd in a hybrid e-wallet venture as part of the banking group’s fintech driven initiatives.

AmBank said in a statement on Thursday with this hybrid e-wallet enablement, Merchantrades’ customers will have a much larger e-wallet capacity while reaping the benefits of the bank’s current account-i.

It said this strategic collaboration will also improve customer experience and ease the hassle of e-wallet top-ups. This implementation, it said, will make it more convenient and cost-effective for the user.

Group chief executive officer, AmBank Group Datuk Sulaiman Mohd Tahir said the partnership with Merchantrade is part of its fintech collaboration agendas to “develop the first in the market cross border, multi-currency payment solutions by leveraging on cutting-edge technology and an innate understanding of the market and fast-paced environment we operate in.”

He said digitalisation is riding on the coattails of the pandemic. With physical distancing and travel restrictions, he said AmBank was working to transform anything that can be done online or virtually.

-----------

Dato’ Sulaiman Mohd Tahir, Group Chief Executive Officer, AmBank Group said,

Commenting on the partnership, Ramasamy K. Veeran, Managing Director of Merchantrade Asia said,

means this card will become the debit card instead?
cybpsych
post Feb 26 2021, 07:27 PM

---------------------
65,250 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Feb 26 2021, 07:02 PM)
means this card will become the debit card instead?
it's a hybrid

RM20k merchantrade wallet size + RM30k Ambank Current Account-i "hybrid" account with multicurrency function.

when you move the fund to hybrid account, it's has interest (small amount).

they have more product features rolling out after this.
hafizredha
post Mar 3 2021, 01:45 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Feb 26 2021, 07:27 PM)
it's a hybrid

RM20k merchantrade wallet size + RM30k Ambank Current Account-i "hybrid" account with multicurrency function.

when you move the fund to hybrid account, it's has interest (small amount).

they have more product features rolling out after this.
i see so merchantrade app user didnt have to register for that said wallet la?
lordirfan99
post May 18 2021, 02:09 AM

167 posts

anyone has experience to buy crypto in binance?
ChiaW3n
post May 18 2021, 08:16 PM

3,731 posts

QUOTE(lordirfan99 @ May 18 2021, 02:09 AM)
anyone has experience to buy crypto in binance?
Merchantrade also using visa
ChiaW3n
post May 21 2021, 11:49 AM

3,731 posts

QUOTE(ChiaW3n @ May 18 2021, 08:16 PM)
Merchantrade also using visa
Just to update, I tried to buy usdt from binance using merchantrade visa. For testing purpose only buy eur15, managed to get OTP but didn’t went through also tried for 3 times.
lordirfan99
post May 27 2021, 11:20 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(ChiaW3n @ May 21 2021, 11:49 AM)
To update you, I tried to buy usdt from Binance using a merchant trade visa. For testing purpose, only buy eur15, managed to get OTP but didn’t go through also tried for 3 times.
hi, I have tried myself, and the payment goes through. U should try using Binance in the browser. The otp website on phones is glitching, and u can't click anything using your phone. While using the browser, the OTP page is no problem, and the payment does go through. But the downside is the currency rate. They are slightly higher than the bp MasterCard. I would suggest if u cant have bp MasterCard, u cant try to buy using a merchant trade card.

This post has been edited by lordirfan99: May 27 2021, 11:26 AM
ChiaW3n
post May 27 2021, 12:21 PM

3,731 posts

QUOTE(lordirfan99 @ May 27 2021, 11:20 AM)
hi, I have tried myself, and the payment goes through. U should try using Binance in the browser. The otp website on phones is glitching, and u can't click anything using your phone. While using the browser, the OTP page is no problem, and the payment does go through. But the downside is the currency rate. They are slightly higher than the bp MasterCard. I would suggest if u cant have bp MasterCard, u cant try to buy using a merchant trade card.

I tried with the phone it went through after OTP but the screen freeze so it didn’t went through so I thought cannot.
cybpsych
post Oct 30 2021, 07:31 AM

---------------------
65,250 posts

Affin Merchantrade Prepaid Card

!@#$%^
post Nov 4 2021, 01:31 AM

Safe Trader
17,492 posts

ambank or affin better?
Hoshiyuu
post Nov 4 2021, 12:50 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

If I am not mistaken from reading around, I can't deposit SGD directly into this card right?
ClarenceT
post Nov 4 2021, 12:56 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Nov 4 2021, 12:50 PM)
If I am not mistaken from reading around, I can't deposit SGD directly into this card right?
Deposit in RM only, then convert to a foreign currency.

Hoshiyuu
post Nov 4 2021, 12:58 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Nov 4 2021, 12:56 PM)
Deposit in RM only, then convert to a foreign currency.
Thanks for confirming. I'm looking for a card that can deposit in any currency unfortunately...
ClarenceT
post Nov 4 2021, 01:09 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Nov 4 2021, 12:58 PM)
Thanks for confirming. I'm looking for a card that can deposit in any currency unfortunately...
Not possible lah, it is still based in MY and regulated by BNM.

But Merchantrade Visa is good, I just bought GBP at 5.686 (currently 5.67-5.69) this morning for future use, if I use another credit/debit card to pay directly to a UK merchant, the conversion is around RM5.80.
P/S: Alternatively use WISE to transfer into a UK account / prepaid card, around RM5.70+, then use the UK debit/prepaid card to spend.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Nov 4 2021, 01:50 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Nov 4 2021, 01:31 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Nov 4 2021, 01:09 PM)
Not possible lah, it is still based in MY and regulated by BNM.

But Merchantrade Visa is good, I just bought GBP at 5.686 (currently 5.67-5.69) this morning for future use, if I use another credit/debit card to pay directly to a UK merchant, the conversion is around RM5.80.
Oh! I do buy from a UK merchant sometime. What do you fill in for your billing address? My merchant locks the billing address to UK only.
ClarenceT
post Nov 4 2021, 01:33 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Nov 4 2021, 01:31 PM)
Oh! I do buy from a UK merchant sometime. What do you fill in for your billing address? My merchant locks the billing address to UK only.
Delivery address and phone number in UK. tongue.gif
eg Tesco, Boots, Amazon UK.

For your case, try https://www.forward2me.com/
if the shipping cost is not an issue.
At your own risk, I haven't used this service.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Nov 4 2021, 01:42 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Nov 4 2021, 01:53 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Nov 4 2021, 01:33 PM)
Delivery address and phone number in UK.  tongue.gif
eg Tesco, Boots, Amazon UK.

For your case, try https://www.forward2me.com/
if the shipping cost is not an issue.
At your own risk, I haven't used this service.
Thanks!

Its mostly digital goods, so as long I can check out, its all good. Appreciate the advice.
!@#$%^
post Nov 4 2021, 05:22 PM

Safe Trader
17,492 posts

all the converted foreign money can be converted back to RM?
ClarenceT
post Nov 4 2021, 05:36 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Nov 4 2021, 05:22 PM)
all the converted foreign money can be converted back to RM?
Can but avoid, you lose in the forex.
Eg "Today's Exchange Rate" at the App. GBP: "WE SELL" 5.686, "WE BUY" 5.486.
Market rate: 5.66-5.69 (Normal credit/debit card - around 5.80 after +2%)

SUSxander83
post Nov 4 2021, 07:59 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Nov 4 2021, 12:58 PM)
HSBC have that but you can’t deposit multi currency in Malaysia but iinm abroad in SG and UK it will accept the deposit directly based on their local currency
Hoshiyuu
post Nov 4 2021, 08:21 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Nov 4 2021, 07:59 PM)
HSBC have that but you can’t deposit multi currency in Malaysia but iinm abroad in SG and UK it will accept the deposit directly based on their local currency
I see... BNM meddling again.
SUSxander83
post Nov 4 2021, 08:27 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Nov 4 2021, 08:21 PM)
I see... BNM meddling again.
Can’t do anything because political interference doh.gif
hafizredha
post Nov 10 2021, 09:42 PM

446 posts

interested with affin mechantrade card but apparently you need to close merchantrade acc and re-register and need to insert the code from affin website.
note: merchantrade cs told me that the card only for affinbank staff.
!@#$%^
post Nov 10 2021, 09:47 PM

Safe Trader
17,492 posts

QUOTE(hafizredha @ Nov 10 2021, 09:42 PM)
interested with affin  mechantrade card but apparently you need to close merchantrade acc and re-register and need to insert the code from affin website.
i was looking around also for ambank or affin linked card, but cannot find how to register.
hafizredha
post Nov 10 2021, 09:51 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Nov 10 2021, 09:47 PM)
i was looking around also for ambank or affin linked card, but cannot find how to register.
ambank merchantrade no news, merchantrade kenanga wallet oso no news.
hafizredha
post Nov 13 2021, 07:13 PM

446 posts

https://www.kenanga.com.my/kenangamoney/

okay kenanga money exist in google playstore app, same ui with merchantrae app only different logo and card.
!@#$%^
post Nov 13 2021, 07:20 PM

Safe Trader
17,492 posts

QUOTE(hafizredha @ Nov 13 2021, 07:13 PM)
https://www.kenanga.com.my/kenangamoney/

okay kenanga money exist in google playstore app, same ui with merchantrae app only different logo and card.
faq, t&c all page not found. any additional benefit other than the standard card?
hafizredha
post Nov 13 2021, 07:41 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Nov 13 2021, 07:20 PM)
faq, t&c all page not found. any additional benefit other than the standard card?
based on my reading, additional benefit you can transfer money directly from kenanga stockbroking acc.
!@#$%^
post Nov 13 2021, 08:25 PM

Safe Trader
17,492 posts

QUOTE(hafizredha @ Nov 13 2021, 07:41 PM)
based on my reading, additional benefit you can transfer money directly from kenanga stockbroking acc.
i see. well not a game changer.
!@#$%^
post Nov 13 2021, 09:03 PM

Safe Trader
17,492 posts

QUOTE(hafizredha @ Nov 10 2021, 09:42 PM)
interested with affin  mechantrade card but apparently you need to close merchantrade acc and re-register and need to insert the code from affin website.
https://www.affinonline.com/affin_bank_merchantrade_money
!@#$%^
post Nov 24 2021, 01:09 AM

Safe Trader
17,492 posts

cant seem to get past the bank account verification. anybody else same problem?
hafizredha
post Dec 2 2021, 03:12 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Nov 13 2021, 09:03 PM)
okay done regiter for affin merchantrade card
pre-requirement:
1) need to terminate merchantrade acc first ( existing user)

2) keyin partner code

3) affinbank acc/ product

4) rm100 load (can use any online banking)

rm10 card fees
rm8 annual fee waived.
!@#$%^
post Dec 2 2021, 03:17 PM

Safe Trader
17,492 posts

QUOTE(hafizredha @ Dec 2 2021, 03:12 PM)
okay done regiter for affin merchantrade card
pre-requirement:
1) need to terminate merchantrade acc first ( existing user)

2) keyin partner code

3) affinbank acc/ product

4) rm100 load (can use any online banking)

rm10 card fees
rm8 annual fee waived.
what affinbank account they opened for u?
hafizredha
post Dec 2 2021, 03:37 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Dec 2 2021, 03:17 PM)
what affinbank account they opened for u?
i already got affin acc.
but there an option to open the acc (affinbank representative will contact you)

!@#$%^
post Dec 2 2021, 11:06 PM

Safe Trader
17,492 posts

QUOTE(hafizredha @ Dec 2 2021, 03:37 PM)
i  already got  affin acc.
but there an option to open the acc (affinbank representative  will contact you)
haha same like me. card already arrived, but haven't got time to go back and take.
hafizredha
post Dec 3 2021, 12:06 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Dec 2 2021, 11:06 PM)
haha same like me. card already arrived, but haven't got time to go back and take.
how many days?
do you need to go to the branch for affin acc opening?
!@#$%^
post Dec 3 2021, 12:34 AM

Safe Trader
17,492 posts

QUOTE(hafizredha @ Dec 3 2021, 12:06 AM)
how many days?
do you need to go to the branch for affin acc opening?
applied 25th, received on 30th. nope i mean same like me already have affin account.
!@#$%^
post Dec 5 2021, 02:15 AM

Safe Trader
17,492 posts

what a bummer, have to go branch to activate multi wallet. so much for ekyc
hafizredha
post Dec 5 2021, 08:28 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Dec 5 2021, 02:15 AM)
what a bummer, have to go branch to activate multi wallet. so much for ekyc
aik, successfully bought 1000 Rupiah for testing purpose.
btw before this i deactivated my old acc ( merchantrade card) and reregister with affin card.
!@#$%^
post Dec 5 2021, 09:02 PM

Safe Trader
17,492 posts

QUOTE(hafizredha @ Dec 5 2021, 08:28 PM)
aik, successfully bought 1000 Rupiah for testing purpose.
btw before this i deactivated my old acc ( merchantrade card) and reregister with affin card.
probably ur info still with them. i get notification to go branch when i click on multicurrency. anyway any reason to reregister as affin partner other than a much nicer card?
hafizredha
post Dec 5 2021, 09:07 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Dec 5 2021, 09:02 PM)
probably ur info still with them. i get notification to go branch when i click on multicurrency. anyway any reason to reregister as affin partner other than a much nicer card?
yass for the sake of nicer card 🤣🤣🤣
hafizredha
post Dec 11 2021, 12:11 PM

446 posts

Received 😍😍😍
virtualgay
post Mar 29 2022, 09:48 AM

3,258 posts

planning to visit Bangkok soon
register for the account
got the visa prepaid card from Merchant Trade
top up RM1500
change to Bhatt
so now when i go to bangkok i just use it like normal credit card?
or should i go withdraw money out from ATM?

This post has been edited by virtualgay: Mar 29 2022, 09:48 AM
ClarenceT
post Mar 29 2022, 10:21 AM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Mar 29 2022, 09:48 AM)
planning to visit Bangkok soon
register for the account
got the visa prepaid card from Merchant Trade
top up RM1500
change to Bhatt
so now when i go to bangkok i just use it like normal credit card?
or should i go withdraw money out from ATM?
If you withdraw too much cash but not using so much, not to your advantage.
If you convert too much from RM to THB but not using it, not to your advantage as well.
You can choose not to buy THB, keep the fund in RM but swipe in THB, though there is a small conversion charge.
virtualgay
post Mar 29 2022, 03:14 PM

3,258 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Mar 29 2022, 10:21 AM)
If you withdraw too much cash but not using so much, not to your advantage.
If you convert too much from RM to THB but not using it, not to your advantage as well.
You can choose not to buy THB, keep the fund in RM but swipe in THB, though there is a small conversion charge.
icic - thanks again
i always use bigpay before 2020, after 2020 until now never use before
i feel that bigpay is really good as the rate is quite good when i visit bangkok
i thought if the rate is good i change some THB and keep it inside then when i visit bangkok i still enjoy my good rate that i bought now
adamw
post Mar 30 2022, 10:04 AM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,351 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Mar 29 2022, 03:14 PM)
icic - thanks again
i always use bigpay before 2020, after 2020 until now never use before
i feel that bigpay is really good as the rate is quite good when i visit bangkok
i thought if the rate is good i change some THB and keep it inside then when i visit bangkok i still enjoy my good rate that i bought now
Merchant trade exchange rates is better than BP now? Still using my BP for USD transactions.
ClarenceT
post Mar 30 2022, 10:38 AM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Mar 30 2022, 10:04 AM)
Merchant trade exchange rates is better than BP now? Still using my BP for USD transactions.
Different strategy.
For Merchantrade and Wise, you can buy in advance to keep in wallet, when you feel the exchange rate is good.
adamw
post Mar 30 2022, 10:42 AM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Mar 30 2022, 10:38 AM)
Different strategy.
For Merchantrade and Wise, you can buy in advance to keep in wallet, when you feel the exchange rate is good.
Thanks, will stick with BP then. Normally only topup when needed to buy something with USD so based on current rate not an issue. But MT can hold RMB?
ClarenceT
post Mar 30 2022, 11:35 AM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Mar 30 2022, 10:42 AM)
MT can hold RMB?
Renminbi wallet - Yes.
Current rate: RM66.468 to buy 100 CNY.
adamw
post Mar 30 2022, 11:36 AM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Mar 30 2022, 11:35 AM)
Renminbi wallet - Yes.
Current rate: RM66.468 to buy 100 CNY.
Quite good rate. 1.504 rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Can online transfer to Alipay? Charges based on value or per transaction basis?

This post has been edited by adamw: Mar 30 2022, 11:57 AM
Hoshiyuu
post Apr 4 2022, 10:33 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

Anyone noticed that their MerchantTrade history no longer shows MCC? All my transaction reference has became blank.
weidasdnbhd
post Jul 9 2022, 01:12 PM

87 posts

Hey there,

Nowadays do we need to go to Merchantrade branch or outlet to activate the multi currency wallet function after I applied for the card online? Read previous post and someone said need to activate at the branch. But I chatted with CS just now said no need activate can use immediately. So which one is correct? Could someone enlighten me?
Or any Merchantrade branch or outlet in Kuching or Miri area if I am required to do so?

ClarenceT
post Jul 9 2022, 01:36 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(weidasdnbhd @ Jul 9 2022, 01:12 PM)
Hey there,

Nowadays do we need to go to Merchantrade branch or outlet to activate the multi currency wallet function after I applied for the card online? Read previous post and someone said need to activate at the branch. But I chatted with CS just now said no need activate can use immediately. So which one is correct? Could someone enlighten me?
Or any Merchantrade branch or outlet in Kuching or Miri area if I am required to do so?
No Merchantrade office in Kuching.
steel52
post Aug 28 2022, 02:03 PM

319 posts

Can the annual fee be waive?
cybpsych
post Sep 30 2022, 05:50 PM

---------------------
65,250 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Oct 30 2021, 07:31 AM)
now only do official card launching biggrin.gif

On 30 September 2022 today, Affin Bank Berhad has officially launched its enhanced E-Wallet in collaboration with Merchantrade Asia Sdn. Bhd. which gives customers a wallet size of up to RM20,000.

The official launch of AFFIN Merchantrade Prepaid Card was attended by President and Group Chief Executive Officer of Affin Bank Berhad, YBhg. Datuk Wan Razly Abdullah Ali, Chairman of Affin Bank Berhad, YBhg. Dato’ Agil Natt, Chairman of Merchantrade Asia Sdn. Bhd., YBhg. Dato’ Mohzani Abdul Wahab, Executive Director of Community Banking, Affin Bank Berhad, En. Nazri Othman, Managing Director and Founder of Merchantrade Asia Sdn. Bhd., Ramasamy K. Veeran and Country Manager for Visa Malaysia, Ng Kong Boon.

With the AFFIN Merchantrade Visa Prepaid Card, customers can now travel seamlessly no matter where they are with just one card. We are proud to announce that as of today, we have successfully onboarded approximately 3,000 customers. We want to offer our customers the best travel options while making it simple and convenient for them to manage their money from anywhere in the world.

!@#$%^
post Sep 30 2022, 05:57 PM

Safe Trader
17,492 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 30 2022, 05:50 PM)
On 30 September 2022 today, Affin Bank Berhad has officially launched its enhanced E-Wallet in collaboration with Merchantrade Asia Sdn. Bhd. which gives customers a wallet size of up to RM20,000.

The official launch of AFFIN Merchantrade Prepaid Card was attended by President and Group Chief Executive Officer of Affin Bank Berhad, YBhg. Datuk Wan Razly Abdullah Ali, Chairman of Affin Bank Berhad, YBhg. Dato’ Agil Natt, Chairman of Merchantrade Asia Sdn. Bhd., YBhg. Dato’ Mohzani Abdul Wahab, Executive Director of Community Banking, Affin Bank Berhad, En. Nazri Othman, Managing Director and Founder of Merchantrade Asia Sdn. Bhd., Ramasamy K. Veeran and Country Manager for Visa Malaysia, Ng Kong Boon.

With the AFFIN Merchantrade Visa Prepaid Card, customers can now travel seamlessly no matter where they are with just one card. We are proud to announce that as of today, we have successfully onboarded approximately 3,000 customers. We want to offer our customers the best travel options while making it simple and convenient for them to manage their money from anywhere in the world.

i have this card .... in my drawer
ClarenceT
post Sep 30 2022, 06:30 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Sep 30 2022, 05:57 PM)
i have this card .... in my drawer
I have the original Red card. My kid is using it, preloaded with foreign currency. But I prefer Wise now.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Sep 30 2022, 06:45 PM
coo|dude
post Oct 2 2022, 08:15 AM

Cool By The Pool!
1,064 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 30 2022, 05:50 PM)

So, any launching promo?
hafizredha
post Oct 3 2022, 12:05 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Oct 2 2022, 08:15 AM)
So, any launching promo?
merchantrade notified me that my affin merchantrade card compromised lmao
cybpsych
post Oct 3 2022, 05:05 PM

---------------------
65,250 posts

Ambank, Merchantrade Asia launch hybrid e-wallet | The Edge Markets

KUALA LUMPUR (Oct 3): Ambank (M) Bhd (AmBank) and Merchantrade Asia Sdn Bhd (Merchantrade Asia) have entered into a strategic partnership to launch a hybrid e-wallet, allowing users the benefit from an Islamic current account with a total combined limit of RM50,000.

It is the biggest e-wallet so far in Malaysia.

The integration is where the AmBank Islamic hybrid current account-i (hCA-i) integrates with the Merchantrade Money e-wallet, with support from DuitNow.

“AmBank itself did not have its own e-wallet so far, and with this cooperation, we expect to have 10,000 new customers sign up by year-end.

Added on

In the photo (l-r) are Cheong Sook Fun, Chief Financial Officer, Merchantrade Asia, Khairuan Abdul Rahman, Director, Retail Payments Services, PayNet, Ramasamy K Veeran, Managing Director & Founder, Merchantrade Asia, Raja Teh Maimunah Raja Abdul Aziz, Managing Director, Wholesale Banking, AmBank Group, Dato’ Sulaiman Mohd Tahir, Group Chief Executive Officer, AmBank Group and Eqhwan Mokhzanee Muhammad, Chief Executive Officer, AmBank Islamic.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Oct 4 2022, 03:04 PM
hafizredha
post Oct 3 2022, 05:14 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Oct 3 2022, 05:05 PM)
Ambank, Merchantrade Asia launch hybrid e-wallet | The Edge Markets

KUALA LUMPUR (Oct 3): Ambank (M) Bhd (AmBank) and Merchantrade Asia Sdn Bhd (Merchantrade Asia) have entered into a strategic partnership to launch a hybrid e-wallet, allowing users the benefit from an Islamic current account with a total combined limit of RM50,000.

It is the biggest e-wallet so far in Malaysia.

The integration is where the AmBank Islamic hybrid current account-i (hCA-i) integrates with the Merchantrade Money e-wallet, with support from DuitNow.

“AmBank itself did not have its own e-wallet so far, and with this cooperation, we expect to have 10,000 new customers sign up by year-end.
argghhhh torn apart between affin and ambank hybrid
coo|dude
post Oct 3 2022, 08:43 PM

Cool By The Pool!
1,064 posts

QUOTE(hafizredha @ Oct 3 2022, 05:14 PM)
argghhhh torn apart between affin and ambank hybrid
Why? How does the design looks like?
hafizredha
post Oct 3 2022, 11:41 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Oct 3 2022, 08:43 PM)
Why? How does the design looks like?
Ambank will use the standard merchantrade card, tempted bcoz of duit now function
mr_robot
post Oct 4 2022, 01:04 AM

80 posts

how this apps work?
i buy different currency inside the apps and when i swipe the card oversea, it will charged the local currency without any other fee?
ClarenceT
post Oct 4 2022, 10:16 AM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(mr_robot @ Oct 4 2022, 01:04 AM)
how this apps work?
i buy different currency inside the apps and when i swipe the card oversea, it will charged the local currency without any other fee?
If you convert RM to USD and the fund is stored in USD wallet, if you swipe in USD, it will deduct the fund in USD wallet (no extra charge).
mr_robot
post Oct 4 2022, 08:41 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Oct 4 2022, 10:16 AM)
If you convert RM to USD and the fund is stored in USD wallet, if you swipe in USD, it will deduct the fund in USD wallet (no extra charge).
I see.
So the only different compare to Wise is this come with physical card?
Any fee for the physical card?
ClarenceT
post Oct 4 2022, 08:49 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(mr_robot @ Oct 4 2022, 08:41 PM)
I see.
So the only different compare to Wise is this come with physical card?
Any fee for the physical card?
Merchantrade - AF RM8
Wise - physical card is optional
mr_robot
post Oct 27 2022, 11:26 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Oct 4 2022, 08:49 PM)
Merchantrade - AF RM8
Wise - physical card is optional
Feel regret to pay RM8 to sign up Merchantrade. Most of the currency rate are bad compare to Wise. I should apply for Wise debit card instead.
ClarenceT
post Oct 27 2022, 11:43 AM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(mr_robot @ Oct 27 2022, 11:26 AM)
Feel regret to pay RM8 to sign up Merchantrade. Most of the currency rate are bad compare to Wise. I should apply for Wise debit card instead.
I got Merchantrade card before Wise Card was launched.
Nowadays I use Wise (account) more than Merchantrade.
Good thing is I can use debit/prepaid card to top up Merchantrade account.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Oct 27 2022, 11:46 AM
!@#$%^
post Oct 27 2022, 01:04 PM

Safe Trader
17,492 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Oct 27 2022, 11:43 AM)
i leave rm0 inside. see what happens during annual fee time
ClarenceT
post Oct 27 2022, 01:15 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Oct 27 2022, 01:04 PM)
i leave rm0 inside. see what happens during annual fee time
If you don't use it then terminate the account.
If -RM8 then you are liable to pay it.
!@#$%^
post Oct 27 2022, 01:26 PM

Safe Trader
17,492 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Oct 27 2022, 01:15 PM)
If you don't use it then terminate the account.
If -RM8 then you are liable to pay it.
can cancel virtually?
biertrinker
post Mar 9 2023, 05:28 PM

317 posts

Is Wise better than Merchantrade for remittance?
xander2k8
post Mar 9 2023, 05:31 PM

4,634 posts

QUOTE(biertrinker @ Mar 9 2023, 05:28 PM)
Is Wise better than Merchantrade for remittance?
Yes better rates because Merchanttrade collect fees on top of the higher FX spread

Downside Wise limit daily rm30k with wallet size rm20k at anytime
Ramjade
post Sep 1 2023, 02:39 PM

24,323 posts

Have you tried reloading with credit card and see if it goes through?
ClarenceT
post Sep 1 2023, 03:05 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 1 2023, 02:39 PM)
Have you tried reloading with credit card and see if it goes through?
Credit card BIN will be rejected.
Ramjade
post Sep 1 2023, 03:16 PM

24,323 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Sep 1 2023, 03:05 PM)
Credit card BIN will be rejected.
Damn. Was about to apply to try out credit card top-up. Thanks cause I don't see options for credit card.
ClarenceT
post Sep 1 2023, 03:21 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 1 2023, 03:16 PM)
Damn. Was about to apply to try out credit card top-up. Thanks cause I don't see options for credit card.
Even some debit cards also rejected nowadays. So it is better to use bank CA/SA to top up, more reliable.
P/S: I haven't tried jompay from TNG transferable fund.
Sunshape
post Nov 21 2023, 02:00 PM

1,027 posts

The spreads are so high!
xander2k8
post Nov 21 2023, 03:26 PM

4,634 posts

QUOTE(Sunshape @ Nov 21 2023, 02:00 PM)
The spreads are so high!
Otherwise how they earn 🤦‍♀️ to cover their operating costs
spyrr
post Dec 31 2023, 10:19 AM

190 posts

Merchantrade supports DuitNow!

- You'll get an account number for DN transfer
- You can link your mobile number or IC as DuitNow ID
- You can do DuitNow QR payment

Just like any other banks or eWallet app that can do DuitNow.
cybpsych
post Dec 31 2023, 09:20 PM

---------------------
65,250 posts

QUOTE(spyrr @ Dec 31 2023, 10:19 AM)
Merchantrade supports DuitNow!

- You'll get an account number for DN transfer
- You can link your mobile number or IC as DuitNow ID
- You can do DuitNow QR payment

Just like any other banks or eWallet app that can do DuitNow.
Cashback Alert!

Here’s your chance to get cashback when you DuitNow with us... because who doesn't love getting money back on their purchases, right?

Promo 1: Get RM10 cashback when you link your DuitNow ID in your Merchantrade Money app and send/receive a transfer with DuitNow
OR
Promo 2: Get RM5 cashback when you scan and pay with Merchantrade Money at participating stores.

Promo period: Now till 30 June 2024

Terms & Conditions apply.

For more info click here: https://bit.ly/3tvkQ29

**DuitNow is currently available for selected customers and will be made available for all soon.

kyle_kl
post Jan 1 2024, 10:31 PM

1,057 posts

Updated the apps but didn't see the duitnow feature. Anyone facing same issue? Android user
ClarenceT
post Jan 2 2024, 12:19 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(kyle_kl @ Jan 1 2024, 10:31 PM)
Updated the apps but didn't see the duitnow feature. Anyone facing same issue? Android user
Ver 1.24.0 (22/12/2023)

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Jan 2 2024, 12:24 PM

jenern84
post Feb 7 2024, 08:43 AM

Morphling
742 posts

There is an option for e-pay top up, right? Meaning can be top up with cc?
ClarenceT
post Feb 7 2024, 09:03 AM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(jenern84 @ Feb 7 2024, 08:43 AM)
There is an option for e-pay top up, right? Meaning can be top up with cc?
Where can I buy e-pay voucher with credit card?

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Feb 7 2024, 09:06 AM
xiaomoon
post Mar 19 2024, 05:03 PM

1,434 posts

anyone bought merchantrade pin on shopee before?
jointventure
post Mar 21 2024, 03:07 PM

13 posts

anyone is using this card i want to do jointventure
biertrinker
post May 14 2024, 02:29 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Mar 9 2023, 05:31 PM)
Yes better rates because Merchanttrade collect fees on top of the higher FX spread

Downside Wise limit daily rm30k with wallet size rm20k at anytime
I just compared now. Merchanttrade has better remittance rates. Wise has better exchange rate but also has a high 1% transaction fee. Merchanttrade has lower exchange rate but the transaction fee is a flat MYR 10.
Wolgie
post Apr 14 2025, 10:15 AM

2,631 posts

Good day. Got important need help.
I dont have mechantrade account, but keep received msg said OTP.
what can i do?
hacker? how to stop it?
ClarenceT
post Apr 14 2025, 11:44 AM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Apr 14 2025, 10:15 AM)
what can i do?
hacker? how to stop it?
from 69606 ?
cybpsych
post Apr 14 2025, 11:48 AM

---------------------
65,250 posts

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Apr 14 2025, 10:15 AM)
what can i do?
hacker? how to stop it?
you dont have merchanttrade account. what to hack? biggrin.gif

just dont ever respond to sms/otp and incoming calls asking for "this sms/otp" lo

maybe someone mistaken his/her number, kept typing wrong mobile.

maybe someone brute force registration using your mobile, but it wont continue unless OTP verified (otp is to verify your mobile number existence and the person registrating is owning this number)

even if someone managed to register using your mobile number, you can cancel the account quickly after finding out (eg welcome sms/email). do not wait because ppl are using remittance to transfer fraud $$ everywhere.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Apr 14 2025, 11:49 AM
Wolgie
post Apr 14 2025, 12:00 PM

2,631 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Apr 14 2025, 11:44 AM)
from 69606 ?
yup. from 69606
last tuesday 1 time,
today 4 time.

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Apr 14 2025, 11:48 AM)
you dont have merchanttrade account. what to hack? biggrin.gif

just dont ever respond to sms/otp and incoming calls asking for "this sms/otp" lo
maybe someone mistaken his/her number, kept typing wrong mobile.

maybe someone brute force registration using your mobile, but it wont continue unless OTP verified (otp is to verify your mobile number existence and the person registrating is owning this number)

even if someone managed to register using your mobile number, you can cancel the account quickly after finding out (eg welcome sms/email). do not wait because ppl are using remittance to transfer fraud $$ everywhere.
just ignore it, do notthing?

cybpsych
post Apr 14 2025, 04:20 PM

---------------------
65,250 posts

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Apr 14 2025, 12:00 PM)
what do u intend to do?

u dont even have merchanttrade.
Wolgie
post Apr 14 2025, 05:57 PM

2,631 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Apr 14 2025, 04:20 PM)
what do u intend to do?

u dont even have merchanttrade.
okie biggrin.gif
ClarenceT
post Apr 14 2025, 08:28 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Apr 14 2025, 12:00 PM)
yup. from 69606
last tuesday 1 time,
today 4 time.
Block 69606

Or call 0383138606, tell the lady someone misuses your phone number.
ClarenceT
post Aug 6 2025, 02:21 PM

14,884 posts

1.5% Unlimited Cashback on overseas spend.
1 August 2025 - 31 December 2025

https://www.merchantrademoney.com/unlimited...spend-cashback/

T&C apply.
https://www.merchantrademoney.com/wp-conten...-Conditions.pdf

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Aug 6 2025, 02:23 PM

0.1058sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:46 AM