Merchantrade money VISA, Multi Currency Wallet

ClarenceT
post Jun 15 2020, 01:14 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(datolee32 @ Jun 15 2020, 01:10 PM)
I see, thanks for your advise. My Barcelona quota full last month, but so coincident this month need to pay auto insurance, just asking if there any card have better cash back on this.
Motortakaful.com (Etiqa Takaful) - Maybank M2 Amex Gold/Platinum 5% weekend CB.
ClarenceT
post Nov 4 2021, 12:56 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Nov 4 2021, 12:50 PM)
If I am not mistaken from reading around, I can't deposit SGD directly into this card right?
Deposit in RM only, then convert to a foreign currency.

ClarenceT
post Nov 4 2021, 01:09 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Nov 4 2021, 12:58 PM)
Thanks for confirming. I'm looking for a card that can deposit in any currency unfortunately...
Not possible lah, it is still based in MY and regulated by BNM.

But Merchantrade Visa is good, I just bought GBP at 5.686 (currently 5.67-5.69) this morning for future use, if I use another credit/debit card to pay directly to a UK merchant, the conversion is around RM5.80.
P/S: Alternatively use WISE to transfer into a UK account / prepaid card, around RM5.70+, then use the UK debit/prepaid card to spend.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Nov 4 2021, 01:50 PM
ClarenceT
post Nov 4 2021, 01:33 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Nov 4 2021, 01:31 PM)
Oh! I do buy from a UK merchant sometime. What do you fill in for your billing address? My merchant locks the billing address to UK only.
Delivery address and phone number in UK. tongue.gif
eg Tesco, Boots, Amazon UK.

For your case, try https://www.forward2me.com/
if the shipping cost is not an issue.
At your own risk, I haven't used this service.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Nov 4 2021, 01:42 PM
ClarenceT
post Nov 4 2021, 05:36 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Nov 4 2021, 05:22 PM)
all the converted foreign money can be converted back to RM?
Can but avoid, you lose in the forex.
Eg "Today's Exchange Rate" at the App. GBP: "WE SELL" 5.686, "WE BUY" 5.486.
Market rate: 5.66-5.69 (Normal credit/debit card - around 5.80 after +2%)

ClarenceT
post Mar 29 2022, 10:21 AM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Mar 29 2022, 09:48 AM)
planning to visit Bangkok soon
register for the account
got the visa prepaid card from Merchant Trade
top up RM1500
change to Bhatt
so now when i go to bangkok i just use it like normal credit card?
or should i go withdraw money out from ATM?
If you withdraw too much cash but not using so much, not to your advantage.
If you convert too much from RM to THB but not using it, not to your advantage as well.
You can choose not to buy THB, keep the fund in RM but swipe in THB, though there is a small conversion charge.
ClarenceT
post Mar 30 2022, 10:38 AM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Mar 30 2022, 10:04 AM)
Merchant trade exchange rates is better than BP now? Still using my BP for USD transactions.
Different strategy.
For Merchantrade and Wise, you can buy in advance to keep in wallet, when you feel the exchange rate is good.
ClarenceT
post Mar 30 2022, 11:35 AM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Mar 30 2022, 10:42 AM)
MT can hold RMB?
Renminbi wallet - Yes.
Current rate: RM66.468 to buy 100 CNY.
ClarenceT
post Jul 9 2022, 01:36 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(weidasdnbhd @ Jul 9 2022, 01:12 PM)
Hey there,

Nowadays do we need to go to Merchantrade branch or outlet to activate the multi currency wallet function after I applied for the card online? Read previous post and someone said need to activate at the branch. But I chatted with CS just now said no need activate can use immediately. So which one is correct? Could someone enlighten me?
Or any Merchantrade branch or outlet in Kuching or Miri area if I am required to do so?
No Merchantrade office in Kuching.
ClarenceT
post Sep 30 2022, 06:30 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Sep 30 2022, 05:57 PM)
i have this card .... in my drawer
I have the original Red card. My kid is using it, preloaded with foreign currency. But I prefer Wise now.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Sep 30 2022, 06:45 PM
ClarenceT
post Oct 4 2022, 10:16 AM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(mr_robot @ Oct 4 2022, 01:04 AM)
how this apps work?
i buy different currency inside the apps and when i swipe the card oversea, it will charged the local currency without any other fee?
If you convert RM to USD and the fund is stored in USD wallet, if you swipe in USD, it will deduct the fund in USD wallet (no extra charge).
ClarenceT
post Oct 4 2022, 08:49 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(mr_robot @ Oct 4 2022, 08:41 PM)
I see.
So the only different compare to Wise is this come with physical card?
Any fee for the physical card?
Merchantrade - AF RM8
Wise - physical card is optional
ClarenceT
post Oct 27 2022, 11:43 AM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(mr_robot @ Oct 27 2022, 11:26 AM)
Feel regret to pay RM8 to sign up Merchantrade. Most of the currency rate are bad compare to Wise. I should apply for Wise debit card instead.
I got Merchantrade card before Wise Card was launched.
Nowadays I use Wise (account) more than Merchantrade.
Good thing is I can use debit/prepaid card to top up Merchantrade account.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Oct 27 2022, 11:46 AM
ClarenceT
post Oct 27 2022, 01:15 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Oct 27 2022, 01:04 PM)
i leave rm0 inside. see what happens during annual fee time
If you don't use it then terminate the account.
If -RM8 then you are liable to pay it.
ClarenceT
post Sep 1 2023, 03:05 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 1 2023, 02:39 PM)
Have you tried reloading with credit card and see if it goes through?
Credit card BIN will be rejected.
ClarenceT
post Sep 1 2023, 03:21 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 1 2023, 03:16 PM)
Damn. Was about to apply to try out credit card top-up. Thanks cause I don't see options for credit card.
Even some debit cards also rejected nowadays. So it is better to use bank CA/SA to top up, more reliable.
P/S: I haven't tried jompay from TNG transferable fund.
ClarenceT
post Jan 2 2024, 12:19 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(kyle_kl @ Jan 1 2024, 10:31 PM)
Updated the apps but didn't see the duitnow feature. Anyone facing same issue? Android user
Ver 1.24.0 (22/12/2023)

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Jan 2 2024, 12:24 PM

ClarenceT
post Feb 7 2024, 09:03 AM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(jenern84 @ Feb 7 2024, 08:43 AM)
There is an option for e-pay top up, right? Meaning can be top up with cc?
Where can I buy e-pay voucher with credit card?

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Feb 7 2024, 09:06 AM
ClarenceT
post Apr 14 2025, 11:44 AM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Apr 14 2025, 10:15 AM)
Good day. Got important need help.
I dont have mechantrade account, but keep received msg said OTP.
what can i do?
hacker? how to stop it?
from 69606 ?
ClarenceT
post Apr 14 2025, 08:28 PM

14,884 posts

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Apr 14 2025, 12:00 PM)
yup. from 69606
last tuesday 1 time,
today 4 time.
just ignore it, do notthing?
Block 69606

Or call 0383138606, tell the lady someone misuses your phone number.

0.0436sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:28 AM