79 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

LYN Dashcam Discussion V2 | Dashcam Talk Malaysia, Everything related to dashcam!

TSblurjoey
post Jun 20 2020, 03:22 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Jun 19 2020, 11:05 PM)
Haha so means only worth to do hardwire for those with "true parking mode" and the rest just plug in the cigarette port
True parking mode records 10 seconds before and after the triggers.

Timelapse only can watch everything thing in fast forward mode. This still ok.

Those "impact only records", you can only see after the trigger. This is not worth to install a hardwire kit. But to some, as this is better than not having at all.
TSblurjoey
post Jun 21 2020, 11:19 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(wex99 @ Jun 21 2020, 11:04 AM)
Just got myself installed Thinkware U1000 with ivolt battery kit....so far the quality of recording is quite good...but kind of worry on the durability of the devive as it get heat easily under parking mode... Sometimes i would just turn off the features when my car parked in garage..

On a separate note, was being informed that the ivolt power sourced from alternator rather than car battery? If that the case, i presume no car battery consumption at all right? Quite confused on this part... Appreciate if someone can enlighten me as I'm quite poor on this part...
Actually the U1000 will auto shut down when it reaches a certain high temperature. I never had any issues when parked indoor. It only overheated once when I was parked outside for about 40 minutes with the engine running and it was a very hot day I think about 38C outside. The U1000 auto shut down with the message to prevent damage from heat.

iVolt is a battery itself so it won't drain your car battery but itself instead. It will charge itself when you start your car hence via the alternator.
TSblurjoey
post Jun 21 2020, 06:24 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(wex99 @ Jun 21 2020, 11:46 AM)
Thanks for your valuable inputs and clarifications.. Previously was in dilemma between iroadx10 verus thinkware U1000, ultimately decided to proceed with u1000... hopefully it can last for long term usage...
I've been using U1000 since it went on sales in Malaysia until today and no issues. But I didn't get the iVolt. Maybe a future upgrade.
TSblurjoey
post Jun 24 2020, 03:15 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jun 24 2020, 11:23 AM)
Hi TS,

Probably will take the plunge and have Thinkware installed.

Any feedback on the F770 vs F800 Pro? Trying to keep budget to > RM2K if possible.

Or would it be better to top up the additional few hundreds and get the Q800 Pro?

Aiming for both front & rear cameras too.

Appreciate your feedback. smile.gif

TS - apologies, found the reviews of the Thinkware cams in your signature - and checking it out now.

Thanks a lot!
F770 is good but it's quite an old model.

F800 Pro is considered to be the replacement for F770 as both are 1080p front and rear cam.

Q800 Pro is an F800 Pro upgrade with 2K front and 1080p rear. The latest firmware fixes the image quality.
TSblurjoey
post Jun 25 2020, 08:45 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(wex99 @ Jun 24 2020, 10:59 PM)
But unfortunately locally we hardly able to utilise some available features such as 'thinkware cloud' for live view and notification unless we connect to wireless network/hotspot.
Haven't give it a try how it works yet. Did you activate all ADAS features?
The Live View and notifications are a really good feature. Been using it since day 1.

I've been using the ADAS and Safety Camera alerts also. The ADAS is not annoying like those on China dashcams and very accurate.
TSblurjoey
post Jun 25 2020, 07:09 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jun 25 2020, 04:40 PM)
Usually how much is the installation cost for a dashcam (plug in vs hardwire)?
It depends on the installer and how many channels dashcam and what kind of car... RM50 - RM200+++

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jun 25 2020, 07:09 PM
TSblurjoey
post Jun 26 2020, 02:21 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(vkashin @ Jun 25 2020, 08:53 PM)
hi sifus
would like to ask for recommendation for budget category dashcam, looking to replace my current one which has died after 2.5 years only

my current model is Blackview A209, bought from Taobao, mainly because video was acceptably clear including at night, and with built in GPS and vehicle speed detection. disadvantages were there weren't any apps available, so the only way to view the footage was to plug in the micro-SD into laptop

i'm looking for a single cam solution.. hopefully budget not over RM300

was looking into viofo (A119, A129 single) as a lot of forumers here recommends that.. but from the picture it seems like viofo uses mini USB connector instead of microUSB.. that would mean having to go to the car accessories shop to replace the current microUSB cable that has been routed to be hidden..

currently on my shortlist would be 70mai dashcam pro.. with add on GPS module..
any other cheap and cheerful options i should look at?
70mai Pro don't require the GPS as the GPS data can only view only in the 70mai app. Transfer out won't have any GPS data.

Also the ADAS is not so accurate with lots of false alarms.

I still would recommend the A119v3 as the A119v2 is already stop production.

QUOTE(wex99 @ Jun 25 2020, 10:20 PM)
Did you connect to WiFi all the time to use the Live view feature? Even during parking mode?
I presume you standby a hotspot in your car?
How was the power consumption?
Using a wifi hotspot in the car.

My 2+ years old Amaron Hi Life is still good. Set my U1000 to run for 48 hours or 12v cutoff.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jun 26 2020, 02:23 PM
TSblurjoey
post Jun 29 2020, 10:45 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Jun 29 2020, 06:12 AM)
which dashcam u recommend for budget?
around less than rm 500? front and back.
A good front and back are hard to recommend with less than rm500 budget. But if you can get the Viofo A129 Duo on sales for around rm500+- then it is a good buy.

If anything less than that, maybe you can look at mini0906.
TSblurjoey
post Jun 30 2020, 08:45 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Jun 29 2020, 05:12 PM)
thanks for the recommendation. will opt for viofo A129 duo.
i dont think  even with sales u can get around rm500 plus... what's the price these days? i saw around rm 789
Think can as during the 11.11 sales can get the A129 Duo for less than rm500 in Lazada or Shopee but stock from overseas and no warranty.
TSblurjoey
post Jun 30 2020, 03:05 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(wex99 @ Jun 30 2020, 12:38 PM)
Mind to share what device you are using? A portable phone with hotspot activated? Or a dongle?

I presume if using dongle we need to connect usb port, which will be switched off once engine turned off?

With that, we need to have a monthly subscription data plan for this feature. I'm thinking whether is it worthwhile to subscribe a data plan solely to fully utilise the live view features?
Using Huawei E8372h-153 currently hardwire to a converter with USB port for power. Later maybe change to a battery pack for longer parking mode and longevity of the car battery.

If you have an extra sim with data then can use.
TSblurjoey
post Jul 2 2020, 09:39 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(BXB535 @ Jul 2 2020, 09:09 PM)
Hello all, im planning to install cameras front and rear. Also going to tint my car. Im concerned bout the rear, how many % do u recommend to install tinting? 70% good for rear?
If too dark tint, then can't really see out even if by adjusting the EV also.
TSblurjoey
post Jul 2 2020, 10:50 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ Jul 2 2020, 10:46 PM)
Any place in KL where can compare different model and confirm can install together?

70mai vs Iroad x9 where price different so much? What good about it?
You can go to iroad shop and see their product lines.

70mai don't have any shops.

70mai is China dashcam vs iroad is Korea dashcam.

70mai is mostly front cam only. Korean dashcams is mostly dual cams and with true parking mode.

Another to look at is Thinkware or Blackvue which are better Korean dashcams.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jul 2 2020, 10:52 PM
TSblurjoey
post Jul 3 2020, 05:07 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

New 70mai A800 4K dashcam is coming soon...

TSblurjoey
post Jul 3 2020, 09:19 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ Jul 3 2020, 05:12 PM)
Thinkware and Blackvue all above 1K for front and rear?
Yes. Below 1k go for Viofo A129 Duo but parking mode not 100% like Thinkware. Almost only.
TSblurjoey
post Jul 3 2020, 11:07 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(wick3d @ Jul 3 2020, 09:42 PM)
Hi sifus,

Can recommend a good dashcam with ADAS? Budget <1k. Thanks.
Sad to say those ADAS from China dashcams are really annoying with the false alarms. Only Thinkware is the most accurate.

QUOTE(nikobellic @ Jul 3 2020, 09:52 PM)
Does the Viofo A129 Pro Duo 4k UHD really worth the RM300+ additional price tag when compared to the non 4K version?
Go read my reviews and see for yourself the image quality.

A129 Pro Duo
https://jwtechreviews.com/2019/08/16/viofo-...elease-version/

https://jwtechreviews.com/2019/10/18/viofo-a129-pro-duo/

A129 Duo
https://jwtechreviews.com/2018/05/14/viofo-...duction-sample/

There will be a new A129 Plus Duo coming out soon. It's 2K front and 1080p rear. Much better than A129 Duo.
TSblurjoey
post Jul 4 2020, 11:21 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Jul 4 2020, 09:51 AM)
Talk about adas... How the iroad x9 adas work? It is somehow 'accurate'? At least less false alarm?

Macham plan to install the GPS for make it work.
iRoad needs to install the GPS module in order for the ADAS to work. But need to buy the GPS module.

I know the TX9's ADAS is almost as accurate as Thinkware's ADAS but the durability you know I know la.

All ADAS needs GPS to work.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jul 4 2020, 11:22 AM
TSblurjoey
post Jul 6 2020, 06:46 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 4 2020, 01:15 PM)
Wishful thinking 60fps also!
Going to be on Indiegogo 😅😅😅😅😅
TSblurjoey
post Jul 6 2020, 06:47 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Jul 4 2020, 03:18 PM)
LOL... My x9 after about 1yr+ still alive.
It basicly Monday to Saturday working hour get sunbathing. Only back home and holiday have roof parking.
Yea. That's what I asking, if it accurate then I will ask the dealer to help me find the GPS and install.
From my tests, it's almost as accurate as my U1000.
TSblurjoey
post Jul 6 2020, 06:48 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jul 6 2020, 04:39 PM)
need advice from friends here...

My car is always under the sun. So the dashcam always fall off from the double sided sticker. Already tried using 3M black and transperent type but still fall down after a while.

Any solution?
Did you clean the surface first before sticking? Need to firmly press when sticking on the windscreen.
TSblurjoey
post Jul 6 2020, 06:52 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(oklorr @ Jul 6 2020, 06:06 PM)
sorry noobie here..just curious why the FCW and LDWS need the GPS module? How is it work actually? I thought the camera is monitoring the road condition and alert the driver if staying too close with the vehicle in front or move out the lane
Yes the camera is monitoring the space at the front but you also need the car speed from the GPS to calculate the impact.

Usually those China dashcams with ADAS don't use GPS will always give false alarms till you off it.

79 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:26 AM