> Wooden house in modern Malaysia, Still viable?

mabaw
post Apr 5 2019, 03:51 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(Angelic Layer @ Apr 5 2019, 01:03 AM)
Regardless, it seemed that belian, aka billian is a very good wood indeed.
Wikipedia: also known as ulin
If known as Ulin I would have some familiarity with them on some boats.
Was it of traditional or modern style?
Wooden frame?
Would like to hear how you do it.
kampung style
not true traditional
those tukang that are capable of building true traditional houses like without nail are very rare
will not be surprise if they asked 300 ringgit or more per day

QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 4 2019, 06:19 PM)
so cool. show some pics. even if stalled , nice to look at the build pics.
potato quality

This post has been edited by mabaw: Apr 5 2019, 03:54 PM
TAZIO.N
post Apr 5 2019, 03:55 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(mabaw @ Apr 5 2019, 03:51 PM)
kampung style
not true traditional
those tukang that are capable of building true traditional houses like without nail are very rare
potato quality

Wah very nice rclxms.gif
ar188
post Apr 5 2019, 09:33 PM

9,206 posts

kampung style
not true traditional
potato quality

pro! biggrin.gif

yeah i have two of them working on my projects now. really hard core when it comes to wood. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Apr 5 2019, 09:34 PM
mabaw
post Apr 5 2019, 09:52 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 5 2019, 09:33 PM)
pro!  biggrin.gif
yeah i have two of them working on my projects now. really hard core when it comes to wood. biggrin.gif
how much u paid for yours?
mine
biasa - biasa one - rm100 per day
ketua/chief/ - rm 130.

ar188
post Apr 5 2019, 09:54 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(mabaw @ Apr 5 2019, 09:52 PM)
mine
ketua/chief/ - rm 130.
different way count haha.. they bring in the business since they already have many contractors in their contact list.
then see how much they wanna share for each project. if ok..then go on.
lucky8six
post Apr 5 2019, 10:29 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(TAZIO.N @ Apr 4 2019, 12:23 PM)
At Borneo they got one wood, kayu Belian right? They said Belian more durable than Cengal?True?
Both superb durable and no study research to prove which is tougher and durable. But if i were to pick. Belian Wood for the win easily. Belian wood is crowned as borneo king of the wood (ironwood). All panjang Dayak house structure made with belian woods still standing strong today that last few generations. Fun fact It takes 120 years to grow 30cm diameter.

https://www.frim.gov.my/colour-of-frim/eusi.../cv0/ab88/pt357

Owning a piece of Belian wood (Long table) is consider very luxury in Sarawak. Belian = Berlian = Diamond

Wanna show some of my collection Belian Wood. Owning belian wood mean last forever. Above piece (left) is believed nearly 200 years old belian wood. It was excavate under ground earth. That's why the grain is deep. Belian wood is getting scarcity nowdays. Usually pass down by older generation.

This post has been edited by lucky8six: Apr 5 2019, 10:34 PM
SUSAngelic Layer
post Apr 5 2019, 10:41 PM

91 posts

kampung style
not true traditional
potato quality

Very nice, it could be partially move in already, it would be very worthwhile if it can be completed.
RM300 per days is actually very reasonable, cheap even given 20 days working month, you can't get such skills for 6k per month, which state it was in?

QUOTE(mabaw @ Apr 5 2019, 09:52 PM)
mine
ketua/chief/ - rm 130.
Looking at the picture, such work is good enough as well, very worthwhile.

How much does the wood and project cost so far?

QUOTE(lucky8six @ Apr 5 2019, 10:29 PM)
Both superb durable and no study research to prove which is tougher and durable. But if i were to pick. Belian Wood for the win easily. Belian wood is crowned as borneo king of the wood (ironwood). All panjang Dayak house structure made with belian woods still standing strong today that last few generations. Fun fact It takes 120 years to grow 30cm diameter.

Owning a piece of Belian wood (Long table) is consider very luxury in Sarawak. Belian = Berlian = Diamond

Wanna show some of my collection Belian Wood. Owning belian wood mean last forever. Above piece (left) is believed nearly 200 years old belian wood. It was excavate under ground earth. That's why the grain is deep. Belian wood is getting scarcity nowdays. Usually pass down by older generation.
Yeah, no point picking who is the king as both is good enough.
It would be nicer if the wood can be made into something more functional, if even thinning it and hang it as decoration, set a light coming out of it as a lamp stand is wonderful as well.
mabaw
post Apr 5 2019, 11:46 PM

223 posts

kedah
for the house only we have spent close to 200k. majority are on the secondhand hardwood, and those ukiran ukiran thing. but those is new made from low quality wood bought in southern thai. majority of the left side in the pic were old house that came together with the land. we jack it up and fixed what needed.
TAZIO.N
post Apr 5 2019, 11:52 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(lucky8six @ Apr 5 2019, 10:29 PM)

I can feel you bro thumbup.gif I heard the same exact story from my friend who lives in a traditional long houses .Thanks for showing me your collection.Seems to me,Belian wood to many people there in Borneo is more than just a wood and I can only agree with that.It's part of your people's heritage afterall smile.gif

Princess_Alicia
post Apr 6 2019, 12:01 AM

98 posts

Palmyra House

This is what I called modern interpretation of timber house
SUSAngelic Layer
post Apr 6 2019, 05:58 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(mabaw @ Apr 5 2019, 11:46 PM)
kedah
for the house only we have spent close to 200k. majority are on the secondhand hardwood, and those ukiran ukiran thing. but those is new made from low quality wood bought in southern thai. majority of the left side in the pic were old house that came together with the land. we jack it up and fixed what needed.
I consider the price very worthwhile, even maybe concrete house is cheaper still in comparison in Kedah, it was something that maybe people wouldn't do in not too distant future.

QUOTE(Princess_Alicia @ Apr 6 2019, 12:01 AM)
Palmyra House

This is what I called modern interpretation of timber house
This is closer to what I am thinking to do, though I am thinking of incorporate local features like pier foundation with steel beams, as it offers benefit for a non permanent house, and ventilation of course.
I like the way modern designs are brighter where traditional wooden house is quite dark, due to the natural color and hue of the wood itself.

9 Pages « < 7 8 9

0.0154sec    0.89    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:35 PM